Skip to main content
Weddings

Bula Music & Performing Arts Reviews

Bula Music & Performing Arts

Bula Music & Performing Arts

Kailua Kona, HI
5.0 out of 5 rating, 242 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
242 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

242
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

58 User photos

  • L
    Lauren R. Sent on 02/22/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bula & Ash were everything I could have asked for!

    I loved every moment of getting to work with Bula and Ash. It was so great having the diverse options between traditional DJ style vs live music when having Bula play at your wedding. First of all, can we take a moment to recognize how amazing his voice is?! This made my Hawaiian wedding feel even more traditional and genuine. I had never saw myself having a first dance to live music, but having this as an option, made it so much more special for us. Having Bula and Ash through the whole day made everything so seamless and took the stress out of having to plan for either multiple vendors or figuring out A/V or sound systems for the ceremony. Knowing that it was all in their very capable hands allowed me to be fully present for every moment of my wedding. I highly recommend booking them for both the ceremony and reception. I chose to leave everything up to Bula for cocktail hour/dinner music and he did not disappoint. Bula is great at reading the room and choosing what energy level is best. Not to mention, the level of depth the intake form goes into. That really helps set up the event for success. From start to finish, the whole process was so easy and helped me feel so confident as a bride. My wedding planners introduced me to Bula and I couldn't have been happier. There was no doubt once reviewing that this was who I wanted for my day! All my initial questions were answered in a very timely manner. Leading up to the event, everything was taken care of and I didn't have to spend any time on the day of worrying about any logistics! It is very clear how passionate they are about what they do! It shows in the energy during the day, throughout the different events. We were very lucky to work with Bula and Ash and all future couples will be too!
  • J
    Jesse G. Sent on 02/24/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bula is the man

    I recently had the pleasure of hiring Bula for my wedding, and I couldn't be more thrilled with the experience. From start to finish, Bula exceeded all expectations and truly made our special day unforgettable.
    What truly sets Bula apart is his ability to read the crowd and adapt the music accordingly. He seamlessly transitioned between genres and tempos, catering to guests of all ages and musical tastes. Whether it was an upbeat dance anthem or a romantic ballad, Bula knew exactly how to set the mood and create an atmosphere of pure celebration.
    Beyond his exceptional talent as a DJ, he also has an amazing voice. I heard about 10 seconds of him on YouTube before I knew I wanted him to sing my walkout song live. Bula also served as an outstanding MC for the evening. His charisma and energy kept the momentum going and ensured that the event flowed smoothly from start to finish. He expertly managed the timeline, making announcements and introductions with grace and charisma.
    Overall, I cannot recommend Bula highly enough. His passion for music, professionalism, and ability to elevate any event make him a true standout in the industry. If you're looking for a wedding DJ who will exceed your expectations and leave a lasting impression on your guests, look no further than Bula. He is simply the best in the business!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • B
    B.n. Sent on 01/14/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding ceremony

    We chose Bula Music for our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour. Their music selection, recommendations and process to prepare for the event was remarkable. It made our planning very easy.
    Bula Music truly performed beyond our expectations. They played all of the songs we had wanted in an amazing performance and added their own choices to fill in with the spirit of our wedding ceremony. We will always remember our processional and recessional songs selections as special capping a very loving wedding ceremony.
    All our guests were equally complimentary, having enjoyed with us a moment to remember for ever.
  • M
    Maddie B. Sent on 11/18/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Amazing!!!!

    No need to search any further for that special artist! Bula and his partner Ash were absolutely incredible at our wedding! They made everything run smoothly and were so accommodating. We had our wedding at Oahu Wedding Villas and Venue, and Bula flew all the way from Maui to make our day extra special. From my young cousins to my grandparents, everyone was dancing and singing their hearts out. I kept hearing how amazing Bula was! Having them there truly added so much value to our night. Thank you, Bula and Ash, for making our wedding unforgettable!!
  • H
    Helen P. Sent on 11/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best Musician

    Bula and Ash are truly amazing! Since the very beginning, Ash made planning very easy and comfortable! She is so professional and kind! Bula has the most genuine energy, always smiling! And his voice is beautiful! He is very talented! We absolutely loved having him perform at our wedding with the ukulele and later DJ. The night was seamless! Everything completely exceeded our vision! Forever grateful for this team! Our wedding day was a dream and will always live in our hearts! A genuine and profound THANK YOU! ❤️
  • K
    Kyle P. Sent on 11/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible

    Bula and Ash are amazing! The memories of Bula singing in the lush jungle of Oahu for our wedding is a moment I will cherish for the rest of my life!

    I highly recommend hiring them. They were super easy to work with, always responded to emails in a timely manner, and put on an amazing performance. All of our wedding guests were blown away by this man’s voice!!
  • Mahealani
    Mahealani S. Sent on 09/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best Experience Ever

    Bula, went above and beyond. He was wonderful, his team was absolutely amazing. I would hire him again for another event without hesitation. I loved everything and every minute of entertainment he had. He made my wedding day beyond special, and accommodated my special requests so smoothly. Our wedding day was also my husbands birthday and I requested a special request to sing happy birthday and present my husband with a special cake and Bulla hit it on the spot to surprise my husband. He felt beyond special and he felt loved by everyone. We loved every minute
  • D
    David S. Sent on 09/14/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    07/29/23 Wedding Entertainment Review

    Bula provided the both live entertainment during the ceremony/wedding in addition to DJing the reception for my wedding on 07/29/23. Not only was he a talented musician but also a very friendly guy that was easy to work with. He had a great selection of music to choose from and also learned a new song for my wife to dance a hula to which was the best gift of all. Mahalo Bula and Ash! We were so glad to have you on our special day!
  • Rachel
    Rachel R. Sent on 09/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We love bula & ash

    Bula was absolutely incredible for our big island wedding. There was no one else even on the list for us, it had to be Bula. In fact, Bula and Ash were my favorite vendors to work with. His songs are so beautiful and my husband and I had such a fun time picking out our playlist (he knows so many songs!) The lights, fog machine, set up, duo during dinner - everything was perfection!

    I will never be able to fully express my gratitude for Bula learning to play E Pili Mai so I could surprise my husband with a wedding hula I learned in secret over several months. I was so nervous but Bula helped me to feel confident and deliver such a beautiful dance and gift. My husband cried like a baby. Mahalo!!!!
  • J
    Jordan Sent on 09/14/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The entire evening was made more memorable and fun

    Bula provided live music during cocktail hour and the dinner and then DJ’d the reception. It was such a fun and memorable night. He didn’t take any breaks and no one left the dance floor - highly recommend!
  • M
    Meredith Z. Sent on 07/25/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect!! Beyond our highest expectations!!

    We hired Bula to provide entertainment for our Night Before party and all the events on our wedding day, from ceremony, dinner and after party. In all, we likely saw a dozen participants and performers during the weekend. It was by far the most professional group we have hoped to work with. Bula’s beautiful voice and sounds, along with other musicians and the beauty of the dancers made our “vintage island wedding” theme come to life!! The After Party DJ was off the hook! Our guests closed down the house at midnight.

    I had an idea of our vibe in mind and made a few suggestions, but trusted Bula and Ash to fill in the rest!

    It was perfect! I wish we could do it all over again. Thank you for a memorable weekend! Meredith Zohar
  • Audrey
    Audrey T. Sent on 09/16/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gave me confidence the entertainment would be awesome

    Bula and his partner Ash were one of the highlights of our Big Island wedding. So responsive when first reaching out and their experience working with couples during the planning phase made me feel so much better. Had great music in selection options and insights about how the entertainment could all come together to set the right mood for the guests and make the day full of positive memories. Bula was such an awesome DJ- I’ll never forget the jokes he made and how his voice made everyone remember they were in Hawaii and how much it is a special place. Thank you thank you thank you!
  • Julia
    Julia B. Sent on 04/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Unparalleled Experience

    It is hard for us to even put into words how magical this experience with Bula was. From start to finish, it was a smooth, easy and FUN process. Bula incorporates the magic of Hawaii and the Spirit of Aloha throughout the entire process; from planning, through the Big Day, and beyond. Our guest have not stopped raving about how amazing the wedding entertainment was, and we can’t imagine what our day would have been like without Bula and Ash leading it. We highly, highly recommend them for your special day. Our experience with them is sealed in our hearts forever!
  • G
    Geoff Sent on 02/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great choice

    We made and excellent choice ! We had heard great things about Bula (and Ashley ) as both a performer and as an emcee. We hired Bula for our wedding and reception and couldn’t have been more pleased.
    He took the time to “interview” us (bride and groom) a week before the event to get a good understanding of not only the atmosphere we wanted, but to learn more about our guests and what we thought they’d like and would “energize “ them. The result was a perfectly paced reception with not only wonderful music, but an engaging , funny and articulate emcee. I can’t recommend him highly enough!
  • J
    Jenn D. Sent on 02/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bula is Da Bomb

    When our wedding planner asked us what our top priorities were for our special day, MUSIC was at the very top of our list! Someone referred us to Bula, and as soon as we listened to some of his music and learned about his story we were completely sold--not only is he an incredible musician, but he has this great energy and spirit that really helped set the vibe of our wedding! We had him perform during our ceremony and cocktail hour, he DJ-ed during the reception, and served as MC throughout the whole evening (plus we added in some fire and hula dancers that wowed our guests). Everything was so perfect! Also, from a logistics perspective, his manager Ash was super helpful in coordinating the layout, sound and lighting with our planner - and they also did a great job of catering the music to our specific taste. Both Ash and Bula really went the extra effort to make sure everything was perfect and stress-free on the day of. Hope to hire them again at our next big event!
  • G
    Gabriela M. Sent on 03/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A dream come true

    a week ago
    NEW
    We had such a magical experience at our ceremony. It was very small and in the desert, having Bula there doing the music was the perfect addition. Thank you for bringing such joy to our special day and Ash for being so helpful, we cannot wait to see our wedding vlog!
  • C
    Christina Sent on 10/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible experience!

    Bula and his team were perfect to work with from start to finish. They added the perfect Hawaiian ambiance to our beach wedding. We couldn’t have asked for a better musician, hula dancer and videographer! They are the complete package!
  • J
    Jon C. Sent on 10/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommended

    Bula was excellent as a person and a musician. He will even learn new songs if it’s not already in his extensive library
  • Taylor
    Taylor Sent on 10/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best day ever!

    Bula did an incredible job at our wedding! One of the things I was very impressed by was how he transitioned songs so seamlessly. He has an incredibly large selection of songs to choose from. Our guests were raving about him all night. He was part of the reason our day was the best day ever!
  • K
    Kathy C. Sent on 11/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bula was amazing! Warm, professional and so talented!

    We recently celebrated our 25 th wedding anniversary with a vow renewal on the beach. It was just my husband and myself. Bula did an absolutely amazing job. I will never forget dancing to “I want to grow old with you” by Adam Sandler. Bula’s voice is wonderfully melodious and his talent in playing the ukulele superb. Both he and his wife and manager, Ash are warm, professional and very easy to work with. He has an extensive selection of songs to choose from and we easily found our selections. I highly recommend Bula music and would not hesitate to hire him. We are so grateful you were able to join us in helping to make our day even more special. Mahalo!
  • S
    Sean B. Sent on 07/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible

    What a fantastic choice it was to have Bula as our musician, MC, DJ, and entertainment coordinator! My wife and I feel very fortunate to have booked Bula and his team and I know she benefited tremendously from the run of show/itinerary planning that is a part of the package we booked. Honestly Bula and his team made our wedding night. Our guests cannot stop talking about the fire knife performances, the seamless coordination, and his rockstar DJ skills!
  • A
    Amee H. Sent on 06/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire bula right now!

    What an amazing experience working with Bula Music!! The team was fantastic to engage with from initial email to a gorgeous, personalized vlog and every step in between. They were super responsive, had everything well organized, and made our special day that much sweeter by executing cleanly and professionally on everything. It was perfect!!! We chose one of their largest packages and added on additional things such as hula dancers, fire dancers, conch shell blower. Guests commented all night long about how amazing the singing, guitar playing, and music was – so many steps above other weddings they had attended. Add in the amazing lighting, mics and sound system, and it was a complete party in one vendor. I highly recommend Bula Music for weddings – but also any other event you may have – it was the best spent part of our budget!
  • M
    Marie I. Sent on 04/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A wedding to remember - thank you Bula

    Theo and I just had our wedding at the Mauna Lani and Bula played for both our ceremony and the wedding reception. What a treat. Bula is such a talented artist, MC, and DJ. All of our guests couldn't stop talking about him the next day. I can't thank Bula and Ash enough for such a smooth planning process as well as an unforgettable evening. Thank you!!
  • Erika
    Erika A. Sent on 04/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bula and Ash are the Best!

    Mahalo a million times to Bula and Ash! Not only was the music great but Ash who has a ton of wedding planning experience let me run some ideas by her because we were not using a wedding planner. She provided great feedback and referrals. Bula had a great voice and knew how to play to the crowd. I didn't give much direction but he had our guests dancing all night! Bula is a must hire. He turned the wedding into a great party! I would hire him again!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours