Skip to main content
Weddings

Memphis Brooks Museum of Art Reviews

Memphis Brooks Museum of Art

Memphis Brooks Museum of Art

Memphis, TN
3.6 out of 5 rating, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
3.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 71% of couples
  • Quality of service
    3.6 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    3.2 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    3.4 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    3.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    3.9 out of 5 rating
  • Emma
    Emma C. Married on 10/20/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous Museum Wedding- a Planner's Perspective

    As a wedding planner, I visit and produce events at all types of venues and with all types of coordination teams. Nikki at The Brooks Museum is fabulous and has made my experience there priceless! The first wedding we produced at The Brooks was complicated, detail and timing wise, and Nikki was there to help in every way she could to make it work for the vendor team and the couple! Since that successful event, I have brought many brides to tour The Brooks and she has made them feel special and excited about their big day! I cannot wait to have another event there!
  • L
    Lana Z. Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Sophisticated Spirited Venue

    Nikki Lekhy and the Brooks Museum were wonderful to work with. They were more than accommodating throughout the planning process and our guests stayed until they absolutely had to leave. The museum was a sophisticated venue for our guests to enjoy and everyone loved dancing and looking over the park on the terrace. It was the perfect setting for a magical wedding reception. We will never forget it!
  • User2017670 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you want one of the most stunning weddings in Memphis, the Brooks Museum is the place to do it. Between the Holly Court ceremony and the reception throughout the museum, I was blown away by our photos, and our guests all said the same. Laura was incredible - she came in at the Brooks during a big time of transition (the interim person before her was not good at all), and was so thoughtful and helpful during the whole planning process. She made it completely unnecessary for us to hire any day-of coordinator, as she was there the whole time making sure things went exactly as planned. The food was excellent (according to our guests - I didn't eat much as the bride!), and there was plenty of it. I can't imagine having our special day anywhere else!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • User984946 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wally Jo and his staff did an excellent job with the food buffet! All of our guests really enjoyed it.
  • M
    Meredith Married on 09/20/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Brooks provided a wonderful back drop to our ceremony. Due to 90% of our guest being from out of town we wanted to keep everyone at the same venue all night. The flow of the evening was wonderful.
  • G
    Gina Married on 07/05/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    As soon as we saw the holly courtyard (ceremony site) we fell in love with the Brooks museum. What a unique place to get married!

    Stacy Wright was a pleasure to work with and helped us get a wedding together in 4 months! The staff was so professional. They provided a huge crew that took care of catering, waiting tables, food carving, cake cutting, bar tending, and security! The food was so fancy and very tasty!

    I recommend the Brooks Museum of Art to anyone looking for a gorgeous ceremony and reception site!
  • L
    Leah Married on 05/15/2010
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Brooks ended up being a great location for our wedding reception. There were wonderful photo opportunities both inside and outside. The entrance is grand and makes your event feel special. We loved having the terrace off the back for the band and gave our guests an opportunity to sit outside and enjoy the evening. We also liked having the Brushmark overlook the Terrace so some of our older guests could be "a part" of the festitivities without being right in the middle of the band and dancing. The food was fantastic! The chefs worked with our "Like" list and came up with an exciting and delicious menu. Stacy is great to work with. The only downside is that she is super busy and her communication back is not always prompt. On the flip side she will do anything for you to be sure the day goes off without a hitch. She will make sure all your details are taken care of. I would do it all over again at the Brooks.
  • K
    Kristin Married on 06/14/2008
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great place to have reception. Work with you to adhere to budget and special requests. Takes a while for call backs but when they do its great!
  • P
    Emily Married on 10/08/2016
    3.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The Brooks Museum is an absolutely gorgeous venue with a variety of beautiful photo opportunities- we didn't have to do hardly anything for decorations, and it still looked stunning. That being said, our personal experience was less than stellar. The museum underwent a series of transitions over the course of our wedding planning, including going through 4 different event coordinators. As a result, there was a lot of confusion and I was forced to be very involved and hands on in making sure everything that needed to happen got done. We were also forced to move our ceremony indoors to avoid competing with a music festival that was allowed to be booked the same weekend of our event because, in the transition, the Museum failed to remember they had a wedding that weekend that had been booked before the festival. That being said, the Museum was very flexible and did everything in their power to fix the mistake and make sure our day was still as close to perfect as possible. The end result was still a beautiful wedding, but the process getting there may be more than most brides would willingly sign up for. I recommend the Brooks only because of how gorgeous the space is, but warn any bride booking there to make sure you also hire your own wedding planner to make sure everything is being handled the way it should and to take the stress off yourself, and also make sure you keep a copy of your contract handy should any changes come up.
    Besides that, I would say the terrace is gorgeous for receptions, especially if you being in market lights to string up, but it will work best for smaller weddings. We had 100 people total, and had to split the event with some inside the building and some outside. It worked much better than I expected it would, but may be an issue for some.
  • C
    Cathy Married on 05/24/2009
    2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    This is a beautiful place to have a wedding. The problem was the lack of response to questions either email or by phone, scattered and incomplete information and total lack of attention to detail for the rehersal and during the event by Brook's event coordinator, who came to the formal event in jeans.

    The wait staff was superb. The meal was expesnvie and lacking for the cost. My granddaughters child's meal, which I was told they could accomodate, consisted of a huge lump of mashed potatos and spinach.

    If you decide to have your wedding here, be sure to triple check everything and be prepared to chase after details the day of your wedding.
  • B
    Brittany Married on 11/12/2016
    1.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    I booked the Brooks Museum for my Nov wedding reception in Jan 2016. The price was right & everything Clarissa said made us love it even more. Soon after, Clarissa was hard to get in touch with, very rarely answering emails & phone calls. Fast forward to February- several emails, phone calls, texts, no response from her. We found out she'd been fired by relentlessly calling, trying to get in touch with ANYONE that could help us. The next person we spoke with was Kim Williams. We met with her & she told us how things would be different from that point on. She introduced us to Sara Moseley who would be working with us in the interim. After review of the contract Clarissa prepared for us, they decided to stick with what she'd promised even though they were confused by some of the things listed. Sara promised she'd get a brand new contract to us within the next few days. We never got that contract & we never heard from Sara Moseley or Kim Williams again. I found out Sara was no longer in the position or at the Brooks by going to their website's private events page & seeing a new name & email listed, Laura Tims. I called & emailed her, & she was very quick to get back to me. She also knew very little about our reception but assured us everything would be perfect. We met with her & she put our worries at ease, promising to always stay in contact. And if something were to happen, & she would be leaving the Brooks, she would let us know right away. She left or quit one week before our wedding & stopped responding to my calls & texts two weeks prior. My last contact person was Patty Burt. She failed to respond to my frantic calls & texts the day of. We were promised the contact information of someone that would be there that day/night, we never got one. With the help of family & friends we set- up our reception & had a few securities guards there the night of. I have not heard from anyone since. Proceed with caution when deciding to book the Brooks.
  • A
    Ariel Married on 04/21/2018
    0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    The Brooks Museum was a stunning venue for the ceremony. The Holly Court was simple, but very elegant. My issue was not with the location, but with the lady over Events, Nikki Lekhy. In general, her communication was very poor to say the least. Planning weddings can be stressful, and to have the person over the venue lack communication, not show up to meetings, and also not honor the original contract added to the headache. I would not recommend the Brooks Museum solely because of Nikki, but once again, the Museum and other staff members were great.
  • User1695765 2+ years ago
    0.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    The venue is stunning, location is perfect, having in house catering wasn't my first choice but was part of rental contract. First and most important my daughter and her husband had the best night of their lives. Unfortunately catering did not work out well for us and that ruined my daughters wedding for me. Nothing can change how things turned out for us but after talking to the Brooks staff and Chief about how things went wrong, they are hopping to learn and grow from this experience. I cannot recommend the Brooks.