Skip to main content
Weddings

Bridal by Jen Reviews

Bridal by Jen View more information

42 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

42
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

50 User photos

  • Jessica
    Jessica D. Married on 04/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further, Jen is the absolute best!

    Jen did my hair and makeup for my wedding and I was blown away by her talent and attention to details. She nailed my dream look and I received so many compliments! I have never felt so beautiful and was truly glowing on my big day! My wedding day was an extremely windy day and my hair and makeup looked just as amazing at the end of my wedding as it did at the beginning. I cant recommend Jen enough, She is truly the best there is!
  • Z
    Zena K. Married on 02/14/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank God for Jen!

    Jen is so kind and professional. She makes you feel like a priority and her years of experience leaves you knowing you’re in great hands.
    I was glowing on my big day, all thanks to Jen!
  • Alex
    Alex A. Married on 08/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Top notch beauty artist/communicator/person!

    You should absolutely hire Jen Castelo!!!!! She is an incredibly talented, patient, and detail-oriented beauty artist. On top of this, she is an incredibly organized communicator and makes the whole beauty process a breeze. I met Jen when I did a hair/makeup trial for my engagement photoshoot. I loved how my hair and makeup looked and on top of that loved meeting Jen! She then seamlessly coordinated hair & makeup for me and my team of 12 on our wedding day! Everyone looked beautiful and had a 10/10 experience with Jen and her team.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Judie Married on 06/19/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Engagement shoot hair & makeup

    I had to postpone my wedding due to Covid and was super bummed that Jen was already booked for our new date. But I decided to book her for our engagement shoot anyway because I really loved her portfolio. Definitely glad I did! I looked so great throughout the day, and into the night. My hair was even on point the next day. She was super sweet and took the appropriate Covid precaution. I’m sad I can’t have her on my wedding day because she was for sure my first choice!
  • Johanna
    Johanna P. Married on 05/15/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best choice

    I can’t thank Jen enough! I had to rethink our plans for our wedding and when we finally decided to postpone a couple months and do a small backyard wedding I thought oh crap it’s going to happen and I need a make up artist! Well I searched on WeddingWire and let me tell you, luck was on my side. I reached out to Jen and she was available!
    Now I say this as a surprise because as I soon found out, my timing was perfect because after I booked her she was booked solid for the rest of the year. She came over and did a trial run and I immediately fell in love with her style.
    On the day of the wedding she did my hair and makeup and also the makeup of my bridesmaids. She is so professional.

    REACH OUT to her as soon as possible because she will be booked. She is reasonable in her pricing for what she delivers and you won’t regret it. Thanks Jen for making me look beautiful on my special day!
  • Kristen
    Kristen R. Married on 03/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bridal Hair & Makeup of my Dreams!

    Where do I begin? Jen is truly amazing, incredibly talented and so kind. She made me feel so beautiful on my wedding day - I still can't get over how perfect my hair & makeup looked. And both lasted all night, even after tears of joy during the ceremony and dancing at the reception! Jen really took into consideration the style and look I wanted and then exceeded all my expectations. She's so professional and absolutely delightful to spend time with. I really appreciated how comfortable she made me feel and how special she made the whole process. I am beyond grateful for all she did to make my wedding so great. Not only does Jen do both hair and makeup, she does them both extremely well. I could not recommend her more!
  • Jamie
    Jamie O. Married on 02/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Look no further! :)

    Jen is truly the best! She listened to what I wanted and was flexible with any adjustments I wanted to make after the trial. Jen was communicative in the weeks leading up to the wedding and was very organized, clean, and sanitary the entire time. She washed her hands in-between girls and came double-masked (plus filter!).

    My girls and I don't wear a ton of makeup on the regular and we still felt like ourselves after getting our hair/makeup done, just a little more put-together ;) She even put falsies on my mom, a first-timer, and my mom had no issues with them being uncomfortable! She showed my girls where/how to pin in my veil and gave me a little complimentary touch-up kit which I was not expecting! Jen is kind, charismatic and we totally felt like we were getting ready with another friend! Would 3000% recommend Jen! :)
  • N
    Nicole S. Married on 02/10/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Book Jen Now!

    Jen is the absolute best! Don't even bother looking elsewhere, book her now and you won't regret it. I did a lot of research and found Jen's pricing to be extremely reasonable. My trial with her was very chill, she listened to what I wanted and was open to any feedback without being offended. She just wants her brides to be happy and comfortable! On the actual wedding day, she was so organized yet easygoing. She's easy to talk to and really puts you at ease-you feel like you're getting ready with a friend. She made me and my 3 bridesmaids look beautiful but still like ourselves. We were all so happy with our looks! With Jen there is no fear that you are going to end up looking overdone. She also did my hair in a stunning updo exactly as I had imagined! Can't say enough good things about Jen's work!
  • Alyssa
    Alyssa C. Married on 11/11/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    There’s No One Better

    I was referred to Jen by a photographer I was working with to take some fitness/lifestyle photos. I was amazed that she was willing and able to come to my home to do my hair and make-up and wasn’t charging an arm and a leg to do so. She’s professional, friendly, fun and really loves what she does. Since that first shoot I’ve booked her 2 more times. One for a wedding I was a guest at and one for a couples photoshoot. I will continue to book her whenever I need some amazing hair and makeup!
  • Emily
    Emily M. Married on 06/20/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Jen was Amazing!

    Jen was wonderful on my wedding day! She was professional and added to the calm atmosphere of getting ready! I loved my makeup! I went for a more natural look. It looked so fantastic in the photos!
  • T
    Tanya P. Married on 02/29/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Makeup & Hair Services

    Jen is such a gem! I love how easy going she is and makes you feel so comfortable in her chair. Jen is a super talented makeup artist and so professional. I highly recommend Jen for all your beauty dreams, I know you will love her.
  • Jessica
    Jessica G. Married on 02/09/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Jen is absolutely fantastic!

    I booked Jen for my engagement shoot and wedding. For my engagement, I had a bold red lip and beachwaves. Then for my wedding, I wanted a natural look so you could still see my freckles/moles and a half up/down hairstyle. Both looks were beautiful, which shows just how versatile she is as a makeup artists. She also did the makeup for my maids of honor and they were also extremely happy with their looks! Jen is an all-around warm and friendly person so having her do our makeup the morning of my wedding felt like she was just one of the girls!
  • Kristina
    Kristina Married on 01/25/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Makeup and Hair Artist! MUST book!

    I had seen Jen's amazing work on Instagram and knew I had to book her for a photoshoot I was planning. I ended up working with her before my planned shoot for a special mini shoot offered by a photographer. She was very responsive through emails -- answered all my questions, was flexible with changes in my makeup and hair looks, flexible with dates/times (if her schedule allowed).

    She listened to what I wanted. After she's done she will ask you to look and see if you are pleased with everything. If you want something changed, she will change it. She wants to make sure you are happy! She's very personable and easy to talk to as well!

    So if you're looking for a hair and makeup artist for your wedding, photoshoot, special event, whatever, look no further than Jen!
  • S
    Sarah F. Married on 11/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Made me feel beautiful!

    Jen came to me at the recommendation from my best friend who was in a wedding Jen had done in the past. She was the best choice we could have made for a makeup artist for our wedding last year. She made me feel (and look) beautiful! I’m now expecting my first baby and of course went straight to Jen to do my makeup for my upcoming maternity pictures. She’s good at what she does and will be my go-to girl for all makeup needs!
  • K
    Kailyn M. Married on 08/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    I Highly Recommend Jen!

    I am forever grateful that Jen was recommended to me by a friend. She did an AMAZING job and I felt sooo beautiful on my wedding day. Honestly, I’ve never liked getting my make up done by other people because I don’t wear a ton of make up and don’t feel myself when I get it done. I had a really bad experience with a trial and decided I was going to do my own make up for my wedding. However, I’m so glad I was talked into having 1 more trial. That’s when I found Jen. My trial went great and I actually felt myself. I loved the look of the airbrush and it all looked so natural. Fast forward to my wedding day, I got 2 hours of sleep the night before so I was exhausted that morning. I was really worried about having bags under my eyes.. but Jen worked her makeup magic and I felt so beautiful! It was a perk that Jen was so sweet and professional as well. I would highly recommend Jen. She knows what she is doing and will make you feel like a million bucks! 💕
  • J
    Jd25 Married on 08/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Jen is amazing!

    Do yourself a favor and hire Jen RIGHT NOW! She is a total professional and delight to work with!

    I did a make-up trial with Jen first. Her communication was timely and responsive, and she showed up on time to the appointment with a big smile. I don't really wear makeup often and I didn't have a clear idea of what makeup look I wanted for the wedding, so Jen took the lead and I am so glad she did! I LOVED her work - she made me look beautiful, but still like myself. As a woman of color with brown skin (I'm Ethiopian) I especially appreciated that she perfectly matched the foundation to my skin tone. I hired her immediately!

    When it came to the big day, Jen was so flexible and sweet - exactly the kind of person you want to hang out with on your wedding morning. I changed the getting ready time on her at least twice, which was no problem, and on top of that she ended up doing my bridal hair (without a hair trial) and she NAILED IT. I showed her a picture, she straightened my hair, curled and put in my extensions, and did the updo in no time. We were all so impressed and my hair came out really beautiful in pictures!

    Also, my mom is picky about make-up because she doesn't wear it, and frankly I was most worried about my mom not liking her look. But Jen totally made my mom feel at ease and reminded her the make-up was for the pictures. Wow I have never seen my mom look so beautiful. Best part was that my picky mom also LOVED her look! Honestly one of the best decisions I made for our wedding was hiring Jen. I plan to hire her for future events when I need to get dolled up! Hire her now - you won't be disappointed!
  • Catherine
    Catherine L. Married on 08/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Jen did my hair and makeup for my wedding along with makeup and hair for my sister and friend.

    Jen was the perfect choice. She listens carefully to what you want, does an absolutely beautiful job-that lasts all day and night- and I has a lovely calm demeanor. She responds immediately to questions and arrives on time. She is funny and smart and actively elicits your feedback until she has done the PERFECT hair and makeup for you. I give her credit for making me feel the most beautiful I have ever felt. Finally her prices are right in line with others who provide these services. She was amazing in every way.
  • E
    E.l. J. Married on 06/08/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Babyshower Makeup and Hair

    Jen (Makeup Artist) is THE best brought her assistant Sasha (Hair Artist) to do our looks for my babyshower. With the short time given 7am to 10am to do 5 people was outstanding and they completed on time. I would definitely use Jen again in the near future. Jen you are blessed with great talent and so outgoing too. Thank you very much for responding to my short notice of needing your services.
  • Mei
    Mei L. Married on 06/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Bridesmaids Makeup - Perfect!

    Jen is amazing! I had such a great experience with her all around. I especially appreciated her quick communication, flexibility, and positive attitude. I would absolutely love to work with her again and think of her for any other makeup needs. I hired to do my makeup along with a few other bridesmaids. She did a flawless job on each of us and we all loved our look. The bride did too! She was able to go off of photos the bride provided for a natural look. My makeup lasted the entire day (I got my makeup done at 8am and the wedding was at 5pm)! So impressive. I would without a doubt suggest you hire Jen for your makeup needs!
  • Gisela
    Gisela Married on 10/13/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing work, attention to detail and quality artistry .

    I loved my hair and makeup! She came to my home prepared with everything (lighting , chair, makeup, tools) and her work is phenomenal. I’m so happy with my results , she did my hair and makeup for a maternity photo session . She’s really nice and cool too that’s a plus! :) thank you Jen !!

    Bridal by Jen's reply:

    It was so great to work with you, Gisela! Congratulations to you and Cesar and thank you x a million for your review!
  • Kimberly
    Kimberly Married on 06/23/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very satisfied!

    Lover he personality and attention to details! She really cares about making you happy and figuring out exactly what look you want :)
  • H
    Holly Married on 06/15/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jen has done my hair and makeup twice! Both times have been absolutely amazing! I will definitely have Jen do my hair and makeup again! ❤️
  • J
    Jet Married on 05/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I don’t typically wear makeup. I am terrible at it, and I’m too lazy to learn/practice. I’ve had my makeup professionally done in the past, but I always felt like I was wearing a mask and any level of moisture led to a streaky mess. When I thought of my wedding day, I always thought I would go without makeup because I didn’t want to look back at all of our pictures and not look like myself. Plus, who wants to keep reapplying all day when they should be enjoying the party instead?

    That all changed when I attended a friend’s wedding. I was blown away by how natural she looked and how she just glowed the entire day/night! (I’m sure some of that was her husband as well.) I discovered that our mutual friend, Jen from Bridal by Jen, had been her makeup artist. When I got engaged myself, Jen was the first person who popped into my head. I thought it was going to cost me a pretty penny because she would have to travel to Oregon with all of her gear, but I was willing to pay whatever it took. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that I didn’t need to break the bank in order to look beautiful on my wedding day.

    Because of the distance, I wasn’t able to do a makeup trial until the night before the wedding. Jen did my makeup for our Great Gatsby-themed rehearsal dinner, and the only thing I could say when I looked in the mirror the first time is “Wow!” I. Was. Feeling. Myself. The craziest part about it was that I didn’t even feel like I had anything on (except lashes, which were a first for me). I was able to dance and sing the night away without a single reapplication.

    My makeup on the actual wedding day was flawless! In spite of the tears (of joy) and the perspiration from my super sweet dance moves, I went my entire wedding day/night without needing a single reapplication. The quality of Jen’s work is evident in all of our photos from start to finish. Thank you for helping me look like the best version of myself!
  • V
    V Married on 04/24/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Jen is amazing! My hair and makeup looked incredible, and translated into film really well. She was very responsive and helpful via email beforehand, and set me at ease right away even though there was a lot going on that day. Couldn't recommend her highly enough!
  • K
    Kristi Married on 04/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired Jen and her colleague for my wedding in La Jolla, CA. They both did such a wonderful job! Each bridesmaid wanted something a little different and Jen personalized the make-up look for each one. She is super professional, but also a blast to be around:) I would highly recommend her to any bride!!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message