Skip to main content
Weddings

Bridal Alterations by Anahit Reviews

Bridal Alterations by Anahit

Bridal Alterations by Anahit

Newton, MA
4.2 out of 5 rating, 71 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.2 out of 5 rating
71 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.1 out of 5 rating
85% Recommended by couples

Awards

71

31 User photos

  • Leigh
    Leigh H. Sent on 12/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Alterations

    Anahit is amazing! She made sure that every detail of my dress was perfect. She took the time to walk my maid of honor through the bustle so that we had no issues at all. Anahit was extremely professional, dedicated to her work, and made the experience excellent. If you bought your dress from Vows then I 100% recommend using Anahit for alterations.
  • Alice
    Alice F. Sent on 07/22/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    She is amazing!

    She was amazing on every detail. Also working with us on a short schedule. She is the best!
  • Carissa
    Carissa W. Sent on 01/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Experience!Anahit is fantastic! She worked on my wedding dress for me, and not only did a beautiful bustle, but did some work on the shoulde

    Anahit is fantastic! She worked on my wedding dress for me, and not only did a beautiful bustle, but did some work on the shoulders for me as well. She is precise and to the point, and many will find this a good thing! She puts a lot of love into her work and it shows from the many positive reviews here. Her prices are fair and comparable. Would definitely recommend!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • L
    Liz Sent on 01/29/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Most Talented Wedding Dress Tailor!

    Anahit is a magician when it comes to tailoring wedding dresses. She made my bustle beautiful, added in a special beading to the back of my dress, and completely hand-sewn a portion of the bust of my dress to make it more flattering. She helped make my wedding dress perfect. I would absolutely recommend Anahit!
  • V
    Victoria Sent on 09/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Anahit is so sweet and amazing!

    I have to admit.. reading some of the reviews on here made me afraid to meet Anahit. I was recommended by Vows to contact her as the other people I called on their recommended list turned me down when I told them my wedding was in 3 months and my dress was all sequins and beads. Honestly, I had a great experience with her. She was extremely organized despite being incredibly busy, set three dates for me to go and see her within the first phone call. When I first arrived, she was all smiles when greeting me. I can tell just from the way she talked about my dress, the materials, the layers, that she was very knowledgeable. I knew from the reviews Anahit would cut my dress at the first meeting, but she did ask first! She is also honest. She gave me suggestions on what she could do to make me happy, but also told me what she thought about what would look good, what would NOT be doable, and what would be a waste of money. For example, I asked if she could make my dress more fitted around the butt. She said she could, but it would require shortening the train from the material she'd have to cut off. I took her advice and chose to leave the dress as is. She also accommodated me wanting the boning on the bodice to show more and removed the thick opaque lining. She then told me there was no need to waste money paying for her to sew in cups if I already had my own sticky bras at home. When I went for my last fitting, she apologized that she had to charge me just a bit more than she anticipated due to the work she had to do to remove lining from the bodice, but it was still a totally reasonable price (I was again, nervous about this after reading some of the reviews, but I didn't feel like she was particularly expensive). She showed me why she couldn't shorten the straps any longer and where to use dress tape, as well as how to wear the sticky bra best. She can be blunt, for sure! She told me straight up, that my dress was definitely a better choice for girls with bigger busts (of which I have none of LOL!) but she also told me that other than that, the dress fit me like a glove.

    She is so sweet and pleasant to work with (I know it couldn't have just been with me because I witnessed how accommodating and nice she was to the brides before and after me as well). I even joked with her, "Anahit, do you ever get any crazy brides in here?" and she said "No, just that some brides are particular about what they want and we have to communicate to get on the same page." I couldn't believe that with how busy she is that she really was still so empathetic towards all her customers. I think it's important to keep in mind that while your wedding day is a big deal, you should also treat her with respect and consideration, because she really does care about making sure you look beautiful on your big day. Make your appointment with her ASAP! Show up ON TIME! With your shoes ready to go (and with anything else she requests that you bring). Don't be afraid of her being blunt with you. And be prepared to pay with cash or check (there is also an ATM across the street).

    Anahit - thank you so much! I will be recommending all my friends to go here.
  • C
    Courtney Sent on 02/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Anahit is the dress whisperer

    I call Anahit the Dress Whisperer because she understands how different dresses flatter different bodies. She knew exactly what to do with my dress and bustle. I asked Anahit if she would make my veil and she designed it herself. She told me she hand-sewed the appliqués during quarantine! She is amazing to work with and I always refer my friends/family to her!
  • Lauren
    Lauren S. Sent on 10/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    No one like Anahit!

    There is no seamstress out there like Anahit. She tells it exactly like it is; pinpoints the issues in your dress and tells you exactly how she is going to fix them. I thought my gown was pretty much perfect and ready to wear when I brought it to Anahit, but those small alterations make so much difference and at my final fitting, the dress was just pure perfection. Over the many hours I've spent in her shop both for my dress and for friends (which is how I had heard of her), I've seen Anahit put out so many fires--brides coming in with dresses that they bought months ago that don't fit now, dresses with tears, dresses inherited from parents that are entirely the wrong cut and shape. She's deftly managed to solve all those issues with her amazing eye and skilled craftsmanship. Whatever needs doing on your dress, big or small, Anahit is your girl.
  • Leah
    Leah Sent on 12/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Helped me make my dream dress

    I don't have enough to say about how amazing Annhit is! She is SO talented and is truly an artist. She knew exactly what I wanted and helped me make my dream dress come to life. She has a big personality and will share her opinion with you but she is to be trusted! One of the vendors I am most grateful for!
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca Sent on 12/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing job on my gown!

    Anahit came recommended to me by Vows because of her ability to work well with lace, and she did not disappoint! My dress had lace appliqués at the bottom and would need to be hemmed, so Vows ordered the lace separately for me, and Anahit was able to sew it back on seamlessly. When my dress came in, the mid-section was more sheer than it had looked on the sample (I ordered ivory lining instead of the champagne on the sample), and I had asked her about adding more lining there. Anahit recommended that I hold off, as the lining would look heavy given the different beading that was there, and take away from the design. She said we could add it later if I changed my mind, but she was 100% right. I’m so glad she encouraged me to hold off on that change and that we didn’t add it!
    Fair warning, she does cut the bottom of the dress on your first appointment, which I’d guess could be alarming, but I had read that in the reviews so was prepared and my dress came out the perfect length.
    She did a wonderful job with the bustle, high up and lying flat. She strategically put the buttons on appliqués so you couldn’t even see them, and she showed my sister how to bustle and let her video the instructions (which I highly recommend). Make sure you move around when it’s bustled to see how it will lay while you’re dancing, which is different than when you’re standing still. She has a direct personality which I loved and appreciated. She’s a riot to talk to and so sweet! I’d highly recommend her, my dress came out perfect!
  • J
    Jackie Sent on 08/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you Anahit!

    Anahit was a dream. She is so talented, intuitive, and skilled at what she does! I went to her with a vision of what I thought my dress should look like - she listened to what I said and then proceeded to give me very honest feedback that was so spot on. The day of my wedding, I felt like a princess, and everyone commented on how beautiful the dress was. Anahit truly made the dress fit perfectly to me and perfectly to my body type. Best of all - I had initially wanted to add straps to my dress and purchased extra fabric to do so. Anahit ultimately talked me out of this (in retrospect she was right that they would have taken away from the rest of the dress), and then proceeded to hand sew the extra fabric to my veil, making a completely original, personalized veil just for me. Her years of experience, and amazing eye for details so appreciated, as was her candor, kindness, and humor. I am so glad that Anahit was recommended to me!
  • Maureen
    Maureen C. Sent on 08/25/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Seamstress for Detailed Lace Dresses!

    Anahit did an absolutely an amazing job altering my wedding dress. The bridal salon I bought my dress from recommend ordering a dress 2 sizes larger than I am. I was so nervous ruining the beautiful lace of the dress, but Anahit was able to remove the extra fabric while keeping the lace design intact. I absolutely loved how it looked and fitted on my wedding day. Anahit was an absolute pleasure to work with and even helped me with my veil! She is very organized and professional. Be sure to keep your appointments and arrive on time, as she is very busy and has multiple brides coming and going. I would recommend her to any bride hoping to look beautiful on her wedding day.
  • Lauren
    Lauren Sent on 10/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Talented, meticulous seamstress

    Anahit was the most incredible seamstress, and my wedding dress fit absolutely perfectly. I did two fittings with Anahit, and her professionalism is amazing. She knew exactly when I should schedule my fittings to ensure the best fit on the wedding day, and also gave me such good ideas on how to give the dress a more flattering fit. She helped us steam my veil, and gave my mom and sister the most detailed explanation of how to do the bustle so they knew exactly what to do on the wedding day! I'm so happy Anahit did the alterations for my dress and would highly recommend her to anyone I know.
  • R
    Rhondaleigh Sent on 09/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I unexpectedly had to purchase an entirely new dress about a month before my wedding (long story, terrible experience with the shop where I bought my first dress.) I had called Anahit to see if she'd be able to handle last minute alterations if I bought a new dress off the rack. She calmed my nerves, altered my dress perfectly and quickly, and was a hysterical delight. She tells it like it is, and I HIGHLY recommend that you see her for any of your bridal alteration needs.
  • L
    Lindsey Sent on 06/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Anahit is nothing short of amazing! She knows exactly what she is doing! She gave me the best advice on everything. She took up my dress from the seem instead of at the hem, taking a mermaid gown and making it more of a trumpet with a bit of a longer train. It flattered my shape more than the original dress. I'm am extremely happy with the end result, I love the dress so much more now then when I bought it and it fit me like a glove. She also made me a beautiful veil which matched my dress perfectly and was custom measured for me.
  • H
    Hollie Sent on 03/27/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Anahit is the best. My dress originally had buttons up the back with illusion mesh. She transformed the dress into a beautiful V-back. It was snug in all the right places. I also loved the bustle. She is professional and prompt! I enjoyed working with her. You may spend a bit more money with her, but she is worth every penny. Peace of mind!!!
  • M
    Mariel Sent on 01/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Anahit worked magic in her alterations shop! I bought my dress with an idea of changes I wanted (sleeves added) and she made my dream dress come to life. She was also really helpful in consulting on whether or not I should keep the train (I did) and what shapewear would work best. She is definitely a perfectionist and I very much appreciated getting the chance to work with her because of that.
  • K
    Katelyn Sent on 09/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Anahit and her staff did such an incredible job on my dress! They are an incredibly busy store and obviously I waited until last minute to start the alterations on my dress, but Anahit fit me into her schedule and got it done in no time! She is the sweetest woman ever and genuinely wants the dresses to turn out beautifully! I'm so happy I was referred to her and beyond happy with how well the dress came out!
  • S
    Shara Sent on 09/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Anahit did an incredible job altering my wedding dress and made me a beautiful veil (at a very reasonable price). My dress had multiple layers of sensitive fabrics but she knew exactly what she was doing and the final result was beautiful. She was a pleasure every visit and super accommodating to my schedule. Definitely recommend going to her for your wedding dress alteration and veil!
  • S
    Stephanie Sent on 07/31/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had a dress emergency!! Somehow she fit me into her crazy busy schedule. She fixed and improved all the things my original seamstress was unable to do and did not even notice. Anahit made the dress look more stunning and made it fit my body perfectly. I was so impressed
  • S
    Sarah Sent on 06/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Anahit is a lifesaver!!! I fell in love with a wedding gown at Vows that was not orderable in my size. It was very snug and over the course of 3 fittings Anahit was able to let it out so it fit perfectly. She also shortened it and made me a veil to match the dress. She reassured me that she would do whatever it took to ensure it fit on the wedding day - and she delivered! My mom and I got a kick out of her - she has a good sense of humor and really tells it like it is (including that the veil I originally bought was poor quality and did not match my dress - lol. I'm so grateful for her honesty!) Thank you, Anahit!!!
  • N
    Nicole Sent on 06/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you get your dress at Vows, just go straight to Anahit, don't think about going anywhere else. The dress I picked out was a solid 3 sizes too big (but that's how it works there) and I loved the dress when I picked it out. Anahit somehow made my feelings and emotions for my wedding dress hit a level I thought was reserved for like, having your first child. As mentioned she is very opinionated, doesn't have a filter, but if she make a suggestion, TAKE IT. She knows what she's talking about, unbelievably talented. My dress looked like it was made for me, which wasn't easy given how much she had to take in, and plus it was backless with very intricate detailing, it wasn't easy, but she made everything line up seamlessly.
    I also had a weird gathering in the front which the girls at Vows told me could be altered and they weren't playing. I thought adding a little sparkle there would be nice, so I bought a broach to see if she could add on. When I showed her she told me it was cheap looking and it would ruin the dress. She then proceeded to whip out this GORGEOUS handmade patch that matched the beadwork on my straps and back of my dress perfectly. It brought everything together so perfectly. She gave me a gorgeous double bustle and wouldn't let my bridesmaid leave until it was perfected.
    In addition, I used my mothers veil which we were afraid wouldn't match with the style of dress I had and it was a little old and tattered. Anahit took the weird headband off of it, attached a clip so it would lay exactly how I wanted, and even patched up the few holes in it. I think she was so moved I was wearing my mom's veil she was happy to do so.
    At this point when she wanted to make a cut on the mesh on the back of dress she kept saying she can't undo it, but at this point I trusted her so much-and of course the small decision made such an impact.
    And on top of it all, her prices are so reasonable, she really is such a blessing.
  • SRodz
    Surey Sent on 02/17/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Like many other reviewers, I got my dress at Vows and went to Anahit as their recommended vendor for alterations. Yes, she may be opinionated, but she knows what she's doing. Plus, I found her pricing to be very reasonable considering the amount of work and detail the alterations to my gown entailed. Because of the width of my dress's train, she meticulously put in 12 bustles (yes, 12!). It was the absolute best way to keep the beautiful line of the skirt layers, even if it was more work for her. And the bustles perfectly match the beading in the bodice, blending in discreetly for when I am using the dress unbustled at first. Then, there's the beadwork. The work she and her employees did was incredible. Because the dress needed to be tightened, a lot of the beadwork had to be redone on the sides. No detail was overlooked and my dress actually looks better now than when it was brand new at the store. Finally, I wasn't sure about having a veil, because my dress is not the traditional white or ivory color. I figured I wouldn't find something that would match adequately. Anahit made me a wonderful veil, perfectly matching the color of the dress and the abundant width of the train. It's absolutely perfect. When I went in for my second and final fitting, she heard I was moving into a new apartment the next week and offered that I leave the dress in the shop and come pick it up after the move, to avoid any mishaps. Free of charge and without needing to make an appointment to pick it up later. I'm so glad I went to her for my alterations, and will gladly recommend her to any friends getting married in future.
  • A
    Ashley Sent on 04/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Anahit altered my wedding dress from Vows. I went into my initial appointment thinking I needed just a couple alterations to the bust and a hem, but after meeting with Anahit she recommended a other changes to make the dress fit me perfectly. The alterations were a little more expensive than I had planned, but she ended up customizing the dress to my body. I was shocked by how well it fit at my final fitting and am so grateful she recommended the other changes. I felt beautiful AND comfortable on my wedding day and have Anahit to thank. Anahit is definitely a busy woman and is very direct. But I appreciate her honesty and attention to detail, I would recommend her highly!
  • J
    Jon Sent on 09/12/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Anahit was incredible. From the start, she wanted to make sure that I was comfortable in her shop. She is very good at what she does and is very precise. She made my dress fit like a glove. She also offered to make my veil for me to match my gown. As I suspected, it came out beautifully. She is very busy in her small shop, but wants to ensure that everyone gets their own special time. I am so happy I found her because I knew instantly that I could trust her with my gown. I highly recommend her!
  • E
    Elizabeth Sent on 11/23/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Anahit is an extremely talented seamstress. As a few others mentioned, she is very opinionated, but listen to her – she knows her stuff! I got my dress at vows and had already decided that I wanted a sash sown onto it and that I wanted some of the material from under the dress to be removed to change the fit. (It was A-line/trumpet and I originally wanted it to be more form fitting below my waist). I mentioned these alterations to Anahit during my first fitting and she immediately disagreed with me. My dress had a very intricate lace overlay and Anahit firmly believed that I should do nothing to interrupt the lace, or to alter the shape. At first I wasn’t sure how I felt about that, but she told me to trust her and I did. I had heard wonderful things about her from the staff at Vows and from others who had known her work.

    Also during my first fitting Anahit decided that my dress needed to be restructured to extend the boning in the bodice of the dress. Knowing next to nothing about wedding dresses, I let Anahit do what she suggested. It required her taking apart my dress, which, admittedly, was very unsettling, but I trusted what she was doing.

    I had a total of three fittings with Anahit over a span of just over 5 months. In that time she transformed my dress and made it fit me perfectly. She could have just altered it to my size without adjusting the boning, but in knowing to restructure the dress she made it fit my so much better than it otherwise would have. If you work with Anahit, you will not be disappointed. Just trust her opinion! She is an expert as what she does. I absolutely loved my dressed and received so many compliments on it. I give Anahit my highest recommendation!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message