Skip to main content
Weddings

Bow Tied Weddings Reviews

Bow Tied Weddings View more information

164 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 164
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

32 User photos

  • Beth
    Beth R. Married on 12/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best in the Business!

    Matthew and Karese were phenomenal throughout the entire planning process and on our wedding day! Colin and I could not have picked a better duo to play music for our cocktail hour, lead our reception festivities and music, and just be a calming, yet fun presence for us. Up until the wedding, they met with us a few times, answering any questions and making sure that everything would be perfect for our day. During the reception, they knew exactly how to make our guests feel comfortable and have a fun time. They gave us the idea of having a last dance while guests were getting ready for our grand exit and we absolutely loved this part of our day! We were blown away by the level of entertainment that Matthew and Karese provide. I highly recommend booking with BowTied Weddings, they are truly the best!
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 10/15/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Just Amazing - Book Them!

    Matt & Karese were just awesome. From the beginning, they were so personable and really took the time to know us as a couple. We had multiple video chats leading up to our wedding which made us feel really comfortable with them. They came by on our rehearsal dinner night and they were just so genuine and kind. They are also hilarious and had us laughing every time we met. Matt nailed the music on our wedding night and we had the best time. They are truly a power couple and two of the nicest people we've ever met. Book them now!

    Bow Tied Weddings's reply:

    Thank you Sarah, you and Jeff were a blast. We hope y'all had fun in Miami and will have fun on your next adventure. Keep us in mind if you need any help with future adventures! Much love to you both!

    Matthew + Karese
  • Gianna
    Gianna L. Married on 10/08/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beyond Amazing

    Matthew and Karese are two of the most genuine, kind, and loving people we have had the honor of meeting. From the very start, their full attention was on us and our wedding day. We had the pleasure of being able to meet them in person a few days ahead of time to get to know each other, finalize song choices and get a feel for how the day would go. Their experience helped us make our tough decisions in a matter of seconds. He was there when we needed recommendations for certain songs (because who knows what song they want to cut the cake to? not us.) Matthew and Karese even came to our rehearsal dinner so they could meet our families and bridal party and make sure everyone was comfortable with them. We felt like we had our long-time friends as our DJ and helping hands. Matthew did an amazing job at keeping the flow and making sure everyone was out on the dance floor. At the end of the night when our final shuttle did not arrive as planned, Matthew and Karese were gracious enough to take as many as they could back to the hotel, including me and my husband. They went above and beyond what we could have ever expected, and we are so lucky to have had them be a part of our wedding day!

    Bow Tied Weddings's reply:

    Yaayyyy! We had so much fun with you and Matthew. We will certainly not forget giving y'all a ride back to your hotel on the Bow Tied Bus. So glad we could be a part of your special day!

    Matthew + Karese
  • J
    Jim L. Married on 10/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A Flawless Evening

    After two brief conversations, the Bow Tied Wedding team perfectly captured our vision for the reception and help us execute it flawlessly.

    We will strongly recommend Bow Tied Wedding; their team is fantastic and pricing is a steal for the high-quality of service received.

    Bow Tied Weddings's reply:

    Thank you Jimmy, we had so much fun with you and Trevor, and wish you both a long and happy marriage!
  • Katie
    Katie C. Married on 09/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Book them!!

    We loved working with the Bow Tied team. We worked with Matt originally, and then due to postponing (COVID) we got to work with Bessan for our perfect day. We loved the process with Bow Tied where they met with you, provided a survey to get to know you and your music tastes for you wedding, and then they BRING THE EVERGY on the day of. Everything was flawless day of. Thank you Bessan!!!
  • Chelsey
    Chelsey Married on 09/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Book them!

    Matt and Karese have been so helpful through the planning process. From the moment we booked even until after our wedding they made sure we had a great experience. I can go on and on about why you should book them but one thing that stands out more than the rest to me is on the day of our wedding, Matt noticed our crowd liked to be outside rather than inside where he originally had setup. Recognizing that, he asked us if we would be ok (after the formalities finished) if he moved his set outside to better serve our guests. Of course we said yes and it took him 5 minutes to switch locations mid wedding and nobody even noticed because he had music playing on a speaker inside the whole time he moved his stuff. Bow Tied Weddings definitely goes above and beyond for their couples! I recommend booking them for any event!

    Bow Tied Weddings's reply:

    Thank you Chelsey! We certainly had a fun time working with you, meeting your wedding party at the rehearsal, having an outdoor dance party, and giving y'all a quick ride on our Bow Tied Bus. We wish you and Woody a long and happy marriage!

    Matthew + Karese
  • A
    Allison M. Married on 09/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply the best!

    We feel so fortunate that we were able to have Bow Tied Weddings be our wedding DJ. We first booked them back in 2019. We knew we made the right decision to hire them then, but through our engagement they proved this time and time again. Because of the pandemic, we had to to push our wedding back twice. Through all the chaos/confusion/frustration, they stayed with us and helped us navigate all the steps. When the big day finally came in 2021, they showed up BIG time and kept our guests entertained the whole night. Jimmy was our DJ and despite some hiccups with our venue, he kept the party going! We are so grateful to have worked with Bow Tied Weddings! Our big day wouldn't have been what it was without them!
  • Sydnie
    Sydnie S. Married on 08/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Duo Ever!

    Wow, where do I even start! Matthew and Karese were a dream team to work with. They were there for us from 2 weeks before our wedding until our farewell brunch the day after the wedding. Matthew was very attentive to the crowd and played a diverse mixture of songs that everyone enjoyed all night. The wedding was supposed to end at 10pm but because everyone was having so much fun, Matthew kept the party going until 1am! And Karese was an absolute god send. I never hired a wedding coordinator (biggest mistake ever) and Karese stepped up and handled everything. From the rehearsal, decorating, and day of set up to making sure our entire wedding ran smoothly. Working with Matthew and Karese was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding and we’re happy to say that they weren’t just vendors, but became friends by the end of our festivities. We can’t thank them enough for everything they did to make our wedding so special. If you’re thinking about working with them DEFINITELY do it, you won’t be disappointed! 😊

    Bow Tied Weddings's reply:

    A review like this from a bride (that also works in the wedding industry) means so much, Thank you! Best believe we will be making a trip to Winchester soon! Love y'all!

    Matthew and Karese
  • C
    Chelsea O. Married on 06/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Get Jiggy with it!

    Throughout the entire process, Matthew was great to work with and was extremely flexible especially during the pandemic as we had to reschedule our wedding twice. He really took the time to get to know us to ensure he understood our vision entertainment-wise for our wedding. Prior to the wedding we filled out a detailed questionnaire outlining song and genre suggestions, as well as our must-play list which we went over extensively with him and his business partner and fiancé, Karese, the week of. They were extremely knowledgeable and offered wonderful advice we didn’t even consider for our wedding night. They did ask if they could stop by at our rehearsal dinner to meet our family and bridal party to get to know them a little beforehand and hear their song recommendations to ensure everyone had a great time! I will say this threw a lot of people off especially since we were being served dinner at the time they arrived – which was not their fault. My only suggestion would be, if this continues, is to try and meet at the rehearsal instead of the rehearsal dinner since the dinner is typically a more intimate setting and it’s difficult to know when the right time is to show up.

    Overall, Matthew is a fun and energetic guy and did a great job reading the dance floor and adjusted the music to keep the dance floor upbeat and lively. It seemed like everyone had a great time busting some moves! If you’re looking for a good time for your wedding, look no further 😊

    Bow Tied Weddings's reply:

    Hey Chelsea!

    We had so much fun with you all. And thank you so much for your feedback on our idea for coming to the rehearsal celebration to get to know the wedding party. Our hope is to come after dinner when the setting is more casual and social. This is something we started doing during COVID, so we are still perfecting it. Thank you again and we wish you both a long and happy marriage!

    Matthew + Karese
  • D
    Danie B. Married on 04/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Everything we were hoping for!

    Bowtied was great through the whole process and very flexible. Bessan did a great job!
  • Lauren
    Lauren T. Married on 10/31/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent!

    Based off their reviews we knew we wanted to hire Bow Tied Weddings. We wanted a fun dance party at our wedding. They were very responsive and appropriately priced. Unfortunately, COVID-19 made us reschedule our wedding. Matthew and Bessan were kind, checking in with video chats to make sure we were okay and still planning. When our wedding finally came, Bessan was excellent! As MC he was able to direct guests and help keep introductions and speeches timely. We had to make safe changes due to COVID-19; including moving our dancefloor outdoors. Bessan was able to get the party started even socially distanced! He could read the room well, he keep things lively and his music transitions kept everyone dancing. Everyone still had an amazing time despite COIVD. My favorite part was when he got up on the table during Shout to get everybody dancing! Thank you so much!
  • E
    Erica Married on 10/17/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Jimmy was a blast!

    Jimmy absolutely made our wedding! He was fun yet professional, flexible but took the reigns on the flow of the day, and absolutely hilarious. He got people on the dance floor! He was an absolute joy to work with and we can’t say how happy we are that we went with Bow Tied Weddings. Matthew “interviewed” us up front to match us perfectly with Jimmy. They were easy to work with, reasonably priced, and we will definitely recommend them to our friends.
  • J
    Jenn Married on 10/17/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Creative & So Helpful

    Matt was a blast to work with and went above and beyond with our difficult set-up and special COVID details. We had multiple different outdoor locations and the sound was perfect everywhere! We also needed to work around logistical issues since our timeline and layout were't quite traditional and Matt had creative ideas and made everything go seamlessly. Not only was the sound great but he was a wonderful master of ceremony!
  • Katlin
    Katlin O. Married on 10/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Matthew was awesome!!

    Matthew and his team were great to work with. We had our 2020 COVID wedding and Matthew was very professional and friendly during the whole process from beginning to end. He played music that fit the mood perfectly and kept everyone on the dance floor the whole night! If you want to dance the night away at your reception Matthew and Bow Tied weddings are a must!!
  • B
    Ben S. Married on 10/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Exceeded expectations

    Bessan nailed it. Timing, transitions, and sound quality was excellent. Ability to read the room, song choice, and MC skills excellent. He also had a ton of professionalism and was great to work with.
  • J
    Jared S. Married on 10/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent DJ

    Through rescheduling and changing venues, Matthew was consistently great to work with. We had a multicultural wedding and he researched the Ethiopian music that my wife's family wanted, effortlessly working it into the crowd pleasers everyone expects to hear. Our guests consistently raved about the music.

    Bow Tied Weddings's reply:

    Thank you Jared for this review. Three years in the making and I had a lot of fun with you and Sahra. Loved the Ethiopian/Somali music and dancing on Sahra's side. That was fun! Here's to wishing you both a long and happy marriage.

    Matthew
  • M
    Mackenzie H. Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    AMAZING DJ for our Wedding!

    Bessan and Matt were an amazing team for our wedding with Bow Tied. Matt's responsiveness when we first hired their group and all throughout the craziness of changing plans because of COVID was unmatched. They got on the phone/video chat with us multiple times just to talk through our party vision, music and just to get to know them more! Bessan did a great job on the day adjusting the music to the vibe of the party, and kept the dance floor going all night. This group is a step above the rest for their customer service alone, they are so personable and outgoing. We seriously were so satisfied with this group, if you want a beautiful ceremony and an unbelievably fun reception, hire Bow Tied!
  • K
    Kathryn S. Married on 07/11/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thank you Matt!

    Matt did such a great job DJing our wedding! The COVID pandemic certainly created a unique situation for a DJ, but he handled it with ease. He was very communicative during the planning process and held several video chats with us as we worked through the necessary changes. Even though we were not able to have the huge dance party we may have initially planned, the end result was a wonderful gathering filled with lots of fun and love. We are so grateful to Matt for his help in making sure we had a night to remember!
  • CLARA
    Clara I. Married on 02/22/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    If I could give ten stars

    If my five stars didn’t say it - let me tell you. Matthew is awesome! He was engaged, responsive, and listened to what we wanted. He worked with us on our music, gave us suggestions of what people had previously done, and during the wedding, made sure everyone was having a good time. He would check up on us and he did the emceeing and he was an integral part on the success of our wedding last weekend. His goal was to make sure my husband and I were having a great time. If you want someone you know you can trust, and don’t need to worry about arriving on time or doing what they say they’ll do - go with Bow tied. We’ve made a new friend out of this experience.
  • Hannah
    Hannah Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Love Bow Tied!

    Bow Tied Weddings was absolutely amazing! We wanted a DJ that could keep everyone on the dance floor, even at our small 60-person wedding, and Matthew totally delivered. He answered all our questions along the way throughout the planning process, helped us with the timing of the little events along the way, and kept things moving nicely. Even when we changed the music for part of our ceremony the night before after 10pm, Matthew texted me right back and assured me it was no problem. He played a great selection of music during the reception, blending classic hits with modern songs seamlessly, and was a present (but not obnoxious!) emcee. We did a last dance at the end of our reception, and Matthew was great about getting everyone to leave, and then he snapped some really sweet pictures and a video of us. Our photographers had already left by then, so it was great to still be able to capture the moment. We truly enjoyed working with Matthew and recommend Bow Tied Weddings to everyone!

    Bow Tied Weddings's reply:

    Aw thank you so much Hannah! I really loved being apart of you and Jim's wedding day. I'm certain your lives together will be full of success and joy!
  • Danta
    Danta T. Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fun, energetic, with a can-do-attitude!

    We were extremely happy with our experience with BowTied Weddings! Matthew was extremely responsive and easy to work with from day 1! He drove all the way to Warrenton from Richmond for our walk-through and we are so glad he did! He was profoundly helpful in deciding where everything should be placed for our reception and strongly advocated for us with out venue coordinator. We also had a rather challenging ceremony site and he conquered it like the pro he is! Matthew did an amazing job with our song list and incorporating the eclectic requests we had! He even stayed late when we had an unexpected rain delay for cocktail hour and made the best of it- even dancing away the rain while drying off the dance floor! We could not recommend him or his company more highly! If you want a young, fun, energetic, and can-do-attitude DJ- look no further!
  • Ryan
    Ryan D. Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Matthew is outstanding!

    Matthew and Bessan were THE BEST!!! They came highly recommended to us and the rest is now history. We met Matthew in person for the first time during walk through at the venue. We immediately realized how good we had it. Not only did we feel like we had a DJ but another strong advocate to make sure everything went as planned. He was more than happy to vocalize ideas which was MUCH appreciated. Our wedding night came with unexpected heavy rain and I remember looking out to find him dancing on the floor with towels on his feet so that everything would be dry. He was also soaking wet and could of cared less. He is so positive and of course an AWESOME DJ. All of our guests had a blast. He sure knew how to keep the party going. Bow tied weddings is worth every penny and then some. I am rarely impressed enough to write reviews. Book Bow Tied and you will not be disappointed!!!

    Bow Tied Weddings's reply:

    Thank you Ryan and Danta! We were not about to let a little rain get in the way of celebrating your love. Really enjoyed being a part of your day and I hope we stay in touch!
    Matthew and Bessan
  • E
    Elspeth M. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend!

    Working with Matthew as the DJ for our wedding was awesome! He was very hands on, met with us in person and via FaceTime multiple times, and got to know us and what we wanted from the entrance to dinner and speeches to dancing. He answered any questions we had, and made the process so easy. We filled out a questionnaire and he took care of the rest! We had the absolute best time on the dance floor and so did all of our guests. Thank you Matthew!
  • T
    Tyler Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Memorable day

    Matthew helped make our wedding such a fun memorable time! All of my guests commented on how great Our DJ was. He was professional, fun, and took care of everything! I even had issues getting a generator prior to the event (that was 1.5 hours from RVA) and he volunteered to pick it up and bring it to our wedding and return it the next day!

    Matthew asked us for music we wanted to play and we gave him a few “must haves”, but mostly to “feel the crowd” He did exactly that. I’ve never been to a wedding with so many guest dancing and I’m so thankful for Bow Tie DJs for giving us such a wonderful ceremony, cocktail and reception!