Skip to main content
Weddings

Bongo D / Steel Drum Wedding Reviews

Bongo D / Steel Drum Wedding

Bongo D / Steel Drum Wedding

Key West, FL
5.0 out of 5 rating, 85 Reviews
View more information

85 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 85
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

6 User photos

  • N
    Nicole R. Married on 04/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Island Party Must!

    Hired for our Welcome Party in Key Largo! Bongo D was on time, kind and so fun!! Great addition to any island party
  • S
    Susanne P. Married on 02/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Ceremony

    Bongo Duane was great to work with. He was easy going and helpful with the particular sound we wanted for our wedding ceremony and cocktail hour. He is super nice and loves his musical craft. Highly recommend him! My guests thoroughly enjoyed his music and it was perfect for our beach wedding.
  • Stefanie
    Stefanie Married on 05/01/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing choice for your next event!

    We were referred to Bongo D by our venue host (Old Town Manor). We knew we wanted steel drums for our wedding cocktail hour and let’s just say Duane’s reviews speak for themselves! He was such a joy to be around and so very talented. Totally engages the crowd, too! It’s a full performance- enjoyable and chill.
    When it came time to transition from steel drums to our DJ, it was a smooth, seamless transfer (a bride’s dream).
    Duane is a breeze to work with. He answered all of my emails/questions leading up to the day, and just made the process easy. Highly recommend for your next event!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Cassie
    Cassie Y. Married on 10/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So Much Fun!

    We hired Duane for our ceremony and cocktail hour on the beach. He was truly a pleasure to work with and is fantastic at what he does! Thanks again, Duane!
  • Rachel
    Rachel G. Married on 06/18/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend!!

    Bongo D was great! Due to covid, we last minute could not have a DJ, so Bongo D stayed an extra 2-3 hours for us. He played steel drums for our ceremony and through dinner, then switched over to dancing music for the rest of the night. He really added to the tropical fun atmosphere! Thank you so much Bongo D for everything! You did an amazing job and we are so thankful you were able to stay and finish out the night with us! :)
  • S
    Staci P. Married on 02/28/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great addition!

    We hired Bongo D to play for our ceremony and cocktail hour at The Perry Hotel! He was the perfect addition to our wedding and provided a wonderful vibe. I loved that he was interactive with our guests by bringing different instruments. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a friendly, stress-free musician.
  • Colleen
    Colleen R. Married on 10/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just Amazing!

    Bongo D played at our tropical welcome dinner the night prior to our wedding. He was unbelievable and his music created such a special atmosphere which all of our guests thoroughly enjoyed! He was a pleasure to work with and we highly recommend him!
  • M
    Meagan Married on 06/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    He went above and beyond!

    Bongo D really outdid himself for our wedding! He played perfectly for our ceremony and for our cocktail hour. We had some miscommunication with our band so they were delayed in setting up and Bongo D helped bide time with playing longer than he was supposed to. He interacts with the guests and gives out such a fun vibe. I really enjoyed him and am so glad we hired him!! We miss you Bongo D!

    Bongo D / Steel Drum Wedding's reply:

    Thanks for the comments, but the honor was mine. We always work as a team at The Casa Marina and I’m lucky to play a musical part. May God Bless your loving union.
  • R
    Risingzoo Married on 05/04/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely the best steel drummer!

    We were thrilled to have Bongo D for pre wedding ceremony and cocktail hour. Duane is so personable and engaged many people with a variety of instruments. The only negative was that we wished we had him for the whole reception as well!!!!! I would not hesitate to book Duane for your event. He is absolutely the best!!
  • S
    Stacy Married on 03/09/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful music!

    Bongo D is wonderful-- easy to work with, responsive and he made our day so beautiful with his music. We had him for our ceremony and cocktail hour and I am so glad we did. His music made me relax as I was walking down the aisle and all of our guests love having his music as part of the day. Thank you Bongo D!!!
  • McKenzie
    Mckenzie Married on 03/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Island Vibes

    I knew from the moment I saw a video of him playing at a wedding that I needed him! I loved the vibe that he brought to our cocktail hour at Playa Largo Resort & Spa. He played all of our favorite tunes from Bob Marley to classic calypso. Everyone raved about him, he was so fun and interactive with our guests, even letting the kiddos come up for a closer look. I wish I could of sat on the sand and listed to him all night. Bongo D created the most perfect sound, exactly what I think of when I picture a beach, island wedding. Thank you Bongo D for your exceptional service I would recommend him to everyone! All of our Love, McKenzie and Sean Schnitzer
  • Brenda
    Brenda K. Married on 12/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An amazing experience

    Duane was incredibly professional and easy to deal with as well as being very talented and great with all ages! He created the wonderful romantic atmosphere for our special day and I would highly recommend him!
  • L
    Lisa Married on 11/18/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very Irie Mon!!!!

    Bongo D was perfect at our ceremony and cocktail hour!!! Unfortunately we didn’t get to hear him play much at the cocktail hour but the guests loved him!! I would definitely recommend him and would hire him again!!!!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 06/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely wonderful! The perfect touch to our key west wedding!
  • M
    Melissa Married on 06/01/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    If you want a true Key West vibe, Bongo D is your guy. He did our ceremony and reception and was awesome! Our guests LOVED him. He’s interactive and so much fun!
  • A
    Antoinette Married on 05/31/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a wonderful time, the guests loved the tutorial. Sending fun pictures your way of Bongo the Drum player teaching our guests how to play!
  • D
    Derek Married on 04/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Bongo D was an awesome addition to our beach wedding. He was very flexible with times and location (we had to change venues due to hurricane damage) and I spoke to him several times before the wedding about things like setlist, timing, etc. He was very professional and easy to deal with. Beyond all that, he is an awesome musician. The steel drums were such a nice touch during the ceremony and cocktail hour. We received so many compliments/comments from our guest that he was great. We also have some really cool pictures of our guests playing some of his different instruments with him. Great guy, highly highly recommend.
  • C
    Carolyn Married on 03/05/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our guests loved the addition of the steel drums for our ceremony and cocktail hour. He was interactive and very accommodating.
  • A
    Aimee Married on 02/12/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding at The Southernmost Beach Resort was perfect in part thanks to Bongo D!!!! From the solo steel drum to the Trio band at our reception. I highly recommend Bongo D to be a special part of your day!!!! He is absolutely AMAZING!!!!
    Much love forever,
    Pete & Aimee Stafford
  • A
    Alison Married on 02/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Bongo D was professional and added an element of fun to our rehearsal dinner and welcome party. His performance was exactly as promised and I agree with all of his other great ratings! I reccommend booking him!
  • A
    Anne Married on 11/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Duane MADE our wedding rehearsal party for 35 at our family home. His affability and talent were apparent from the first email to the last hug. We would hire him again in a heartbeat! Anne & Mark, Key West
  • S
    Sherie Married on 11/04/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired Bongo D for our rehearsal dinner. Our venue and food was fantastic, but he made our event! All guests loved him and his music!
  • C
    Curtis Married on 11/01/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    bongo d’s performance was spectacular! He was the perfect addition to add to the environment on our special day with all of our loved ones present I couldn’t have ask for anything better
  • L
    Liz Married on 05/12/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We love having Bongo D at our annual event. He brings the magic of island music to our party!
  • S
    Shannon Married on 05/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Bongo D is amazing! He is so viberent and awesome on the steel drums. He is personable and easy going. We loved having him for our event at the Marriott Key Largo. Hire him for your event! You will love his talent!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message