Boerner Botanical Gardens Reviews

22 | Hales Corners, WI
See photos, pricing and details

22 Reviews for Boerner Botanical Gardens

Recommended by 86%

22
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.3
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 4.2
Sort by:
  • User6951085 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is an absolutely stunning venue. We booked their banquet room and couldn't be happier. Lori and Margret were fantastic to work with throughout the whole process. They were responsive and quick with their communication. Nothing sat for long without a response or follow through. We had a rather large wedding and I was so impressed with their ability to plan and coordinate it all. They were extremely accommodating, making sure everything we wanted to happen, did. Working with the gardens and with Lori made the whole wedding process stress free. Their in house caterer, Zilli, was also excellent. Their food was absolutely fantastic. They do group taste testings, which was done really well. They have all of their food available for you to sample, we were then able to pick and mix and match based on our package. On the day of the wedding, the coordinator that was there was also fantastic. She was always around, but was never noticed. She made sure the day/night went smoothly and coordinated with everyone. I received many compliments from my guests on how beautiful the venue was, how excellent the food was, and even how fast the bartenders were! Zilli's and the Gardens are a top notch venue and I would use them over and over again!

    Sent on 07/20/2016
  • C

    Cat · Married on 09/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great price for the scenery! Honestly, what could be better than walking through a secluded garden on you wedding day. Jackie is incredibly flexible and assists in making your day YOUR DAY.

    Sent on 07/23/2015
  • P

    Paulina · Married on 04/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Boerner gardens is a beautiful place for a wedding any time of year and so many great picture spots. we did our first look on the bog walk and met in the middle it was very romantic. They have lots of sights to chose from and the hardest part was deciding which spot to pick to have the ceremony. It was very easy to work with the Milwaukee county park system people. thank you.

    Sent on 05/12/2014
  • User3613232 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our ceremony and reception at the gardens for our September wedding. Everything was amazing. The gardens looked great, and there were so many great spots for pictures. We lucked out and the weather was perfect (it stormed the following 2 days). We worked with Alyson who was amazing and made sure everything ran smoothly, and took care of any issues or problems we had. She was great at giving us ideas and suggestions to help create our vision and giving us alternative options to make sure everything fit within our budget.

    Sent on 10/18/2013
  • User3496018 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue! Alyson was great!

    Sent on 08/28/2013
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 08/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They cater many of the county facilities and they do a good job. The location was awesome and staff courteous. Bartolotta makes great food too.

    Sent on 08/29/2012
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/28/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was excellent, the service was as well. Very elegant service, we had a plated lunch for our reception. The staff were very attentive and willing to do extra set-up and take down to incorporate some things I did myself. I would very highly recommend them to anyone. The costs for a smaller mid-day reception are MUCH more affordable than for a bigger evening reception. Very happy with them!

    Sent on 09/22/2008
  • Abby

    Abby · Married on 06/11/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The gardens were the perfect setting for our fairytale wedding. And the fact that the gardens came with Bartolotta services was a double bonus. We are STILL getting messages and phone calls about how absolutely perfect the reception was. They are professionally staffed with people to greet guests, serve food, and make sure all the vendors arrived. Everything went so smoothly, I didn't have to worry about it. They even helped us make our centerpieces and put them up. Our wedding coordinator went out of her way to help us in any way she could.
    Even more, our bridal party was far out into the back of the gardens taking pictures and two servers walked all that way to make sure the bridal party was fed by serving appetizers on silver platters. It was so sweet!
    The setting is beautiful, the atmosphere is elegant, and the service is professional. When I walked into the dinner hall after they had set it up, I cried because it was so wonderful. They even added some Cinderella touches that I didn't pay for because they knew I loved Cinderella.
    The food was also delicious. This was another thing that we got incredible compliments on. Every plate was individually looked after and prepared. We had one vegetarian entree out of 200 guests and Bartolottas made sure to get her a pasta dish discreetly. Gourmet excellence!
    If you want a classy (and worry free) wedding in a tranquil setting fit for royalty... Bartolotta catering at the Boerner Botanical gardens is the place to go!

    Sent on 06/28/2011
  • User2763216 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I know that Boerner's contract with the current caterer (Bartolotta's) is ending at the end of this year, and so everything will change with the new catering group's contact. I would investigate if you are thinking about reserving them for a wedding in 2014 or after. However, that being said, it's a wonderful place to have a wedding.

    Sent on 10/12/2013
  • A

    andy · Married on 07/15/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Professional and accommodating staff, beautiful venue and excellent food!

    Sent on 08/03/2012
  • User3682212 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The value of this wedding venue was amazing. We were able to save a lot of money having our ceremony and reception both at Boerner. Our ceremony was beautiful in the gardens behind the main center and the larger ballroom was perfect. Rachel coordinated every detail including all of the catering with Bartolotta Catering. Everything was delicious. Only a couple of minor hiccups, there was a large circle planting area that was bare with dirt - that wasn't planted between the ballroom and the ceremony site - would have been nice to have flowers planted there. Looked awkward. And there were supposed to be outdoor highboys so people could enjoy their beverages outside. But over all it was a great day.

    Sent on 11/16/2013
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 07/11/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were recently married at the gardens, and it is an absolutely stunning venue. Margaret was really responsive and helpful, and the packages provided through Zilli are amazing -- the food was so good! We booked a bridal suite where we had hair and make-up done the day of, and this is a great option for a large bridal party who wants to change clothes and keep their belongings at the venue. We opted for mini-desserts instead of a cake, and I would highly recommend this! It is one of the only venues that had an indoor/outdoor option as well as parking for all of our guests. The staff was extremely attentive throughout the entire process. We really had the best day at a beautiful location!

    Sent on 08/05/2015
  • Hana

    Hana · Married on 10/09/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bartolotta Catering did a fabulous job on our wedding! The food and service were outstanding. They were flexible with our vision for the menu and even let us create our own dishes.

    Sent on 10/25/2011
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 07/17/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wonderful place to have an outdoor ceremony. We could not have found a more beautiful place to have our wedding. The one complaint I have is the staff is sometimes slow to respond to phone calls or emails.

    Sent on 07/22/2010
  • User6612673 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    was so flexible after the domes closed last year

    Sent on 03/20/2017
  • User3511807 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    We used Boerner Botanical Gardens for our wedding ceremony and we LOVED our ceremony! We got married on the Shrub Mall Lawn and it was incredibly picturesque. Mike at the gardens was incredibly helpful and the staff was super accommodating to us and our families. They were a pleasure to work with . And because the gardens are county owned, its an excellent deal. We would recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 09/04/2013
  • User1662398 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Was given an idea of complete service and that didn't happen quite as described. Would recommend venue but must get your own day of coordinator too Forgot to set head table as discussed and shown on map. This was upsetting Beautiful ceremony amazing food

    Sent on 09/04/2012
  • A

    Allysha · Married on 09/06/2014

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This is a mixed review because we had some significant issues with FBBG, but they did get resolved. My advice, make sure you get EVERYONE's contact information when you do your booking because the person we went through was let go and there went our contract too. FBBG was able to honor some arrangements and they did come through and help us with the rest of our issues, and everything turned out great. We had our ceremony at the gardens in September and it turned out to be a lovely sunny day! We were able to take pictures all around the gardens which was perfect and our guests loved it. It isn't the most cost-effective place to have a ceremony, especially if you have a lot of guests and need to have chairs. However, if you want to have a place with fantastic pictures, this is it.

    Sent on 09/14/2014
  • Rachael

    Rachael · Married on 08/12/2017

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Absolutely GORGEOUS venue! We received compliments all night about how beautiful the flowers were and the rooms; it was absolutely stunning for an August wedding. Our photographers were over the moon! Our catering and contact was through Zilli Hosptilality, so we really only utilized Boerner for the space. A+

    Sent on 08/17/2017
  • K

    Kim · Married on 09/03/2017

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    My experience with Boerner and Zilli Hospitality Group was somewhat mixed. I'll start with the good:
    -Venue itself is absolutely beautiful - the gardens are stunning and make for a great ceremony location and pictures
    -The food provided by Zilli was absolutely incredible, all of our guests were blown away by the food
    -Everything being in one place is so convenient-- bridal room to get ready, ceremony garden, cocktail hour and reception hall are all at the venue, which makes it so much easier for guests
    -Compared to all the other venues I looked into, this was the most reasonably priced for what you get, and you get a lot

    The bad... the issues we encountered were pretty much all due to a major lack of communication leading up to and on the day of our wedding. We were not told who we would be working with on the actual day, and assumed it would be the person we were in contact with up until that point, but it was actually a separate event manager who we'd never met, nor known existed. As a result, when we showed up in the morning on the day of the wedding and encountered issues we needed help with, we did not know who to contact and couldn't get in touch with anyone we had been working with (as it was a Sunday, and we only had office #s as it turns out). We were also misled about the timing for setting up the placecards, guest book, etc. and had to frantically rush to get that done with moments to spare. It all did work out in the end, but the additional stress on an already stressful day was just a lot to deal with.

    My advice to other couples is to make sure you are very clear on who is in charge of helping on the day of, what their contact info is, and when they will be arriving. If we'd had that info going into our wedding day, things would have been so much less stressful and I'd probably give a 5 star review.

    Sent on 09/13/2017

    Boerner Botanical Gardens's reply:

    On behalf of all of us at Zilli Hospitality Group, we are appreciative of your comments and naturally disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your experience. Your feedback has been shared with our entire event planning staff as well as leadership within our company. Please know, we take all feedback very seriously. We welcome the opportunity to speak to you in more detail about your experience. Please send Steph Zilli an email at stephz@zillihospitalitygroup.com or call him at 262-547-9447, and he can set up a time to talk. Thanks so much.
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/10/2015

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    The gardens itself was beautiful and Nicole who helped us coordinate the wedding was fantastic. But I was so disappointed in their security and the response that followed. We booked the rose garden for our ceremony and rented the dressing room in the Garden House. When I arrived at the Gardens, the people at the front desk told me to just go in and it was unlocked. There was a birthday party going on in the next room. The door was suppose to automatically lock between our door and the birthday party door but this was not case and we were not aware that it was unlocked. During the ceremony, somebody stole from our dressing room. About $300 in cash was stolen, entire makeup bags were stolen (around $1700), alcohol was stolen, and wedding cards were stolen. This situation caused our whole wedding timeline to change. This definitely put a damper on the day. The people at the gardens were not especially helpful or concerned. They offered to call the police. We waited for them, so we were unable to take pictures at Miller Park like we wanted and had to wait around. The policewoman who came was not helpful or sympathetic, she told us the chance of finding the people who did was zero and there is really no point in filing a report. So it was a waste of time even contacting them. I think the Gardens should have taken more security precautions and provided us with a key. I also was unhappy because when we were dealing with all of this, they abruptly told us to take the rest of our stuff out of the room because the 3 oclock people were there to use the room. We wouldn't have still been in the rom if our stuff hadn't been stolen and we had to deal with the police. And to top it off, even though credit cards were not stolen, they were moved around so everyone had to contact their credit card companies because pictures could have been taken of the number and security codes. This was not something that we wanted to deal with and I want people to be aware of these issues.

    Sent on 10/18/2015
  • L

    Lisette · Getting married on 05/25/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    I would not pick this venue. My fiance and I went to visit the venue and meet with Lisa, the representative from Zilli hospitality, on a Friday. We loved the venue and immediately sent our wish list to Lisa to get pricing by that night. Lisa told me that she would get back to us in about a week with answers to a few questions and a price break down. I emailed two weeks later to see if she had it and received no response. It has now been a month since our visit and we have still heard nothing. We were willing to spend a lot of money for this venue and yet no response. We have appointments to see other vendors starting this weekend.

    Sent on 07/25/2017

    Boerner Botanical Gardens's reply:

    On behalf of all of us at Zilli Hospitality Group, we are appreciative of your comments and naturally disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your experience. Your feedback has been shared with our entire event planning staff as well as leadership within our company. Please know, we take all feedback very seriously. We have assigned one of our event designers to your account, and we are confident that you will receive all of the information you are requesting. Thank you in advance and look forward to serving you.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review