Skip to main content
Weddings

Black Tie Sounds and Lighting Reviews

Black Tie Sounds and Lighting

Black Tie Sounds and Lighting

Frisco, TX
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 142 Reviews
View more information

142 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 142
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

11 User photos

  • William
    William E. Married on 04/23/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Pleasing and exciting

    Jeff was awesome with both music selection and communication. I would recommend him to anybody searching.
  • J
    Jennifer L. Married on 04/16/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding with DJ Jeff

    We had a wonderful time planning and talking with Jeff about our wedding. Jeff is very professional and updated us on the timeline and forms for the wedding. He arrived early and made sure all equipments were working on the day of the wedding and he even went on-site a few weeks earlier to scout the venue and check the electric and wiring. I highly recommend Jeff and he did an amazing job entertaining our guests.
  • Ashley
    Ashley P. Married on 02/06/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Black Tie Sounds is THE Best!

    DJ Jeff Burris exceeded our expectations in so many ways on our wedding day. Jeff was our wedding DJ during the summer of 2020 while so many things were unknown. Still, Jeff was so clear and prepared for every aspect of his job and was the best and most responsive communicator out of almost every vendor we had. He is so easy to talk to and understands your wedding is your day, he doesn't want to overshadow any of us, but he made it the best possible day where our guests could celebrate us so well. He was prepared from having all the music downloaded beforehand but also knowing the mood of the crowd, to knowing each detail and timing of every important song played, to trying to match ties with our wedding colors, to keeping the ball rolling at our event and making everything run as smoothly as possible. Whether you are very detail oriented like me or you want to leave it up to the DJ for every song, Jeff is your guy! If you live in DFW you have found your DJ!!!
  • D
    Deijah H. Married on 01/08/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Ceremony services

    Jeff was amazing from start to finish. He went out of his way to make our big day special. Highly recommend!
  • M
    Madison B. Married on 12/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding ceremony and wedding reception DJ

    Best DJ EVER!! 10/10 recommend
  • J
    Jordan S. Married on 09/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    GREAT DJ! Must hire for a great wedding

    Jeff was AWESOME! He was completely understanding of our vision and ran with it. The music was fantastic, people were dancing all night long. The feedback from everyone at our wedding was how amazing the dance floor was. Jeff showed up early to make sure we were set to go outside, he was incredible to work with and extremely professional. The day would not have been the same without him.
  • K
    Kelsie J. Married on 09/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best DJ ever!!

    Black Tie sounds is the absolute best! Jeff is very professional and helped guide us so we could have the best reception and ceremony possible! His online planning system is great and even offers suggestions for daddy daughter dance, cake cutting, bouquet toss etc. Jeff played every song we requested, stuck to our timeline and filled in the gaps with great music. We couldn’t have asked for a better DJ for our wedding!
  • Kailey
    Kailey M. Married on 08/13/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome DJ

    We were so glad to have Jeff as our DJ. He was able to work with us on short notice and still took the time to get to know us. He was very responsive to all of his emails, which made coordinating our wedding across states that much easier. Jeff made sure to meet with us on numerous occasions beforehand just to make sure we had everything sorted out before our wedding. The ceremony and reception turned out great. Thank you Jeff for being a part of our special day!
  • Nicole
    Nicole H. Married on 05/16/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience

    Jeff was a pleasure to work with. He answered all our questions and made the planning process easy. Our guests were dancing all night long. He also did a great job keeping guests on track with the timeline of events for the night.
  • G
    Greg H. Married on 03/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Black Tie Sounds = A+

    Jeff was on top of things from first contact (about ten months prior to our wedding) until the time we made our grand exit at the conclusion of the wedding. He was easy to contact and responded back immediately to our questions. Jeff is organized and wants to make sure his customers are at ease when the big day comes. We were not sure about a couple songs for certain parts of the wedding and Jeff helped us find what we were looking for. Guests always new what was going on which is not always the case at some weddings I have been at in the past. I strongly recommend Black Tie Sounds and will encourage my friends to use them when it is their time to get married!
  • G
    Grace Married on 12/30/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Jeff is a hero!

    Jeff was a fantastic and professional DJ. He came in as a last minute (3 days before the wedding!) substitute for our original DJ who tested positive for COVID. To the credit of both him and the original DJ, everything went off without a hitch. Jeff stepped up to the plate with professionalism and was very respectful of what we had originally planned and even sanitized the microphone that we used at the reception for speeches from the Best Man and Matron Of Honor. It's amazing how seamlessly things happened with only 3 days notice. He took the initiative and talked to my venue for me about things to help him get things done quickly on his end, so I didn't have to worry about anything. I can't recommend Jeff highly enough. If he did such an amazing job on 3 days notice, imagine if he had more time!
  • M
    Monica R. Married on 10/30/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best DJ Ever!

    Jeff was absolutely AMAZING! He was so professional, and made our day so much fun and very special. He was easy to work with, and was really open to customizing our day to fit us. He even wrote our a personalized “love story” to read out at the reception before our entrance. Really a top notch guy, and very very worth it!
  • Destiny
    Destiny R. Married on 06/22/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The BEST Experience with a DJ

    My bridesmaid found Black Tie Sounds for us and set up a meeting with Jeff! In the first meeting Jeff was knowable and did not make us feel like we had to rush our decision right away. Once we booked Black Tie Sounds he provided all the forms and music library to us to build what we wanted! Every time we had a question he got back to us right away! Leading up to the wedding COVID hit and we were unsure if we were going to be able to have it. Jeff was supported and was willing to reschedule if needed! Thankful we were able to have our wedding on the date we wanted. The day of the wedding I asked if we could change a couple of things regarding the ceremony and he made it work!! Transitions flowed so nicely and Jeff provided much more than we expected. My parents were thrilled that we had such a great vendor for music! I highly, HIGHLY recommend Black Tie Sounds for any event. You will NOT be disappointed! Thank you Jeff for everything!!
  • A
    Adeenah C. Married on 03/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Black Tie Sounds-DJ Jeff

    DJ Jeff is EXCELLENT! He made our day perfect from the ceremony to the reception, and we are so thankful we chose to work with him! He is so organized, punctual, and thorough, ensuring that he did everything we requested and more. He is undoubtedly one of the best!!!
  • A
    Anna W. Married on 02/29/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Jeff is the best!

    Jeff is amazing! Super friendly and professional. He does a great job listening to the client and what they are wanting. One of my favorite things is that he doesn't have the music crazy loud during cocktail hour and dinner so you're able to talk to people and enjoy that time without trying to yell at everyone lol He also doesn't try to take over and make it "his show" which I really appreciate! You definitely need Jeff to DJ your wedding!
  • Sarah
    Sarah Z. Married on 02/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We love Black Tie Sounds!

    I found Black Tie Sounds after attending another wedding, and automatically knew I wanted Jeff to be our DJ. He was extremely professional, could read the crowd well, and truly enhanced the wedding by his skills and professionalism! He helped answer any questions I had about timing, song choices, order of events during the reception, etc. that most people probably already have figured out before they come to their DJ. He kept in touch with us and made sure we didn't have any questions or need any assistance throughout the planning process. The day of the wedding, he arrived a few hours early, making sure everything was completely set up. We were stress free on our wedding day because of him!
  • Taylor
    Taylor S. Married on 01/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection

    Jeff was amazing, I truly couldn't have imagined our day without him. He was extremely organized, so professional and had a great personality. I would and will hire him again. You are missing out if you don't pick him to be your DJ.
  • Conor
    Conor H. Married on 11/24/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Nerve Calming Experience

    While planning our wedding one of the worst feelings was not knowing exactly how everything was supposed to come together and seem organized. Upon the first meeting with Jeff he quickly calmed a lot of the nerves I had by showing my wife and I how organized he had his schedule of events and how easy that made it. I would definitely recommend Jeff for those who feel in over their heads or even the most organized people because he will be up to date with what you need!
  • Maeghan
    Maeghan F. Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect DJ for our wedding of 130 guests!

    Jeff at Black Tie Sounds is a WINNER! He made the ceremony and reception run so smoothly. He worked well with my wedding coordinator, not skipping a beat so I didn't have to worry about anything! All the guests LOVED his music and style. The biggest compliment came from my brother (who was in the wedding so I didn't want him working) but has been a DJ for 25 plus years. He said Jeff was outstanding!
  • Nidia
    Nidia P. Married on 10/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best event dj ever!

    Jeff was absolutely OUTSTANDING as our DJ of the night! On our crazy day big day, Jeff was one of the first ones there to set-up and make sure everything was going as planned, he communicated with us through out the night and was an absolute professional! When things didn't go as planned, Jeff was there, on the fly, to make any adjustments that needed to be made. We received a ton of compliments of how fantastic he was and how he kept the right type of music going to keep the dance floor going. Jeff was a-lot of fun and we will ALWAYS recommend him for events to our friends and family. Professional, reliable, fun, and a great personality, this is what you want in your wedding/event DJ!
  • A
    Ashley L. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stress free!

    Jeff was super professional and took so much stress off us for the wedding day. He is a true professional! He kept the party going all night.
  • R
    Rachel F. Married on 09/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful DJ

    Jeff was great! Very professional, had great music selections and made the process simple. Our wedding was a short notice event and he made it happen! I highly recommend him for your event!
  • Joe
    Joe R. Married on 08/31/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great to work with!

    Jeff with Black Tie Sounds did a fantastic job on our wedding and pulled a great amount of stress from my wife and I during our reception!
  • J
    Jessica T. Married on 08/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fun, great party!

    Jeff was awesome at keeping the party going at our reception and we had many guests complimenting us on our music/party after the wedding. He also helped us time out and make sure all music for procession/recession during the ceremony was right on time and perfect! We would recommend him to anyone and I’ve already recommended him to several family friends and my sister!
  • J
    Julie L. Married on 06/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Reception DJ

    Jeff got to know us through the planning process. He kept the reception upbeat and fun!