Skip to main content
Weddings

Black Tie Entertainment Reviews

Black Tie Entertainment

Black Tie Entertainment

Syracuse, NY
4.9 out of 5 rating, 117 Reviews
View more information

117 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

117
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

16 User photos

  • K
    Katina K. Married on 07/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Hire Black Tie Entertainment, now!

    If you are looking for the best DJ and entertainment in the area, then you have found it! Black Tie Entertainment is your vendor! They are incredible. Bill came highly recommended by our venue and other vendors. After our first call with him, we knew why. He was professional, organized and on his music game. We had a unique timeline and music choices, as my husband and I are both very into music. Bill understood it and knocked it out of the park. We also had him project our custom monogram onto the dance floor. We had multiple calls to review everything and he had everything in place and perfect for us. We are so grateful to have had him DJ for our wedding and be a part of our special day. The dance floor was constantly filled with our guests dancing, enjoying themselves, raving about the music and letting us know how cool our monogram looked. I will share professional photos when we have them! Thank you so much, Bill!
  • S
    Sara P. Married on 10/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Service!!

    Bill did an amazing job through out the entire process . The music was exactly what we were hoping for and it set a positive and energized tone the entire night . We would definitely recommend using Black Tie for any event .

    Black Tie Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks for the review Sara, we greatly appreciate the kind words. It was a fantastic night and a pleasure to work for you!!
  • Hannah
    Hannah B. Married on 09/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A great DJ to work with!

    We hired Black Tie Entertainment for our wedding on 9/4/2021. Everything about the company was great. Bill kept in touch with us throughout the whole process, he responded to E-mails quickly and was always professional. We ended up having Mike as our DJ and again same result, he was great. We spoke several times before our big day to make sure everything was what we wanted from pronunciation of names, to clarifying our song choices and picking out music Mike was so great to work with. Fast forward to the day, Mike showed up early and had everything set up before guests arrived. Our family and friend are not big dancers but Mike got everyone out on the dance floor and having a great time. We are so glad we hired them for our wedding day.

    Black Tie Entertainment's reply:

    Hannah thanks sooo much for the review. Hope the two of you are doing fantastic. Sept. 4 was a great night! Thanks for having BTE. -DJ Mike
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Roberta
    Roberta W. Married on 06/04/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing and energizing!

    Jose from Black Tie was amazing!! We let him know we wanted to have a fun high energy wedding and he was the perfect fit! We had guests on the dance floor that don’t usually dance! Thank you for making our day memorable for all!!

    Black Tie Entertainment's reply:

    What a great night. Thanks for having BTE and I wish you both all the best. Thanks for the review!
  • B
    75C450C3F963Befb912Ee79F0B63E563652780F0 Married on 05/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn't Ask For Anything Better

    I can't speak highly enough about Black Tie Entertainment. They worked with us through multiple date and location changes eventually coming to Buffalo for our wedding.

    Bill was great to work with in getting everything together and Jose was a fantastic DJ that kept the part going and did a great job reading the room. There was no break in the party at all.

    We also used Black Tie for our photo booth and the attendant, Kyle was outstanding in keeping that running smoothly.

    Definitely a top-notch company that I would suggest to anyone!
  • M
    Megan Y. Married on 12/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above and Beyond

    Bill and Black Tie Entertainment were amazing. Bill was so easy to work with before the wedding and the day of. He was helpful, professional, and really took the time to look at our requests and choose other songs that us and our guests would love. He also helped to edit my father-daughter song to take out a part that didn't quite fit so that the song would be exactly how I wanted it. Bill made sure to check in with us throughout the reception and made everything flow so smoothly! We got married in NYS in December 2020, so the regulations from the governor said we couldn't dance-- Bill handled this so well and still played songs that got everyone excited and engaged. I can't recommend Bill and Black Tie enough, he really helped make our wedding day perfect!

    Black Tie Entertainment's reply:

    Megan,

    Many thanks to you and Tyler for the kind words. You and your families were a pleasure to work for.

    Happy Holidays,
    Bill
  • Mae
    Mae S. Married on 12/21/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thanks Bill & Black Tie!

    We used Black Tie Entertainment for our wedding in December 2019 and were so glad we did. We don’t live in the Syracuse area, so we weren’t able to meet Bill until the day of our wedding, but we always felt like we were in good hands with him and Black Tie. From our first phone call with Bill about 7 months before the wedding, we felt really comfortable with Bill. He listened to all of our thoughts and concerns, and gave helpful recommendations when we asked for them (i.e. timing and order of events during our reception).

    Most importantly, Bill & Black Tie exceeded our expectations the night of our wedding. We had mentioned to Bill that we wanted our reception to be lively with lots of dancing, and that’s exactly what happened. We received so many comments from our guests about how the DJ did a great job keeping the party going, and the dance floor was full almost the whole night. Additionally, Bill was very accommodating of our requests even on the day of the wedding. We had a couple last minute changes to the order of events and he said it was no problem and made us feel relaxed and comfortable. We also asked him during the reception if he could play a couple songs that we had forgotten to request ahead of time, and he was able to fit them all in.

    We are so happy that we used Bill & Black Tie for our wedding! Thanks guys for a wonderful night!!!

    Black Tie Entertainment's reply:

    Mae & Billy,

    Thank you so very much for the review. It was a pleasure working your event and I wish you all the best!!

    Bill
  • K
    Kathryn S. Married on 11/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience

    All of my other vendors recommended Black Tie to us, so we had high expectations from the start. Bill and team absolutely met our expectations - from suggestions during the planning phase, plenty of pre-event communication, to the actual reception itself. Our guests had such a wonderful time, and the music was calibrated perfectly throughout the evening. Bill was a great emcee, and kept the order of events moving smoothly while checking in with us throughout the night. The uplighting option is absolutely worth it, and the candlelight hue we chose gave the reception room a great ambiance. Highly recommend!
  • E
    Elizabeh R. Married on 09/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Best DJ Service

    Black Tie Entertainment was the most amazing DJ service! Our wedding was months ago and we still have guests telling us that they have never danced that much at a wedding ever before! The dance floor was packed ALL night!! Bill was super responsive with our inquiry and very helpful in planning out the night! Our DJ for the night was Jose! He was AMAZING!! He kept the reception running smoothly and on time and made sure we had all of our important moments captured before our photographer left! The music was awesome!!! We provided a list of some of our favorite songs and Jose filled in the rest with more great music that we loved! He completely read the room all night and kept everyone up and dancing until the very end!!! We couldn’t be happier with our choice! And so thankful to Black Tie and Jose for the best night!!!
  • N
    Nick A. Married on 08/17/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Made our wedding

    Jose did a great job. He used our suggestions and picked music to keep everyone on the dance floor. He knew songs we wanted without having to tell him. He was also very personable and professional. Would highly recommend him

    Black Tie Entertainment's reply:

    Thanks so much for the review! It was a pleasure working for you both. I wish you two all the best. -DJ Jose
  • Becky
    Becky M. Married on 07/27/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful 50th Anniversary Party

    We were very pleased with Bob and the music he played the night of our 50th anniversary party, at the Genesee Grande. The music was perfect for what we wanted. People commented how much they enjoyed the music and how they were able to talk without having the music drowning out their voices. They also loved the fact that Bob was able to take requests and play great music for dancing. I didn’t realize how important having the right DJ was until that night. It really helped to make the evening special. Thank you Bob! I highly recommend Black Tie Entertainment!
  • Tiffany
    Tiffany Married on 11/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing DJ, Easy to work with

    Bill and his team are AMAZING. They were so easy to work with, and very helpful. Everything ahead of time was wonderful. Bill was very responsive and did a great job answering any questions that we had. We got so many compliments on how amazing our DJ was. There were people on the dance floor all night. It was the perfect combination of music that worked for all of the guests at our wedding. Our parents and older guests had some fun and classic hits that they loved but there were also newer songs that we loved and our younger guests enjoyed. The music at the ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner, and reception was all fantastic. Bill was on top of keeping things on schedule. He did a great job always checking in with us throughout the night, he was so professional and incredible. The uplighting was beautiful and was a really nice touch to the wedding. Thank you Bill!!
  • B
    Brad Married on 10/07/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We held our wedding at BVB and cannot recommend it enough. It is an absolutely beautiful venue - the area, the view, the trees, the pond, and of course the space itself. The inside of the barn is gorgeous and the owner has updated it nicely and kept it well maintained. We had countless comments from guests about how unbelievable the venue was. The process of visiting and making the arrangements for the wedding was very seamless. The owner, Kari, is very accommodating, professional, and easy to work with. Throughout the planning stages and on the actual day of, she was tremendous to work with. She truly made every effort to ensure that our day went off without any issues. Overall we were so pleased with Best View Barn and we would easily recommend the venue a thousand times over.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We recently had Bob DJ our wedding on Saturday 9/22/18 and I honestly cannot say enough good things about him!
    When we first met with Bill (the owner) at our original meeting, we instantly were sold. He was so personable and we knew we were in good hands. We did not know who exactly was going to DJ our wedding until a few weeks before the wedding and I knew the instant I spoke with Bob that we liked him already. We struggled with some song choices during our initial meeting with Bob and he even texted me on several occasions with song choice recommendations that came into his head at random times. That was so appreciative and he made me feel like not as another bride. We also had a strict "no music older than the 80's" request for our reception music and he ensured that what we requested is what we got! He had such high energy and the dance floor was packed all night! I was worried that the introductions were going to sound too rehearsed or announced just because of experiences we have had with DJ's at other weddings, however Bob was the perfect happy medium. He played every song on our "to play list", introductions went smoothly and no names were pronounced incorrectly. He played our ceremony music also which turned out exactly what we wanted. I cannot think of even one single thing that went wrong.
    Booking Black Tie was one of the best decisions that we made for our wedding and our special day would definitely not have been as perfect if it weren't for Bob. Thank you so so much, we are forever grateful!!
  • B
    Brittney Married on 08/11/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Above and Beyond

    Bill was wonderful to work with! He provided uplighting and DJ services for our ballroom reception and he surpassed our expectations. He made time to meet with us and check in with us throughout the planning process and he stuck to our music preferences and helped keep the evening running on a seamless schedule. He was friendly and professional and knew exactly when to provide suggestions based on his experience and he did not steer us wrong at all. We loved working with him and we love the memories he helped us make on the dance floor at our reception.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 07/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Bill and Bob were not only incredibly easy to work with, but ensured everything was perfect that day. Things I wouldn't have thought of during the night like "do I really want to interrupt dancing for a bouquet toss," were handled by Bob with ease. I planned my wedding from across the country and Bill was super responsive with email and we got the chance to meet the week before which was amazing. We had a choreographed surprise first dance and timing, sound quality, everything was perfect. There's nothing I hate more than a dj who loves the sound of his own voice and just talks the whole night haha- Bob knew what to say to get the party going, played the right songs to ensure that everyone was on the dance floor, and kept it entertaining. He stayed an extra hour no questions asked which was amazing. Thank you black tie!!
  • K
    Katie Married on 06/02/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic service

    We had to be the most indecisive and clueless couple when it came to music for our reception. Our only request was no country music. They helped us choose the ideal style of music for the reception and did not play a single country song. We also rented a photobooth for the reception and it was a hit! Guests received print outs of the photos and my husband and I received a USB with all the photobooth photos on it as well, which was fantastic for us to cherish and guests to choose their favorite individual ones. They made everything so easy and provided so much fun to us and our guests!
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 12/02/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    BTE is one of the best DJ’s we have ever heard and worked with! For my sister’s wedding they were amazing and still held that bar high after our wedding. Bob and Bill were incredible to work with and really understood the vision for our wedding. Bob kept the night running smoothly and had some great music choices that helped keep the dance floor going all night.

    Thank you very much for helping to make our day so special!
  • M
    Molly Married on 11/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Black Tie Entertainment was seriously amazing to work with leading up to our wedding and on the wedding day! Bill was our main contact for planning and was our DJ/MC for the reception. We live out of state but he met with us in person on the one weekend we were in town to go over how we wanted the reception structured, what kind of music we wanted, etc. We did our reception in a non-traditional order and Bill handled it really well. We also gave him some custom music tracks for our first dances and he had no issues making those special accommodations for us. He made sure to play everything off of our "favorites" song list and also took a reasonable amount of requests from guests. He ended the night with the perfect song that had all the guests standing around in a circle, swaying and belting out the words! We also booked an open air photo booth which was a huge hit with our guests and was totally worth the extra money. At the end of the night we got a flash drive with all the raw photos and my parents ended up framing the photo booth photos as Christmas presents to our family and friends which they loved! So many of our guests told us this was the best wedding they had been to, and I credit a lot of that to how much fun Bill & BTE made our reception experience. If BTE is available on your wedding day, there's no question about it - you should absolutely hire them!
  • L
    Laura Married on 10/14/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Black Tie Entertainment did a fantastic job DJing our wedding. They listened to all of our requests, and the dance floor was never empty. We had a blast with their photo booth too!
  • A
    Amy Married on 08/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    BTE is the way to go if you're planning a wedding! They Dj'd a couple of wedding we had been too and did a great job. So when it was our turn to plan, they were our first contact. After our first initial meeting, I felt completely comfortable with him and trusted things would be great. One less thing to worry about!

    Bill did such a great job! Everything went smoothly and he kept us on time as much as possible. He did a great job keeping our requests and not playing certain genres or songs. Bill set an easy and comfortable atmosphere for both the ceremony and the reception. He was very easy to work with and made our dance party a great one!

    Thank you so much for everything you did to make our day that much more special!
  • Clarissa
    Clarissa Married on 07/21/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I booked Black Tie Entertainment for our wedding and it was one of the best decisions we made! From start to finish, Bill was so insightful and made every last detail amazing. Bill himself DJed our wedding and did an absolutely awesome job! He took our (rather long) list of songs we wanted played and mixed in songs that fit right in. We never wanted to leave the dance floor! Along with the DJ service, we booked a photo booth and videographer through Black Tie Entertainment. The photo booth was a big hit at the reception and we can't wait to see the video. Thanks Bill and the rest of the Black Tie Entertainment crew for helping make our night absolutely amazing!
  • A
    Andrea Married on 05/28/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Loved them! I had to plan this from out of state, and they were super easy to get a hold of and coordinate over the phone with. I don't have the best taste in music, so I think I gave him a tough time for him to select music, but he nailed it at my wedding reception. He read the room and knew what to play and when (ex. lighter happier, easy to listen to music during the dinner hour, and then transitioning to awesome dance mixes after dinner and when more people were dancing) His MC services were great as well. Definitely would recommend.
  • S
    Seyda Married on 05/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Of all the decisions I made for my wedding day, I am especially thankful for this one! Black Tie Entertainment was amazing to work with! Leading up to the wedding, they were very flexible, accommodating and easy to work with. The day of our wedding, I did not have to worry at all. Bill took care of everything, from lining up our wedding party, to navigating our toasts and speeches, to the music that kept our wedding going all night! I had the best time. Dancing and music was an important expense to me in the wedding planning process, and I do not regret going with Black Tie Entertainment. My family also purchased uplighting and the photo booth from Black Tie Entertainment as a surprise and it was wonderful! The uplighting was stunning, and the photo booth was so much fun. I loved having those pictures to remember. The night goes by so fast, and your photographer can only capture so much. My guests were raving about the music and the photo booth! I had the best night of my life - thank you Black Tie Entertainment!

    Black Tie Entertainment's reply:

    Seyda,
    Thank you so very much for the kind review!! You and Daniel were a pleasure to work with.

    All the best,
    Bill
  • T
    Tom Married on 10/01/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Black Tie Entertainment was our DJ and did the lighting for our wedding. They were so wonderful to work with and really knew how to keep the party going! They went out of their way to find special lighting for us and completely made our vision come to life. I'm so glad we used them for our special day!

    Definitely book with them, they are amazing!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message