Black Rock Country Club Reviews

24 | Hingham, MA
See photos, pricing and details

24 Reviews for Black Rock Country Club

Recommended by 99% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

24

7 User photos

Order by:
  • M

    Meagan Paste · Married on 12/31/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection! The Black Rock staff made our wedding perfect and dreamy. Did not stress one bit with this crew. Would not have changed a thing!

    My husband and I got married on New Year’s Eve 2019 at Black Rock. We could not have LOVED our wedding day more. They went above and beyond our expectations. During the prep, we meet with Kim, the Wedding Coordinator. I cannot express how much I love her. Kim was always on point making sure we were a step ahead of everything. Kim had many suggestions that we never thought of. She would answer my crazy questions every step of the way even when the question was repetitive, I am a control freak! Everyone says wedding planning was challenging, we can honestly say that was not the case with Kim and her crew. We did not stress about anything with the venue because we knew Kim had everything taken care of.

    The day of we were blessed with Maggie and her team. Maggie made sure everything went off without a hitch that everything and everyone knew what to do and where they needed to be. We were on time and relaxed the entire day. Our wedding could not have been more perfect. From start to finish working with the team at Black Rock they were well organized, compassionate and always willing to help. We could not have dreamed of a better wedding.

    If you couldn’t tell, 100% recommend this venue. In love and obsessed.

    Sent on 03/15/2020
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 01/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hidden Gem!

    When we decided to have a winter wedding, we would have never expected to have it at a place like Black Rock. From the very get-go, Kim was wonderful. Full of useful information and extremely flexible. We wouldn't have done it a million times over without her!

    The staff was very friendly and professional during the whole event, from start to finish. Even the Country Club members made us feel comfortable.

    The only thing we heard from our guests was that they cleared the dinner plates a little too quickly. The food was AMAZING and some of the guests were not able to finish it if they decided to step away for a second. Other than that, everything was wonderful... Kim is the best venue coordinator out there! The food is absolutely up to par. Bar service was lovely too!

    Sent on 01/30/2019
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 11/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect Day

    We had our wedding at the Black Rock Country Club in Hingham. Kim is the event planner and is awesome! Every recommendation she made was spot on. She was so easy to work with. The food was incredible. The staff was awesome and it was just beautiful. Kim made sure our day went off without a hitch. It was truly a perfect magical night.

    Sent on 02/18/2019
  • L

    Lori · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about this venue. Kim was amazing!!! She is one of the reasons I chose the place. The grounds are beautiful but Kim was so easy to work with. She got back to you right away and was super helpful. The day turned out perfect and it couldn't have been better. Everything was gorgeous and exactly how I wanted. The up lighting was amazing! I would recommend black rock to anyone. Kim made everything less stressful and made sure everything got done when it needed to. I wasn't nervous at all because I knew how perfect it was going to be. Again I can't say enough good things, love isn't a strong enough word for the day. Thanks so much for helping make my day perfect!!!!

    Sent on 05/28/2016
  • User5547241 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding at Black Rock Country Club on 9/18/15. Working with Kim (their wedding coordinator) and Maire (the Banquet captain) was absolutely fantastic. They took such great care of us from the initial tour of the venue all the way up through the wedding itself. Kim and Maire both provided us with great advice and ideas all throughout the entire process. The venue was absolutely gorgeous, we held the ceremony at their outdoor pavilion and then moved to the back terrace for cocktail hour, and then into dining room for dinner and dancing. The customer service they provided was impeccable. Both of our parents were raving after the fact about how attentive they were and able to keep everything running smoothly and on-time. Also, the food was amazing and definitely not your typical wedding food. We got compliments from so many guests. I would highly recommend BlackRock to anyone looking to host a wedding or special event. We had a perfect day!

    Sent on 10/22/2015
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 12/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Black Rock Country Club exceeded every expectation we had for our wedding. We got married in December and used the Grille Room - it is stunning! The staff was amazing, food was amazing, and everything ran like clock work. Kim, the coordinator, took care of absolutely everything so I didn't have to worry about a thing. I wish I could go back there and do it all over again!

    Sent on 01/01/2015
  • J

    Jolene · Married on 12/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Black Rock was the perfect location for our 12-13-14 wedding. Everything was perfect! Two months later and we are still hearing from friends and family what a great venue it was and how amazing the food was. Kim was great to work with and did a phenomenal job at helping us achieve the wedding of our dreams. The staff was friendly, attentive, and accommodating. We had a great experience working with everyone from the moment we toured the venue. We couldn't have asked for a more perfect day!

    Sent on 02/25/2015
  • User3772047 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding reception at Black Rock- November 2014. Working with Kimberly, Black Rock's wedding coordinator, was an absolute pleasure. Kimberly was a true professional and is very detail oriented; each time we chatted on the phone or we emailed, I knew she understood my vision. Kimberly also provided me with a very detailed day of timeline which was perfect, and she kept us and our vendors on schedule the day of, which was very much appreciated. I can go on for days about Kimberly, she is the best!

    Maire, our personal server day of, was unbelievable. She took wonderful care of my husband, myself, our bridal party and our immediate family. She went above and beyond; Maire frequently checked in with us during the wedding to make sure we ate, that we had a drink, and that we were happy. She even went outside in the 30 degree weather to serve us h'ordeurves while we were taking pictures, she is a gem! Thank you Maire!

    The food is absolutely amazing and the venue is beautiful and modern. Besides complimenting us on the venue choice, the most frequent compliment we received was about the delicious food. If you are looking into passed h'ordeuvres, our guests could not get enough of the Buffalo Chicken Rangoon and the Bruschetta. I am not exaggerating when I say that every single guest raved about the passed h'ordeuvre and the entree selections. We also did a finishing station, which was a hit, and many guests told us it was the best they had ever seen at a wedding.

    All of our guests were blown away by the immaculate condition of the venue, the food, and the staff. My husband and I are beyond elated that we chose Black Rock as our venue. I highly recommend Black Rock to any Bride to Be!




    Sent on 12/03/2014
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kim and the entire staff were professional, co-operative and very efficient in all aspects of planning, organizing and hosting the event.

    Sent on 02/24/2015
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married at Black Rock in early November 2014, and to this day we talk about how perfect our reception was! Kim, the coordinator, was amazing to work with-- from the day that we first came in to see the venue, through all of the planning and decision making, and guiding us through the reception to make the evening as seamless and enjoyable as possible for us, she was readily available and so helpful. She was always extremely responsive to emails and phone calls, and dealt with my crazy bride questions and requests without hesitation, while making me feel like our wedding was her sole focus (while I know she also had countless other weddings on the books). Having someone feel so invested in our big day meant so much to my husband and I, and I truly believe that we had such a wonderful experience because of Kim and the staff at Black Rock. I also have to specifically give praise to Maire, whom coordinated our menu tasting and went above and beyond to have any food/drinks that my husband and I needed throughout cocktail hour and the remainder of the reception post-dinner-- she could not be more of a sweetheart, and does her job so very well. I could not speak more highly of Black Rock as a reception venue!!

    Sent on 07/01/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was everything I could have ever imagined thanks to Kim the wedding coordinator and Maura (head of kitchen ). Kim was soo creative and had beautiful ideas for our venue. She was so patient and worked so hard on our venue to make it the best for us .kim was amazing . Maura was unbelievable . She was right on top of everything made us feel so comfortable and was always asking what we needed . She always had a drink for us and or food to make sure we eat .The food was delicous ! Such a beautiful venue for pictures ! On our wedding day it rained , but we took gorgeous photos downstairs and upstairs . Overall, an amazing day and best head chef and wedding coordinator !

    Sent on 02/25/2015
  • User4483989 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married at black rock on 10/11. I can't begin to thank Kim and the entire staff at black rock for the best day!! The food was delicious, as we walked around to each table plates were spotless, and everyone complimented the food. I Kim was amazing, we had a big wedding party, 33 people, Kim took charge of everyone and everything, just what we needed! Also, maire was amazing, literally every thing we needed she was right there to take care of our every need. If you are considering black rock or on the fence, I can honestly say it was the best decision I made Kim, and her staff were amazing and made my day perfect ( even with the rain)!!

    Sent on 10/19/2014
  • A

    adam · Married on 10/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say enough about how amazing it was to have my wedding at black rock country club. Our wedding event organizer Kim's attention to detail was impeccable. We never felt rushed or crowded as she helped move the day along for our ceremony and reception. She was always right there when we needed her, but never up our ass and in our way. She seemed to be two steps ahead of us at all times. Food was delicious. We had the Filet and Lobster, plus seasoned chicken. With a side salad and pasta dish. Maura from the waitstaff is absolutely amazing. She was always there for us to make sure we had a drink in our hand, or anything else we needed. The venue is beautiful. I was getting compliments all night. They also offer military discounts. Always a plus.

    Sent on 10/13/2014
  • User4496462 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When looking for our wedding venue, I began fearing I couldn't have something affordable AND elegant, until I found Black Rock Country Club. This was the first venue we went to look at and after my meeting with Kimberly, I canceled my other meetings and signed a contract! I chose Black Rock because of the unbelievable level of service they provided and the absolutely gorgeous views and buildings. The staff at Black Rock wait on you hand and foot in the most endearing and sincere way; treating their residents and guests with a level of class and respect that is reserved for the most elite population.

    Let's be honest, planning a wedding is amazing but so, so stressful and overwhelming, but having one coordinator from Black Rock assigned to you throughout the whole experience is like having your own wedding planner but without the cost. Kimberly kept me on track throughout the whole planning process. She gave me her honest feedback and recommendations and never steered me wrong. Our guests were left with the impression that we spent a small fortune on our wedding based on their experience at Black Rock and they couldn't be more wrong.

    The last and most important piece of the story about Black Rock is their insanely awesome food. When the food came out at the reception, the smell of 5-star restaurant food enveloped the entire room. Our guests were in awe, as were we, of how amazing every bit of food was. I had guests saying it was the best food they've ever had at a large event. I am honestly getting hungry just writing this review.

    I encourage (beg) you to go check out Black Rock Country Club; you will never find anyone who can match their level of service at their prices! We had our ceremony and reception at Black Rock and it was honestly one of the best choices we made.

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • User4394147 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We looked and looked and looked at venues, and then we found Black Rock Country Club! We selected it for the facility's beautiful setting, new construction, ability to have the reception, cocktail hour, and ceremony all on-site in air conditioning, but we rave about it because of how Kim and her team made our big day flawless. Leading up to the day (which was 2 years in the making), Kim did everything she could to be accommodating. And while we are very detail-oriented, Kim had us matched, asking about napkin folds, sash ties, and length of our first dance, when we had no clue these details were options or would impact the flow of the event. Clearly, she has done a lot of weddings and knows what's important and when to get you to focus on certain elements. And the entire staff made us and our family feel very well cared for, whether dropping off items in the days leading up to the wedding or during our numerous visits prior to the wedding.

    Additionally, the facility is so well maintained and we kept getting compliments of how beautiful everything is -- from the manicured grounds, to new carpeting in the ballroom, to clean and well-appointed bathrooms, and beyond.

    All in all, Black Rock offers immense service and quality at a reasonable price. After a long search and thinking we'd never find a place that would meet everyone's expectations, we are so happy to have been married at Black Rock.

    Sent on 09/11/2014
  • K

    Kerrie · Married on 07/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married this past July and both my ceremony and reception were held at the Black Rock. I could not be more thrilled with my choice as it served as the perfect venue for the best day of my life! Kimberly, the wedding planner, is absolutely amazing. She was always readily available by email and was extremely proactive in planning and coordinating. So many details go into planning a wedding but with Kimberly, there is so much less stress. She really takes the brunt of the work. She is also very creative. She completely understood my rustic vision and helped create a lot of the decor including making a chalkboard menu and ceremony program for me. Kimberly even ran to Michael's on the day of my wedding to grab a couple last minute decor items. Her dedication and pride in her work is clear.

    Also, Maire, the banquet coordinator, was unbelievable as well. When I met her at my food tasting, I did not realize what an important part of the wedding day she would become. She was there all day and all night bringing my bridal party and I whatever we needed while we got ready and attending to any need we might have during the reception. She was so kind and professional.

    The Black Rock is not only a beautiful venue but it has an amazing staff truly dedicated to helping you have the perfect wedding. I would highly recommend it!

    Sent on 08/28/2014
  • N

    nicole · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Black Rock is simply a beautiful venue. I immediately fell in love with it and knew right away we wanted our wedding there.
    From booking the venue to the day of , Kimberly and her team left no stone unturned. They were simply amazing and tended to every detail and need.
    The whole process was amazing and everyone talked about the exceptional level of service and how delicious the food was!
    Black Rock is a elegant and amazing venue. Hands down the best place to get married in the south shore!

    Sent on 07/26/2013
  • Angela

    Angela · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow – that is the first word that comes to mind when I think about our reception venue. Planning our event at Black Rock was a breeze. Stacy Gillen, the events manager, is super knowledgeable and super friendly. I loved working with her!! She was always available via phone and email, and even dealt with my compulsive need to visit the space every chance I got. No request seemed so big and no detail too small. Stacy worked with us to personalize a menu and organize our timeline down to the minute. She was in contact with all of my vendors to coordinate, which meant I didn’t have to do it, which meant I could spend the days before my wedding trying to relax and enjoy my final moments as a single woman! I can’t say enough how at ease I felt knowing that she was working behind the scenes to make everything perfect and that she would be with us on the day of the wedding ensuring everything went smoothly. And on the day of our wedding, wow. The space looked even more beautiful than I could have imagined. Stacy and her staff ensured that every detail was in place, down to writing “notes” for our unique guest book to help make sure the guests knew what to do. We were blessed to have a server designated for me and my husband so we never had to go to the bar and we knew when our food was coming out so we could enjoy. And boy was there a lot to enjoy. The food was amazing – our guests were clearing there plates. Stacy made sure we knew where we needed to be and when we needed to be there. When we couldn’t find the all-important map for my bustle, Stacy got on the floor with my bridesmaids to figure it out. That is dedication! I am so glad that we chose Black Rock Country Club for our reception – I could not be happier!

    Sent on 09/17/2012
  • T

    Terese · Married on 07/11/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day was truly amazing! Not only is Black Rock Country Club the most beautiful location on the south shore for a wedding ceremony and reception, but the function coordinator, Kimberly Emerick, and her staff was amazing to work with! Every detail was perfectly planned and flawlessly executed with grace! I was a bride planning a wedding for a date set 3 months out. Kimberly has been given a remarkable gift for limiting the stress of the event while maintaining the importance of the day! The location is breathtaking, the food is delicious, the staff are phenomenal and our day was perfect! I honestly can not imagine a more perfect wedding anywhere else!!! Thank you so much for the gift of our day!!!

    Sent on 08/03/2009
  • D

    Deirdre · Married on 06/15/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about my experience with the staff at Black Rock Country Club! I was a bit nervous in the beginning because the wedding coordinator had changed after we had signed our contract but Kimberly (the new coordinator we were working with) ensured me that I would not have to worry about a thing, and she was right. She was so easy to work with, responsive and went above and beyond (even driving guests to the hotel when our transportation left some of us stranded!) to ensure that our wedding day was truly perfect. She invited us back for a second tasting when we still weren't sure about meal choices and wines, and was always quick to respond to me when I had questions or concerns. Kimberly and Maire both made sure that our wedding ran smoothly and all of our guests raved about their interactions with them and the service the night of our wedding. I am so glad that we chose Black Rock, not only is it a beautiful venue but they really do work to make sure that your wedding is more perfect than you imagined it could be. Thank you Kimberly and Maire!!!

    Sent on 07/03/2013
  • C

    Christine · Married on 09/18/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Black Rock is an absolutely beautiful venue. We had our wedding in the main room with the stone terrace outside. It was so nice. The room is just surrounded with windows and gives an amazing view of the grounds. Our happy hour was outside on the terrace and the nicest bonus is that the guests get to watch the bridal party take pictures on the grounds down below. Usually the bridal party just disappears but the guests get to watch everything and it is a nice bonus. The staff is phenomenal!!! Seriously phenomenal! Stacy and Marie... are the stars of the place! We had someone who spent the entire time just getting myself, my groom and my mom everything we needed. A month after the wedding our guests are still talking about the food. It was truly to die for... I think every scrap of food was gone by the time the reception was over... I would highly recommend the venue to anyone...

    Sent on 10/17/2011
  • C

    Caitlin Norton · Married on 02/11/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue, amazing food & attentive team!

    My husband and I had our wedding reception at BRCC this past November. The venue was very beautiful that time of year and had a lot of foliage for those looking for a fall wedding. The food was absolutely amazing and our guests could not stop raving about the delicious appetizers and entrees. We knew that BRCC had a reputation for their food and they did not disappoint! We worked with Kim for over a year planning this wedding and it was such a pleasant and organized process. Maggie was our day-of coordinator and she was absolutely wonderful and made our day so stress-free! Thank you BRCC for creating such a beautiful and perfect wedding for us.

    Sent on 02/03/2020
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 06/28/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Black Rock was a great decision for my wedding venue. Kim was awesome and always available when I needed her. The room looked perfect the day of the wedding. Food was delicious. We had many complements on the food and the venue. The only thing is you cant take photos just anywhere. They have specific locations for that. I would just recommend going somewhere before the reception for photos. I would definitely recommend Black Rock to everyone!

    Sent on 07/16/2014
  • M

    meaghan · Married on 09/01/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Stacy is the wedding coordinator and she is fabulous. Responds promptly to all my questions and helped me work within my budget. The reception room is beautiful, updated with lots of natural light and a large deck over the golf course for the cocktail hour. The ceremony site however was a bit disappointing, surrounded by the pool and the fitness center when there are much more scenic locations on site. Nevertheless, the tent still made for a lovely outdoor ceremony. The food was also excellent and Maura tended to our every need during our big day. While this can be a bit pricey, you certainly get what you pay for.

    Sent on 09/17/2012