Skip to main content
Weddings

Black Leg Ranch Reviews

Black Leg Ranch View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
26 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
88% Recommended by couples

Awards

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • C
    Chris M. Sent on 05/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Venue for an Unforgettable Wedding.

    Had our wedding out here on April 15th 2023 after a near record setting winter of snow. Parking was a bit of a concern with the snow melt but the staff out at the ranch got everyone parked in the yard.

    The cabins for both nights were great and we received a lot of compliments on the venue. Definitely recommend going for the 2 night signature package for the convenience of having everyone out there the night before and the night after. Jay and Kari were both very helpful throughout the process. I can't comment on the available camping spots because our spring wedding turned into essentially a winter one, but they do have spots available.

    We held our ceremony in the Copper Jewel Barn and the set up was plenty big enough for the expected 175 guests we had. Things were readjusted from ceremony to reception pretty quickly and the dance floor had plenty of room to keep people out there all night.

    I would recommend the Bison Light if buying kegs for the reception, it was perceived very well by all of the light beer drinkers we had out at the wedding. They also have a few other beers that I enjoyed, even being a set in stone light beer drinker myself. It was also nice that we were able to have the first keg of the two we bought tapped in the bridal cabin the evening before for the rehearsal dinner, and then have the remainder moved to the barn for the reception the next evening.

    Overall were pleased with the venue and wedding and even with mother nature trying it's hardest to make things difficult, everything went well.
  • K
    Kylee B. Sent on 11/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly recommend Black Leg for your special day!

    My husband and I had a great experience working with black leg ranch for our wedding day! We wanted something different than the norm and our expectations were beyond exceeded for our day!!
  • M
    Maisie F. Sent on 09/06/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Experience

    Planning a wedding during the pandemic was very stressful at times, but my experience working with Black leg Ranch was amazing. They were very flexible with the changes and concerns COVID-19 brought about. I was able to contact them and received quick responses answering all my questions and request. Jay and Kari were very friendly and welcoming from the beginning and I would highly recommend their services for your special day/event.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Haley
    Haley M. Sent on 08/25/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful and Accommodating

    We enjoyed our wedding day with Black Leg Ranch so much. Jay and Kari were available for all of our questions leading up to the event and very helpful throughout the night. The ranch is beautiful and we received many compliments on the venue, making us feel like we absolutely made the right choice. There is lots of lodging for family and guests. We love that we were able to have those closest to us stay out there with us for the whole weekend. We were in love with how our reception turned out at Black Leg Ranch!!
  • D
    Destinee S. Sent on 05/25/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Venue was absolutely amazing

    They were amazing to work with. They responded to both texts and emails quite fast. I was impressed with the flexibility to get our stuff done. The venue decorated itself so there isn’t much you need to make it spectacular. I received so many compliments from my guests about the whole experience and the venue itself. I wouldn’t have imaged doing my wedding anywhere else.
  • M
    M. Dauenhauer Sent on 04/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Family Oriented.

    I couldn’t have asked for a better venue. Pictures don’t do this place justice. I would do it over and over again if we had the chance! It is a must have for any occasion!!!
  • K
    Kalyn B. Sent on 04/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautifully Unique

    We had a blast having our wedding at Black Leg Ranch! Jay and the whole team was wonderful to work with and they helped make the weekend go smoothly. The ranch is so beautiful. No matter where people took photographs in the venue, the background was beautiful. We would recommend them to anyone!
  • Ashley
    Ashley A. Sent on 11/25/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Affordable “Destination” Venue

    Jay and Kary of Black Leg Ranch really brought our wedding day together. We chose this venue for several reasons, a few being location, venue theme and the ceremony options! While we hoped for an outdoor ceremony, an indoor contingency was a must and Black Leg has the covered. Working with Jay and Kary was a seamless experience and they really have it planned out in case you don’t, which helped us A LOT. Very considerate and helpful people, I couldn’t imagine our wedding day going any other way. Highly recommend this venue!
  • M
    Mackenzy A. Sent on 10/05/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding of our dreams

    Black Leg Ranch is absolutely beautiful! Jay and Kari were great to work with and helped with any questions we needed throughout wedding planning and the weekend of. Definitely worth every penny!
  • A
    Amanda L. Sent on 09/21/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A dream come true.

    Jay and Kari at Black Leg Ranch made our wedding day a true fairytale. They were so responsive and accommodating for every request we had throughout planning and our big day! The venue is absolutely gorgeous and I had compliments all night long about how beautiful it was! We had the signature package where we got the entire place including lodging for 30 people from Friday at 3pm until Sunday at 11am and it was perfect! We were so comfortable there and didn’t feel rushed to leave. Our wedding experience was completely unforgettable. I highly recommend Black Leg Ranch to anyone for weddings or any other special event!
  • Heather
    Heather K. Sent on 08/17/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 recommend

    I cannot say enough good things about this location. Amazingly beautiful location. The owners are phenomenal and handled every last detail with sincere kindness. I could not have had a more perfect venue.
  • S
    Sarah H. Sent on 08/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great time!

    We had the most perfect weekend at Black Leg Ranch! Everything went very smoothly and all of the staff was on top of their game! I couldn’t have asked for anything better!
  • C
    Cassidy U. Sent on 08/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding Venue

    We had an absolutely incredible wedding and a huge part of that was because of Black Leg Ranch and the staff. Everything from the reception hall, lodges, brewery, and service was perfect and I had multiple people come up to me telling me it was the best wedding they had been to and the most beautiful venue. Honestly the pictures don’t do it justice. It is truly a hidden gem out in McKenzie ND. We had the Copper Ale for our keg beer and our guests went nuts over how good it was. It is one of their specialty brews and you can actually see the brewery from the reception hall, which everyone though was really cool and made for some great photos. Thanks so much to Jay and Keri for an amazing experience that we will never forget!
  • JaCee
    Jacee S. Sent on 10/16/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved everything about Black Leg Ranch!

    Our wedding was on 7/11/2020. Planning a wedding during the COVID-19 pandemic was definitely not fun or easy, however Jay and Kari at Black Leg Ranch made planning a wedding so much lighter. They continually encouraged us that everything was going to run smoothly and were so accommodating to all of our requests and needs as they changed due to Corona. Their venue is absolutely beautiful, and we loved that we could have everything at one place - from the ceremony, to the social hour, to the dance. This allowed us to spend more time with our family and friends on our special day, which was one of our main priorities. Not only did we love the venue, but all of our guests kept saying how beautiful everything was. We needed very minimal decorations because of how stunning their building already is. Jay, Kari, and their employees were professional, accommodating, and made everything run so smoothly. We absolutely LOVED having our wedding at Black Leg Ranch and would do it all over again!
  • Jaime
    Jaime Sent on 10/02/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wouldn’t have wanted our wedding anywhere else!!

    It was absolutely amazing! Everyone replied in a timely manner and they were always there to answer any questions we had! They were super good with everything out there and making sure we had what we needed!
  • C
    Chelsey L. Sent on 09/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing and stress free!

    Black Leg Ranch is a beautiful venue and the Doan family made our weekend completely stress free and enjoyable!
  • A
    Abby Sent on 08/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fun and Beautiful

    Our guests gave us so many compliments on the venue. Everything went really well. Having the venue for the whole weekend made decorating so much easier.
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey Sent on 08/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing venue and services!

    Black Leg Ranch was such a beautiful venue! We had family attend our wedding from all over the world and everyone was impressed! It's such a unique venue and it has everything you need; a bar/brewery, a beautiful barn with a sound system and AC, lodging for about 30 people, a kitchenette, parking, bonfire, grill, peace and quite, etc. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Thank you for making our wedding an experience of a lifetime!
  • K
    Kim Sent on 01/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved everything about Black Leg Ranch! I thought it might be kind of expensive when we first paid, but I would definitely pay for it again. One of the best things about this place is the flexibility in setting up, arrival time, etc. I could not have asked for anything better! The family is GREAT to work with and helps things run smoothly from rehearsal through clean up. I definitely recommend this place a hundred times over!
  • C
    Camille Sent on 08/21/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We booked the weekend package and it was the best decision ever! Having room for our closest family to be there without worrying about hotel rooms and driving was so convenient and gave us more quality time together. The venue was enchanting and the people at Black Leg Ranch were extremely helpful and professional. They think of everything and make sure the wedding goes smoothly. I might be biased but I am pretty sure that we had the best wedding ever!! I would do it all again in a second and wouldn't change a thing.
  • W
    Wendy Sent on 12/09/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our wedding was made even more special by this amazing ranch! The beautiful setting and wonderful service made hosting our wedding weekend so much better. We were able to relax and truly enjoy our time! We feel very lucky to have stumbled across Black Leg Ranch in our search for wedding vendors.
  • D
    Danni Sent on 12/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding in June at the black leg ranch and could not have have wished for a better experience! The whole ranch family were so good to us, we can hardly wait to go back for family reunions!
  • T
    Travis Sent on 08/13/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing location

    Absolutely gorgeous venue! We did the ceremony and reception out there and it was so relaxed and absolutely beautiful! Jay and his wife Kari helped with making our day easy and stress-free. Our guests were beyond impressed with the beauty of the ranch as well as how well everything flowed together!
  • B
    Brenna Sent on 01/14/2017
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Meet with Shanda and/or Jay and ask them your questions! They are great people and are so willing to make your day/weekend the best it can be.
  • J
    Jayme Sent on 12/29/2016
    3.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    It was a great rustic place to have our wedding and ceremony.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message