Skip to main content
Weddings

Birmingham Violin Reviews

Birmingham Violin View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
26 Reviews
98% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • L
    Lauren Sent on 07/05/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Lovely addition to our ceremony

    Karen and her cellist was wonderful! WOW! They sounded like a recording! Will hire again!

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Hi Lauren! We are thrilled you were happy with our services. Wishing you the best! Thank you for a great review!
  • T
    Tanya T. Sent on 12/19/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Violinist!

    Karen of Birmingham Violins played for my son's wedding ceremony this past weekend and it was absolutely lovely! And SHE is lovely! Karen was responsive and easy to work with, which was important as planning an out-of-state wedding can be challenging. She offered a wide selection of music (classical, contemporary, etc.) and was even helpful in making suggestions. With so much to do with wedding planning it was nice to just say "play what you like" and have it all turn out and sound beautiful. Karen was prompt and very reasonable with her rates. I cannot overstate how highly I recommend Karen of Birmingham Violins.

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Tanya, Thank you for the great review! I was honored to be part of your celebration! The day was beautiful, the ceremony was beautiful and you & your family are beautiful!
  • S
    Sara Sent on 12/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful violin duo

    Our Christmas party dinner would not have been complete without Karen and Kevin violin duet. They play beautifully and we absolutely loved the selection of music they brought to our Christmas dinner. We highly recommend! And Thank you Karen for your talents!

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Sara, We are so glad you and your guests enjoyed the music! Thank you for the fabulous review! Wishing you and yours a safe and happy holiday season!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Cheryl Sent on 12/20/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fabulous violinist!

    Karen was great! We hired her for our wedding ceremony. My wife and I could not have been happier. Moon River was perfectly played as my soon to be wife walked in. Karen provided excellent communication prior, early arrival at and attention to detail during.

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Cheryl, Thank you for your kind review! So glad you both chose Moon River! It was lovely. Wishing you all the best!
  • J
    Jewels M. Sent on 03/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic cello + violin duo!

    Kevin and Karen were fantastic to work with and did an amazing job performing during our ceremony and cocktail hour! They are talented musicians and provided the perfect vibe for us. We highly recommend this group!

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Jewels, thank you for your kind words and for the opportunity to be part of your beautiful service! All the best!
  • J
    Julie B. Sent on 12/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    they were PERFECT!

    Karen was amazing and exceeded my expectations by helping select the perfect Christmastime music to go with my favorite song. She was easy to get in touch with and answered all my questions. We had a lot of comments on how the music made our ceremony. I Couldn't have done it without her beautiful violin and the fab cello accompanist.

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words! I was thrilled to be part of your Christmas wedding! Wishing you all the best!
  • Z
    Zac B. Sent on 12/31/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Violin Duo

    Karen's duo set the mood for our wedding ceremony. Karen was professional from the start to the finish. She has a ton of experience and is so familiar with song choices. The music planning she provided was fantastic. And the duo was so romantic!

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Thank you for the kind words! We loved being part of your celebration and wish you all the best in the future!
  • J
    Jamia T. Sent on 04/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Music

    We hired Karen for a baby shower luncheon several weeks ago and she was terrific. She played light jazz, pop music and some Stevie Wonder songs (my favorite) and brought a speaker system. Easy to work with. Recommend!

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Thank you so much! I enjoyed meeting you and your family! Wishing you all the very best! Thanks again for asking me to be part of your celebration!
  • C
    Cici J. Sent on 03/02/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional professionalism and musicality

    We hired Karen's duo at the last minute to play for a corporate event and they were excellent! They arrived early and played while we were arriving and folks came up to sing along with movie theme music from A Whole New World, Moon River (played beautifully by the violinist), and the cellist tore up the Lannister theme song and the Game of Thrones. Of course they also played some classical Motzart impecably. We were all thrilled with the entertainment!

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Thank you for the fabulous review! It was truest our pleasure. We are so glad you enjoyed the music! And thank you for making it so much fun!
  • M
    Mike J. Sent on 09/20/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolute delightful accompaniment to our wedding!

    Karen McDowell and her cellist provided an absolute delightful accompaniment to our wedding. Karen's duo played during the ceremony itself and then provided the background music to our champagne reception which was an outdoor event on a gloriously warm afternoon. She reflected our requests and the joyous mood of the occasion perfectly and there is no doubt that her presence enhanced the occasion. Many of our guests commented how varied her talents were.
    Karen's approach and communication during the lead up to the event and on the day itself was professional and supportive.
    I was very pleased with my experience with Karen McDowell and I have no problem in recommending her to other wedding couples or for other types of events.

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Thank you Mike! Thank you for you kind words! We were so honored to be a part of your special day!
  • T
    Trey Sent on 01/21/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Karen McDowell, lovely violinist

    Karen came to play at my 60th - lovely gal, fab violinist- highly recommend!
  • Kamryn
    Kamryn Sent on 04/19/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!!!!

    I couldn't have asked for a better violinist on my wedding day! Karen went above and beyond my expectations. I had so many people make comments at the reception on how talented she was. I promise you won't be disappointed if you go with her!
  • wanda
    Wanda Sent on 06/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very pleased!

    I hired a violin trio for my daughter’s wedding. Karen is very easy to work with, she helped me with song selections, and the order for each song to be played. I am extremely pleased. I’m glad I decided to give Karen a call. You will not be disappointed.

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Thank you! We are always happy to help with music planning services including song selections as we have over 270 songs to choose from. I’m so glad your family and guests enjoyed the trio!
  • H
    Hannah K. Sent on 05/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing!!!

    Karen was absolutely amazing! She is an incredible musician and a lovely person to work with. She made our ceremony so special with her violin. Don’t hesitate to book her!!

    Birmingham Violin's reply:

    Thanks Hanna! So glad to be part of your special day! I’m so glad you and your guests enjoyed the music. You are beautiful!
  • T
    Todd C. Sent on 04/03/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    First rate!

    We hired Karen and her trio to play for our wedding and the guests said afterward they thought the radio was playing! Karen was very professional throughout answered our many questions. They arrived early and although our ceremony was delayed over 20 minutes because our pastor was late they had plenty of music. It was a gorgeous day and no one seemed to notice except me. She told us later that she has learned over the years to bring more music to cover late weddings and at her own wedding they forgot to bake her wedding cake! Karen's duo played beautifully and we give them the thumbs up and highly recommend! We even gave them a bottle of champagne each and a tip for being so extra special.
  • J
    Joseph P. Sent on 03/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Lovely Christmas celebration dinner music

    I hired Karen's Duo for my family's Christmas dinner celebration. They were very professional and most enjoyable. The family had a lovely time listening to Christmas music and Classical music which included selections from The Nutcracker and even included sing a longs!
  • M
    Marcia Sent on 01/13/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I hired Karen's duo, violin and cello, for my son's wedding at The Barn at Shady Lane. They were fantastic!! The song choices were a mixture of classical and special selections from the bride and groom. They were so accommodating and we really appreciate their willingness to learn a few new pieces for the ceremony. Karen performed a special solo that the bride requested that literally brought tears to my eyes! Very professional and fun to work with - I would highly recommend for any event!!
  • S
    Sue Sent on 05/23/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Excellent musician! We hired a duo and they played 1000 years, Beatles selections and Hawaii version of Over the Rainbow with mandolin. Everyone loved the music. They arrived early to set up and were very professional. Best music in town and worth every penny!
  • T
    Tyler Sent on 01/18/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Karen's violin duo was perfect for our wedding ceremony and Christmas party/wedding reception. She was very professional and the music was exactly what we had wanted with an added bonus. The cellist also played accordion and we all loved The Girl From Ipanema!
  • A
    Amy Sent on 07/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired Karen's violin duo to play for our wedding and cocktail hour and we're glad we did. We left the music selection planning to Karen and were pleasantly surprised and pleased with her music that our guests enjoyed and talked about. They played a fabulous variety of songs during our cocktail hour too, from Games of Thrones to Elvis, the Beatles and Led Zeppelin. It was a very nice transition to our DJ. Couldn't have planned it better myself. Karen was very professional throughout. We loved having Karen's live violin music at our wedding.
  • User2176384 Sent on 06/12/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Karen provided us with excellent communication prior to our wedding. We wanted special music selections which she arranged for us. The violin and cello duo was beautiful and we heard comments that the cellist sounded like the Piano Guys and they both sounded like the Dallas String Quartet. We were very pleased with Karen and highly highly recommend. ??
  • L
    Ladonna Sent on 07/26/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Karen performed beautifully for our ceremony and cocktail hour. Her music was professionally performed and gave me chills! Thank you so very much for the wonderful violin performance!
  • User1235488 Sent on 07/10/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Karen's string duo added the classical elegance we wanted for our garden wedding. Everyone loved the music! Thank you. Highly recommended!
  • User1225007 Sent on 07/02/2013
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The music was to die for! Karen's expertise and musicianship was phenomenal. She provided us with much more than just music which all the guests enjoyed, but her professionalism was superb. I think I counted 45 emails in correspondence! We were delighted that she could add several requests that had to be arranged for solo violin (Foo Fighters and Beatles) certainly not normal classical violin pieces. We would hire again! Highly recommended!
  • L
    Linda B. Sent on 03/28/2020
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Linda Barnett

    Excellent!!! Was asked to play on very short notice and was very accommodating! Arranged the music and played beautifully!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message