Skip to main content
Weddings

Bill Calhoun Mobile Music Reviews

Bill Calhoun Mobile Music

Bill Calhoun Mobile Music

San Diego, CA
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 79 Reviews
View more information

79 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 79
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

7 User photos

  • Danyelle
    Danyelle E. Married on 04/29/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great communication and flexible

    Had our wedding and had Bill do the DJing at The Old Rancho in San Diego. Everything went perfectly, and it was the best night of our life. Everything from the ceremony, to toasts, to dancing went off without a hitch. We had some last minute changes due to a bridesmaid being sick, and Bill accommodated changes day of. He has a great personality, and was SUPER responsive throughout the entire process and easy to communicate with. Thank you Bill!
  • Delanie
    Delanie Married on 03/19/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fun, experienced DJ

    We had such a great experience with Bill as our DJ for our wedding! He was so organized from our first meeting, using a web tool to collect our preferences and requests for the ceremony and reception music and was very respectful of these preferences. During our ceremony, he provided a low-standing microphone for us 2 and our officiant, which was very important to me since we had many hard-of-hearing guests. He was full of energy and smoothly facilitated the events of our reception. Overall, he did a wonderful job, and we would absolutely recommend him to others.
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie Married on 01/23/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing! What a great night!!

    Bill is great! We Had to postpone but he was flexible and did an amazing job. He helped chose music when i was unsure of what to play and made everything flow seamlessly! It was the best night! Thanks Bill!
  • C
    Caitlin F. Married on 11/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bill is fantastic!

    Bill was a wonderful DJ & MC for our wedding! Communication was great leading up to the wedding & he accommodated all our requests. Couldn’t have been happier! Thanks Bill!
  • S
    Simeng Z. Married on 11/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    La Jolla Wedding

    DJ Bill Calhoun was super amazing! Not only that he has a great voice, he would accommodate all of our requests. He’s super easy to talk to and very generous! He went out of his way to find songs for me and did a great job playing the music throughout the night. He has many years of experience working at wedding so that he was able to help me planning the timeline as well !!! I was so lucky to have him to work for us on our special day !!!
  • Chris
    Chris A. Married on 11/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible, Professional Captain of the Wedding Night Ship

    Everything about our experience with Bill, from the process of selecting songs, to his accommodation of a few special details, to his night-of MCing was top notch. Bill we love your taste in music, your natural command of the crowd, and your patience - all of which went into making our wedding quite literally THE best day of our lives. We only wish we had another 2 hours to dance!
  • Christina
    Christina F. Married on 09/18/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic DJ!

    Bill DJ'd our wedding, and we could not have been happier! Bill is extremely personable and charismatic and our party was truly more fun having him there. He really took the time before our wedding to make sure he had our music/song preferences right. Would love to work with him again!
  • Stacey
    Stacey F. Married on 06/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazingly fun!!!

    Bill is THE MAN! He was was so amazing to work with and was a huge part in making our day as fun as it was. He was so great prior to the day, getting every detail just right and even helping us by putting our vision together into the most amazing grand entrance! He really played to the crowd and was an incredible and fun MC for the evening! We are a bit biased, but truly our wedding was the most fun either of us has ever had at a wedding, thanks to Bill!
  • Ben
    Ben B. Married on 03/03/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Outstanding

    Bill was a pleasure to work with. From our first phone call, it was clear he was a total professional and knew how to help put on a really great party. Bill's enthusiastic and fun-loving character also proved very enjoyable to work with. He provided critical assistance and advice in helping us plan and structure parts of our wedding and he assumed all MC duties when needed. I highly, highly recommend Bill.
  • Harris
    Harris M. Married on 11/14/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Thank you very much!

    This DJ was very professional and perfect for our small venue. Good on the mic with getting our guests involved, and great music choices. Clearly has a lot of experience under his belt. Would highly recommend!
  • Audry
    Audry Married on 09/27/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    DJ Bill Calhoun

    We got married during COVID. We had to scale our wedding down form 150 people to only 18 people. We couldn’t use our originally planned venue... We had to get married outdoors at our home. You get the picture, plans changed drastically from everything we had originally planned to do. Bill was flexible and incredibly accommodating. He made everything work with no fuss on our part and he worked well with our other vendors who also were under a lot of pressure to “make it work”. Despite the fact that we had a small wedding, we still wanted it to be a nice affair. Bill had very tasteful music selections that added to our ambiance and really set the right tone for our reception dinner. He also picked tunes that kept the evening lively despite the COVID restrictions. Truth: I am divorced, so this was my second wedding. I can tell you from experience he is incredibly reasonably priced. I wasn’t necessarily bargain hunting when I found him. I learned from my past wedding experience that if you want to avoid your wedding reception being reduced to a rodeo auction or a cheesy scene from the dating game it is important to have a decent DJ, that generally entails a hefty price tag... I was told by other vendors he is the best and easy to work with. I assumed a certain price tag would be associated with such rave reviews, but Bill is priced exceptionally low considering his services and skills. Go with Bill and you won’t be disappointed. Best of luck!
  • Sergio
    Sergio S. Married on 08/02/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Awesome Party Time!

    We asked Bill to DJ our Feb 2020 wedding and so glad we did! From start to finish, Bill was incredibly professional. His years of experience in the wedding industry was obvious from our first interactions with him. He went above and beyond and even helped us figure out our ceremony space set up (relevant to where he'd be). He creates clear guidelines for when and how to communicate ceremony, cocktail, and reception music in a user-friendly and organized manner. He played everything from our "required" list and navigated the evening well. We are grateful to Bill for being an awesome vendor!
  • Kevin
    Kevin O. Married on 03/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    On point and incredible DJ!

    We had done a search in San Diego and was referred to Bill by our wedding planner. When we met Bill, he was keen on understanding the vibe we wanted to set with the music for our wedding. In doing so, the music at our wedding was perfect thanks to Bill. It set all the right moods at the right time. We'd highly recommend Bill as is the the BEST DJ. Cheers to him and his incredible work!
  • R
    Rachel C. Married on 01/25/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A brilliant DJ who helped us make magic!

    Bill is fantastic, a real professional who makes the entire process of choosing your theme and energy easy and streamlined. He gave us a link to a site where we could choose multiple must-plays, play-if-possibles, do-not-plays, and specific timed songs (such as first dance, cake cutting etc) and he caters his playlist to match what you’ve chosen really well! For example, we specifically requested no Ed Sheeran or very recent radio hits and instead expressed our love for 80s New Romantics, 90s and 2000s pop and California rock and he delivered banger after banger all night even when he was playing songs I hadn’t specifically requested! He fit in everything we asked for, including some more offbeat songs like Temporary Secretary and Eat It (Weird Al), and did so with such a warm humour and friendliness that we couldn’t have been happier with the energy he brought. People were on the dance floor all night (especially me!) and he even took some great photos and videos for us which was unexpected and delightful! All in all he was wonderful and I’m so glad he was recommended to us by our wonderful venue host, Lindy at Quail Haven Farm. Thank you Bill!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth C. Married on 01/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great DJ and Great Price

    We were referred to Bill by a friend and then we did our research and read his reviews. We set up a phone interview and he sounded great (and his price was very good). We hired him and Bill did a wonderful job. He has a great online music planning area. Bill was also helpful with a sample timeline that we could work from. At the Wedding he did a great job with all of our announcements and the music was really fun and a perfect match for our guests. We highly recommend Bill!
  • Michelle
    Michelle M. Married on 11/16/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We had the best reception with Bill as our DJ!

    Bill came highly recommended to us when we were looking for wedding DJ. Honestly, our experience with him was perfect! I had heard horror stories from friends of DJs playing the wrong processional music and things like that. But we didn't have to worry about that at all with Bill! All of song choices were honored. He was very professional throughout this whole experience. He was also our MC and kept us on our timeline perfectly! He had a great sense of what songs to play and kept everyone out on the dance floor during our whole wedding. We got lots of compliments on his work after our wedding. Over a month later, I still have friends contacting me telling me they wish they could go to our wedding reception all over again. Bill's work as our DJ was instrumental in our wedding's success! Don't hesitate to hire him for yours, you won't regret it!
  • Amanda
    Amanda P. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    THE DJ for Your Wedding

    We had Dave Smith for our DJ and he was amazing! Our guests didn't leave the floor the whole night and it was so much fun. We had some accidental last minute dance floor changes during the reception and Dave seamlesly adjusted and our guests never noticed a thing. Dave made the evening fun for everyone and did a great job coordinating everything. The booking with Bill Calhoun services was a great and easy process. If you want a crazy fun wedding reception book with Bill Calhoun Mobile Music.
  • Carrie
    Carrie Married on 05/25/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Conga line!

    DJ Bill was friendly, efficient and thorough! He was quick to respond to any questions we had. In our opinion, his prices are one of the most reasonable around.
    Day of, DJ Dave kept our guests entertained and the energy high. All of the songs on our request list were played. We even finished the night with an impromptu conga line!
  • Sarah
    Sarah G. Married on 05/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bill is the best!

    Bill was AMAZING. We were so lucky to find him. He was super helpful in explaining the process and what we needed to do. I had made a pretty extensive list of requests and he did such a great job playing them where appropriate! Also, he worked with a friend that we had play some live music for our ceremony to figure out how he could plug into Bill's system, how they would hand off the music, etc. - everything went seamlessly and it was so special for us. I really felt like he cared about us and our event. Plus, so affordable! Thank you Bill for everything!

    Also - for what it's worth we found out that many other friends have used Bill for multiple events and loved him too!
  • Matt
    Matt H. Married on 12/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A True Professional

    Bill was a pleasure to work with from beginning to end. He started working with us six months before our wedding, when he gave us a timeline of what he needed from us and when. When we got closer to the event, he answered all of our questions and helped us choose the right songs and at the right tempos. His website was easy to use and really helped us think about how the music would affect our event.

    During our event, he was instrumental in keeping things running smoothly. We had a large group, and DJ Bill helped us coordinate pictures, dinner, dancing, grand exit… everything. He worked incredibly well with our other vendors, and I cannot recommend him highly enough.
  • E
    Erin R. Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing!

    DJ Dave Smith was AMAZING!! With our special songs and his taste in using music to get people to dance it was perfect! The dance floor was never empty and guests raved about him all night. Both Dave and Bill were friendly and very helpful. Dave even met us in person prior to signing our contract so that we felt comfortable with him and his setup at the venue. I would highly recommend them for your wedding!
  • T
    Tanya Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I recently got married at Leo Carrillo Ranch and I am SO thankful we chose Bill as our DJ!! He is an absolute pro at his job. He knows how to captivate the guests, transition the evening, feel out the vibe, and then play the music accordingly. My wedding was amazing from start to finish and alot of that was thanks to Bill's DJ skills. If I could give him more than 5 stars I would. Thanks again Bill for being the BEST DJ ever!
  • M
    Marla Married on 05/20/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bill was AWESOME!!! His experience clearly shows. He was great at communication. I gave him a list and he did his best to incorporate my favorite songs while also using his best judgement and selecting great songs that went with the crowd and flow of the reception. Honestly we were happily surprised at how wonderful our reception music turned out. He did a great job at MC'ing the event and would go with the flow, being able to change the schedule/timeline at a moments notice. All my guests raved about how much fun they had and he definitely contributed to that. Thanks Bill!
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 12/17/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bill was such an awesome DJ! There was a song for everyone and he got all of our guests to the dance floor at some point in the night :) Bill was so nice to meet with me before I decided on a DJ so that we could discuss the logistics and his method to coming up with the best playlist. Bill can provide a binder FULL of thank you notes and praises of his work - which really sold me because I could tell that his previous clients treasured his service at their wedding (and I would at mine). He worked with me to use some youtube clips of songs for certain parts of our wedding. Bill was also able to provide a mic on a stand for our ceremony site which was outdoors. Bill was always on point if we needed a quick change in music or tone during our reception. I appreciate him working in one of my favorite songs into the wedding although it did not seem to match the other songs, he made it fit in quite seamlessly! Thanks for a wonderful time, Bill!
  • A
    Alison Event on: 11/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dave Smith was our DJ for my in-laws 50th wedding anniversary. He did an amazing job and multiple people complimented me on the great music that evening. I would definitely recommend, and will use Bill Calhoun Mobile Music for all my future events!