Best Bands Reviews

17 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for Best Bands

Recommended by 95% of couples

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.6

Awards

17
Order by:
  • C

    Cait · Married on 01/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Booked A House on Fire via Best Bands for our January 7, 2017 wedding in Lake Placid, NY and we have SO MANY good things to say! We are from Southern CT throwing a wedding in Upstate NY, so we had never heard the band in person. We booked based on the great reviews, some awesome videos/recordings, and their impressively long and varied song list. Hans (who heads things up) was extremely communicative and very receptive to our specific needs (very detailed song requests for what we were going to walk out to, cut the cake to, first dance/parent dances etc.). Everything went off without a hitch and they perfectly nailed doing a seamless mix of classic rock, top 40s, and more eclectic Phish/Grateful Dead/reggae (which is the stuff we’re into!). Everyone raved about how great they were and how unique and fun the music selection was (not your typical top 40 wedding stuff… which was EXACTLY what we were going for!). They also went way out of their way, not only by coming from Burlington, VT to Lake Placid, NY on a frigid, snowy day, but by bringing their acoustic drum set and by letting my husband’s band from back in the day do a few songs at the end. Plus, everyone was so nice, so enthusiastic, and clearly having a great time! Book them!

    Sent on 01/16/2017
  • J

    Jordan · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Holy cow!! That is all I can think to say! House on Fire did BEYOND an amazing job at our wedding. 95% of the guest (big wedding of 200) were out of their chairs and dancing, so much so that the floor was shaking and bending. When the band finished their last song, the whole crowd proceeded to shout "ONE MORE SONG", which they gladly played! I cannot speak more highly of this band and the truly fantastic job they did at our wedding! Thank you guys so much! I would recommend this band 20 times over.

    Sent on 09/23/2016
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hans was so helpful every step of the way. When I called him, unsure of which band to have play at my wedding, Hans asked me a few questions regarding my interests and personality, and made the recommendation of having A House On Fire perform. Man, was he spot on with his recommendation of A House on Fire!! They rocked the house (tent). They were so amazing, and had everyone dancing all night! People are still coming up to me and telling me how AWESOME the band was and how they've never been to a wedding which such a great band with stellar vocalists like AHOF. I highly recommend using Best Bands to book your wedding band, and as well A House on Fire to be the band to play at your wedding!

    Sent on 10/05/2016
  • B

    Becky · Married on 07/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall, they were really great to work with! I listened to some of the bands and inquired about a few of them, and they got more info and pricing back to me right away. I was even able to preview a band at a different wedding to see if I liked them before I booked them!

    Sent on 08/09/2016
  • G

    George · Married on 07/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hans Jenny at BestBands was spectacular to work with and the band he provided (A House on Fire) was a huge hit with our crowd - mixed ages from 24 days old to 95 days old. Everybody loved the music and the dancing continued non-stop until the party ended. Technically this was not a wedding, but a celebration of our joint 65th birthdays - and 23+ years of marriage - but the guests hardly knew the difference. :)

    Sent on 07/10/2016
  • D

    Deborah · Married on 06/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A House on Fire played at our wedding and all we can say is book them! They were fantastic. Our guests haven't stopped talking about how great the band was! They played music during the ceremony and cocktail hour that was perfect and appropriate and when they started playing dance music the dance floor was packed until they stopped! Great musicians and vocalists and great to work with!

    Sent on 07/12/2016
  • B

    Brenna · Married on 06/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    don’t even know where to start! A House on Fire absolutely rocked it, four months later and our friends and family are still talking about how amazing the band was at our wedding!!! They truly helped to make the night the best it could have been and I’m so thankful for it.

    One of the most important things to us was that the band be able to play music we both enjoyed, but also keep the entire group on their feet – AHOF exceeded all expectations. Hans was a pleasure to work with throughout the entire process. He took the time to answer all my questions and even learned a new Led Zeppelin song for our first dance.

    AHOF brought the perfect song selection, played to the crowd, and knew how to keep everyone moving with awesome energy and long sets. Throughout the night, our dance floor was literally packed to the brim with every age group, from 5 to 85 years. AHOF was extremely skilled and able to execute flawlessly across a wide range of genres – definitely recommend adding the horns! When the last song was played for the night, the entire crowd erupted, chanting for an encore, and AHOF did not disappoint with two more songs.

    After seeing them perform at our wedding, two of our guests have booked AHOF for their own weddings next Summer. Can’t recommend them enough!


    - Brenna & Dan
    June 16, 2016

    Sent on 10/10/2016
  • User6814486 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Hans Jenny and the entire band (A House on Fire) was such a great experience. Hands was very professional and made the entire process very seamless. When I first reached out to him, he gave me information on a few different bands, explained the differences and also the various costs. In the months and weeks leading up to our wedding he was extremely responsive whenever I had questions. The day of the wedding was incredibly easy and everyone was RAVING about the band afterwards. I could not have picked a better band/person to work with and will definitely recommend them to any friends/family who are looking for a band in the area. Thanks again Hans and A House on Fire!!!!

    Sent on 06/09/2016
  • D

    David · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Best Bands to arrange for a band to play at our daughter's wedding, and we couldn't have been happier with the outcome. From our first contact with Hans Jenny and throughout the process, we found him to be helpful, cooperative, very responsive, and a delight to deal with. We hired A House on Fire (Han's band), and we thought that the Band's performance was outstanding! One of AHOF's main goals is to keep everyone engaged and on the dance floor. The selection and mix of songs they played certainly did that, as the music was great to dance to and wonderful to listen to. Also, we asked AHOF to learn two new songs (Cruisin' and God Only Knows). The Band did a great job with both songs, and it sounded like Smokey Robinson and The Beach Boys were in the room performing for us. We highly recommend working with Best Bands and Hans Jenny.

    Sent on 05/18/2016
  • D

    Dani · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Blaire Reinhard Band played our wedding and was absolutely amazing! Everyone was dancing the entire time and totally stoked with the band. We told Phil at Best Bands what we were looking for and he totally delivered.

    Sent on 05/16/2016
  • User6754381 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have recommended using Best Bands to everyone getting married. We had an amazing experience.

    Sent on 05/24/2016
  • Janie

    Sarah · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Phil Abair Band through Best Bands for our September 2014 wedding, and still get compliments. Played songs that appealed to both of our major demographics (20/30somethings and 60somethings) and people were on the dance floor all night. I've been to over a dozen weddings with bands over the past several years, and PAB compared favorably to the best.

    Sent on 06/07/2016
  • User6756888 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Band we hired was AWESOME! Everything was perfect and went to schedule, from the wonderful acoustic duet at the ceremony to the fun dance music at the reception! Great, Great, Great!!

    Sent on 05/25/2016
  • G

    Gina · Married on 11/09/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book them!! They are the best! We have had them for several events and they get everyone out on the dance floor. From 3 years old until 90 years old. They play great music and the singers are awesome!! I highly recommend House on Fire.

    Sent on 06/16/2016
  • B

    Brenna · Married on 06/18/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I don’t even know where to start! A House on Fire absolutely rocked it, four months later and our friends and family are still talking about how amazing the band was at our wedding!!! They truly helped to make the night the best it could have been and I’m so thankful for it.

    One of the most important things to us was that the band be able to play music we both enjoyed, but also keep the entire group on their feet – AHOF exceeded all expectations. Hans was a pleasure to work with throughout the entire process. He took the time to answer all my questions and even learned a new Led Zeppelin song for our first dance.

    AHOF brought the perfect song selection, played to the crowd, and knew how to keep everyone moving with awesome energy and long sets. Throughout the night, our dance floor was literally packed to the brim with every age group, from 5 to 85 years. AHOF was extremely skilled and able to execute flawlessly across a wide range of genres – definitely recommend adding the horns! When the last song was played for the night, the entire crowd erupted, chanting for an encore, and AHOF did not disappoint with two more songs.

    After seeing them perform at our wedding, two of our guests have booked AHOF for their own weddings next Summer. Can’t recommend them enough!

    Sent on 10/17/2016
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 05/29/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was great working with the Phil Abair band, who learned two songs for our wedding and really set the tone. Everyone was on the dance floor with them the whole night and it really was a blast! From our ceremony, to our first dance and our mock sing along at the end, we could not ask for more!

    Sent on 06/19/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 12/13/2014

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    No compassion - very poor

    I was supposed to get married in 2014 and a month before my wedding my fiancé got diagnosis with cancer. Best bands refused to refund my deposit m. My fiancé passed away less than a year later and I never got refunded....

    Sent on 02/08/2019