Skip to main content
Weddings

Ben Lau Photography Reviews

Ben Lau Photography

Ben Lau Photography

Plainfield, NJ
5.0 out of 5 rating, 139 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
139 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

139
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • Brittany
    Brittany B. Sent on 05/20/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Best From the Start!

    Ben was the best right from the start. From our first meeting, it was clear that he is a true creative who has an incredible talent for capturing the most special parts of one of the most important days of your life. His enthusiasm and passion for his work were evident, and we knew we were in great hands.

    Ben has an amazing sense of humor, which made the entire process so enjoyable. He brought such a positive energy to our wedding day, making everyone feel comfortable and at ease in front of the camera. His ability to make people laugh and relax resulted in natural, beautiful photos that perfectly captured the emotions of the day.

    One of the standout moments was when Ben expertly managed our shot list for family photos. He made the process go effortlessly quick without missing a single requested photo. His organization and efficiency ensured that we got all the important shots while allowing us to enjoy our day without feeling rushed or stressed.

    Ben's creativity shone through in every aspect of his work. From the candid moments to the beautifully composed portraits, he captured the essence of our wedding day in a way that exceeded our expectations. His eye for detail and artistic approach resulted in stunning photos that we will cherish forever.

    Beyond his technical skills, Ben was simply a joy to work with. He was professional, responsive, and genuinely invested in making our day perfect. He went above and beyond to ensure that every moment was documented beautifully, and his dedication to his craft was truly inspiring.

    We couldn't have asked for a better photographer for our wedding. Ben was the perfect addition to our day, and we are so grateful for the incredible memories he captured. If you're looking for a photographer who is not only exceptionally talented but also a wonderful person to have around on your special day, Ben is your guy. We highly recommend him to anyone in search of a photographer who will make your wedding day unforgettable.
  • J
    Johnny Sent on 10/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The Complete Package

    Ben and Anthony were our photographers for the wedding day and Abby helped coordinate. His package for us also included an engagement shoot.

    Ben and his team go above and beyond when photographing your wedding. He helped us put together a schedule for the day of as well as listened to our requests and even worries. There's one thing that you really can't quantify when planning a wedding, and that's peace of mind. Ben and Anthony really helped us to not worry and just be able to enjoy our big day with their professionalism and amazing personalities. After receiving our photos, we couldn't be happier. We really can't thank them enough for helping us relive our wedding day endlessly through these photos.


  • A
    Abigail S. Sent on 11/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    every moment captured BEAUTIFULLY

    Ben and his team have been incredible start to finish. For one thing - their photos were beyond stunning and perfectly captured the essence of our wedding, our families and our relationship. Beyond that, Ben and his team made everyone feel so comfortable and relaxed -- it was like the cameras weren't even there (but they were everywhere!). Just prior to our wedding I started getting anxious about... well, everything... including our day-of photo plan, and Ben graciously hopped on the phone and we chatted through all my preferences and hopes for the end product. Not only did Ben completely chill me out but it was so obvious from the photos that he truly listened to everything we discussed! We couldn't recommend Ben and his team more
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jd Land Sent on 07/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just the best!

    As a wedding photographer myself, picking a photographer for my own day should have been difficult. But it wasn't, Ben & Karis were an easy decision. There was only going to be 5 people at our elopement and on top of amazing photos, I knew Ben & Karis would be there to make the day better and add to the incredible vibes which was super important to us. I can highly recommend Ben & Karis if you're in the search for a wedding photographer.
  • K
    Kristin F. Sent on 03/26/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ben and his team were AMAZING and made our day run so smoothly!

    Ben and his team were AMAZING and made our day run so smoothly! They were so positive and were constantly cracking jokes to get us to genuinely smile in all the pictures. None of our pictures were awkward and I thought our portfolio was a picture combination of candid and traditional! After only being in Ben's presence twice I felt like he knew us forever... he remembered small details about our lives that we mentioned along the way which made working with him that much more special. Our engagement session was over a year before our wedding and he still remembered details of our love story, family, and childhood. ALSO he was so quick to return all our photos! He even gave us some polaroid prints that night which absolutely blew us away! I was in tears and showed them to everyone that night. I couldn't recommend Ben and his team more!
  • S
    Steve G. Sent on 09/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Professional, Personable, and a Great Eye!

    We used Ben Lau for both our engagement photos and our wedding. He was extremely professional, personable, organized, and most importantly had a great eye for candid photos. We were both not used to being in front of the camera, but he put us at ease and got some great shots. 5 stars!
  • Irene
    Irene C. Sent on 02/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    This is your sign to book Ben Lau!

    I've been following Ben for quite some time on Instagram and with each post, it only further confirmed that I HAD to have him take our wedding photos. Ben's experience and professionalism really helped move our day along in a memorable and seamless way. He collaborated so well with our other vendors, especially our videographer and really just bought everyone together with his humor! Multiple guests gave compliments about Ben to us; he was easily one of our best wedding decisions!
  • Sarah
    Sarah S. Sent on 02/23/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Super Fun and Creative Photographer!!

    Ben was great. He was a fun presence to have around on our wedding day and went out of his way to get special photographs! I was looking for a photographer that had a more editorial/candid style and who wasn’t too light/airy/romantic but also not too dramatic - Ben is the perfect blend. We got all of the standard photos you would hope to get from a wedding and so many fun surprises in addition. He is super talented and we will cherish our photos for the rest of our lives! I would recommend him to my best friend.
  • S
    Stacey Sent on 02/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    HIGHLY recommend!

    Ben is simply the best! Not only is he an amazing photographer, but he is an amazing person as well. From the beginning, Ben and his team were extremely responsive, professional and KIND. He never made us feel like we were "just another couple"- you can tell he truly cares about each couple and understands the importance of the role he plays on your special day.

    From the day we met him at our engagement shoot we knew we made the right choice. He brought such great energy that kept us smiling and laughing all day. He has a special ability to make you feel truly comfortable and confident in front of the camera.
    When we received our wedding photos we were blown away by the beautiful job he did and all of the incredible moments he captured. We will cherish our wedding photos forever. We could not recommend Ben and his incredible team more! Thank you for the beautiful memories!
  • Meredith
    Meredith Sent on 04/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ben Lau Photography was amazing!!

    From the first time meeting Ben through engagement photos to the day of, Ben and his team were wonderful to work with! The photos are amazing, unique, and captured our wedding in a way that makes us feel like we are back living each moment. We didn't feel staged or awkward, and Ben made sure to capture not only our candid moments but the happiness, excitement, and love in the room.
  • A
    Amy C. Sent on 12/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 Recommend!

    We chose Ben as our photographer prior to choosing a venue as we knew we wanted him as our photographer. Ben and his wife, Karis (second shooter) brought a calm and efficient demeanor to our wedding day as we had a ton of family photos that our family wanted to take. Our photos came out beautifully and they were a pleasure to work with! We enjoyed the same day sneak peeks as well. Highly recommend!
  • R
    Roy R. Sent on 01/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    He’s like salt. He brings your flavor out.

    Ben is the greatest. Not only is he the best photographer, he’s an absolute gentleman and one of the funniest people I have ever met. His humor gets you to relax and that’s when he goes to work. If you’re not used to posing for pictures, no worries - Ben knows what he’s doing. If you let him do what he does best, his creativity and artistic eye will capture moments that you’ll look back on and be transported right back to. He also works with his wife Karis, who is amazing and they compete to see who gets the picture of the day. I recommend him to everyone I know. If you need someone to, not only capture moments, but to make you feel confidently yourself in the photos - Ben Lau is your man.
  • Kathy
    Kathy X. Sent on 08/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Cannot Recommend Ben Enough!!

    Ben was an amazing wedding photographer. One of the key things that got our eye about Ben’s photos was the way that he captured the raw emotions and his true photojournalistic style and he did not disappoint.

    From the first intake call he did, we felt at such ease with him. He made not just me but my fiancé laugh with his stellar dad jokes and we felt like we were talking to an old friend. That’s exactly how it felt during our engagement shoot in NYC, which also went above and beyond our expectations in terms of the attention to detail and time spent with us, the numbers of photos we got, and the quality of the company and conversations we had. 

 On the day of our wedding, Ben had just spent the previous night in the hospital and come to our venue to tell us that though he still had his hospital tag on, he’d still be shooting our wedding!! Against all our requests for him to rest he persisted that he would deliver on his contractual promise to be there for us on our big day. Can you talk about professionalism?! And despite all that he was going through, he still made us laugh, captured such beautiful and intimate moments for us, and did it in his classic Ben Lau style.

    We could not recommend Ben enough! If you are looking for someone who will not just be your photographer but become your friend, fill your shoots with dad jokes and laughter, and capture all the moments - big or small - for you, he’s your guy!
  • S
    Steven J. Sent on 08/13/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An Amazing Experience for My Wedding Day

    There aren't enough words to possibly describe how amazing every photo that Ben snaps are. Ben captured my wedding day perfectly! Easily the best experience with a photographer to date! Ben is super personable, easy-going, communicative, and very professional. Throughout the process, Ben ensured that my wife and I were comfortable and enjoying the experience. Undoubtedly, his creativity and artistic eye made the photos even more outstanding than I could have imagined. We received our pictures on time, and they were perfect! We’re so happy we hired Ben for our wedding, and I’ve recommended Ben to my friends looking for a photographer, and I would gladly recommend Ben Lau to others!
  • A
    Amanda M. Sent on 03/03/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Photography

    Ben and Karis are incredibly talented!! They made us feel very comfortable and their creative touch resulted in so many amazing photos! By far the best wedding decision we made.
  • Marlee
    Marlee A. Sent on 12/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ben is amazing!

    Ben and his team (including his wife Karis) are the absolute best there is. From my very first phone call with him over 2 years ago, I could tell he was beyond professional, knowledgable, experienced, passionate about his work, and just a really awesome person! And we can say he's awesome with confidence- we got to know him well because we spent 2 hours in the car with him on our way to our engagement photos on top of Bear Mountain! Those engagement pictures turned out absolutely STUNNING and we've received endless amounts of compliments on them. Not only were our pictures stunning but we had the best experience working with Ben from day one through communication over a 2 year covid engagement/postponed wedding, to our unforgettable wedding day/night. Ben also truly knows how to handle the rowdiest of groups! A wedding party of 20 people, flower girl/ring bearer, LARGE families, a big wedding, etc. He remains calm, patient, comedic (we love his jokes!) and purposeful through it all. We would choose Ben & Karis over and over again! We can't recommend him enough can't wait to see what our wedding photos look like!
  • C
    Cassandra H. Sent on 02/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Just hire Ben Lau!

    BEN IS THE BEST! If you're looking for photos that are truly authentic to your wedding day, this is your guy. Aside from every photo he takes being stunning and perfect, he and his wife Karis are a dream to work with. They both felt like our friends from the moment we met them and they know how to get the job done. He answers emails almost immediately every time (a tough feat during this crazy busy wedding year!) and I never had to chase Ben for a single thing. We originally weren't going to do engagement photos (we're both camera shy), but when Ben explained its all a part of his process, we went for it. I'm so glad we did because the pictures came out awesome and got us so excited for our wedding day! Our wedding photos are beautiful and captured our day exactly as it happened. We can't wait to work with Ben again in the future. Thank you Ben!
  • N
    Nicolle C. Sent on 08/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Couldn't have asked for more!

    Ben and Karis were absolutely wonderful to work with. From the first time we met Ben for our engagement shoot I knew he was going to capture our wedding the way we intended- as the day happened without too many cheesy or posed shots. Almost a year later I can't stop looking at our wedding and engagement photos. He listened to our vision and exceeded our expectations!
  • Arlene
    Arlene Y. Sent on 10/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    LOOK NO FURTHER - Ben Lau is the one!!!

    You only need one photographer and that is Ben Lau! His vision and the way he captures his photos are impeccable. I have never had such a great photographer than in Ben Lau. I knew Ben was the one when he returned back the Save the Date Photos and WOW!!! If you don't know what to do in photos, Ben will direct you and tell you what to do! Ben is top notch and patient! Even when people were screaming at him and getting in his way, he showed the utmost patience! i just love everything about him! If you don't use him for your photos, then you might as well just have a subpar event!!. It is a once in a lifetime opportunity when someone comes across ur life and understands the importance of that moment!!! There are not enough words i can say about Ben on how grateful we truly are! I will look at the pics he took forever!!!! We will forever be a customer as long as i have moments to capture!! His assistant Gabe was superb too! Hire Ben immediately! The best in the game!!! Trust me highly - YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!! Such a beautiful soul and you will truly love his work!!
  • Sgrey
    Stephanie Sent on 12/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Turn your moments into lifelong memories!

    Ben is a composer in the art of photography. The entire experience with Ben Lau photography was unforgettably positive. From the engagement photo shoot to the record-long wedding day full of coverage, Ben and his team proved they had a knack for capturing the heart of each moment in their photographs.

    We look back on our wedding photos and can feel the emotions in each shot. It all felt so seamless. Ben could easily rally bridal parties and friends alike, forming the perfect combinations for unforgettable photos we will cherish forever.

    Further, Ben and his team are as flexible as they are talented. Despite COVID forcing two wedding postponements, Ben was able to make the time to accommodate us on our special day. We look back on our wedding day so fondly, and cannot thank Ben enough for his hard work in capturing the heart and soul of our wedding from sun rise to sunset.

    We highly recommend Ben Lau Photography for your next special event! You will be so happy with the memories you’ll leave with.
  • A
    Allie H. Sent on 08/07/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Nothing short of PERFECT

    I don’t know where to even begin. Ben’s positive energy and enthusiasm for what he does is beyond what I ever could have expected. We were so comfortable with him right away and his eye & creativity made all of our engagement & wedding images far from cookie cutter. I would recommend Ben to anyone looking for a photographer for their special day. Could not have possibly found someone better to share our day with us and capture all the most beautiful memories for us to have forever.
  • I
    Irene C. Sent on 05/27/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    An amazing person and photographer!

    We haven't gotten our wedding photos done yet, (wedding currently scheduled for later this year!) but Ben has done our engagement photos (and my brother + sister in law's weddings). His work is great, he's a fun person, and during these crazy times he's been extraordinarily transparent and helpful in identifying potential wedding back up dates for us!
  • Liz
    Liz W. Sent on 08/24/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Photos, Wonderful Human Beings!

    We hired Ben to capture our day when we had to postpone our wedding due to COVID and our original photographer wasn't available. We ended up clicking with him way better than our first photographer and the photos were exactly what we wanted! He was an absolute pleasure to work with and his ability to make you feel comfortable really comes through in the photos! We plan on contacting him in the future for our other life milestones :)
  • S
    Sheena J. Sent on 09/26/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best in the business

    Ben & Karis Lau are amazing photographers with great personalities. We have the most incredible memories & photographs as proof!!! Highly recommend them for your big day. You won’t regret it!
  • J
    Jacqueline A. Sent on 07/12/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Engagement and Wedding Photos

    Ben and his wife Karis were an absolute pleasure to work with from the beginning. We were so happy with our engagement photos and couldn’t wait for them to capture our big day! However due to COVID we were unable to have our big wedding and instead found out just days before we were allowed a micro wedding with 30 people. Ben was by our side every step of the way. He was so flexible, understand and compassionate regarding our situation. We just received our photos and were blown away. He had a way of capturing our day and making us feel so special and beautiful given our crazy, unique, and last minute circumstances. Needless to say we cannot wait to work with Ben and Karis again!! And we will definitely be recommending them to plenty of friends and family! :)
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message