Skip to main content
Weddings

Ben Boylan, Non-Traditional Wedding DJs Reviews

Ben Boylan, Non-Traditional Wedding DJs

Ben Boylan, Non-Traditional Wedding DJs

Brooklyn, NY
5.0 out of 5 rating, 138 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
138 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating
100% Recommended by couples

Awards

138
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner

20 User photos

  • Kerry
    Kerry K. Sent on 11/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing DJ!

    Non-traditional wedding DJs were perfect for my wedding. First of all their price point is fair and competitive in the wedding DJ space. Owner Ben was extremely helpful in figuring out the kind of music my partner and I like and our DJ Thando executed it perfectly. I had a couple of pretty specific requests but also wanted Thando to include crowd-pleasers during the reception; he wove all of this together seamlessly. I spent so much time dancing that I didn’t even talk to some of our guests (oops) and that is a testament to the ambiance that the music created. I highly recommend Non-traditional Wedding DJs: 10/10, 5 stars, chef’s kiss!
  • K
    Kevin G. Sent on 02/21/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great Experience!!

    Ben was on top of all things music from the minute we hired him. He played excellent music all night, he knew exactly what vibe to play and when. Everyone was really impressed with the music all night.
  • A
    Alyssa S. Sent on 11/03/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dj ben is the best!

    Ben was the DJ for our wedding at Audrey's Farmhouse. From the very beginning of the planning process he was incredibly easy and fun to work with.

    With the help of his extensive music knowledge, Ben collaborated with us to craft the perfect playlist for our wedding. During planning, he provided his own Spotify playlists based on genre for guidance, as well as a music planning worksheet with suggestions. During the wedding, we got countless compliments from guests of all ages regarding our music choices and Ben's overall chill demeanor. We made an angsty 2000s afterparty playlist with him and even employees at the venue were dancing along.

    Ben is not your typical DJ, and I mean this in the best way possible. He never questioned our non-traditional choices and made it very clear that he was there to make our day whatever we wanted it to be. I’m not exaggerating when I say that weeks after our wedding, we are still getting compliments and notes about how much fun our wedding was, how awesome the music was, and how authentic the whole thing felt. This authenticity could not have been achieved without Ben - he truly went above and beyond our expectations and as a couple who barely likes to dance, we found ourselves on the dance floor much more than we ever anticipated, all thanks to Ben. :)
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Gabrielle
    Gabrielle S. Sent on 10/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Thank you Joe!

    We could not recommend Non-Traditional Wedding DJs, and particularly Joe Schimicci, enough. Joe took the time to get to know us and perfectly curated the soundtrack to our wedding so that it felt like us...so much so that we had guests asking if we provided the playlist! Joe made sure we felt taken care of and that our guests had fun. 10/10...would choose NT DJs and Joe again in a heartbeat! Can't recommend highly enough.
  • C
    Casey Sent on 09/26/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Joe Schimicci was an amazing DJ for our Brooklyn wedding!

    Joe Schimicci was absolutely awesome at our Brooklyn wedding! He provided the music for an incredible dance party (exactly what we wanted) and perfectly understood what our guests were looking for throughout the evening! His ability to lean into the tastes of our guests truly made our wedding so special. We got so many compliments from everyone.

    We can't thank him enough, and would highly recommend him!!
  • Claudia
    Claudia C. Sent on 09/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Ben was truly the backbone of the party!

    We were lucky enough to book Ben for our wedding, and from day one, we knew we had to work with him. He has years of experience working the NYC wedding scene, and it shows through his depth of knowledge on venues, music catalogues, and how to get a crowd moving!

    My husband is an avid, and particular, music enthusiast, and so our music preferences started with highly prescriptive songs and playlists and ended with providing Ben with genres and styles we’d like to play for each part of the wedding. Ben made it clear that whatever our choices ended up being, he was confident in being able to execute our musical vibes, and he provided helpful and welcome guidance when we needed help.

    Weddings are such a funny business because you, as the couple, will likely only meet your vendors in person on the day of. Trust me when I say you’ll feel like you’re old friends with Ben when you meet him on your special day, and book him!
  • B
    Brenda R. Sent on 08/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best dance party!

    Ben was so great to work with! Ben did a great job of mixing in several genres that we liked while making the music sound cohesive. He knew exactly what music to play to get everyone out on the dance floor and everyone had a great time. We were dancing all night! Highly recommend Ben and his team if you want to have a great dance party at your wedding.
  • J
    Justine C. Sent on 08/26/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 recommend hiring Ben!

    Ben - Talk about vibe! Dan and I had no idea what we were looking for with music but you hit the nail on the head. Your ability to read the room, pivot when necessary, and seamlessly transition between songs was incredible. When we were lost, your playlists helped us pick each and every song for our ceremony and we loved every single song during the reception. We had such fun on the dance floor all night and your "no hava negilah" hora set was such a hit!
  • P
    Paige D. Sent on 08/23/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    NTDJs will not disappoint!

    We hired NTDJs for our wedding and Joe S was our DJ. He and Ben were very communicative, professional and easy to work with. We had a very specific vibe and music preferences that were not standard "wedding music" (basically your millennials dream of indie 2000/2010s, disco, goth/new wave, alternative rock, etc). Joe NAILED IT. He exceeded our expectations and we had many guests ask us about the music and request the setlist. Joe created a magical dance party and we had the best time!

    You will love working with Ben and his team! And thank you again, Joe!!
  • M
    Mary L. Sent on 09/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Super professional and knowledgeable DJs

    Flavya did an awesome job DJing our wedding! During the weeks leading up to our wedding, she and Ben checked in and made sure we were all on the same page with the vibe we wanted to create on our day. They were attentive to our requests and we would highly recommended them! Super professional with a wide musical knowledge!
  • A
    Ariana B. Sent on 08/09/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent!

    Ben at NT DJs was amazing!!! He was very easy to communicate with throughout the whole process and gave a ton of helpful recommendations. His music worksheet really helps outline what you want for the day. Thank you, Ben for making our wedding an epic dance party!!!
  • Carly
    Carly Sent on 07/31/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 would recommend

    DJ Joe was the best! He was so kind and lovely to work with us, completely understood us from the beginning, and kept everyone on the dance floor all night!!! Thanks to Joe and Ben for such a memorable, easy experience!
  • A
    A. D. S. Sent on 06/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Attentive and Professional

    Non-Traditional Wedding DJs are an excellent company. They paired us with a wonderful DJ (Flavya) who studied our requests and the details of our ceremony closely. We met twice in the lead-up to the wedding and they responded to all our questions and e-mails quickly. We had to pack all of our dancing into about a 90 minute period because of local noise ordinances, but the dance floor was full for the entire time! Flavya did an exceptional job of reading the crowd and mixed the songs amazingly! Highly recommended!
  • S
    Shawn M. Sent on 06/01/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    100% Recommend

    Rafe was absolutely the perfect DJ for our wedding - we had a specific music vibe/theme in mind - Rafe picked up on it and really ran with it in exactly the right way. The dance floor was packed all night; guests kept coming up to me telling me how much they loved the music, and I personally kept trying to leave to do wedding stuff but getting pulled back on by another banger that I just had to dance to.
  • Kathy
    Kathy L. Sent on 05/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Party!

    We worked with Ben from Non-Traditional DJs for our May 2023 wedding. Ben made the process incredibly easy for us from start to finish. He was also on top of communication leading up to the event; this helped helped manage our stress levels as we were chasing other vendors around.

    Ben took the time to get to know our personal taste with scheduled calls and a comprehensive music work sheet. He was a great listener and made perfect suggestions. In the end, we appreciated how well our reception music represented us. Our guests have been messaging us about the music all week post wedding.

    We can’t wait to work with NTDJs again!
  • J
    Jenny J. Sent on 02/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Wedding DJ

    Ben exceeded our already high expectations! Throughout the entire process Ben was friendly, responsive, and accommodating. Ben understood the vibe of our wedding, and the music seamlessly transitioned throughout the reception and into the afterparty. Our guests danced all night long. I also highly recommend the photo booth - it was a hit! We would absolutely recommend Non-Traditional Wedding DJs!
  • Melissa
    Melissa D. Sent on 03/26/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A packed dance floor all night!

    We highly recommend working with DJ Ben Boylan! From the beginning, he was enthusiastic and open-minded. While music selection for your wedding can feel like such an intimidating endeavor, Ben made the process fun and relaxing. He was encouraging us to lean into our musical preferences, and then allow him (if we were comfortable) to fill in the blanks and build around our “must play” songs. At the reception, we distinctly remember Ben observing the dance floor and making song adjustments to bring people back to the dance floor when people started to drift closer to the seats. His overall awareness of the dance floor’s energy was impeccable. Two wonderful perks about working with Ben are his recordings of the speeches at the weddings, and a full recording of all music played at your reception. It’s a fun way to relive the night, and the quality was very high. We received countless compliments on Ben and our wedding music selection, and DJ Ben rightfully earned it.
  • W
    William Y. Sent on 02/06/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    DJ Ben was the amazing!!! =)

    DJ Ben was awesome and made our wedding unforgettable!! He really cared about our needs and made sure everything turned out to how we envisioned the wedding! From the first dance to the special announcements (which was one of the highlights) he was just on point!! I would definitely recommend him and Non-Traditional Wedding DJs to people who want quality service and experience! Our guests were raving about the music and our party because he knew exactly what the crowed loved to hear. He was very easy to talk to and we felt very confident with his guidance. MJ and I would want to thank him again as our wedding couldn't have been any better!! 10 STARS to DJ Ben!! We love you!
  • Naomi
    Naomi J. Sent on 01/02/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great non-traditional DJ & photo booth!

    DJ Ben is the best! We first discovered Ben at a friend's wedding a few years ago and loved his non-traditional style and his ability to weave together a perfect playlist. When we got engaged ourselves we knew we had to book Ben for our wedding. He was the first vendor we booked!

    We gave Ben way too many songs, a list of must-plays, and a few last minute changes and nothing fazed him. He managed to turn our messy Spotify playlists into an awesome 3-hour dance party. He also accommodated our request for a traditional money dance, which everyone loved. We especially appreciated how communicative and attentive to detail he was during the event, checking in with us to make sure everything was on-track. We received so many compliments about the music during and after the wedding.

    In addition, Non-Traditional Wedding DJs also provided a photobooth that was a huge hit with our guests. Not only was it a fun activity, it gave us dozens of photos for our guestbook that we will treasure forever.

    Ben made our wedding a truly special night and I couldn’t imagine a better DJ for any wedding. Ben and team are highly recommended!!

    - Austin & Naomi
  • Shayan
    Shayan S. Sent on 09/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Want your guests to have fun? Book DJ Ben.

    If you’re looking for a wedding DJ, look no further. Ben is the perfect DJ. I’ve had the pleasure of seeing him DJ some company parties, then my cousins wedding, and most recently, my wedding. Without fail, he continues to exceed expectations. When my fiancé and I are we’re stressing about the wedding music, Ben was our calming presence. When we provided him with some of the specific songs we wanted, he layered them into the ceremony and reception perfectly. His sound mixing, timing, and musical sense are outstanding. Our dance floor was packed the entire night and people did not want to leave because they were having so much fun. Book Ben - it will be the best move you make.
  • M
    Meg Sent on 11/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Can't recommend enough!

    We hired Ben as our wedding DJ and he exceeded our already high expectations! In the months leading up to the wedding, it was very communicative and sent us a great worksheet to help us organize our thoughts. As we got closer, he provided great advice and walked us through how the whole day would run, leaving us feeling confident. Then the day of the wedding Ben was an absolute dream. He got there early to set up, provided us with mics and music for the entire ceremony, cocktail hour, reception, AND afterparty. We had almost every one of our guests come up to us and say that he was the best wedding DJ they had ever seen. The cherry on top, Ben audio recorded the whole ceremony and reception (all FIVE HOURS of it) so we have these memories forever. We could not recommend Ben enough to others and want to thank him immensely for making our day so memorable.
  • Claire
    Claire D. Sent on 01/08/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    AMAZING x 1,000,000

    Ben was our DJ for our 12/3/22 wedding, and I knew he was going to be amazing from the first time meeting him over our zoom introduction meeting, one year prior! There are not enough words to describe his amazing service, talent, and demeanor.

    From the start, he made the process of choosing music for each moment of the night, music do's & don'ts, relaxing and fun! His knowledge and insight was super comforting as I knew we were in good hands! The day of the wedding he was extremely professional, prepared, and FUN!

    We also rented his photo booth and uplights... all I have to say is just DO IT! Rent the photos & the up lights, you won't regret it. The photo booth is digital (the photos are sent directly to your provided email address), so it reduces waste & keeps things super simple! He even provides really great quality fun props to use in the photos :) The uplights completely transformed our reception space-- we did the amber/gold color for the start & then when things got a bit more rowdy we changed to this beautiful hot pink. It was exactly what I was imagining!

    Guests were on the dance floor all night, and they loved the fact that he was an actual DJ that mixed tunes together, rather than just played a playlist.

    We cannot recommend Ben enough.. we wish we could have another wedding simply to be able to work with him again! :)
  • H
    Hh Sent on 10/26/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exactly what we wanted!

    We were honestly leaning towards making our own playlist rather than getting and DJ for our wedding, but decided a month before to hire a DJ and I am soooo glad we did! Ben set an incredible tone for our wedding. He is friendly and professional. He really led us through the planning process and he was so on top of everything on the day itself. He made everything so easy and stress-free for us. And the party was a blast! All our guests complimented the music selection all night and the dance floor was packed. 10/10 would recommend!
  • Melissa
    Melissa P. Sent on 11/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    AMAZING WORK !!! DJ Ben was great & our guests were incredibly happy!

    AMAZING WORK!!!!! Working with DJ Ben & his team was above all our expectations. He curated a list based on all our preferred genres, songs etc. Best part of all, we heard GREAT THINGS from all our wedding guests!!! everyone enjoyed every single moment, song transitions, and song selections! Thank you Ben for everything!! - Love, Melissa & Carlos.
  • V
    Valentina R. Sent on 10/06/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best contemporary dj!

    Ben helped me through the whole process, guide me and my fiancé to decided what was best for us! We had a latin- us wedding and he really respect our taste in music, our suggestions, it was the perfect mix of both cultures! the dance floor was ALWAYS full thanks to Ben!
    I cannot recommend him enough! Also please book the photo boot! such a nice touch, everybody was taking photos and it was such a fun activity to have.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours