Belle by Marine Reviews

29 | San Francisco, CA
See photos, pricing and details

29 Reviews for Belle by Marine

Recommended by 96%

29
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • S

    Samuel · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We really reccomend this service provider!!! =)

    Sent on 03/31/2017
  • User5620549 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine and one assistant did hair and makeup for myself, my four bridesmaids, as well as my mother and mother in law the day of my wedding. Everyone was so, so happy with their hair and makeup! We were able to send her photos in advance of what we wanted, and the styles were done so perfectly. I also had a hair and makeup trial with Marine in advance of the wedding and really enjoyed working with her. I could not have been more thrilled with how beautiful and elegant I felt during my wedding!

    Sent on 11/16/2015
  • C

    Cari · Married on 04/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine did both my hair and makeup for my recent San Francisco city hall wedding. Both hair and makeup lasted from 9am until well after midnight and barely beeded any touch ups (besides a swipe of lipstick here and there). Marine was prompt with her replys, professional, and very friendly in person. She made me feel at ease on my big day as well as beautiful :-) I would highly recommend her services!

    Sent on 05/01/2015
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 07/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine did an AMAZING job on my hair and makeup for my City Hall wedding! I was really excited to find her and learn that she loves to work with clients for City Hall weddings. I didn't have a trial prior to my wedding day, but I wasn't worried at all.

    I had sent Marine a few photos of updos I liked for my thick, curly, shoulder-length hair, but with no definitive idea of what I wanted. She did an amazing job-- and even helped my sister (who had come along, and was doing her own hair), showing her how to use a curling iron to get the look she wanted. So great!

    She did a STUNNING job with my makeup as well-- I don't normally wear a ton of makeup, so I wanted a natural look. Marine was able to do just that-- I left feeling beautiful yet still myself. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 08/10/2013
  • User3078784 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gorgeous work at a reasonable price!
    I searched and searched on the main venues - wedding wire, the knot and yelp - to get the best service I could get at a decent price and the result was Maine, and her work will definitely leave you feeling like a true bride.
    Not only is she easy to work with, she is talented in skilled in all levels. She was trained in France and continued her training and work here in the states. She STILL continues to take classes and workshops to make sure she is on top of the latest trends, styles, and techniques.
    Also, she is a talent machine - she not only does makeup but incredible hair. With everyone of my bridesmaids AND myself, she honored our requests and also made sure each style was suited for everyone's face. Like bridal dresses, somethings can look good on the photo, but on you, it can be different.
    Either way, I love looking at my bridal photos because I am so impressed by her work and how beautiful she helped to make me look. I would recommend her to any gal who has a limited budget and still wants a real professional at beauty and artistry.

    Sent on 08/07/2013
  • P

    Ping · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine did my hair and also my mom and aunt's hair on my wedding day on June 1st. She did an amazing job on all three of us! We each got several compliments throughout the night. I did a trial with her before the wedding and she understood what I wanted right away. Marine is very easy to work with and wants you to have the exact hairstyle you want. She is also very reasonably priced. The updo lasted all day even when we were taking pictures outdoors in the wind for a few hours prior to the ceremony. I will definitely use her again for any future occasions where I need a special hairdo! Thank you Marine for helping to make me a lovely bride!

    Sent on 08/08/2013
  • Vanessa

    Vanessa · Married on 04/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply put, Marine is AMAZING! My journey with her began 6 months prior to my wedding with a hair and makeup trial at her studio. The instant I met Marine, I had a great feeling about her and I booked her services on the spot! I went back to see her a few months later for a second hair trial because I was torn between a few different hairstyles. She was happy to try out more styles and was honest in telling me what she thought about each style. She was good about keeping an open dialog, always asking for feedback and making sure that I was really happy. She is warm, friendly, professional, and unpretentious which easily put me at ease. I also learned that Marine recently started eyelash extensions and decided to try them out a month before my wedding. I was very impressed with the precision of her lash application! I was extremely happy with the results and decided to get them filled again for the wedding. She and her assistant came up to Mill Valley from San Francisco to do hair and makeup for myself, my six bridesmaids, and our moms. Marine did makeup and her assistant did hair. My maids and moms all looked so beautiful thanks to the both of them. Everyone was happy with their looks! Marine did my hair and makeup, of course. She nailed my look and even surprised me with some extra lashes for an extra 'wow' factor. I have never looked and felt so good in my life! It was truly a pleasure working with Marine and I highly recommend her if you are considering her services for your wedding!

    Sent on 07/03/2013
  • User3188156 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine was really fantastic! I got married at SF City Hall but live in New York. I'm pretty hopeless with hair and I didn't even have time to do a hair trial, but I booked Marine based on Yelp reviews and was not disappointed.

    I sent her pictures of what I had in mind and she did an amazing job. She even got my super fine hair to stay curled most of the day, which was quite a feat! I went to her little home studio, which was really cute.

    Marine was very sweet and easy to work with. She worked really quickly and was very accommodating to get me, my mom, and sister all ready in a short amount of time.

    Sent on 04/10/2013
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 12/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine did an excellent job with my hair and makeup for my City Hall elopement. She was punctual, professional, and we had no problems communicating by email up until the event.

    I am very pleased with her work and she even gave me a lipgloss to keep for touchups! I would definitely recommend her.

    Sent on 02/03/2013
  • J

    Jutta · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine was the hair and makeup artist for a wedding I coordinated in San Francisco last weekend, and she was simply great! She has the rare talent to bring out the beauty of any face… plus she was so very pleasant to work with. I am recommending her services highly.

    Sent on 10/22/2012
  • Mick

    Mick · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine did my makeup on my wedding day as well as my sister's and mother's. She is a wonderful artist who has a great eye for beauty. I was breaking out, had terribly dry skin, and was very nervous the hour or so before my wedding. While transforming me into a beautiful swan, Marine did a fantanstic job of multitasking by calming my nerves, joking around, and answering other nervous bridesmaid's last minute questions on their own makeup. The end result was that I walked down the aisle looking exactly how I wanted and without blemish, beautifuly took my next steps into married life. Thank you Marine!!!

    Sent on 11/04/2012
  • M

    Mick · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife hired Marine to do her makeup, along with others in the wedding party. I can't write the review based on how the time management was (although I heard she was amazing with everyone.....not only making sure everyone looked even more beautiful....but making sure everyone was at ease) but I can write the review based on the first time I was my wife-to-be walking down the aisle. I will say I'm not a big fan of makeup.....but what Marine did was amazing. My wife looked amazing walking down that aisle....her makeup was perfect. I loved that it was not "caked" on....it was the perfect touch with her skin tone and wedding dress. And even more important.....my wife LOVED it!

    Thanks Marine!

    Sent on 11/05/2012

    Belle by Marine's reply:

    Thanks a lot for the reviews Remondinos!!!!!!
    Bisous
  • User2818135 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Looking for a fabulous makeup artist? If you're considering anyone else YOU ARE MAKING THE WRONG CHOICE! Marine was outstanding as the makeup artist for my sister's wedding- she made my mother and I look and feel beautiful, but most of all she made my sister look stunning! She has a fun and calming personality that helped soothe jittery wedding day nerves. She asks what you would like to look like and works to enhance your natural beauty. Having our makeup done on the morning of the wedding was truly one of my favorite parts of the day. Hire her! Immediately! (But not on my wedding date...)

    Sent on 11/29/2012
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine's got the make-up and hair skills down! She came to my hotel the morning of my wedding day and set up her station to start the magic. From my make-up to my maid of honor and both my mother and mother-in-law's make-up she made everyone feel comfortable, provided guidance yet also asked questions of what each of us liked for our make-up. Also everyone's make-up lasted all through the big day! PS the french accent doesnt hurt either....makes you feel like your in Paris :) Thanks again Marine!

    Sent on 10/04/2012
  • M

    Mohana · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine is the best! I'm so glad I found her. She did my wedding hair and those of my wedding party. Everyone looked great. She has excellent taste so you won't have to worry about looking over-done. Her work is meticulous and efficient. She is calm and pleasant. She really listens to what you want. I had a great trial with her before my wedding and walked around glowing all day. The trial was such a relaxing experience that I knew right away I wanted her to do my make-up and hair on my big day. On the day of our wedding, she had a record of everything from our trial so I didn't have to remind her of what I wanted. My bridesmaids and the moms looked great and everyone was happy and relaxed for the event. I would recommend her to anyone. Hire Marine, you will not regret it!

    Sent on 09/25/2012
  • R

    rachel · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine was great to work with and helped me look by best. I normally don't wear a lot of makeup but I've heard it's important on your big day. She helped me to feel comfortable with wearing a little more than I usually do and I still felt natural and like myself. She drove out to my wedding venue in Boulder Creek, Ca and arrived early. She had a very calming presence. Book with her, she made my hair and make up look beautiful. She also did several of my bridesmaids hair and they looked great too!

    Sent on 11/01/2012
  • J

    Jillian · Married on 08/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine did a fantastic job with my hair and makeup on my wedding day. I could not believe that she was able to style my hair exactly to a tee as the picture of the hair style I wanted for the day. She really helped me to relax and enjoy my wedding day as she finished both my hair and makeup relatively fast, which allowed me to breathe and soak up the moment. She was punctual, very-friendly, and professional. Her skills are amazing with both hair and makeup and she delivered exactly what I had envisioned. To be honest, she went above and beyond my expectations. She also did hair for my mom, two sisters, and niece, which were all done very well. One of my sister's hair loved her hair so much, she was able to keep it styled the same way the next day after my wedding. I highly recommend Marine for your wedding day or any other event you need hair and makeup!

    Sent on 09/20/2012

    Belle by Marine's reply:

    Jilian,
    Thank you so so much for your kind review, it really going to help my business. I can t believe your sister kept the hair style until the day after. Which sister? Thanks again and I can't wait to see the pictures! Your looked amazing.
    You can like me on Facebook and see some of your pictures and if you also could coy and past this amazing review on Yelp that would make my day! Thanks again and congrats! Marine
  • J

    Jeska · Married on 08/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine is top notch, she helped my bridal party of 7 ladies and the two mothers of the bride AND my grandmother get ready before our wedding this summer. We all looked fantastic and she was a welcome calming force during the morning of the wedding prep.

    Sent on 10/27/2012
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 03/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine was fantastic to work with and I would definitely recommend her to other people! She deserves the best review. :)
    Marine was extremely responsive to emails and was easy to talk to. She did my makeup and hair trial right before our engagement photo shoot. She took the time to contact me and ask me which style I want before my wedding day so that she can be well prepared. For the trial session, I forgot to bring hair accessories with me but she took some flowers from the potted plant she had at home and put it in my hair. This plant for a decoration for her own baby shower on the same day as my trial session. She was very accommodating to schedule me on the same day as her own baby shower. Having those flowers in my hair made a huge difference in the photo shoot.
    Now for our wedding day services, Marine was stellar! She arrived on time at 7am in the morning! She was able to find her way and still be punctual. We had a Chinese traditional tea ceremony and "opening-door" games in morning so timing was extremely important and also it included a lot of family members coming in and out of our small house. She performed tremendously well on a tight schedule. She did my hair and makeup and did the hair styles for my 4 bridesmaids all within 4 hours! Also, there was a lot of commotion and festivities and she did not crack under pressure.
    I had a hair and makeup touch-up session at night at 4pm and she was on time for that as well! She was at the restaurant even before we arrived. She touched all of us up within an hour.
    No one can beat her pricing. I looked around for a while and she was the most affordable around and well worth it! I was able to negotiate the price with her and she was extremely flexible. She even threw in a care package with a lipstick and blush powder sheets. I'm definitely glad that I chose Marine for our special day. Thanks, Marine!

    Sent on 09/09/2012
  • User2214511 · event on 01/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I made an appointment with Marine for an up-do for a Mad Men themed party. She did a wonderful job matching my hair to the pictures I brought and even added on of her own beautiful orchid flowers to complete the look. She is very nice and fun to be with and let me practice my French during the appointment. I hadn't planned to do make-up as well but she said she had time so I went for it and she did an amazing job on that as well. I was so happy with the look I went back a week later for a private make-up lesson and have been having fun trying the looks on my own ever since. Definitely recommend Marine for any special event!

    Sent on 02/04/2012
  • V

    Marie · Married on 12/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am a naturally sporty girl, but it was high time to have someone do me over, so I contacted Marine to do my make-up for an upcoming event in a few weeks. I'm usually wary of people doing my face as I'm asian and too much make-up can make me look like a china doll. This has happened time and time again at various make-up counters at Macys and Nordstroms. But I thought I'd give it another shot. First of all, Marine is french and I had no idea that she had studied to be a make-up artist in Paris, so that intrigued me. When I met her she came across as a sophisticated person and also very nice and personable. All in all, it was a great experience and I looked GREAT. She is amazing. She did me up for casual days when I wouldn't need that much makeup, highlighting my eyes and giving me ideas as to which colors would work on my face. She then did me up for going out and I loved it. Not too overdone and she made my eyes look striking, with that smoky look I love. I am now excited about make-up for the first time in my life and am going to use her again for my big event in a few weeks. All in all, she is a gem and I highly recommend her


    Sent on 02/06/2012
  • S

    Suzannah · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    She was great, very personable, skilled and easy going, all for a great price.

    Sent on 02/19/2012
  • User6818191 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Belle by Marine and her team did a wonderful job on my wedding day. Marine was my hair and makeup artist and her team glammed up my bridesmaids for my wedding. I wanted a more vibrant makeup look for my wedding day and she did an excellent job.

    I did my bridal trial with Marine months in advance because I wanted to book all of my vendors early. The trial helped me figure out what looks were best for me. We tried a few different hair styles from my Pinterest board and found the perfect look. I definitely recommend Belle by Marine for any occasion especially our your wedding.

    Sent on 06/12/2016
  • Kimberley

    Kimberley · Married on 07/13/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Marine did a fabulous job providing hair and make-up beauty services to me "the bride" and my four bridesmaids. I previous met with Marine for a hair/make-up consultation, where we discussed what I was looking for and did a mock trial. I loved the results. On the day of the wedding she came to the hotel where we were staying and provided excellent service to all of us. I have never been so happy with my up-do. It was soft, but sophisticated, exactly what I was hoping for. The only reason Marine received a 4.8/5.0 is because one of my bridesmaids (my picky sister) made a few adjustments to her hair. You can't win them all, especially with five women. I highly recommend Marine for your wedding or special event when you want to feel and look like a elegant, chic, and beautiful woman.

    Sent on 09/17/2012
  • C

    C · Married on 12/12/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Marine was did my friends and my hair and make-up on my wedding day, on December 12. She is THE hairstylist and make-up artist you want for your special day!
    She is a great professional and she'll make sure you'll look exactly the way you want. With little input from me, she managed to get the perfect vintage style I had in mind, and quickly created an impressive side up-do that perfectly matched with the rest of the outfit. As for the make-up, she managed to get the right balance of colors and intensity and the eye-lashes she applied really made the trick. We couldn't have asked for better!

    Sent on 01/10/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review