Skip to main content
Weddings

Beauty by May Reviews

Beauty by May View more information

Reviews

5.0 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
5.0 out of 5 rating
254 Reviews
100% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

254
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • S
    Sharmaine S. Sent on 10/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful and Perfect Service

    I asked her last minute to do my bridal hair and makeup and she responded so quickly! I was so happy she was available and I really feel it was meant to be, she did my hair and makeup perfectly! Better than I expected! I felt so beautiful on my wedding day because of her. Not only is she highly skilled but she’s also very kind and friendly, she made my overall experience comfortable. I highly recommend her! Thank you again May for being part of my special day :)
  • Amanda
    Amanda L. Sent on 05/17/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    10/10 She is amazing

    I am really satisfied by her hair and makeup! She is so professional and she knew exactly what i want. I asked her for different design hairstyle that i asked earlier. She did it so well!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Sarah S. Sent on 04/21/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    May made my special day even more special!

    May communicated very well with me to make sure that she gave me the “dream look” that I wanted for my wedding. She has such a good eye for makeup and hair, and what will look good. I told her to use her best professional judgement with the makeup so that it would make my features “pop” and cover all my “flaws,” all while matching my skin tone and not being too bold. She somehow made me look even better than I could have ever imagined, and she is also the sweetest person, she is very pleasant to work with, and I highly recommend her to anyone looking for someone to do their hair and makeup!
  • C
    Cherisse Sent on 04/07/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding photoshoot hair and makeup

    This review is way overdue! May is absolutely fantastic. I would book with her again without question. She is very talented and professional. She was so quick to respond to my message and was very easy to schedule with. Not only did she style my hair just as I had imagined and more (with only a few picture examples) and did my makeup better than I had Ever expected, she was so fast and pleasant to talk to during the entire experience. Hair and makeup withstood the windy outdoor elements like a charm. I am so grateful for May and the amazing job she did! Thank you ❤️
  • S
    Savannah K. Sent on 03/09/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    May is the BEST!

    She is professional, kind, and will make you look AMAZING!
    I will continue to hire her again, and again..
  • B
    Brooke Sent on 03/01/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fun and Fantastic at the same time!

    May was an absolute joy to work with! Not only was she extremely professional but she’s very personable and becomes a best friend at the same time. She’s very skilled at what she does and has everything needed to transform you into the look you want to achieve. She was very organized, punctual, and well planned out from start to finish. I would choose her again in a heartbeat!
  • N
    Natalie Sent on 12/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    May is the best :)

    May made my date, she did a really great job and she is really friendly and professional. Love it!!
  • M
    Michelle D. Sent on 10/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Experience!

    May is a wonderful artist! I have never had my hair or makeup done professionally, and I am so happy that May was the one to do both for my wedding! She is incredibly friendly and professional as well as very talented! I sent her pictures of what I wanted and she did exactly what I wanted. Our wedding was outside and despite the heat and crying throughout my wedding, the hair and makeup stayed intact! Thanks May!
  • J
    Julie S. Sent on 10/25/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing makeup + hair plus just incredible to work with

    May is an extremely talented and caring makeup artist and hair stylist. I would highly recommend working with May!

    For my wedding, I did the makeup and hair trial the day prior and did makeup and hair for myself as well as my family members on the wedding day.

    First of all, May is extremely skilled. It is difficult to find someone who is good at both hair and makeup and May is that person for you. My entire family was so impressed by May’s magical touch. For instance, my mom was only going to do makeup but after seeing how good May is, she decided to add hair also.

    Second, May is very receptive to feedback. Every person will have particulars they have for their makeup or hair. After the trial, on the wedding day, I had asked for more natural eyes. Although heavier makeup on the eyes would be captured better in photos, I had preferred more natural eyes. May was extremely receptive to this feedback and found the perfect medium between eyes that would be captured in photos well and a more natural look.

    Finally, May is extremely flexible and caring. I had some family events occur on the day of the wedding and May was very caring throughout. She was suggesting hospital names to search, was generous with pauses in between makeup and hair as I had to attend to family matters. Also, I asked May last minute if she can travel to the wedding with and she was nice enough to agree last minute. I have to say it was the best decision to have May attend the wedding seeing how the photos turned out.

    Thanks again May! It was such a pleasure working with you!
  • Joycelyn
    Joycelyn Sent on 10/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceptional!

    May is amazing! It was the first time I’ve had such a great experience with hair and makeup. My whole party looked great—beautiful and natural. Even my mom was pleased and she is a tough lady to satisfy!
  • D
    Dalya G. Sent on 10/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    May the magician

    May is fantastic. She showed up early for my beach wedding, we reviewed the pics I sent her for hair, make up, dress style and bouquet color.
    She was so professional and sweet! She made few great suggestions like eyelashes and braiding my half up. It turned out fantastically !
    She took photos afterward, that she sent me and helped me to get to the car heading to the ceremony.
    Her communication is stellar!!!
  • K
    Kristen Sent on 09/26/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Highly Recommend!!

    May is a fantastic hair and makeup artist. She was so sweet and accommodating. My bridal hair and makeup were everything I imagined and more. The bridesmaids also had great compliments towards May and their hair and makeup. I would highly recommend her to anyone looking to get bridal makeup and hair done in Hawaii.
  • M
    Madi E. Sent on 07/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    May is perfect!

    We loved having May with us the morning of my wedding. Not only did she did a beautiful job with our hair and makeup, she brought a calming meditative presence to our space as we readied ourselves for the day. She was calm, masterful, and we feel so lucky that we had her with us. I can’t imagine having anyone else on such a significant occasion. Thank you endlessly from the bottom of our hearts!
  • Denise
    Denise Sent on 03/26/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I am so happy I had May doing my hair and makeup. She did the hairstyle exactly as the picture I showed her. The makeup was really natural and she even gave some re-touch kit for the lips. I felt really beautiful thanks to her. She is an amazing artist! Also she treats her customers really attentively and well. I cried while she was working on my eyes since they are really sensitive. She was really patient and corrected the mess I made. I would definitely recommend her services to anyone who wants to look beautiful!
  • J
    Janet Sent on 06/05/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best makeup artist in Oahu

    May was a pleasure to work with. Arrived early to the appointment and honored all of my requests for natural looking makeup- requested special attention to eyelashes and brows as mine were lost to recent chemo. May honored my request and created a natural look for my special day. She’s very talented and I highly recommend her for makeup to relieve stress and allow you to enjoy your day.
  • L
    Linh Sent on 04/23/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    May is top notch !

    If you're looking for a great hair artist and makeup artist for your wedding day , look no further . May is super sweet, talented and made me look and feel like j lo . I sent her pictures of the hairstyle and makeup I liked for my wedding day and she made it happen. Shes very courteous and warm and responds quickly to my messages. I would give her 10 stars if I could. Thank you May !!
  • D
    Danielle H. Sent on 04/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Hair and Makeup

    May made me feel so beautiful and comfortable on my wedding day. I highly recommend hiring her to do your hair and makeup for your special day. She paid attention to every detail. My hair and makeup turned out perfect. Book her!
  • A
    Agnes K. Sent on 05/13/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    May is the BEST

    If you're looking for a reliable & professional make up artist, please choose May! I loved working with her, she is very responsive and showed up early at 4:45am for 5am start. My skin had broken out a few days before, but it was no problem for May. She wasn't worried & you couldn't even tell after she did my make up!! I liked that she wore a mask/shield during the session & gave me a touch up kit in the end too :).

    May truly made me look and feel beautiful. She is incredibly sweet & I loved talking with her too. May really cares & I can't wait until she does my make up again :)!
  • P
    Paul K. Sent on 04/15/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing bridal hair and makeup!

    May is aMAYzing! We were blown away by her talent and amazing personality and professionalism. I hired her for my bridal makeup, my mother, my maid of honor, and an attendant! Everyone loved their hair and makeup! She uses high end products and my hair and makeup lasted an outdoor ceremony and reception. I danced a lot and was shocked that everything still looked so good at the end of the reception! I would highly recommend her.
  • A
    Amber L. Sent on 04/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So talented!

    May showed up on-site early and ready to go. She was exactly on time in finishing hair and makeup for me and my bridesmaids, like to the minute! My sister-in-law had had such a bad experience with a different makeup artist and it threw her whole day off, so this was so important to me! She was so gentle that my bridesmaids were joking that they could have fallen asleep, it was such a calm and relaxing experience and we looked amazing! All my girls were so happy with their looks and I was too. Really, one of, if not THE best decisions I made to hire May! 10/10!
  • M
    Michele Y. Sent on 03/22/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing transformation!

    May was amazing and so talented with her makeup and hair artistry. She worked her magic and I really felt transformed. Most beautiful I ever felt and I tremendously appreciate the experience. I booked for both my mother and myself and we loved the outcome. Thank you!
  • Melody
    Melody C. Sent on 03/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    You won’t regret booking May!

    May was an absolute gem to work with! I was flying to Oahu from New York and had to do the trial two days before the ceremony. May was flexible with my schedule and came to my hotel for the hair and makeup. I had sent her some hair and makeup ideas via email beforehand, but I wasn’t sure if she could do the hairstyle I wanted because I thought my hair would be too short, but she made it happen!! The trial was so important because i decided that I wanted more natural falsies after a whole day of walking around with more dramatic falsies. This small change actually required May to tone down on the makeup and change the color palette, but the result was even better than during the trial! My mom asked if I could bring May to New York for my reception haha! The makeup was great but I was extremely obsessed with the hairdo she did for me. It looked even better than the inspiration picture I sent her! She had great work ethics - arriving early, very responsive, practiced safe hygiene by wearing mask, shield, and gloves, and provided a small makeup kit for any needed touch ups. I also enjoyed chatting with her because she was very sweet. The bonus is that she has very gentle hands!
  • O
    Olga ?. Sent on 03/21/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    May is true Expert!

    She recommended well what should I do with my hair knowing well conditions at the beach (we had a wedding on the beach). She did my make up even better than I ever had in my country (I went to professional make-up maker >10 times). She used good quality products and she is perfectly organised. She made my wedding day beatiful! I felt really good & sexy :)
  • R
    Rae Sent on 01/02/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent Maid of Honor Hair and Make-up!

    May was a delight to have to do my hair and make-up!
    She showed up promptly and got to work right away and was flexible about the tight space she had to work in.
    May listened to what I wanted for my hair and make-up. And when I realized it my was quite what I wanted, she even cut my hair a bit to get my desired look!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message
Responds within 24 hours