Beauty by May Reviews

148 | Honolulu, HI
See photos, pricing and details

148 Reviews for Beauty by May

Recommended by 100%

148
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
148 Beauty by May Reviews
Sort by:
  • A

    AnaLisa · Getting married on 03/24/2019

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May was absolutely amazing and extremely professional. I didn’t have a vision and yet she executed a look for me that I loved. I would highly recommend May for any special and important occasion! Thank you May for making my wedding day a special and memorable one.

    Beauty by May 1
    Beauty by May 2
    Beauty by May 3
  • A

    Anna · Married on 09/19/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May was wonderful. She did my hair and make just like I asked her to do it for my special day. I would highly recommend her to anyone. She was booked through my wedding planner. As I was walking through motel to get in my limo waiting for me everyone at motel was stopping me because I looked so beautiful. She made me look and feel like a princess my big day. I absolutely loved my hair and makeup and did exactly like I wanted. Thank you so much.

  • N

    Nina · Married on 09/15/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is amazing!! She is every good at responding back to you. She is affordable yet her quality of work is perfect. She recreated my bridal party and my HMU just like in the pictures we gave her. She is also the sweetest person ever and is always smiling and cheerful.

  • J

    Jeannette · Married on 09/14/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend these ladies. Our wedding was booked through DreamWedding and I didn't know what to expect on the day with hair and makeup as I live in Australia.I had taken photos on my phone and just hope for the best that my bridal party and myself would look great with hair and makeup. My nerves disappeared as they turned up at the hotel on time and started to do what they do best . Very happy with the service and taken the time to give my bridal party and myself the look we wanted with a great range of beautiful colours and great quality makeup which lasted all day and night.Thankyou so much xx

    Beauty by May 4
    Beauty by May 5
    Beauty by May 6
    Beauty by May 7
    Beauty by May 8
    Beauty by May 9
    Beauty by May 10
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/07/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May and her team absolutely incredible!! They were so sweet and pleasant to work with, and they added a very special element to our glam session for the day of my wedding. May did my hair and make up along with my bridesmaids, my sister-in-law and my mother-in-law. Her work felt and looked effortless, and I cannot recommend her enough. She made me feel like such a princess and so beautiful, and my hair and make up lastest all day through the [happy] tears and the heat. She even gave me a touch up kit for half way through the event (even though I didn’t have to use it!) I am beyond thankful that I found May because my big day would not have been the same without her! Thanks again May! Xoxo

    Beauty by May 11
    Beauty by May 12
    Beauty by May 13
  • Sasha

    Future · Married on 09/01/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!!! May is so talented, my wedding hair and make up was beyond any of my expectations. She arrived early on my wedding day and came very well prepared. She is so easy to communicate with, I told her what I wanted and she easily achieved the look I was going for. I’m usually paranoid about other people doing my make up and thought about doing my own on my wedding day, but I’m SO HAPPY I chose to have May do it instead. I just had to explain what I wanted and she worked her magic! You can feel calm knowing that you can trust her to make you look and feel your best on your wedding day. Worth absolutely every penny!!

  • J

    Josephine · Married on 08/29/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is such a wonderful person, an amazing beautician & hairstylist. Very professional! She made me looked very special, and so beautiful that I could ever imagined. Simple, but elegant. Thank you so much May! I highly recommend May for a job well done.

    Beauty by May 14
    Beauty by May 15
    Beauty by May 16
    Beauty by May 17
    Beauty by May 18
    Beauty by May 19
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 08/25/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 stars is not enough for May! She truly is an amazing person and amazing hair and makeup artist. May and her assistant did hair and makeup for myself and 7 other ladies. She was by far the most responsive and sweetest of my vendors. I didn't do a hair/makeup trial with her which I was worried about, but she blew it out of the park and made me feel beautiful. I received so many compliments on both my hair and makeup. May is a must for your wedding or event!!

  • A

    Aimee · Married on 07/26/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May! You were absolutely amazing! The makeup and hair on my wedding day for myself and three bridesmaids was just absolutely stunning! I had compliments all day! May was so professional, on time, efficient without rushing and did an incredible job. Myself and my bridesmaids showed a picture of inspiration to May, which she created to the letter ! May was Also kind enough to come to my hotel room for a trial a few days before my wedding, where I got to chat and get to know what a gorgeous person she is - inside and out! You made me feel so beautiful on my wedding day as well as my bridesmaids! Thank you sooooo much May! I couldn’t recommend May more highly for your hair and makeup on wedding day or special occasion. Simply the best! Thank you again May! Xxx Aimee

    Beauty by May 20
    Beauty by May 21
    Beauty by May 22
    Beauty by May 23
    Beauty by May 24
    Beauty by May 25
    Beauty by May 26
    Beauty by May 27
    Beauty by May 28
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 06/23/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is the best make-up and hairstylist ever and an overall joy to work with. I wasn't exactly sure what type of "look" I wanted, but what she created was a work of art. Anyone looking for an affordable yet high-quality service should definitely book her! You will not be disappointed.

  • C

    Christina · Married on 06/20/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is amazing! I could not have been happier. May took care of my bridal hair and makeup on site. The results were gorgeous!!! She was able create the look I was hoping for and then use her expertise to bring out even better results. She has a great eye. All while keeping a calm and stress-free attitude. May was very professional, on time and on schedule. And she is SUPER sweet! Top notch! <3

  • M

    My · Married on 06/16/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May’s work is top notch! She did my makeup and hair for my sister’s wedding in Hawaii. She is by far the best! She made my sister and I look like princesses. Everybody complimented us on how stunning we looked. Thanks so much, May. I’m actually considering flying May to my wedding location when I get married. She’s just that amazing!

  • M

    Marta · Married on 05/21/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May was absolutely amazing. She was great at communicating, very fast to reply to all messages, very professional and easy to work with. She worked quickly and was able to create perfect hairstyles and makeup for me and my entire bridal party. My hair and makeup lasted the entire day and looked great during the very windy ceremony and photo shoot that followed. Thank you so much, May!

    Beauty by May 29
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/16/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is an AMAZING hairdresser and make-up artist. She made my beach wedding make up and hair look naturally beautiful and effortless. I was blessed to have such a talented artist on my team. She is extremely responsive and communicative. Would definitely recommend as my first choice!!

  • C

    Christy · Married on 05/15/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say? May did such an amazing job, from hair to make up, everything I wanted. She is so sweet and professional. I would recommend her to any bride to be! Loved it!

    Beauty by May 30
    Beauty by May 31
    Beauty by May 32
  • D

    Deborah · Married on 04/23/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May was recommended to me via the photographer for my wedding. I could not fault her in any way as her service and general demeanour was nothing less than exceptional. I highly recommend May to anybody wishing to look the best they ever can as that was how May made me feel once she had completed my makeover. Please do not hesitate to use May if you are thinking about a makeover for a special occasion as I can guarantee you won’t be disappointed. Cheers, Debbie

  • SinDee

    Cynthia · Married on 04/07/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My sister hired Beauty by May for Myself and 2 others, she was easy to work with and listened to what we wanted.
    Very happy with her services!

    Beauty by May 33
    Beauty by May 34
  • K

    Kat · Married on 03/30/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is beyond amazing. She was great with communicating, professional, sweet, and super easy to work with.

    First, May was very accommodating with our last minute engagement photo shoot. She let me come to her place (she also offered to drive to my place) before the sun was up in order for me to make it to our photo shoot location. She was very attentive and gave suggestions to achieve the look I wanted. I loved my hair and make-up, and felt comfortable and beautiful that day. From that moment on, I knew I made the right decision to choose her for our big day.

    I am also thankful that she kept in touch with me before the wedding, providing answers and recommendations to any of my questions as well as a personalized timeline of the morning.

    On the day of, May arrived early, happy, and as always, very professional and sweet. May and her hairstylist, Patty, worked flawlessly together to do hair and make-up for both my moms, maid of honor, and 7 bridesmaids; May did both my hair and make-up. All of us have different skin tones, hair types/colors, and needs, but no matter which hairstyle and make-up look we wanted, they were able to accommodate. May and Patty were great at recreating looks from photos, and even making it prettier. They made me, my moms, and my ladies feel so beautiful and confident. Before leaving the hotel, May and Patty made sure that we all had our touch-ups and left me with a touch-up kit. Despite the humidity, our hair and make-up lasted all night.

    May is just wonderful from start to finish. I can’t recommend her enough to all the brides to be. Thank you so much May for the amazing job and for making me and my loved ones look beautiful on my special day.

    Beauty by May 35
    Beauty by May 36
  • R

    Rosanna · Married on 03/29/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May was amazing. She only had 2 days’ notice to do hair and make up for my daughter and I. I sent a couple of photos of what we wanted and the end result was perfect. She was lovely to deal with, very professional. Nothing was a problem. Highly recommend May for hair and make up.

  • A

    Anita · Married on 03/27/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May was very easy to communicate with during my wedding planning, always responding promptly to emails and very accommodating with my early wedding time. I did not get a chance to do a trial run prior to the wedding, but May was great at recreating looks from photos I had sent her. On the day of, May arrived early and was overall very professional and sweet! Myself along with three other ladies in my party all loved our hair and makeup looks, and we were complimented by many guests on our looks as well. Thank you so much, May!

  • J

    jenny · Married on 03/25/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May was truly amazing and professional with her work. As I just came to Hawaii and was very short on time to finalise everything prior to the wedding I didn't get to do a makeup trial with May and was a little nervous at first especially with the stress I was going through, few pimples popped out on my forehead and T-zone just before my BIG day! The pimples were massive and May put me at ease as she covered them up with no problem. When May was doing my makeup and hair I could strongly feel that she puts in a lot of effort and had great attention to detail. I also wanted 2 hairstyle for the ceremony and reception and May did an amazing job that I got many compliments. I told May what I wanted and she was able to accommodate exactly what I want. I did a bun for my my veil that was later unpinned to be a half updo and it worked out wonderfully!
    My 4 bridesmaids and 2 mothers looked gorgeous on the day and I also felt beautiful and was taking several pictures throughout the night without even using the touch-up kit May provided.
    You can definitely trust May even without any makeup trial! Thank you so much May.

  • R

    Rita · Married on 03/10/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have May for my wedding day make-up & hair. She did really great job, my make up and hair stay so well for whole day. I feel I’m so lucky to have her be my makeup and hair stylist.

  • E

    Elisha · Married on 02/24/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is a JOY to work with! if you want to hire vendors that will help to create a stress free wedding, HIRE MAY. I hired her for my engagement photos. It was a super windy day but my hair and makeup held up just fine. After all the winds blew through my hair, I just ran my fingers through the curls and it bounced right back into place. I also had her do a trial where she was able to get exactly what I was looking for. Throughout the wedding process she was very quick to respond to my questions and so very sweet, including when I needed to change the timeline of the wedding day. On the day of the wedding, she came early (as she usually does, making things more stress free), and worked on my four bridesmaids. She and her assistant worked quickly, but quality was not compromised because my girls all looked flawless! When it was my turn, she was able to give me advice on where to place the flowers I'll be putting in my hair, helping to put in my veil, and even what kind of makeup would work best based on the weather that day. My hair and makeup looked exactly like how we had it in the trial, and stayed in place throughout the night of a million hugs and sweaty dancing. On top of that, her prices are beyond reasonable for the quality and service you get. I recommend anyone looking for a hair/makeup artist book May asap!!!

  • F

    FELICIA · Married on 01/04/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had the pleasure of working with May twice now! She is so sweet, professional, attentive and talented. She’s very responsive and responds to emails quickly! She did hair and makeup for my girlfriend’s destination wedding last year and I knew I’d be calling on May for my big day! A year before my wedding I emailed May to secure my date. She made me and my girls look beautiful. We all wanted a natural look and various updos and she delivered! I can’t wait for our photos to come. I highly recommend May for weddings and any big events!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review