144 Reviews for Beauty by May

5.0
out of 5.0
User Photos
todo alt text
todo alt text
todo alt text
+32
Photos
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Hair (24)
Updos/Styling (24)
Makeup (22)
Fake Lashes (20)
Airbrush Makeup (13)
Eye Makeup (9)
Contour Makeup (8)
Wedding Party Makeup (7)
On-Site Makeup (7)
On-Site Hair (6)
Natural Makeup (5)
Consultations (4)
Textured Styling (3)
Hair Trial (3)
Makeup Trial (3)
Group Discounts (2)
Brow/Lash Tinting (2)
Multi. Stylists (1)
Licensed (1)
Hair Extensions (1)
144 Beauty by May Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

May was absolutely amazing and extremely professional. I didn’t have a vision and yet she executed a look for me that I loved. I would highly recommend May for any special and important occasion! Thank you May for making my wedding day a special and memorable one.

Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Profile Picture AnaLisa, 3/24/19, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
Services Used: Hair, Makeup, Contour Makeup, Eye Makeup, Fake Lashes, On-Site Makeup, On-Site Hair, Updos/Styling
5.0

May is amazing!! She is every good at responding back to you. She is affordable yet her quality of work is perfect. She recreated my bridal party and my HMU just like in the pictures we gave her. She is also the sweetest person ever and is always smiling and cheerful.

Profile Picture Nina, 9/15/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

May is such a wonderful person, an amazing beautician & hairstylist. Very professional! She made me looked very special, and so beautiful that I could ever imagined. Simple, but elegant. Thank you so much May! I highly recommend May for a job well done.

Photo for Beauty by May Review - She made me looked like a princess
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review - She did an amazing job!
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review - She made me looked so beautiful! That’s what people said
Photo for Beauty by May Review - They love this one too
Profile Picture Josephine , 8/29/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

5 stars is not enough for May! She truly is an amazing person and amazing hair and makeup artist. May and her assistant did hair and makeup for myself and 7 other ladies. She was by far the most responsive and sweetest of my vendors. I didn't do a hair/makeup trial with her which I was worried about, but she blew it out of the park and made me feel beautiful. I received so many compliments on both my hair and makeup. May is a must for your wedding or event!!

Profile Picture Rebecca, 8/25/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

May! You were absolutely amazing! The makeup and hair on my wedding day for myself and three bridesmaids was just absolutely stunning! I had compliments all day! May was so professional, on time, efficient without rushing and did an incredible job. Myself and my bridesmaids showed a picture of inspiration to May, which she created to the letter ! May was Also kind enough to come to my hotel room for a trial a few days before my wedding, where I got to chat and get to know what a gorgeous person she is - inside and out! You made me feel so beautiful on my wedding day as well as my bridesmaids! Thank you sooooo much May! I couldn’t recommend May more highly for your hair and makeup on wedding day or special occasion. Simply the best! Thank you again May! Xxx Aimee

Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
+3
Photos
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Profile Picture Aimee, 7/26/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
Services Used: Hair, Makeup, Hair Extensions, Hair Trial, On-Site Hair, Textured Styling, Updos/Styling
5.0

May is the best make-up and hairstylist ever and an overall joy to work with. I wasn't exactly sure what type of "look" I wanted, but what she created was a work of art. Anyone looking for an affordable yet high-quality service should definitely book her! You will not be disappointed.

Profile Picture Kayla, 6/23/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

May is amazing! I could not have been happier. May took care of my bridal hair and makeup on site. The results were gorgeous!!! She was able create the look I was hoping for and then use her expertise to bring out even better results. She has a great eye. All while keeping a calm and stress-free attitude. May was very professional, on time and on schedule. And she is SUPER sweet! Top notch!

Profile Picture Christina, 6/20/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

May’s work is top notch! She did my makeup and hair for my sister’s wedding in Hawaii. She is by far the best! She made my sister and I look like princesses. Everybody complimented us on how stunning we looked. Thanks so much, May. I’m actually considering flying May to my wedding location when I get married. She’s just that amazing!

Profile Picture My, 6/16/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

May was absolutely amazing. She was great at communicating, very fast to reply to all messages, very professional and easy to work with. She worked quickly and was able to create perfect hairstyles and makeup for me and my entire bridal party. My hair and makeup lasted the entire day and looked great during the very windy ceremony and photo shoot that followed. Thank you so much, May!

Photo for Beauty by May Review
Profile Picture Marta, 5/21/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
Services Used: Airbrush Makeup, Eye Makeup, Fake Lashes, On-Site Makeup, Wedding Party Makeup, On-Site Hair, Updos/Styling, Hair, Makeup
5.0

May is an AMAZING hairdresser and make-up artist. She made my beach wedding make up and hair look naturally beautiful and effortless. I was blessed to have such a talented artist on my team. She is extremely responsive and communicative. Would definitely recommend as my first choice!!

Profile Picture Rachel, 5/16/18, 3 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

What can I say? May did such an amazing job, from hair to make up, everything I wanted. She is so sweet and professional. I would recommend her to any bride to be! Loved it!

Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Profile Picture Christy, 5/15/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

May was recommended to me via the photographer for my wedding. I could not fault her in any way as her service and general demeanour was nothing less than exceptional. I highly recommend May to anybody wishing to look the best they ever can as that was how May made me feel once she had completed my makeover. Please do not hesitate to use May if you are thinking about a makeover for a special occasion as I can guarantee you won’t be disappointed. Cheers, Debbie

Profile Picture Deborah , 4/23/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

My sister hired Beauty by May for Myself and 2 others, she was easy to work with and listened to what we wanted.
Very happy with her services!

Photo for Beauty by May Review - Matron of Honor and 
Bride
Photo for Beauty by May Review - My Sister
Profile Picture Cynthia, 4/7/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
Services Used: Airbrush Makeup, Contour Makeup, Eye Makeup, Fake Lashes, Natural Makeup, On-Site Makeup, Wedding Party Makeup, On-Site Hair, Updos/Styling, Hair, Licensed, Makeup
5.0

May is beyond amazing. She was great with communicating, professional, sweet, and super easy to work with.

First, May was very accommodating with our last minute engagement photo shoot. She let me come to her place (she also offered to drive to my place) before the sun was up in order for me to make it to our photo shoot location. She was very attentive and gave suggestions to achieve the look I wanted. I loved my hair and make-up, and felt comfortable and beautiful that day. From that moment on, I knew I made the right decision to choose her for our big day.

I am also thankful that she kept in touch with me before the wedding, providing answers and recommendations to any of my questions as well as a personalized timeline of the morning.

On the day of, May arrived early, happy, and as always, very professional and sweet. May and her hairstylist, Patty, worked flawlessly together to do hair and make-up for both my moms, maid of honor, and 7 bridesmaids; May did both my hair and make-up. All of us have different skin tones, hair types/colors, and needs, but no matter which hairstyle and make-up look we wanted, they were able to accommodate. May and Patty were great at recreating looks from photos, and even making it prettier. They made me, my moms, and my ladies feel so beautiful and confident. Before leaving the hotel, May and Patty made sure that we all had our touch-ups and left me with a touch-up kit. Despite the humidity, our hair and make-up lasted all night.

May is just wonderful from start to finish. I can’t recommend her enough to all the brides to be. Thank you so much May for the amazing job and for making me and my loved ones look beautiful on my special day.

Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Profile Picture Kat, 3/30/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

May was amazing. She only had 2 days’ notice to do hair and make up for my daughter and I. I sent a couple of photos of what we wanted and the end result was perfect. She was lovely to deal with, very professional. Nothing was a problem. Highly recommend May for hair and make up.

Profile Picture Rosanna, 3/29/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

May was very easy to communicate with during my wedding planning, always responding promptly to emails and very accommodating with my early wedding time. I did not get a chance to do a trial run prior to the wedding, but May was great at recreating looks from photos I had sent her. On the day of, May arrived early and was overall very professional and sweet! Myself along with three other ladies in my party all loved our hair and makeup looks, and we were complimented by many guests on our looks as well. Thank you so much, May!

Profile Picture Anita, 3/27/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

May was truly amazing and professional with her work. As I just came to Hawaii and was very short on time to finalise everything prior to the wedding I didn't get to do a makeup trial with May and was a little nervous at first especially with the stress I was going through, few pimples popped out on my forehead and T-zone just before my BIG day! The pimples were massive and May put me at ease as she covered them up with no problem. When May was doing my makeup and hair I could strongly feel that she puts in a lot of effort and had great attention to detail. I also wanted 2 hairstyle for the ceremony and reception and May did an amazing job that I got many compliments. I told May what I wanted and she was able to accommodate exactly what I want. I did a bun for my my veil that was later unpinned to be a half updo and it worked out wonderfully!
My 4 bridesmaids and 2 mothers looked gorgeous on the day and I also felt beautiful and was taking several pictures throughout the night without even using the touch-up kit May provided.
You can definitely trust May even without any makeup trial! Thank you so much May.

Profile Picture jenny, 3/25/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I have May for my wedding day make-up & hair. She did really great job, my make up and hair stay so well for whole day. I feel I’m so lucky to have her be my makeup and hair stylist.

Profile Picture Rita, 3/10/18, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

May is a JOY to work with! if you want to hire vendors that will help to create a stress free wedding, HIRE MAY. I hired her for my engagement photos. It was a super windy day but my hair and makeup held up just fine. After all the winds blew through my hair, I just ran my fingers through the curls and it bounced right back into place. I also had her do a trial where she was able to get exactly what I was looking for. Throughout the wedding process she was very quick to respond to my questions and so very sweet, including when I needed to change the timeline of the wedding day. On the day of the wedding, she came early (as she usually does, making things more stress free), and worked on my four bridesmaids. She and her assistant worked quickly, but quality was not compromised because my girls all looked flawless! When it was my turn, she was able to give me advice on where to place the flowers I'll be putting in my hair, helping to put in my veil, and even what kind of makeup would work best based on the weather that day. My hair and makeup looked exactly like how we had it in the trial, and stayed in place throughout the night of a million hugs and sweaty dancing. On top of that, her prices are beyond reasonable for the quality and service you get. I recommend anyone looking for a hair/makeup artist book May asap!!!

Profile Picture Elisha, 2/24/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
Services Used: Airbrush Makeup, Eye Makeup, Makeup Trial, Wedding Party Makeup, Hair, Makeup, Hair Trial, On-Site Hair, Updos/Styling
5.0

I had the pleasure of working with May twice now! She is so sweet, professional, attentive and talented. She’s very responsive and responds to emails quickly! She did hair and makeup for my girlfriend’s destination wedding last year and I knew I’d be calling on May for my big day! A year before my wedding I emailed May to secure my date. She made me and my girls look beautiful. We all wanted a natural look and various updos and she delivered! I can’t wait for our photos to come. I highly recommend May for weddings and any big events!

Profile Picture FELICIA, 1/4/18, 2 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I found May through The Knot and decided to book her for my wedding based on the photos of her gorgeous work and the fact that she specializes in hair and makeup for Asian women (I have very straight, slippery hair and typical Asian eyes). She is very prompt and sweet in her communications. I had a trial run a few months before the wedding and she made me feel at ease and allowed my mom and sister to be there as well. She listened to what I wanted but also added her own professional input, which I appreciated.

On the day of the wedding, May and her helper were there bright and early and took care of me, four bridesmaids, my mom and mother-in-law. Everyone looked beautiful and they even finished ahead of schedule. I mentioned to May that I wanted some slight changes to my hairstyle from the trial session, and she was able to pull it off wonderfully! I felt beautiful but still myself (very important to me as I wear hardly any makeup in my everyday life), and I got a lot of compliments from my family and friends. My hair and makeup lasted through the end of the night and I couldn't be happier with how everything turned out. Thank you May!

Profile Picture Caitlin, 12/23/17, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
5.0

I am so glad to have had May my makeup artist for our wedding! I first discovered May on Wedding Wire and was amazed to see the beautiful transformations she made on her clients! I emailed her soon after and she responded right away. I ordered the make up trial session and had a wonderful time getting my trial done with her. She was so kind and made me feel very relaxed as I got my makeup done. For the wedding, I ordered makeup and hair for myself and makeup done for my bridesmaids. On the day of, she was the first to arrive and was ready to go. With a brush and a palette, she managed to create magic and make my bridesmaids and I look BEAUTIFUL on my wedding day! She even provided a touch up kit to make sure our makeup stayed flawless. I felt absolutely beautiful the whole day and the photos/video of my wedding turned out wonderful. My bridesmaids and I LOVED having her as our makeup artist and I HIGHLY recommend her to all of my family and friends!

Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Profile Picture Appi, 12/3/17, 6 Reviews
Category: Beauty & Health
Services Used: Hair Trial, Textured Styling, Updos/Styling, Eye Makeup, Fake Lashes, Makeup Trial, On-Site Makeup, Wedding Party Makeup, Group Discounts, Hair, Makeup
5.0

She was amazing! All the times were changed because of TRUMP coming to Hawaii and highways were going to be closed. She was able to accommodate the time change and she was great. Made a 62 year old ( widow) look wonderful for my 2nd wedding. Nothing but compliments

Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Photo for Beauty by May Review
Profile Picture Catherine , 11/3/17, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health
Services Used: Airbrush Makeup, Brow/Lash Tinting, Contour Makeup, Eye Makeup, Fake Lashes, Hair, Makeup, Textured Styling
5.0

May is so kind and a joy to have worked with. My hair and makeup looked absolutely fabulous. I have received so many compliments from friends and family looking at our wedding pictures how awesome it looked.

Profile Picture Charlene, 10/31/17, 1 Review
Category: Beauty & Health