Beauty by May Reviews

158 | Honolulu, HI
See photos, pricing and details

158 Reviews for Beauty by May

Recommended by 100%

158
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

54 User photos

Beauty by May 1
Beauty by May 2
Beauty by May 3
Beauty by May 4
Beauty by May 5
Beauty by May 6
Beauty by May 7
+ 48
Sort by:
  • Carmenne

    Carmenne Segal · Married on 07/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beauty by May provided us with fantastic service at a very affordable price!!! She is amazing, sweet, conscientious, caring, - made us all movie stars

    We LOVE Beauty by May!!! She is awesome! She was punctual, professional, and she did a fantastic job! We all had any compliments on our hair and makeup. We found her at the last minute and she was flexible with her schedule for us! We highly recommend her services!! Dr. C

    Sent on 07/10/2019
    Beauty by May 8
  • Krys

    krys Good · Married on 06/28/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is a very skilled makeup artist and hair stylist

    May is phenomenal. She and her associate did the makeup for all of my bridesmaids, my flower girl, Mother and myself. May is extremely talented and works hard to make sure you get the look you want. Weeks before the big day, she encouraged my bridal party and I to send pictures of what we were looking for. She was able to capture all of those looks. May is a very skilled makeup artist and hair stylist. She is professional, and to top it all off she is so kind. I feel very lucky to have worked with her and her associate on my wedding day. Thank you May!

    Sent on 07/15/2019
  • A

    Arlene F. · Married on 05/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Job! Very professional!

    May did an amazing job on my hair and make up! She was so easy going and very professional and on time! The final work turned out how I wanted it. It was so great for my special day. I highly recommend her to any of my family and friends. I will use her again when I am in town for a big event! Thank you May for everything.

    Sent on 05/19/2019
  • Gwen

    Gwen Man · Married on 05/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is absolutely amazing!

    May did my hair and makeup on my wedding day, as well as my adventure shoot. From day one when I first contacted her, she consistently gave prompt replies and was very clear on her services and prices. May is very prepared as you can tell with her requests for inspo photos of your look. My adventure shoot was at sunrise and May had no problem arriving at my hotel room earlier (at 2am) to get prepared! Not to mention her skills are amazing, she can recreate any look and tailor it to your face structure/skin colour. It was so nice meeting her in person too- I met a new friend. I would not hesitate to recommend her to all the brides out there.

    Sent on 06/19/2019
    Beauty by May 9
    Beauty by May 10
  • Janelle

    Janelle · Married on 05/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!!! ❤️

    May did an amazing job! My hair and makeup were perfect for my wedding. Even after being in the strong wind and rain for a short while, my hair and makeup stayed intact. She is extremely professional and very sweet. She responded quickly to my emails and always worked with my requests. May and Paty, our second stylist, also did an amazing job with my maid of honor and bridesmaids. They came out early and worked quickly to make sure that we were on schedule as I had an early morning wedding ceremony. Thank you so much for making us beautiful!!!

    Sent on 05/13/2019
  • L

    Livia Carr · Married on 05/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Make-up

    May did an absolutely amazing job on our make up. My make up lasted the whole day. I would 100% recommend May for your next event.

    Sent on 05/09/2019
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer Tsai · Married on 04/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bridal makeup and hair

    May is amazing and professional! Our hotel experienced power outage for some time when she arrived to our room, it was her professionalism had kept me calm and transformed me into a beautiful bride. On top of that May has given good tips and a small fix kit that helped me survived the day. I would definitely recommend May for any occasion.

    Sent on 05/05/2019
  • L

    Lia Thao · Married on 03/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Personable and professional

    This is my 2nd time getting hair and makeup done by May. Loved my first experience with her back in 2016, and had to have her again for the next trip to Hawaii. She is gentle and does makeup wonderfully settle but flawless looking.

    Sent on 04/10/2019
  • A

    AnaLisa · Married on 03/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May was absolutely amazing and extremely professional. I didn’t have a vision and yet she executed a look for me that I loved. I would highly recommend May for any special and important occasion! Thank you May for making my wedding day a special and memorable one.

    Sent on 03/28/2018
    Beauty by May 11
    Beauty by May 12
    Beauty by May 13
  • J

    Joan · Married on 03/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Phenomenal

    I loved my hair and makeup! She was very flexible and professional. Since I had a destination wedding I didn’t get a chance to do hair and makeup trial but I sent her pictures. I loved her work.

    Sent on 03/27/2019
    Beauty by May 14
  • Yazmin

    Yazmin Hass · Married on 01/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing hair and make up service!! 😍

    I contacted May because she was recommended to me by the photographer I choose for my maternity session, she was so professional and even came to my hotel at 4am to get me ready for my “sunrise photos”, she took time to answer all my questions and even gave me ideas about my hair and make up, when you are coming to Hawaii from the East coast and have doubts about who to hire for this services I wouldn’t hesitate May is the best!!

    Sent on 01/31/2019
    Beauty by May 15
    Beauty by May 16
    Beauty by May 17
    Beauty by May 18
    Beauty by May 19
    Beauty by May 20
  • A

    Anna · Married on 09/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May was wonderful. She did my hair and make just like I asked her to do it for my special day. I would highly recommend her to anyone. She was booked through my wedding planner. As I was walking through motel to get in my limo waiting for me everyone at motel was stopping me because I looked so beautiful. She made me look and feel like a princess my big day. I absolutely loved my hair and makeup and did exactly like I wanted. Thank you so much.

    Sent on 09/25/2018
  • N

    Nina · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is amazing!! She is every good at responding back to you. She is affordable yet her quality of work is perfect. She recreated my bridal party and my HMU just like in the pictures we gave her. She is also the sweetest person ever and is always smiling and cheerful.

    Sent on 09/17/2018
  • J

    Jeannette · Married on 09/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend these ladies. Our wedding was booked through DreamWedding and I didn't know what to expect on the day with hair and makeup as I live in Australia.I had taken photos on my phone and just hope for the best that my bridal party and myself would look great with hair and makeup. My nerves disappeared as they turned up at the hotel on time and started to do what they do best . Very happy with the service and taken the time to give my bridal party and myself the look we wanted with a great range of beautiful colours and great quality makeup which lasted all day and night.Thankyou so much xx

    Sent on 09/23/2018
    Beauty by May 21
    Beauty by May 22
    Beauty by May 23
    Beauty by May 24
    Beauty by May 25
    Beauty by May 26
    Beauty by May 27
  • K

    Katie · Married on 09/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May and her team absolutely incredible!! They were so sweet and pleasant to work with, and they added a very special element to our glam session for the day of my wedding. May did my hair and make up along with my bridesmaids, my sister-in-law and my mother-in-law. Her work felt and looked effortless, and I cannot recommend her enough. She made me feel like such a princess and so beautiful, and my hair and make up lastest all day through the [happy] tears and the heat. She even gave me a touch up kit for half way through the event (even though I didn’t have to use it!) I am beyond thankful that I found May because my big day would not have been the same without her! Thanks again May! Xoxo

    Sent on 09/25/2018
    Beauty by May 28
    Beauty by May 29
    Beauty by May 30
  • miss

    Future · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!!! May is so talented, my wedding hair and make up was beyond any of my expectations. She arrived early on my wedding day and came very well prepared. She is so easy to communicate with, I told her what I wanted and she easily achieved the look I was going for. I’m usually paranoid about other people doing my make up and thought about doing my own on my wedding day, but I’m SO HAPPY I chose to have May do it instead. I just had to explain what I wanted and she worked her magic! You can feel calm knowing that you can trust her to make you look and feel your best on your wedding day. Worth absolutely every penny!!

    Sent on 10/08/2018
  • J

    Josephine · Married on 08/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is such a wonderful person, an amazing beautician & hairstylist. Very professional! She made me looked very special, and so beautiful that I could ever imagined. Simple, but elegant. Thank you so much May! I highly recommend May for a job well done.

    Sent on 09/05/2018
    Beauty by May 31
    Beauty by May 32
    Beauty by May 33
    Beauty by May 34
    Beauty by May 35
    Beauty by May 36
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    5 stars is not enough for May! She truly is an amazing person and amazing hair and makeup artist. May and her assistant did hair and makeup for myself and 7 other ladies. She was by far the most responsive and sweetest of my vendors. I didn't do a hair/makeup trial with her which I was worried about, but she blew it out of the park and made me feel beautiful. I received so many compliments on both my hair and makeup. May is a must for your wedding or event!!

    Sent on 09/17/2018
  • A

    Aimee · Married on 07/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May! You were absolutely amazing! The makeup and hair on my wedding day for myself and three bridesmaids was just absolutely stunning! I had compliments all day! May was so professional, on time, efficient without rushing and did an incredible job. Myself and my bridesmaids showed a picture of inspiration to May, which she created to the letter ! May was Also kind enough to come to my hotel room for a trial a few days before my wedding, where I got to chat and get to know what a gorgeous person she is - inside and out! You made me feel so beautiful on my wedding day as well as my bridesmaids! Thank you sooooo much May! I couldn’t recommend May more highly for your hair and makeup on wedding day or special occasion. Simply the best! Thank you again May! Xxx Aimee

    Sent on 07/30/2018
    Beauty by May 37
    Beauty by May 38
    Beauty by May 39
    Beauty by May 40
    Beauty by May 41
    Beauty by May 42
    Beauty by May 43
    Beauty by May 44
    Beauty by May 45
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is the best make-up and hairstylist ever and an overall joy to work with. I wasn't exactly sure what type of "look" I wanted, but what she created was a work of art. Anyone looking for an affordable yet high-quality service should definitely book her! You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 06/24/2018
  • C

    Christina · Married on 06/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is amazing! I could not have been happier. May took care of my bridal hair and makeup on site. The results were gorgeous!!! She was able create the look I was hoping for and then use her expertise to bring out even better results. She has a great eye. All while keeping a calm and stress-free attitude. May was very professional, on time and on schedule. And she is SUPER sweet! Top notch! <3

    Sent on 06/24/2018
  • M

    My · Married on 06/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May’s work is top notch! She did my makeup and hair for my sister’s wedding in Hawaii. She is by far the best! She made my sister and I look like princesses. Everybody complimented us on how stunning we looked. Thanks so much, May. I’m actually considering flying May to my wedding location when I get married. She’s just that amazing!

    Sent on 06/29/2018
  • M

    Marta · Married on 05/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May was absolutely amazing. She was great at communicating, very fast to reply to all messages, very professional and easy to work with. She worked quickly and was able to create perfect hairstyles and makeup for me and my entire bridal party. My hair and makeup lasted the entire day and looked great during the very windy ceremony and photo shoot that followed. Thank you so much, May!

    Sent on 05/23/2018
    Beauty by May 46
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    May is an AMAZING hairdresser and make-up artist. She made my beach wedding make up and hair look naturally beautiful and effortless. I was blessed to have such a talented artist on my team. She is extremely responsive and communicative. Would definitely recommend as my first choice!!

    Sent on 05/25/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review