Weddings

Bear Lake Reserve Reviews

Bear Lake Reserve View more information

14 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 93% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 14

48 User photos

Sort by:
  • O
    Olivia W. Married on 10/17/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous Views, Friendly Staff, Great Food!

    We knew we wanted to get married at Bear Lake just based on the drive up the mountain. The views are absolutely breathtaking! We had so many compliments from our guests on how beautiful the venue was. It's also super convenient that you/guests can rent houses on the property and stay all weekend. We worked with Kelsie to plan/coordinate everything at the venue. She was super responsive to all of our questions/needs and great at providing recommendations/suggestions. The venue was super flexible and worked with us to make everything happen just as we had pictured. The whole staff was very friendly and the food was so delicious!! If you're looking for a venue with amazing scenic views, great staff/planning, and great food, then Bear Lake is definitely the place! We loved it so much, we plan on going back for future vacations!
  • Nicole
    Nicole H. Married on 09/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Intimate, Organic, Breathtaking

    We held our wedding at Bear Lake Reserve and it was easily the best decision we ever made. BLR has something for every person from golfing, tennis, hiking, boating, lounging by the pool, kiddy pools and slides, great restaurants, and much more. We booked this venue as it is in the mountains, with lake access, could house 100 guests on site, and is dog friendly.

    Kelsey helped us plan a 3 day event with a welcome reception, ceremony/reception, and a Lake day. She was amazing to work with every step of the way and helped us create an unforgettable weekend. She handled all of the rentals for table, chair, etc and helped us pick our food menu. We opted out of reserving a tent (against Kelsey’s multiple recommendations). When it began to rain during the ceremony, the BLR staff ran and gathered as many umbrellas as they could find so that the guests did not have to stand in the rain. She knew that we love white claw hard seltzer’s and surprised us with a white claw grab and go container (which was a big hit with the guests).

    Cassye did a great job coordinating lodging for our 100 guests on BLR property and ensured that everyone had a wonderful lodging experience (including a sweet welcome gift at the cabins). Bartender Amber kept us laughing, happy, and full on great food and drinks for the week. For Golf with the Groom, BLR reserved the entire golf course for the men to use the driving range and play a round (this was easily the highlight of the weekend for them) and had more then enough brand new golf carts for the 20 guys. At the end of the reception, we led the way for us and our guests to have a celebratory jump into the pool. While laughing the whole way, the BLR staff quickly ran and brought towels for everyone. At lake day, Chef Alice realized it was one of the kids birthdays and baked an amazing cake and surprised her with it.

    Countless examples of how the staff at BLR went above and beyond to ensure a great experience for all of the guests. It was intimate, relaxing, and we truly felt like we were the only guests there. We will continue to come back for vacations, and anniversaries, for years to come and have already booked our next visit.
  • A
    Alison B. Married on 04/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Gorgeous location, friendly staff

    This location is unbelievably gorgeous and the event staff were great to work with throughout the entire wedding planning process. Our guests were blown away by how beautiful, secluded, and full of nature the venue was. But this type of amazing location doesn't come without some stress. Over the course the weekend, we had virtually no cell service, spotty wifi, and a power outage. If you're not a laid back bride, pick somewhere else. If you're the adventurous type, this place is perfect for a very special wedding location that makes for a true retreat!
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie R. Married on 04/04/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An absolute must!

    Just wow... Bear Lake Reserve was an absolute delight. My wedding experience was exceptional and I have to say it was all thanks to Kelsie. She is a must if you’re having your wedding at Bear Lake Reserve.
    Unfortunately, my wedding was moved 6 months due to the pandemic and what could have been a nightmare ended up being a smooth, supportive and joyful process all thanks to Kelsie. This venues fairy godmother is a MUST HAVE!
    This woman ALWAYS knew what to do. When things didn’t go as planned, Kelsie was there with even better options and always had my back (as a bride.... this is key). She treated me like a friend and answered every call, every email and even FaceTimed me.
    Her calm, supportive and reassuring demeanor allowed me to have the perfect day.
    Have your wedding here and get this Angel!
  • Rachel
    Rachel S. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An Unforgettable, Perfect Day!

    Wow! What a wild ride we had trying to plan our wedding. Our original date was May 2020...so we can all guess how that turned out. Kelsie was an absolute professional in helping us put everything on hold with minimal stress. We rescheduled our wedding twice in the uncertainty, and Bear Lake Reserve pivoted with us with unparalleled grace and understanding.

    Finally, 2021 comes around and we picked up right where we left off to plan a safe and memorable experience for all our guests. On the big day, we didn’t have to worry about a thing except to celebrate and have a good time. Bear Lake Reserve surpassed our expectations 10-fold, and we could not imagine putting together our wedding without their help. The food was absolutely unmatched, and so many of our guests commented that it was the best wedding food and setting they could ever imagine.

    If it was possible to give more than 5-stars, we would without any hesitation. If you are looking for your dream wedding to go off without a hitch, then Bear Lake Reserve is an absolute MUST!
    Thank you so much Kelsie and the whole team at Bear Lake! We couldn’t have done it without you!!! 😊
  • Heldreth
    Heldreth W. Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    the MOST beautiful wedding venue and best experience!

    We got married a little over a year ago at the lake club and our friends and family are still talking about how beautiful the wedding was! Kelsie was so amazing and so helpful throughout the entire coordination and planning since we were out of state. You are surrounded by mountains from every view and the view of the lake was STUNNING. Bear Lake is really an unbelievable wedding experience and I recommend it to anyone!
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey M. Married on 07/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Wedding Venue!

    We fell in love with Bear Lake during a family vacation before we were even engaged, so it was an easy decision to have our wedding here. The natural beauty of Bear Lake Reserve is exactly what I wanted, and our guest constantly told us how amazing the views were. Kelsie Rich was wonderful to work with. She answered all of my questions in a timely manner and even helped us with a last minute DJ issue.
  • S
    Stacie Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great time all around. The views were breath taking, food delicious, staff friendly. They were beyond expectations. They did their best and succeeded to accommodate all of our needs with great mannerism.
  • T
    Terry D. Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The most breath taking experience of my lifetime.

    To call the experience my wife and I had at Bear Lake Reserve phenomenal, would be an understatement. Everything about Bear Lake was so far above our expectations its honestly hard to describe. The shear beauty of the venue, the pricing, the flexibility, the professionalism, their patience and understanding, their resourcefulness, the food, everything about it was incredible. We couldn't have made it happen if not for Kelsie Rich as well. What an amazing experience. If you are wondering if this is the right venue for you, look no further. IT IS!
  • K
    Karen Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue

    This venue is GORGEOUS - mountains, and a lake!
    Our outdoor wedding venue got rained out but our contingency was just as beautiful! We still got some amazing photos both on top of the mountain at the overlook as well as at the point on the lake!
    The food here was amazing as well, and having it associated with the venue was sper convenient.
    The one complaint I would have would be that there seemed to be quite a few communication errors between us and the venue as well as between the venue employees. However it did all work out perfectly in the end. The employees here were all super great and helpful and the process of planning as a whole was super low key / chill - didn't feel stressful at all!
  • M
    Mary Married on 10/07/2012
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding was a dream come true. I wanted to capture the beauty of western NC in the Fall and Bear Lake Reserve was the perfect venue. The service and the staff were excellent and very flexible in planning - most of my guests came up to me to tell me how professional they were. The cheesecakes Adam made for our wedding cakes were AMAZING and one of the highlights of the day for my guests. The food was authentic italian and my relatives from New York were so impressed - we did not know you could get such delicious Italian food this far south ;). The weather did not cooperate but the staff was flexible and moved my reception inside at the last minute - the last minute change was seemless and none of the guests realized we had originally planned to have the reception outside! If you choose to have your wedding or event at Bear Lake you will be more than satisfied.
  • M
    Mary G. Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our rehearsal dinner, bridal luncheon, and reception on property at Bear Lake and everything was absolutely lovely. Lori stepped in after an unfortunate situation and she truly saved the day. I was confident that everything was going to go smoothly as she coordinated the details day-of. Chef Danny created our menu and everything was absolutely delicious. It was such a special weekend in the mountains and I am so glad we celebrated at Bear Lake Reserve.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 1.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    I will say that this is a GORGEOUS VENUE but do not book unless you are hiring an outside wedding planner! The venue provided a wedding coordinator with the venue fee. In the middle of planning our wedding from Columbus, OH our original wedding coordinator, Laina, was replaced with Matt. Matt was extremely charming and very assuring. He assured us that we did not need a wedding planner and that at that point he had been personally responsible for numerous weddings. He made everything we asked for seem doable and we left there feeling as though we were in great hands. We should have realized before our wedding day that this was not the case by his delayed responses to emails, phone calls, or texts. Matt assured us that he would be at the reserve the week of the wedding to assist us with getting everything ready for the wedding, yet he was rarely present. We were assured our flowers that were being delivered 10/2 would be placed in water, yet they were found still in boxes later that night. Matt did not attend our rehearsal to go over any of the setup for the wedding the day prior. I personally reviewed the wedding day itinerary that the photographer made me write up with Matt who told me he would be there around 9am but that someone would be at the Lake lodge to let me and the bridesmaids in to get ready. When we got to the lodge it was locked and no one was present to let us in so we had to start late. I actually had to get on the phone with Matt to get him to show which he did around noon and then disappeared. Due to a hurricane we had to use an indoor backup plan that did not get set up until 3:30 because the food&beverage manager did not have a seating plan from Matt nor the correct amount of tables. The wedding party ended up moving tables and setting up instead of taking pictures as planned. A bridesmaid had to direct the DJ where to set up. A guest ended up having to signal us when to walk down the aisle & coordinate our exit. There is more...