Weddings

THE BEALL MANSION Reviews

THE BEALL MANSION View more information

16 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 16
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

1 User photo

Sort by:
  • B
    Brittany Married on 03/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I've stayed at Palaces in Italy that don't compare to this place! Jim & Sandi are amazing. Perfect attention to every single detail. I'm so glad we chose to get married at the Beall! Our wedding date was 03/25/17 and we plan to go back soon for our anniversary that we've already scheduled. In scheduling our anniversary return trip Jim made sure to ask about every detail - even scheduled our massages! Thanks so much Jim & Sandi!

    THE BEALL MANSION's reply:

    Thank you so very much for choosing The BEALL MANSION for your special day.

    Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
  • M
    Molly Married on 09/04/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are looking for a smaller, elegant venue then this is the place for you! The owner, Jim, and his wife, Sandy, were extremely welcoming and warm people. Jim was very helpful and patient with us during the planning process for our wedding. This was by far our best experience at a bed and breakfast. The breakfast in bed upgrade was well worth the money and I suggest that anyone staying at The Beall should try it! They were also very accommodating of last minute changes that occurred. The food that The Beall had catered for our reception was amazing! My only suggestion, if you are planning on having your ceremony at The Beall is that you contract your own officiate. The officiate provided by The Beall, Rev. Mike Paddock, performed the wrong ceremony at our wedding (he did a catholic version and we are not catholic). This was disappointing, considering that two months prior to our wedding, we traveled over four hours so that we could meet with the officiate and choose the version we wanted. This was mistake had absolutely nothing to do with The Beall, however, and they were very apologetic even though it was not their fault. Jim and Sandy, I believe have since put new protocols in place to prevent this from happening again. Even with this mistake, the whole day was magical and was everything we wanted. We will be back soon to stay at The Beall and experience more of the town of Alton.
  • S
    Sheila Married on 04/19/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Beall goes above and beyond to ensure perfection for their clients! I could not have been more impressed. The mansion is beautiful and well kept full of historic touches. My wedding was better than I had hoped largely in part to Jim and Sandy at the Beall going out of their way to make my day perfect. I will be forever grateful!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 08/10/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The staff at the Beall made our day very special. Our day was exactly how I hoped it to be and so much more! The staff at the Beall made a little easier on me by taking some of the load off and make some of the plans while consulting my wants. The wedding packages are great and very reasonably priced. I highly recommend having your big day at this beautiful place!
  • K
    K Event on: 07/26/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I decided to renew our wedding vows and stay here. (Our last stay at a B&B was in Florida over 13 years ago!) This one by far was very elegent and had old world charm from the Victorian era. From the powder room, to the oil paintings, the fragrant garden, and the hospitality. Beall Mansion was very romantic, quiet and worth more than a night's stay!
  • B
    Brian Married on 04/16/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My beautiful bride and I choose to have an intimate wedding, actually to elope. Our search for locations brought us to the Beall Mansion. The mansion is absolutely beautiful and from a time when craftsmanship and artistry were a part of every detail. Throughout the mansion are fine marble and antique furnishings which set the tone for an elegant stay. Jim and Sandy are the most amazing hosts you could ever hope for, attending to every need and detail. When you arrive it is obvious that these are caring and very professional “innkeepers”.

    Organic chocolates and teas are just a small sample of what the Beall Mansion provides for their guests. If I had to describe the Beall mansion in one word that word would be “real”. You can find mass produced blah and uniformity elsewhere, this place is all about being special and genuine. In addition to being such a wonderful place to stay the staff did an excellent job of facilitating our wedding. They provided our wonderful minister, witnesses and even put us in contact with an excellent photographer.

    Whether you are looking for a quiet and beautiful place to stay or you want to be married in a location that provides classic appeal and romance the Beall Mansion is where you want to stay. Quite simply I can not recommend them highly enough and we will be back.

    Brian Gansereit
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 08/16/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a beautiful home filled with history and wonderful antique furniture! Our wedding, as well as our stay there, was perfect. From the heart shaped whirlpool bath to the gourmet breakfast in bed, it was just the best. Jim and Sandy and the nicest people, and so accommodating. There is lots to do in Alton, IL, many nice restaurants, a casino, historical sites, etc. I would highly recommend it to anyone for wedding, elopement, and just a quiet weekend to relax.
  • H
    Jane Married on 03/01/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We felt our wedding was so special and unique, far different from traditional weddings, which is exactly what we wanted. The decor, furnishings, plants, etc. all provided a wonderful background and we can't stop looking at our pictures. Everything was perfect and many of our guests have said that as well.
  • P
    Elizabeth Married on 04/28/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jim and Sandy are the delightful owners who provide elegant service in a beautoful Victorian setting. Every need was anticipated-what a lovely experience we had!
  • A
    Lisa Married on 04/22/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Beall Mansion provided the most romantic setting for our April, 2011 wedding. We were married in the beautiful gardens outside the Mansion among white and pink blooming dogwoods along with other colorful spring budding flowers and greenery. It was magical. The pictures taken outside and within the mansion reflect the romance of our special day. We know we selected the perfect location to start our life together. Our wedding reception included a beautiful and delicious two tiered cake much larger than expected along with the Beall Mansion special punch, both of which we got to enjoy again with our breakfast in bed the next morning. Trust us in saying the Breakfast in Bed option is another WOW of the Beall Mansion. Our room was heavenly and filled with special touches left to meet our every need. Did I mention the scrumptious chocolates left in the room, or the 24-hour chocolate buffet in the dining room? We were pampered in every way. The attention to detail from Jim and Sandy made everything perfect. There were no worries from the time we arrived. It was as if we were transported into a world that catered only to us.
    We will forever cherish our wedding memories created by the Beall Mansion. We highly recommend the Beall Mansion for anyone looking for a truly romantic wedding and honeymoon package or just a romantic get away. You will not be disappointed!! We were made to feel like royalty and cannot wait to return again and again.
  • R
    Rachel Married on 10/03/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were married at Beall Mansion on oct. 3, 2009! My husband and I had the time of our life there. everything was beautiful and the service seemed flawless! All of our guests were shocked at how gorgeous and intimate the wedding was. We got comments about it all day long. Our overnight stays there felt right at home. It was so relaxing. The owners and their helpers were so considerate and just generally great people. I couldnt recommend this place enough, whether it was for a wedding, a reception, or a couple nights stay there. I couldnt imagine anything going better than it did. Thanks again to the Beall Mansion. We will be back soon.
    --- Newlyweds, Lawrence and Rachel Howard
  • H
    Heather Married on 06/08/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wonderful service, easy to reach, perfect all around.
  • M
    Melody Married on 12/20/2011
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We enjoyed having our wedding at the Beall Mansion. It was nice not having to worry about all of the little details the day of the wedding. I would suggest though that before signing your contract you go and see the mansion with your own eyes and not rely on pictures from the website to envision it. It is very taste specific. Their staff was welcoming and efficient.
    One thing that I wished to have had was more time to get ready before the wedding. With the afternoon wedding package I was allowed to go in to the mansion at 1:00 and the wedding started at 2:00. In order to have more time before the wedding you have to pay to stay the night before and since we were really trying to keep to a budget we didn't go with that option. You also have to rent an aditional room for the groom and groomsmen to get ready in or they have to come to the venue already dressed.
    Overall, it was a very nice day and we are happy with our decision to have our wedding there. Be sure to check it out as an option.
  • M
    Kara Married on 05/28/2010
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jim and Sandy are super people! Their B&B is absolutely gorgeous and very accomadating. They most certainly want your day to be prefect and will help you achieve this. We loved the house so much we are coming back again for a romantic weekend. Take advantage of the overnight stay and especially the breakfast in bed! It is to die for the food was absolutely divine.
  • C
    Cheri Married on 07/15/2011
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jim and Sandy were the best of hosts.

    The service we recieved when we arrived was super. We arrived a day early to make sure all the details were taken care of and so we would not be rushed the day of the wedding. ( I highly recomend this) They took care of all of our needs.

    The mansion itself is beautiful. The grounds were geogeous, (Sandy is amazing as I know Jim didn't do this). My wedding went off with out a hitch, from the music to the pastor to the photos. The backgrouds in all my photos are wonderful.

    We will visit again.

    Mr. & Mrs. Douglas Colson
  • Lea Jnice
    Lea Married on 10/13/2007
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    I got married at the Beall in 07. They are really nice people. One of the nicest venue owners I had met with. My issues with them are that I fell that I overpaid. I had to pay 150 extra because it was on a Saturday. The venue is lovely, but I dont feel it wasn't worth the price. Such as having to pay to change an outdoor ceremony to an indoor ceremony if it rains.(aka move less than 100 chairs) Also our champagne wasn't left in our honeymoon suite like it was supposed to be for our wedding night. We drank water all night..The free room with ceremony package was nice though. I just dont feel that it was worth 2 grand for a 15 min ceremony and a one night stay....Overall I give them 4 stars..

    THE BEALL MANSION's reply:

    Thank you for giving us the highest rating of any vendor you reviewed. Thank you also, for the compliments about the venue and staff.

    We appreciate your concern about the cost of a Saturday wedding. For brides on a budget, perhaps a weekday wedding may be a better option.

    Our exclusive Good Weather Guarantee takes the risk out of planning an outdoor wedding. There are no additional fees to change from an outdoor to an indoor event as long as you let us know the day before the ceremony. Unfortunately once everything has been set up for your wedding, there is a small fee if you decide to change the venue.

    We strive to make sure that everything is perfect for all of our guests. However, should anything ever be overlooked, simply touch 100 from your guest phone and we will be at your service (no need to drink water all night instead of champagne.)

    Thank you too for your compliments about your honeymoon suite. Its, private bath with Italian marble floor, crystal chandelier, nouveau heart shaped whirlpool for two, and “specially made for our guests” home made lavender bath salts; guest room with fireplace with hand carved mantle and marble surround, and sumptuous triple sheeted king feathered bed—make it a favorite for honeymoons, anniversaries, and other romantic getaways.

    The price of the event was not for a 15 minute ceremony. It included:

    Wedding Planning,

    Exclusive Good Weather Guarantee (reserve an outdoor wedding without stress or worry),

    Use of the first floor public rooms or the grounds and gardens for up to two hours for your Wedding Rehearsal,

    Early Check-in and access to your guest room for the bride to prepare,

    Two Champagne Flutes lightly etched with the BEALL MANSION monogram and crowned with a gold halo—yours to keep as the perfect memento of your wedding day,

    Use of the first floor public rooms and grounds and gardens for up to three hours for your wedding ceremony and wedding photos,

    Walnut and Marble Guest Book Table with hand carved Griffin legs and marble inset top,

    Wedding White Folding Chairs for your guests,

    Wedding Officiant to perform the ceremony,

    Tulle & Rope Light Draped Staircase,

    plus a Pampered Getaway including:

    Turn Down Service on arrival,

    Belgian Chocolates on your bed,

    Plush Monogrammed Robes,

    Slippers,

    Daily Maid Service,

    Breakfast,

    24 Hour “All You Can Eat” Chocolate Buffet,

    24 Hour Hot Beverage Service,

    Wi-Fi,

    Daily Newspaper,

    Grounds & Gardens with seating areas,

    Late Check-Out for the bride and groom,

    Your Wedding Photos on The BEALL MANSION website.

    It is true that The BEALL MANSION is not the cheapest wedding venue, nor do we want to be.

    However, if you are looking for the property that St. Louis Bride Magazine described as “Amazing!” most couples find our packages to be an exceptional value.

    Thank you once again for choosing The BEALL MANSION for your wedding day.