Skip to main content
Weddings

Bayou Bluegrass Catering Reviews

Bayou Bluegrass Catering

Bayou Bluegrass Catering

Lexington, KY
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 35 Reviews
View more information

35 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 35
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner

4 User photos

  • Emily
    Emily J. Married on 09/25/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So good!!!

    Shana was so easy to work with and the food was AMAZING! We went with the all inclusive option and it was totally worth the price with how delicious the food was. The crab cakes and fried catfish were guest favorites. I can’t forget to mention how professional and courteous the staff was which added to the overall perfect experience. I can’t recommend Bayou Bluegrass enough!

    Bayou Bluegrass Catering's reply:

    Thanks Emily, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed everything! It was a pleasure working with you guys and your entire vendor team.
  • T
    Taylor D. Married on 08/14/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best catering company ever!!

    This team was the best!! They made sure everything was planned out smoothly and allowed us to come in for two tastings to determine what we wanted to serve at our rehearsal and reception! On our wedding day they constantly made sure we were okay and had enough food!
  • Missy
    Missy L. Married on 08/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Above and Beyond

    Above and beyond exceeding our expectations for a wonderful wedding reception. They were great!
  • Kari
    Kari Married on 06/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Shanna was great. The food was wonderful!

    Shanna was very informative and helpful. We changed our menu a hundred times and each time she did he best to get us what we wanted in our price range!

    Bayou Bluegrass Catering's reply:

    Thanks Kari, we are so glad you enjoyed the food and overall experience with us. Congratulations again on your big day!
  • F
    Rose Married on 04/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible!

    The food that Bayou Bluegrass was amazing from our rehearsal dinner to our wedding! Due to COVID and living out of town we were not able to do any tastings before our events and they blew us out of the water. Every single guest raves about the food and some went back for seconds! They are a great company to work with and will accommodate in any way possible!
  • J
    Julie R. Married on 10/17/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly Recommend Bayou Bluegrass!

    Bayou Bluegrass took the stress out of everything related to the food. Shanna and Abbie were truly so helpful. Their menu choices are extensive and we selected the perfect assortment for our wedding at Talon winery. We would definitely recommend and hope to use them for a party in the future! Outstanding!
  • Katelyn
    Katelyn N. Married on 07/17/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious!

    The food was nothing less of exceptional! After a long, but exciting and perfect wedding day, getting to enjoy such a tasty meal was wonderful! Everyone enjoyed the turkey and Cajun mayo as well as the brussel sprouts. We would love to use Bayou Bluegrass for another event :)
  • J
    Jamie L. Married on 02/22/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing venue location!

    Great place for my smaller wedding; we had around 80 guests, and it was perfect!
  • Sarah
    Sarah G. Married on 12/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food!

    Very professional and sets everything up for us. They are even making our plate first just to make sure we get to eat!
  • K
    Katie Married on 12/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hallmark Christmas Wedding

    The food was absolutely delicious. We went with the Tuscany chicken, tri-tip, Mac and cheese, mashed potatoes, salad and rolls. All of our guests kept telling us how much they enjoyed it, and even asked if we could get them the recipes LOL. Can’t say enough nice things about the food!
  • M
    Maddie F. Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious food and Great Hospitality

    Bayou Bluegrass provided the catering services for both the rehearsal dinner and the reception, and the food was delicious! Many guests commented about how much they enjoyed the food on both evenings. Bayou Bluegrass was also very easy to communicate with. We would recommend their catering services to everyone!
  • C
    Carrie S. Married on 10/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful!

    Everything we experienced from the initial meeting to final wedding day festivities was beyond wonderful! Shanna put us at ease from the beginning and we knew we had chosen a great professional and courteous company to cater our daughter’s wedding. She was flexible with working out the details with us. We only have one daughter so we had no experience in this area and wanted this day to be memorable for her and the guests. Bayou did NOT disappoint! They were wonderful! Highly highly recommend and would definitely use them again should we ever need a caterer.
  • S
    Sarah S. Married on 09/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend!

    We worked with Shanna and had a wonderful experience, both leading up to the wedding and on our wedding day. She and her team did an amazing job. The food was delicious too! We did all Cajun food and received several compliments from our guests saying it was the best food they’d had at a wedding.
  • K
    Kelly Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Just perfect!!

    Plain and simple: Bayou Bluegrass has incredible food and they were very easy to work with - even from out of state.
  • K
    Katie Married on 09/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing food and service

    Bayou Bluegrass was everything I could have wanted from a caterer and more! From the initial meeting with Shanna, to the AMAZING food tasting we went to, to our wedding day, I had the most wonderful experience with them. The food tasting we went to was unlike anything I had been to before. They do group tastings and have different buffet stations with a little bit of everything to try from entree options, sides, pasta bar, taco bar, bite size station and a carving station. They even had an open bar with signature drinks, which was just the cutest touch. This gave is such a variety to choose from and opened us up to something different for our wedding. The entire planning process with them was amazing. We did not get married on their site and they were so open to meeting us at our venue out of town, face-timing us when we needed help, and responding so quickly when we had questions. Then there was the food at the wedding..... OMG!! We did the Italian buffet with chicken Alfredo and lasagna. We have never gotten so many compliments! The service was terrific making sure water glasses were filled and empty plates were thrown away. When we returned from our honeymoon and saw everyone for the first time after our wedding, the food was THE NUMBER ONE compliment we received back from our guest. I could eat their chicken alfredo for days! You wont regret booking BBC for your wedding/event!
  • S
    Sara E. Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding Reception

    Everything went smoothly and we continue to receive compliments on the food at our reception. Highly recommend!
  • Adam
    Adam T. Married on 07/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Top to Bottom!

    We set up meetings with a few caterers in the area. One of them we knew would be a tasting that we were charged over $100 for. It was okay, if not a bit stodgy, and they didn't even let us keep any of the food. Our meeting with Bayou Bluegrass was just supposed to be a sit-down to talk through initial details and needs, and instantly Shanna made us comfortable and gained our trust without even trying. She was so relaxed and knew exactly where we were coming from for everything, and her confidence was unbelievably comforting. Not only that, she even let us taste some of the dishes they were making back in the kitchen that afternoon, and everything was absolutely delicious. The mac'n'cheese was so good that we decided to do an entire mac'n'cheese station at our reception and it was a smash hit. All of the food was delicious and timely and the right temperature, and Shanna was on top of everything. We didn't have to worry about a single thing on the day of, and even in the months leading up she answered all our questions promptly and changed our proposal a thousand times without complaining, which she definitely had every right to do given how many emails we sent. She was amazing, the food was amazing, and it was still less expensive than the place that charged us for the sub-par tasting. All around a wonderful experience!
  • Elena
    Elena Y. Married on 05/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Kentucky Wedding

    We worked with Shanna and no words can express how amazing she was to help with LITERALLY every question that my family and I had. She is extremely good at her job! Also, the food was glorious! All of our guests loved it. We had the fried chicken, Brussels sprouts, Mac and cheese, and pulled pork! I recommend all of those!!! You can go wrong with this place!
  • C
    Courtney Married on 01/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Easy to work with and the food tastes great!

    We had such a good experience planning from out-of-state with Shanna. She was able to meet with us in the few days we were actually in town. At our wedding, the food was fantastic - we had a shrimp and grits, brisket, and green beans buffet. We had several people attending, including my husband, with Celiac disease, and they were able to eat everything on the buffet.
  • D
    Denise Married on 04/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved working with Bayou Bluegrass for our daughter's wedding! From start to finish, Shanna provided wonderful advice and was very responsive to all of our questions. Our guests raved about the delicious food and friendly servers!
  • L
    Laura Married on 01/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bayou Bluegrass Catering did a fantastic job with our wedding. The food was ready right on time, the tables, chairs, linens, and tableware were high quality, and the bartender and the entire staff were very professional and a pleasure to work with. Our breakfast for dinner idea was a little unconventional, but they made it exactly how I wanted.
  • J
    Jordan Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had such a great experience with Bayou Bluegrass! Our guests are still talking about how great the food was! Shanna was so helpful from the very beginning to make sure our day was perfect. Thanks again!!
  • A
    Anna Married on 06/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Bayou Bluegrass was a dream to work with. They were extremely professional and willing to work with us and fit our budget every step of the way; plus, their food was phenomenal—they were such a hit at our reception! Thanks, Bayou Bluegrass!
  • C
    Caitlyn Married on 06/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    ERIN MADE MY WEDDING! The food was great, they worked with me on EVERYTHING, and the make sure your day runs smoothly. I am so thankful I used them! Erin recommended vendors for me to use and was so helpful with answering questions for me until the day of the event. She was present for the whole process and I could not have achieved what I did without her!
  • R
    Rebecca Married on 05/06/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Two words: mashed potatoes.

    You can't go wrong with Bayou and Bluegrass catering. They did such a fantastic job with our buffet-style wedding dinner. The flavors tasted familiar, yet were delicious and displayed elegantly, considering the menu was more comfort-based. Our guests were VERY complimentary of the food (BBQ chicken, panko-crusted chicken with salad, ranch dressing and balsamic vinaigrette, carrots, mashed potatoes, and green beans), which was most important to us!

    Speaking in terms of responsiveness, my mother was able to directly communicate with the chef before finalizing the menu. Bayou and Bluegrass also sliced and plated our cake gratis! Sometimes it may feel like you're nickel and dimed for every little service, but Bayou and Bluegrass was very affordable, flexible, reasonable and (most importantly) delicious! I highly recommend a tasting to see for yourself.