Bayonet Black Horse Reviews

26 | Seaside, CA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Bayonet Black Horse

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

26

3 User photos

Order by:
  • Aundrea

    Aundrea · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    September Wedding 2019

    Best value found for the ocean view, and awesome food. Flexible with time if available. Smaller location but that is exactly what we were looking for!

    Sent on 03/06/2020
  • A

    Alandea · Married on 03/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Get married here!

    My husband and I wanted to get married in Monterey because it's where we're both from/where we met. We did a ton of initial research into venues in the area and the pricing for most was outrageous. Then we came across BBH (which I was familiar with already as a golf course) and can't believe we didn't consider it sooner as a wedding venue. At a fraction of the pricing of EVERY other venue we looked into (both in Monterey and the Bay Area where we now live), we got a stunning outdoor ceremony, a gorgeous cocktail hour patio/indoor reception with a spacious dance floor, a delicious buffet and open bar - all within our budget. Jeff was super easy to work with from day one, answering every little question we had promptly and explained things in simple terms. Our menu tasting was a fun event in itself - we got to choose as many items from each category as we wanted (but of course tried to limit - they make everything from scratch!) and were stuffed after. Our dog was a part of our ceremony (a lot of places have restrictions on this), and we partied until midnight with no issues. We worked with Chantal Forma as our day of coordinator (who does tons of weddings at BBH) and our wedding day was unforgettable and a breeze. If you're looking for a beautiful, unforgettable wedding venue in the area, look no further!

    Sent on 03/29/2019

    Bayonet Black Horse's reply:

    Hi Alandea,
    Congratulations and thank you for the kind words and for choosing us to host your special day.

    Jeff
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 03/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our dream wedding at Bayonet

    Bayonet golf course is a true gem. There are so many wonderful things about this venue that make it stand apart from others in Monterey. It is tucked away on a hill so you have privacy unlike some places on Cannery Row. The grounds are gorgeous and the ocean views take your breath away. Jeff was responsive during our planning and very flexible. The prices are very fair especially compared to the rest of Monterey. We had a big wedding with lots of family and everyone had a blast! Bayonet far exceeded our expectations.

    Sent on 03/30/2019

    Bayonet Black Horse's reply:

    Elizabeth,
    Congratulations and thank you for the kind words and for choosing us to host your special day.

    Jeff
  • T

    Tanya · Married on 06/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great venue and wonderful view! Had our wedding here on 6/30/18. Service was awesome. They took care of set up and breakdown of all tables, and ceremony area. If you have decorations/flowers, you have a 2 hour window the day of to set up. Be sure you have plan of what needs to be done prior to your event. Venue is available from technically 3 p.m. to midnight. Very flexible. Would definitely book here again.

    Sent on 07/08/2018
  • D

    Dan · Married on 02/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the best venue in the area. It is affordable and Jeff Nelson was so easy to work with. From what I hear about other weddings, BBH made ours so much easier. To have the catering, tables, chairs, etc handled by BBH it allowed us to focus on other details. The food was delicious and there are many choices. They have recommended vendors and we used Forma weddings to help decorate the wedding. We lucked out with excellent weather in February and the views and sunset were spectacular. I completely recommend you have your wedding here if it is available. Thanks Jeff and the BBH team!

    Sent on 03/05/2018
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 08/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This past summer we had the wedding of our dreams and we owe a huge thanks to all of the vendors who made that possible. One of the most important being our venue - Bayonet & Blackhorse. They not only provided a gorgeous & serene location for us to have our ceremony, reception and, photos, they also provided the food, the dance floor and, the super fun golf carts that we got to drive around to our photo shoot locations. We had an absolute blast at Bayonet & Blackhorse!

    We owe a special thanks to Jeff Nelson who expertly crafted a floor plan and menu that was perfect for our wedding and guests. Everyone is still raving about how amazing the food was and how much fun they had dancing the night away. Jeff was so cordial and professional in helping us design the menu and pick all the specifications for what we needed from the venue on our big day. He was very accommodating to all of our requests and gave excellent advice. He was honest about some ideas that may have had less than desirable outcomes. You can’t put a price on an honest opinion based on many years of experience in the wedding industry so, thanks so much to Jeff for that! He also recommended our wedding coordinator (Forma Weddings) who was an absolute God-send!

    The venue was breathtaking, the food was amazing and, we don’t have one single complaint about the whole day, only many happy memories. The team at Bayonet & Blackhorse took care of everything, making sure that the venue looked as it should and that we had everything we needed, the bartenders were great about making sure that no one got out of hand. Thanks so much to Jeff and his team - who put together the perfect event and took care of all the cleanup so that we didn’t have to worry about a thing! I feel like we had a million dollar wedding but, the price tag was probably the most reasonable you can get in the Monterey Bay. Thanks again to Jeff and his team for helping us have the wedding of our dreams!

    Sent on 11/05/2017
  • cee

    cee · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeff at the Bayonet and Blackhorse Golf Course was great to work with for our son's wedding. He made decisions easy to make. The Bayonet supplies venue, tables, settings, linens for the same price as the venue rental. You can upgrade at your expense if you want to make changes but we used everything from them and everything looked great. This was a great value for a wonderful event.

    Sent on 11/15/2017
  • K

    kristen · Married on 10/22/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    B&BH was amazing. Jeff was great to work with and was very accommodating. We had 125 guests and it was perfect for the main dining room. The ceremony outside was exquisite! You cannot beat this view and you won't find prices like this anywhere on the Monterey peninsula. We had our ceremony and reception here for 125 people, appetizers and three amazing dinner options (easily could have charged double per plate for the quality), a dance floor, and an open bar and the total was $13,500. Paired with Chantal Forma for decorations/coordinating and Batin Photography, we had our dream wedding for under $20K. That's impressive anywhere in the US but more so in this area. I'm already working on trying to get our next work party here.

    Sent on 11/05/2016
  • B

    Brianne · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our April 9 wedding at Bayonet and Blackhorse and cannot say enough good things about this place and their incredible employees. We did a site walk-through in July of 2015 and immediately fell in love with the location and felt at ease with the banquet coordinator, Jeff Nelson. What a great guy to head up the banquets at BBH - he is easygoing, funny, and super easy to deal with. The prices for food and alcohol are competitive and you are able to customize the menu if need be. We also have to mention the bartenders - they did a great job of making sure bride and groom always had a drink in their hand - they even brought me (the bride) a sippy cup of Chardonnay on the dance floor so I could still boogie and not loose my drink! We were so impressed with every step of the wedding planning process with BBH and we would recommend BBH to any of our friends looking for a place to get married or even throw a killer party!

    Sent on 04/14/2016
  • R

    Rebekah · Married on 01/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    FABULOUS venue and staff! Made our special day truly special. It fit our needs well, and comes with a breathtaking view. Very easy to communicate with Jeff Nelson the banquet manager and solutions to any questions were solved immediately. Made this overwhelmed bride relaxed and at ease - so, thank you! Our day went perfectly, and wouldn't have done so without the help of all the banquet help and staff. Originally was supposed to hold ceremony at venue but changed because of weather concerns and was given a refund of those fees. This place is great and easy to work with, a beautiful place, and truly helped us create a long-lasting memory of our wedding day - THANK YOU BAYONET & BLACKHORSE!

    Sent on 03/04/2016
  • M

    Maritza · Married on 11/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are having are wedding here, Nov. 2015.. when we met with jeff, he was very easy going and attentive with details of the wedding process and his recommendation have been so far really great.

    Sent on 01/19/2015
  • User5458957 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Most affordable venue on the coast - views down to Carmel/Monterey. Loved have the patio right off the reception area for people to cool off or have conversation. View from the golf course ceremony area is beautiful - an ocean view. Jeff (Food/Bev. Mgr.) and this staff were fantastic. Everything went well and we fulfilled our dream of having a wedding with an ocean view.

    Sent on 03/12/2016
  • L

    LaToya · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are having our wedding reception In August 2015! My mother loves having function there! We even had our engagement party there! Working with Jeff is awesome!!!

    Sent on 03/05/2015
  • E

    Evangeline · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I first came across Bayonet & Black Horse online, I thought it looked beautiful. It looked even more stunning when we visited in person! We just knew it was "the one", and there was no doubt when we confirmed it as our wedding venue. Jeff was always helpful and accommodating. He was quick to respond, and made things easier for us throughout the entire wedding planning process.

    When we did the food tasting, we fell even more in love with the venue. The food was delicious, and Jeff even let us customize the menu to however we wanted. Major plus side to the venue was that the catering was also provided by them! I cannot emphasize enough how amazing the food was, and according to our guests, they also loved the food! Rehearsal and rehearsal lunch were also hosted here. Jeff even waived the rental fee for rehearsal, and only charged us for the food (which was reasonably priced, especially for its quality!) Speaking of price, this venue all together, even including the food and drinks, was so affordable for the quality and service that you get!

    Staff for rehearsal and the day of the wedding were all very helpful. Bartender was on point with the drinks. Staff helped set up and clean up, without extra charge. On the morning after our wedding, we went back to the venue to pick up any remaining things we might've left behind, and they had all our stuff organized in a box ready for us to pick up. They even saved the remainder of our cake and reminded us to take it home.

    The ceremony site was in the grass field, overlooking the ocean, which was so perfect! Even more convenient that the reception site was just a walk over into the main dining hall. It really didn't need any more decorations because the place was beautiful on its own.
    Jeff was the best. He was very flexible to work with, and was always quick to respond. We felt very comfortable working with him!

    Venue (Ceremony and Reception): $1250
    Food: $5158 (for 95 guests)
    Drinks: $1690

    Sent on 08/12/2015
  • E

    Esmeralda · Married on 06/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeff was a great help he listened to what I wanted and worked with me since day one. I had my ceremony and reception there and it was beautiful nice and classy. Exactly what I wanted. Food was delicious. They're reccomendation on vendors was great.

    Would highly recommend it

    Sent on 03/10/2016
  • M

    Mari · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeff was always available to answer all of our questions. The location of our venue was just great. Space was big enough to fit all of our guest, parking was not a problem and the view for those memorable pictures were just the BEST!
    Jeff's entire team was very professional throughout the entire venue.

    Sent on 03/04/2016
  • J

    Joshua · Married on 06/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bayonet and Black Horse was an amazing venue. We didn't break the bank by booking here, and yet we still felt like we had a great upscale wedding in Monterey. Jeff did a great job guiding us through the entire process, and the entire staff was courteous and professional. My wife and I highly recommend this venue if you're looking to have a beautiful wedding/reception without having to pay an arm and a leg. You will love having your wedding here. Also, the food was incredible. That chicken piccata, cheese tortellini and prime rib were delicious, and were all of our guests commented on how good the food and the service was at our wedding. Thanks again to everyone at Bayonet and Black Horse for making our special day that much better!

    Sent on 03/15/2016
  • A

    Anna · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had chose to have our wedding reception at Bayonet Blackhorse Golf Course. We had heard from a coworker attending a wedding in Monterey, and since we hadn't seen this location on any wedding sites, we decided to check the place out. It was a good location choice since we were getting married at Carmel Mission and it was only a few minutes away. It was love at first sight! The view from the golf course was amazing and the reception area was nice and intimate. We had approximately 180 in attendance and could have gone up to 202 if we wanted. After securing the date with Bayonet, we started looking at the menu and wanted to taste a few dishes that they had to offer. Jess Nelson provided more than enough to sample, we wish we had brought more people with us! The food at the reception was DELICIOUS! We chose Tri Tip of Beef anf Sauteed Salmon and everyone raved about the food. As far as planning the reception, Jeff was VERY flexible. We were able to put together our own flowers and store them in a spare room, He was very flexible with start and end times of the event, and it was very easy to communicate with him with every step of the planning process. Jeff even provided updated event orders with every change I made to the reception. The entire staff at Bayonet was very helpful and they get 2 thumbs up! Having our wedding reception at Bayonet just made everything so easy and the whole event just flowed with no stress. Jeff was a pleasure to work with and I would definitely recommend working with Jeff and Bayonet to anyone planning on getting married in the area!

    Sent on 03/10/2016
  • D

    Diana · Married on 10/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jeff and his team were fantastic and extremely attentive. My wedding was a blast and I've received nothing but compliments from my friends and family regarding the venue.

    I HIGHLY recommend this venue!

    Sent on 10/14/2012
  • A

    Audrey Cacal · Married on 11/01/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very good and excellent

    It was affordable and came with great amenities to make my dream wedding. It was just way too far out from home for us.

    Sent on 03/01/2019
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 05/14/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We can't say enough great things about this venue and Jeff Nelson, the food and beverage director. We originally were interested in this venue because it combined 2 things each of us likes: golf and the beach. The view of the ocean is unbeatable and with the green grass and huge cypress trees, it was the perfect setting for our wedding and looks amazing in our photos. The main dining room is beautiful and doesn't need much added decoration which was another big plus.

    We met Jeff for a walk-through and were immediately sold. He was so flexible with what we wanted to serve for dinner (we were briefly considering breakfast for dinner but ended up with BBQ buffet), dessert (ice cream sundae bar which he arranged for us), and at the bar (we did beer, wine, signature cocktails, and champagne). And any way we wanted the tables set up with any number of people. And other special things we wanted like board games available for those who didn't want to dance and a DIY photo booth. The dance floor was provided for a small extra fee and overall the ceremony outside and the reception inside were perfect for what we wanted at a reasonable price. We had about 115 people.

    One of our main goals for our wedding was to reduce stress as much as possible. At Bayonet, we were able to get most things taken care of between Jeff and preferred vendor Chantal Forma (Forma Weddings) who does decorations, flowers, and day-of coordinating. This made the prep and day-of run so smoothly. They were also very flexible when we had a few guests add at the last minute. The bartenders were also excellent, making sure we had drinks in-hand (even if it was just water) throughout the night.

    Our family and friends have done nothing since the wedding but rave about how amazing the food was, how beautiful the venue was, and how much fun they had. We're glad they loved it as much as we did.

    Sent on 05/25/2016
  • M

    Mari · Married on 06/20/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First off the pricing for the venue was within our budget. We looked around all over Monterey County and this was just perfect for us; ceremony and reception all in 1 place. 2nd the ceremony setting was just perfect. Outside, overseeing the ocean was the perfect view and our pictures were amazing.

    Sent on 01/23/2016
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 09/05/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Perfect venue. Jeff is very quick to respond which made the planning process very easy!

    Sent on 03/03/2016
  • D

    Dianne · Married on 01/14/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here on January 14th, 2012 and everything turned out so much more than we ever expected. We had both our ceremony and the reception at B&B, which turned out to be much easier for our guests. My husband and I grew up in the Monterey Bay and wanted to have our wedding in the area. We started looking at hotels and different places in the area, but their prices were really high. Being on a budget, Bayonet and Blackhorse worked out so well for us and our pockets. There were so many pluses for us having our wedding here. First of all, the view is spectacular! It is kind of on a hill in Seaside and you can see the whole bay once you're here at the venue. The food was amazing! With the prices that they were charging (which was cheaper than most of the hotels in the area), the food was delicious! The awesome thing about the menu is that you can choose different types of buffets that are different prices if you are on a budget. Ask for Jeff to help you, he really helped us and was flexible with us when it came to changing the menu a little bit for our guests. There are appetizers available for cocktail hour for a very cheap price as well. Another plus is that we were able to have the reception room until midnight. The bar is nice sized and they will have a bartender there until the end of your event. There are no cake cutting fees or bartender fees, which was another plus. Their service is awesome! There is a nice sized dance floor right in the middle of the room as well if you want to rent one. One major plus for us is that it was in Seaside, which is where we went to high school and fell in love. So to be able to hold our special day so close to where it all began 10 years ago made it all the more special. Trust me, you will not regret having your special day at Bayonet and Blackhorse. I love this place!

    Sent on 02/01/2012
  • J

    Jenna · Married on 11/22/2015

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The only thing I didn't like is that you cant go early to set up so some of my friends had to miss my church wedding because I needed people to set up I know the staff will set up but you want to make sure its perfect otherwise its a beautiful place to have a wedding

    Sent on 03/10/2016