Battleson Entertainment Reviews

179 | Carlsbad, CA
See photos, pricing and details

179 Reviews for Battleson Entertainment

Recommended by 100%

179
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • N

    Natalie · Getting married on 03/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gus was amazing! He worked with us on everything and made our vision really come to life! People gushed to us after about how wonderful, entertaining, and clever Gus was. He was truely a cornerstone of our wedding! THANK YOU GUS!

  • T

    Tj Macfarlane · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend DJ Bruce!

    We booked Battleson Entertainment for our wedding in October and Bruce was awesome! We were referred by our wedding planner and from the beginning were impressed by his quick responses, easy-going nature and professionalism. He was extremely helpful with suggestions for not just music, but also lighting, timeline and other details we had overlooked.

    From the ceremony to the dancing, Bruce kept the party moving. All night he kept people on the dance floor seamlessly moving between genres and reading the room for what was keeping people excited.

    I highly recommend Battleson Entertainment for your wedding or event!

  • D

    Daniel · Married on 08/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Honestly, the best choice for a DJ! We looked through several DJs to see which one was a good fit for our wedding. Bruce was definitely the perfect DJ for our wedding. When speaking to him, he really took the time to listen to our needs and desires for our wedding. He addressed our concerns by providing tips and ideas, which worked out amazingly for us. He even has a website that really goes over all the little formalities of the wedding, giving you the chance to customize it musically. He then goes over it with you to make sure you and him are on the same page. For a DJ to do all that prior to the wedding is peace of mind for any couple that wants their day to go as planned. When it came to the big day, Bruce did a phenomenal job! He brought out the “dance machine” out of all of our friends and family (even the ones that regularly decline to dance). His transitions and sequences were perfect as our guests kept complimenting us all night on the music and how they loved the songs being played. If you’re looking for a wedding DJ, look no further, get Bruce!

  • Z

    Zaahira · Married on 03/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for the BEST DJ experience you have ever had then I highly recommend Bruce Battleson! He is responsible, reliable and just a down to earth awesome person! I researched many DJ's before deciding on Battleson Entertainment and right away I had this gut feeling that he was the ONE and I was right! He went above and beyond our expectations as a DJ/MC for our wedding day! About a month before our wedding we scheduled a phone meeting where he asked us everything from introductions to announcements to the schedule of the day and the specific type of music selections that we wanted for each part of the wedding. We had ceremony music, cocktail hour music, music during dinner and a whole lot of dance music for the entire evening!
    We had some outstanding requests in terms of Hindi/ Bollywood music and he was able to make it all happen! For example: for our first dance we started off with a classic love song for one minute, then we changed it to a minute of a Bollywood love song, then for the third part of our first dance he played a three minute upbeat mix of a Bollywood/Hindi/English mashup that we found on YouTube! He entertained our guests all evening and he really knew how to keep the dance floor full!!! Thank you Bruce for being such a kind person at heart and also making our wedding day so memorable and super fun!!!

  • J

    Joe · Married on 02/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It’s been two weeks since our wedding and I am literally still hearing from Friends and Family about how much fun they had dancing their butts off at our wedding. Battleson Entertainment truly kept the dance floor packed and moving. The DJ also has a very classy lighting system which I highly recommend. You definitely don’t want cheesy lighting affecting all the pretty photos you’re hoping your photographer is capturing! We hired Bruce off a recommendation and couldn’t have been happier with our decision. Going into this, I thought the DJ’s only job was to play music but you get way more with Battleson Entertainment. Bruce is extremely organized and prompt with emails. He scheduled a few consultations with us to get to know us better and to understand what we were looking for. Bruce reached out to us to schedule our last consultation, with plenty of time before our wedding, so we weren’t rushing to figure it all out like we had to with many of our other vendors. This is important because as you get closer to the Wedding day you tend to lose your mind a tad… Bruce made sure we kept everything on schedule, which is ULTRA important.
    The music is the most important thing about this review. Without going to an actual event and hearing a DJ in persons it’s hard to rate their performance. I am picky with music and because my Wife is from South America we had to make sure that we had a good mixture of American and Latin music. Not a problem in the slightest. They have a great system for YOU to go through and build playlists for the wedding or exclude songs that you 100% DON’T WANT TO HEAR! Sorry Casper Slide (“Take it back now ya’ll”). I cannot tell you how awesome we both felt watching all our loved ones dancing with us on the dance floor till the very last song at 11pm. People went as far as shouting “One more song, one more song.” It will be the thing people talk about the next day. Hope this review helps and Happy partying to all!

    -Joe

  • Megan

    Megan · Married on 01/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I hired Bruce Battleson as the DJ for our wedding last weekend and it was a wonderful decision! Bruce was friendly, accommodating, and professional throughout the whole process. He has his own website and software that made it so easy to request specific songs, set up the timing for certain events at the wedding, and determine songs that you do not want to be played. Bruce was friendly and personable at the wedding and made sure our wedding was incredibly fun and unforgettable! We are so happy that we hired Bruce and would encourage anyone else looking for a DJ for their wedding to do the same!

  • L

    Lily · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bruce was AMAZING!! He created a timeline and was very attentive with everything during our special day! I highly recommend Bruce!! He will have everyone dancing and has a very cool system where you can choose the music you want!! Thank you Bruce for making our day very special!
    Lily & Caleb

  • T

    Tracy · Married on 03/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bruce is seriously the BEST DJ EVER! Our guests raved about how awesome he was throughout the whole wedding!
    Pre-Planning – Bruce was great in walking us through how to use the online system to pick out all our songs. As we got closer to our wedding day he scheduled time to go over all of the survey details with us. We live in New Mexico, but working with Bruce in California over the phone was super easy!
    Wedding Day – Everything went amazingly. The quality of his set up, equipment, microphone, and music was pure perfection. There were no sound distortions or failures at any point during the entire event. Everyone heard us loud and clear during the ceremony and then during the reception the crowd just went wild. He was so great and revving them up. Near the end of the reception, he most definitely noticed that our friends are big fans of EDM and played such great hits. One of my favorite memories is when our friends were singing from the top of our lungs on the dance floor. He encouraged us to get behind the DJ booth for photo ops and I am just eager to see how cool those shots must have come out. We really LOVE Bruce and cannot sing his praises enough for making our wedding one of the best people have ever been to.

  • S

    Shirin · Married on 02/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    By the recommendation of a co-worker we hired Gus with Battleson DJ for our Feb 2017 wedding at Scripps Seaside Forum and it was the best decision we could have made. Gus is an absolute professional. He has a very calm demeanor in the two meetings we had leading up to our wedding. We spoke with him twice via video chat. He gave us access to a website to select our favorite songs and he gave great feedback to our timeline and awesome suggestions. You will realize quickly that he has been to more weddings that you will in your entire life and to trust his judgement. When he made a gentle suggestion I took it as a mandate because he knows what he is doing. I even changed the processional and recessional songs the morning of the wedding and he put them into play no problem. His pricing is very competitive. You can find DJs that are less expensive and some that are more expensive but coming from one bride to another the DJ is the second most important vendor at your wedding (after your caterer) and go ahead and pick the right one. You will be so thankful.

  • T

    Tonya · Married on 12/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bruce was amazing at getting everyone out on the dance floor and staying out there the entire night!!
    I want to say a huge THANK YOU to you for taking in all our wants and delivering above and beyond our expectations! I am beyond happy to have chosen you as our DJ! You made our wedding one we will never forget and our guests had so much fun dancing the night away, just as we wanted. Your upbeat spirit was a pleasure to work with! We will be sure to recommended you for future events!!

    Thank you again

  • V

    vincent · Married on 10/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bruce made our wedding experience amazing. He conducted the MC roll perfectly and got the dance floor going till the very end of our amazing night. We couldn't be happier with our experience!

  • D

    Dori · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Battleson Entertainment is amazing! I was very nervous about picking a DJ because I knew that could make or break the wedding. I was referred to Bruce from my wedding coordinator and I am SO glad we hired him. He is extremely thorough, professional and fun! He asks a ton of questions and information and makes your wedding feel very personal. I highly recommend him!

  • S

    steven · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gus Garcia, DJ, was awesome! Bride and groom requested a somewhat toned-down vibe for the DJ, and Gus nailed it. He struck the perfect balance between revving up the crowd for dancing and keeping a relatively low profile. He was funny and charming but not overbearing. Guests of the bride and groom’s generation had an especially fantastic time, shakin’ it down on the dance floor for hours almost without interruption. Gus found the perfect tone for announcing wedding party, first dance, father-daughter dance, mother-son dance. Couldn’t recommend him more!

  • J

    Jennife · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best experience ever! He made my wedding so amazing and fluid that it turned out better than I ever expected! I highly recommend using him!

  • Y

    Yelena · Married on 09/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very happy with Gus at our wedding. We asked for a party with our friends and family and he brought it. He's was easy to communicate with and created a timeline for our reception in addition to the music. He integrated our guests music requests during the wedding in a great way. We couldn't be happier with Gus at our wedding, he read the crowd and kept them dancing all night. Our guests told us this was one of the most fun weddings they've been to.

  • K

    Krysten · Married on 08/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married in August 2016 and you would not believe the compliments we've received about the music at the wedding. Bruce was professional and accommodating from start to finish. I spoke with him before the wedding and mentioned some songs we wanted, and based on some of our song choices and suggestions he offered his vision to us which was spot on.

    We've been to a LOT of weddings lately and from a guest's perspective, I can truly say that music can be the difference maker between a good wedding and a so-so one. Bruce nailed the pre-ceremony music, cocktail hour and dinner music, and DANCE floor music. One of our biggest concerns was having a wedding where nobody danced, but he had the dance floor packed and rocking until 11:30 PM! If you choose Bruce and Battleson Entertainment you can eliminate music from your list of worries for the event, and afterwards you'll have everyone telling you how good the music was :) We give them the highest recommendation.

  • E

    Ellen · Married on 07/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Bruce and Paul at Battleson entertainment. We were looking for DJ and projection services for an outdoor reception. We looked at a ton of vendors but could not find one that would allow us to do projection outdoors because of the potential for wind to knock over the screens. Bruce Battleson was able to provide us with two amazing screens stretched over an aluminum support from a subcontractor. They looked like small versions of screens you may see at an outdoor concert. We worked with Paul to get the music we wanted for the ceremony and reception. He purchased any music that we wanted that he did not already have in his collection. Both Bruce and Paul were very accommodating and they did a great job with our wedding. The DJ booth and the screens looked professional and our guests enjoyed it. We definitely think they are worth the price as they made everything look professional and did a great job helping us get what we needed where other vendors were unable. We would definitely use them again and would recommend them to others!

  • B

    Brenda · Married on 04/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our DJ Gus was incredible! We had such a fun night with our guests. He played just the right music and had people dancing the entire night. We would definitely recommend Battleson again! Bruce was so helpful and quick to respond to any emails or texts. Great team!!

  • C

    Carrie · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    we used Battleson Entertainment for our wedding. Bruce was our DJ for the event. We started working with him about a year before the wedding. He was the first vendor we hired and really helped guide us through the whole process. He clearly is a professional and knows exactly what needs to happen at a wedding. He had the idea to get everyone on the dance floor to take a group photo to kick off the dancing and it worked perfectly...not only do we have fantastic group picture but it got our entire wedding on the dance floor rocking out!! It was so much fun...help was diligent with our timeline and helping us pick specific songs for each activity at the wedding from announcing the wedding party to the cake cutting. He worked closely with our wedding coordinator as well as our photographer...it all went off with out a hitch. We could not have been happier with our wedding and Bruce really made a difference in helping us personalize it. I recommend him and his team all the way!

  • User6190371 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down, best DJ, at any wedding I have ever been to. Bruce really loves what he does and you can tell..I had multiple people complimenting us on the DJ after the wedding. He is very flexible, responsive, and professional. His pricing was very fair for us (off season). In addition, he has all sorts of great lighting equipment.

    There was no hassle with setting up the audio, there was no feedback or audio problems, everything was played on time, high quality, with absolutely no issues.

    He got the music mix 100% exactly right even with out eclectic taste (80's, rock, some new pop and a some foreign music for the family members). The dance floor was going off the entire time! He had great suggestions and everything was very easy. He is very responsive; we had a mini issue the day before with song selection and Bruce solved it no problem.

    I wouldn't have any doubt with him and highly recommend him. If you have any doubts just meet him...they'll be gone.

  • K

    Kailin · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our DJ was the BOMB! We had the pleasure of working with Gus, who made everything so easy and simple for us. The company had us fill out some questionnaires to get a taste of what kind of music we wanted and also an online must play/do not play list for us to choose music from so it's easier for them to know which direction we wanted to go. We then met with Gus via FaceTime prior to our wedding to hammer out details. He was both professional and personable, very accommodating and made great suggestions. We couldn't have asked for a better DJ. Our wedding was the ultimate party because of him, everybody was on their feet dancing at the end of the night, it was awesome!

  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bruce is the bomb! You may think you want someone to just play music, but what you really need is a fully fledged emcee. Bruce is THE master of ceremonies - he’s got the process down and will play all the music you like, none of the music you don’t like, and even the music you didn’t even know you needed but is getting all your guests and even the great-aunt you never knew could dance, on the dance floor. He’s a pretty awesomely personable guy, genuine, and knows to heart that weddings can go any which of 100 ways. That’s why he asks you to fill out an online questionnaire that makes you realize how many things you didn’t even know you should be thinking about! (you know, unless you’ve done this before). He’s got wireless uplights, speakers, mics, and can do slideshow videos if you give him the dvd! I can’t recommend him more.

  • A

    Alyson · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gus from Battleson Entertainment was the DJ at our wedding and I would completely recommend him to anyone. I was so worried that we were going to end up with a cheesy wedding DJ or that my guests were not going to interact but the reception ended up so far from those things. Gus helped establish a flow for the night and was able to get all our guests young and old out on the dance floor celebrating together the whole night. Everyone seemed to have so much fun and all our guests came together like they were all old friends. Gus was professional and very helpful in the planning process. The music selections were fun and modern and completely appropriate for the family setting. It was also really nice to be able to select some of the music that was important to us in advance and Gus was helpful at giving advice or feedback when we needed it. At the event he was personable and helpful with our guests. I am so happy that we went with him. He was so easy going and reassuring and the night of our wedding I was just so happy to see all the events of the night transition naturally.

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 07/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bruce was wonderful in everyway!! he pronounced all the names correctly and played all the songs we wanted! there was no weird music played, or requests made. Bruce was awesome and on time, very nice, honest and funny guy, highly recommended!!!
    Thanks, Jennifer Minichiello

  • M

    Megan · Married on 07/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the day we contacted Bruce about being the DJ at our wedding to following up with us a few days later, Bruce was nothing but professional, informative, and easy to work with.

    We met with Bruce several times before our wedding day. Each time we met up, he was on-time and ready to go. He always had ideas for us if we were stuck (e.g. cake cutting song, bouquet toss song, etc.).

    Although we loved everything Bruce did to make our wedding special, our favorite thing he did was always made sure our dance floor was packed. When we started the first set of songs and dancing, Bruce gathered everyone together on our dance floor for a group picture. As soon as the picture was complete, he started playing Uptown Funk, which kept everyone on the dance floor. Later that night, we took a break from dancing to cut the cake. After the cake cutting break, Bruce called all the ladies to the dance floor. He played "Something Bad" by Miranda Lambert and Carrie Underwood to get all the girls dancing again. After that song, he invited all of the guys back to the dance floor, as well. Again, this was the perfect way to get everyone on the dance floor.

    We would highly recommend Bruce to anyone getting married. Since our wedding, we have had so many guests tell us how much fun they had on our special day. Personally, we spent most of our night on the dance floor, and had the time of our lives at our wedding, and a big reason for that was Bruce!

    -Tyler & Megan Bernth

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review