Barnsley Resort Reviews

16 | Adairsville, GA
See photos, pricing and details

16 Reviews for Barnsley Resort

Recommended by 83% of couples

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.2
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.0
  • Average response time 4.1

Awards

16

10 User photos

Barnsley Resort 1
Barnsley Resort 2
Barnsley Resort 3
Barnsley Resort 4
Barnsley Resort 5
+ 6
Order by:
  • Haley

    Haley Keith · Married on 03/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Breathtaking Venue & Amazing Service!

    I recently had my wedding at Barnsley Gardens and I cannot say enough great things. From the minute we went on the site visit, we were taken great care of. The weekend of my wedding everything was PERFECT and their team really makes the bride and groom feel special. We were given a honeymoon cottage with our package, and a chance to "bury the bourbon" one month before our wedding, which was so special. Our special day was better than we could have imagined and everything was set up exactly how we dreamed it would be. Their wedding team is outstanding and responsive. There is also so many activities to offer to your guests throughout the entire weekend. Best venue bar far, I would highly recommend.

    Barnsley Resort 6
    Sent on 03/27/2019
  • H

    Hadley · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barnsley is a dream come true. My husband and I got married there one week ago and it seriously couldn’t have been more perfect. The venue speaks for itself but the staff I just could rave about all day. Nora and Megan especially, thank you for all that you did for us leading up to our big day and on our big day. From the food tastings (best wedding food EVER btw), making sure my guests were all happy, upgrading me to my own cottage because you know I need my space and then running around with me on the day of... I can’t thank you enough. It was a day I’ll never forget and I’m honored that I get to go back to this place for years to come to relive the love and excitement that we felt that day.

    Sent on 10/13/2018
  • M

    Megan · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Just WOW! I can't say enough positive things about my experience with Barnsley for our recent wedding. The resort is just absolutely gorgeous, especially after all the recent renovations, and we couldn't have asked for a more beautiful and fun weekend. The wedding staff went above and beyond and any time throughout the weekend that something wasn't absolutely perfect, they were so quick to accommodate and do whatever was needed to ensure our special day amazing. My husband and I enjoyed ourselves as much as the guests because we had nothing to worry about the entire weekend - they took care of it all. Wish we could do it all over again - we're already planning to go back for our first anniversary.

    Barnsley Resort 7
    Barnsley Resort 8
    Barnsley Resort 9
    Barnsley Resort 10
    Barnsley Resort 11
    Barnsley Resort 12
    Barnsley Resort 13
    Barnsley Resort 14
    Barnsley Resort 15
    Sent on 07/06/2018
  • D

    Dottie · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! Where do I begin. We had our wedding at Barnsley Resort a few weeks ago and we could not have dreamed for it to be anymore perfect! Of course the location is breathtaking, but what made our day so incredible was all the people we worked with at Barnsley Resort! Joy Guthrie and Lauren Oesterle, in the Conference and Special Events Services, were amazing and went so far above and beyond to make our day perfect! They were always there to answer questions during the process and there to help in anyway possible. Lauren was so organized and had all the details under control. She was so understanding when we started to panic about the weather forecast and with the help of Carter made sure all of our back up arrangements would have been just as perfect as the wedding plans were... (but the day ended up beautiful anyway....) I feel so incredibly luck to have had the pleasure of working with them to plan such an important, special day for us! I also have to mention the banquet team. Donna Walker, the banquet manager did everything possible, and then some to make sure everything was perfect. Donna along with Megan on her team completely saved our wedding “hiccup" (every one has something… :). But on Saturday, only 2 hours before the pictures were suppose to start, we took my bouquet out of the refrigerator and realized that it had frozen and was destroyed. Between Megan remembering seeing some and finding some flowers they had on site and Donna calling around and driving all the way into Cartersville to get more white roses, we got enough flowers together to remake it. They did not even hesitate, when they saw what happened they took it upon themselves to help. In all honesty the entire Banquet team we worked with, Donna, Stephanie, Megan, and Christopher were all amazing. The bartender was great and really embraced making our “poptail" cocktails, even though this was new to him, and everyone loved them! We can not thank Barnsley enough!!!

    Sent on 09/19/2017
  • A

    Andy · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Barnsley because I had stayed before during a family event and it was spectacular. When we visited we fell in love and nothing else would do. To be honest, the price was more than our budget and it does build as you go. A few issues arouse (the upfront deposits for the guests caused initial issues and sometimes they don't answer emails/calls right away when planning is crucial, etc) and we started having a few regrets about the price. That was until the week of the wedding. They did everything to make our time the best possible. They heard we were worried about it being a little cold and offered complimentary heater packages for all events ($3000 value). They are as helpful and professional as can be. Every single dish was 5 Star and the servers were funny, professional and absolutely ON POINT. Cannot recommend this resort more highly for a wedding!

    Sent on 04/12/2017
  • User6846907 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was a wonderful place for a Christmas wedding. The staff was extremely helpful in every way.

    Sent on 12/25/2016
  • H

    Heather · Married on 07/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue is so beautiful on its own....how could your wedding not be beautiful? This truly is a magical place and provided the perfect whimsical location to host my fairytale dream wedding. From the very beginning, the sweet girls that coordinate and do the wedding/event planning were so easy to work with and very helpful all the way through the very end. They made sure that everything was to my liking an exactly the way my husband and I wanted. They made sure every detail was taken care of and helped me with any question or often gave very helpful advice regarding vendors and other wedding day decisions. Their staff and hospitality was always cheerful, inviting, and more than outgoing to provide true service and help in any way imaginable. Their catering and food service was out of this world delicious and served very high quality and beautiful dishes. My guests are still raving about the beauty of this location and how wonderful the food was that night. I could not imagine having my wedding day hosted anywhere else. The entire weekend was full of magic provided by this high quality establishment. We are so appreciative of all the work the Barnsley team did and are so thankful for their part in our wonderful wedding day! We look forward to spending our future anniversaries with a stay at Barnsley Gardens!!

    Sent on 08/16/2015
  • O

    Olivia · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married last Saturday at Barnsley Gardens, and the experience was absolutely amazing. Barnsley and Stacy the wedding planner were so organized, thorough, gracious, and wonderful to work with. Our wedding was seamless, and the Barnsley team was so organized that we relaxed and enjoyed the party.

    Barnsley is absolutely stunning. The Ruins are a gorgeous old plantation house, and they provided such a beautiful and unique backdrop to our ceremony and cocktail hour. Our reception was under a tent, and it was such a fairytale setting. We also had several other events on the property - a rehearsal dinner, Friday night reception, Saturday bridal brunch, and Sunday farewell brunch - and all of these events were in different locations that were unique and interesting. It was so great to have such variety in our event settings!

    Also, the staff at Barnsley could not be nicer or more helpful. Our guests were largely from outside of the South, and they were so impressed with how helpful and friendly the staff was.

    There were also so many activities that our guests could do during the day that made the weekend more than just a wedding. Our guests went skeet shooting, horseback riding, and golfing, and many spent the day at the pool or the spa.

    It was also so nice to have all of our guests stay at Barnsley. The cabins and rooms are so adorable and of such high quality, and we loved that our guests did not have to drive at all over the weekend.

    One of the nicest touches of the weekend was when my husband and I got back to our cabin after the reception, and there were hot plates of food waiting for us. The Barnsley staff had anticipated us not having time to eat, and it was so great to find this!

    Such a wonderful weekend and most of it is thanks to Barnsley and Stacy and her team! We would thoroughly recommend Barnsley!

    Sent on 10/13/2013
  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was everything I could have dreamed! It truly is magical here! Beautiful places to take pictures, the landscape, and the ruins... Everything is breathtaking! Resort is super accommodating to every need! Wedding Planner was amazing and very helpful!

    Sent on 01/16/2014
  • K

    Kelcey · Married on 08/08/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Before you even get on property and are passing the golf course from the street you instantly get a calming feel. Pictures on line do not do this property any justice. You must go for yourself to see this property and your guests will fall in love once they arrive.
    We personally for our wedding had a staff change midway through planning. Although we were pretty distraught about this bc your wedding planner really does take the time to get to know you both and personalities. The beginning of this transition was not as smooth as I would have liked... I personally did a lot of reaching out to get questions answered. But once we got on the same page with wedding housing reservations which was a position created mid way through our planning and our new wedding planner things went perfect. All the staff there is so personable and willing to help out in every which way. A true TEAM atmosphere. Our guests were more than pleased with the services and hospitality we received for the time we were there.

    Sent on 08/20/2014
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/11/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough for the entire staff at Barnsley!! They absolutely delivered the most professional service that exceeded all of our expectations! Their onsite wedding planner, Stacy, really made the planning process easy and stress free!

    Sent on 08/30/2013
  • User6269565 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barnsley is a beautiful venue and our wedding was amazing! However, when it came to booking rooms at the resort, it was an absolute nightmare! Barnsley was so disorganized! I was amazed at how such a nice resort could mess up with booking so much! My advice to anyone who plans on doing their wedding at Barnsley is to look for other hotel options! Otherwise food, scenery, etc was wonderful!

    Sent on 01/25/2016
  • User2926938 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My wedding at Barnsley was beautiful and the scenery was perfect. I strongly recommend having a wedding planner because I did not and regretted that things did not go exactly as I had planned.

    Sent on 01/01/2013
  • User4217623 · 2+ years ago

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Barnsley Resort is absolutely beautiful, and provided a gorgeous setting for our Christmas wedding. However, the wedding staff left MUCH to be desired. Before we signed the contract to have our wedding at the resort the staff was responsive and helpful. Once the decision was made (and deposit was paid) things unraveled. Below are some of the issues we experienced:
    Our guests were told they could only get the room block rate if they booked a 2 night stay, even after we pointed out our contract explicitly said there was no minimum rental to get the discounted rate.
    The reservation for my husband's groomsmen lunch "wasn't on the books" when we arrived at the resort, despite a confirmation 2 weeks prior.
    The transportation to the ceremony for the mothers, bridesmaids, and bride was late. The ceremony was delayed 10-15 minutes between the late pick up and the wedding coordinator flubbing the processional.
    We had a large 2 sided buffet to serve the majority of our guests dinner and had 2 smaller buffets to ease congestion with lines. Within 30 minutes of the buffet opening, the large buffet CLOSED. So 200 plus people were in a single file line wrapped around the reception space. This was not ever in the plan, there was plenty of food, and when the wedding team was made aware they didn't apologize or hustle to remedy the situation. 30 minutes later the buffet was open again but by that time all our guests had waited in the long line.
    We paid for a 3 hour full open bar, but the bar closed after 2.5 hours. After complaining to the manager after the wedding, there was not even an apology. Instead they said they were sorry we felt disappointed, but there was nothing they could do at this point.
    Finally, we had a sparkler exit planned and we would leave in a golf cart off to our honeymoon suite. My husband and I ran through the sparklers....and there was no golf cart. We stood there like idiots.
    Beautiful location, but all the expense and hassle was NOT worth it.

    Sent on 01/08/2015
  • User3428803 · 2+ years ago

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Barnsley Gardens is a beautiful place to have a wedding. Our photos from the rehearsal dinner and wedding day are stunning thanks to their grounds. Unfortunately, this was the ONLY positive thing I can say about this venue. There were so many issues that came up with the wedding staff at this venue that i cannot possible list and go through everything here.To make a long story short, everything started off great for the first month until we lost the wedding coordinator on the grounds. After that, the new wedding staff that took over were completely incompetent. The worst part about the new people that were appointed to this position was that we caught them in several lies. They tried to get around many things that they told us we could have in the beginning and told lie after lie to try and cover themselves. Being in the wedding industry myself, this was the most horrible experience i have ever heard of or experienced. I would never recommend this venue to anyone for any event. I so wish it could have been a much better experience, but there is nothing we can do about that now. I just hope that no other brides and grooms have to deal with or have an experience at Barnsley Gardens like the one we had.

    Sent on 02/03/2015
  • User4985804 · 2+ years ago

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    We had a wedding at Barnsley Resort & reception at the ruins. My Famly & I had visited the resort several times & also played golf. We just absolutely love the property & the staff. Its so beautiful there. The wedding planners are less than desirable. They are not a good representation of this resort. . We communicated w/planners for several months & honestly NO ONE EVER answered any calls from me or my family. Would get return calls days later We made a deposit &reserved the venue. We find out right before the wedding that the deposit was NEVER charged. In fine print it states setup and taxes aren't included. Found out 3weeks before wedding it was $4k. We asked planners the morning of wedding for a direct # if we needed anything, since we had so much trouble in past with getting anyone. They were evasive & we never got. Transportation showed up 5 minutes before wedding to pickup stressed out guest. It was 39 degrees we got heaters. Half didn't work at all. Other half ran out fuel. Guest had to keep wood on fire. Planner came up during wedding to state that the desserts on chalkboard arent offered. We wrote down the SAME menu we had from the beginning and went back & looked thru our emails and there was clearly these desserts listed. So our guest had NO desserts. No one told us be out right out 10:30. They started throwing stuff out onto the street in front of ruins. Telling us everything had to be out. Guest were helping us load up with their dresses on. They threw a 3 generation family heirloom serving set out and lost a piece. My family & I called several times no one ever called back. 3 Family member fell trying to carry items back & forth for set up after getting ready, cause the golf cart the wedding planners stated were available for this purpose never showed up. Nightmare experience not to include VERY OVERPRICED. Thank goodness for the wonderful pictures.

    Sent on 04/17/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review