Weddings

Barber Park Education and Event Center Reviews

Barber Park Education and Event Center

Barber Park Education and Event Center

Boise, ID
Rating 3.9 out of 5, 28 Reviews
View more information

28 Reviews

Rated
3.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 77% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 3.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 3.1 out of 5

Awards

  • 28
Sort by:
  • A
    Aubrey Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wingate Wedding

    What a great place for a wedding! It was beautiful. The staff was amazing and the security guards did the jobs with a lot of professionalism.
  • Sam
    Samantha Married on 06/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The venue was perfect with plenty of indoor and outdoor space. The staff was so kind and so accommodating. We could not have asked for a better setting for our big day!
  • J
    Josh Married on 11/19/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Candy and her team were easy to work with through the planning process. The venue is beautifully located in the park area. They were responsive, and were very accommodating to our requests. We would highly recommend this as a venue for a wedding or other event.
  • A
    Abreeanah Married on 11/05/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have booked this vendor for my wedding. We rented the patio, and the center for our ceremony and reception. My future mother in law, is dealing with the contracts and stuff, but the lady is very responsive and helpful to us. We were able to go see it and look around, as well as take pictures. It is BEAUTIFUL, and the staff is very nice and professional. They do have some rules about decor , like you can only hang things from the wire ceiling, no tape or anything or they keep your deposit, but I am so excited to work with them! I give them only the highest review for how we have been treated this far!
  • C
    Cydney Married on 05/15/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved having our wedding at this beautiful venue. We originally planned on having the ceremony outside and the reception inside but it ended up raining on our wedding day. We were able to pull everything inside and it worked out perfectly! We had ~150 people at our wedding and it did not feel cramped or squished at all. Would definitely recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for someplace beautiful but also versitile.
  • T
    Tracy Married on 07/11/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I had the challenge of planning my daughter's wedding reception from out of town and we were lucky enough to have found the Barber Park Event Center. When I called to inquire about details, I spoke to Candy and she was very helpful, outlining the costs and explaining that because it was float season, we would have a per car parking fee. We decided to tally our guests so that we would cover the cost. I was able to secure our date and pay our first installment when we went to tour the venue 2 weeks later. I had proof of coverage from our Homeowner's Policy (required by the first venue we attempted to book) and Candy had their Risk Management department review it. She was very quick to reply that my coverage qualified and that saved us $100 off the contract cost.

    The venue itself is beautiful and clean. The floor plan tool (submitted 30 days prior to the event) was a wonderful help and I was thrilled to learn that the tables and chairs are not only included in the cost, but set up by the staff prior to our arrival. (we did choose to upgrade to the wooden chairs at $2 per chair) The first venue I considered would have required rental and delivery fees on tables and chairs, so that was an added savings.

    Candy was very quick to reply to any email question I had, and the staff was prompt to open the building on the day of our event. I must compliment Chris, who was there just prior to the reception, asking what needed to be done as if he were one of the family. We needed ice and he was filling the various containers and carrying things from the kitchen to the buffet. I greatly appreciated his help then and at break down time. He brought a rolling cart and loaded it with things that needed to be taken out to the vehicles. We had the entire venue clean and packed in under 1 hour. (tables and chairs were left for staff to remove)

    Our event was absolutely wonderful. It was a stress free experience enjoyed by all of our family and friends! I recommend it 100%
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 05/29/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    This venue was perfect for my not-too-serious wedding. I was looking for a place that was beautiful without being stuffy and that also showcased Idaho's best assets. This was such an ideal location. The staff never left me hanging for anything and I really enjoyed working with them. I would highly recommend this location for anyone who wants to keep things simple yet fabulous!
  • A
    Arlynn Married on 10/12/2014
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I was concerned about early negative reviews but clearly things have changed. I found Candy and the event center very helpful and responsive. As we had alcohol there was a security guard but she was very non intrusive and invisible. Chris was on hand to assist w/sound setup and microphones
    We were married in front of the beautiful stone fireplace on a chilly October morning The grounds & flowers provided a lovely backdrop for our photos. I would definitely recommend this venue.
  • User1557781 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We really enjoyed having our wedding here! It was the perfect place.. So beautiful and Candy was so easy to work with. She really made the process easy and was always there to answer any questions we had. It was a reasonable price for such a beautiful location! We couldn't be more happy with the place we chose for our wedding day:)
  • User1836231 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    From the very first time I emailed Candy, the event coordinator at Barber Park, through our actual wedding day, she was incredibly responsive and timely with getting me answers to my many questions. The event center itself is gorgeous, in a lush riverside setting, and is beautifully maintained. I love that it's so secluded and private - very few of our guests even knew it existed prior to our wedding, and all of them commented on how lovely it was. The only downside to this otherwise perfect place is the limitations due to being operated by the county parks system- closing at 9pm (so early!), and having quite a few restrictions on things that weren't allowed, such as sparklers, etc. Those were fairly easy to navigate around, though, and we found that it was more than worth forgoing a sparkler-exit in order to have such a beautiful setting for our wedding. As a bonus, the cost is reasonable and even includes table/chair setup - however, ONLY inside the building. We must have missed that part of the contract and were scrambling last minute to get the chairs setup outside for our ceremony. All in all, we had a perfect day and would highly recommend!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 03/28/2009
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    This was a excellent facility, and the staff was outstanding. we will have very fond memories for generations to come in our families. Thanks so much for your support during our kids wedding. We will always tell others and encourage them to use this facility for their larger events. Rob Fairweather deserves a big atta-boy for his due diligence in being there in all times of need, what a great person to have supporting us! Thanks, Greg & Sarah Kirkes PS, keep up the great work and hats off to all who manage this wonderful facility!
  • User1716427 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    LOVED this venue for my wedding. Everything was gorgeous and they were easier to work with then what I thought based on the other reviews. My husband and I looked at many places before finally selecting Barber Park. For the price, it just cant be beat. Plus its right by the water so it makes for great pictures! Since the venue is City run there are lots of rules, but they are pretty easy to follow.
  • S
    Shayla Married on 06/04/2010
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Beautiful venue and really nice staff to work with. The front office was really great and easy to work with anytime I needed to get a hold of them they were available. It was really nice to have the venue as early as 8 am for decorating. The only thing that I would have preferred is for the venue to be available to a later time. But overall I was thrilled. Everyone loved it and is now recommending it to friends.
  • C
    Courtney Married on 05/16/2015
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    Beautiful facility. Great price compared to other venues in the area. They have rather strict vendor insurance requirements but once they are approved and on their list it is great.
  • A
    Amanda Married on 08/02/2014
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was a beautiful venue for our wedding. I couldn't have asked for a better atmosphere for the wedding I was envisioning. The service was wonderful and they set up all the tables for us so we only needed to decorate it on the day. The downside was not having access to the venue to set up the night before, and the process of designing the layout was a little confusing. All in all a wonderful place to get married.
  • K
    Kelsey Married on 10/06/2012
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    For me, it was so important to be able to have my wedding ceremony outdoors with a very close indoor reception area. This was the perfect venue for that and a great value as it includes tables and chairs. The only unfortunately part about this location is the curfew. It is a little early if you have a young wedding party and guest list. That being said, we just planned something downtown so everyone could celebrate together.
  • User1983754 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    The center is gorgeous, new, and easy to decorate.
    The staff are friendly, professional, and responsive.
    The center is run by the county which means more restrictions than a private event center. You have to use their alcohol vendor and there are additional restrictions for all other vendors (namely they have to have their insurance checked and be a registered vendor). Also, if you want sparklers you have to get a permit from the county. Finally you have to be done by 9:00 and out by 10:00.
    It's super adorable though, and the rental includes tables and chairs (awesome!) also they have you make a layout so they will set up the tables and chairs for you!
    So absent the vendor restrictions, this is really a great venue. And it's a wonderful setting for pictures!!!
  • User2784586 2+ years ago
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    Gorgeous Venue, especially for the price. Coordinator is very responsive and the staff on site during your event are professional and easy to approach. They are a bit ridged with changes though.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 08/08/2015
    Rating 3.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.5 out of 5
    Not very flexible and tons of restrictions. Candy was amazing to work with and was very nice and helpful. Chris was nice and helpful to me, the bride, but then I heard that after I had left he was extremely rude to my family and guests. It was a gorgeous facility but there were so many restrictions that it took away from the fun of the reception and from planning. We weren't able to have a rehearsal for the ceremony because they wouldn't let us schedule ahead of time for the night before, and then a week before the wedding let us know that they booked another wedding the night before so there was no chance of rehearsing at the ceremony site, and after I sent in my floor-plan (They required me to have), they said they would set up but then only did half.
  • S
    Shauna Married on 04/25/2009
    Rating 3.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    I absolutely loved this venue for my wedding...absolutely beautiful!

    The downside is that it is run by the County, so there is NO flexibility. I had the same issue with the security guards and having to vacate the building...but its not like you don't know it going in to your agreement.

    We also had an "excessive cleaning" charge that came up ONE YEAR after our wedding. I'm still not sure what that was all about since we left the place how we found it, but it was easier to pay it than argue.

    Barber Park Education and Event Center's reply:

    Thank you for your review of our facility. I am sorry that you felt that we were not flexible, we do try to make it as easy as possible but we do have policies that we have to adhere to.

    As for your excessive cleaning charge we do let the client know what may cause the excessive cleaning charge. We do send the invoice out within a week after the event is over but unfortunately we do not always receive a respose back, so we re-issue the invoice or try calling.
  • K
    Katei Married on 09/07/2008
    Rating 3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    We found the Barber Park Event Center to be a beautiful and new location in Boise. It provided us with an perfect setting for an outdoor wedding on the covered awning area and a great indoor reception. It's really a beautiful location that has everything you need; table, chairs, speakers, ect. We did have problems with the staff there. We found them hard to get a hold of. They switched the person in charge half way through so it was like starting over completely. They required us to have 2 security guards, which we had to pay for of course. Then we saw only one there, and all she did was sit in the back and read her book! Pretty disappointing. But overall the setting was so pretty and worked out great for our needs.

    Barber Park Education and Event Center's reply:

    I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with our service. It was out of our control when the first Coordinator left the job. I was always available and not hard to get a hold of as I always answer the phone or return the call within the same day. We do require security guards at our events, two guards for events with alcohol or with over 200 guests and 1 guard with no alcohol or under 200 guests. We only charge the event the exact cost we are charged from the security company. If only one guard was there you were only charged for one guard. I am sorry to hear the guard sat in the back and read a book if you would have notified us of this at the time we would have taken care of it. I have talked to the security company regarding this issue.
  • K
    Katie Married on 10/04/2008
    Rating 2.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    We chose the Barber Park Event Center for the proximity to the church, and for its contemporary style, and for the nature surrounding it. The value for the price was very good, but there were so many stipulations and rules.
    Originally, when we booked the venue, the woman who helped us and was in charge was FABULOUS. She was very helpful, and easy to get ahold of. When the time got closer to our wedding, another woman had taken over her position. She was the opposite of helpful, and very difficult to get ahold of. We had trouble coordinating with her, and the rest of our vendors, who I (the bride) booked, had some difficulties working with her.
    The actual building was wonderful. It has a kitchen, fireplaces, 2 outdoor patios, etc etc.
    A great bargain.
    One other thing to be weary about is that they made us be out of the building, including all rentals, decor, etc by 9 pm because of county ordinances. It was okay for us because we still had a 5 hour reception, but it was hard for our people cleaning up.

    Barber Park Education and Event Center's reply:

    I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with our service. It was out of our control when the first Coordinator left the job. I took over the position in the middle of many events that were booked at the time and no one else had any issues getting a hold of me. I was always available and I always answer the phone or returned the call within the same day. I did have to at times change what the fist Coordinator may had told people as they were not in line with our rules or policy of the building or were unfeasable. For this I do appologize but I did not want you to have problems the day of your event. As for vendors, it was not our resposibility to coordinate with them We rented only the facility. The event hours of the building were always very clear. The event rental is from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. for the actual event and from 9 p.m. to 10 p.m. to cleanup and exit the building. I would dispute that you were asked to leave at 9 p.m.
  • Kathleen
    Kathleen Married on 06/04/2011
    Rating 2.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    I was so excited to get married at Barber Park, it is were my husband proposed and is a park that both of us have happy memories at. I realize since it is part of the city parks and rec they have certian guidlines they have to go by, but overall I think their customer service has left something to be desired.
    The day we met with the girl at Barber Park with my husband, mother and mother-in-law we were told that, they are very busy with weddings in the summer, I completly understand it's beautiful, and that we had to send an email exactly one year in advance to get the date I wanted because it was during busy summer wedding time. We asked all asked many times to make sure that what we were being told was accurate and we were told yes that all we need to do was send an email at midnight one year to the day in advance to get the date and that the email will be time stamped so they will know when we sent it, incase another bride sent one the same night. So the night one year in advance my mom, husband and I all sent emails to make sure it for sure was received. I was so excited the next morning to get a call saying yes I was having my wedding there in a year, that call never came. I called them and was told that another bride had emailed to but had also filled out some sort of application. That application and their website had changed since I met with the girl at the site. Because I wasn't told that things had changed there was a possibility I wasn't going to get my wedding date. I think my mom and I made enough of a stink that Barber Park finally realized that they had made a mistake and I go the wedding day I wanted.
    The next problem was all of the vendor insurance they wanted. And I feel like they were hounding my vendors to give them insurance, which some don't have because it makes no sense and is expensive. Like I said earlier I know that since it is a city/county building there a lot of beuracratic things that need to happen but I also felt it was completely unnecessary for my band to have insurance, they were only playing music outside, that's it. I also wish they had given me more than one choice for a bar vendor, I feel that giving at least one more choice will make people happier.
    Overall, the day turned out beautiful and the location was great, so was the price.
  • User1733719 2+ years ago
    Rating 2.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    No Parking. Never was available after 4 to see the Venue.
  • M
    Mark Married on 11/05/2011
    Rating 2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    As my wife and I were searching for a venue for our wedding, we found the Barber Park Event Center website and were excited to see it. Upon visiting the center, we loved the location and thought the trees surrounding it would be perfect for a fall wedding. We booked our wedding for November 5th. Although the facility is beautiful, it is run by the county therefor you must follow their rules to the "t". There is absolutely no flexibility in their policies. You must hire their bar caterer and their security guards. All of your vendors must have insurance to come on to the property for your event. Our flower people had not renewed their insurance, so they had to meet someone off-site and transfer the flowers to them to get to us. Why would a flower company need insurance to deliver flowers? As my bride and I arrived at the facility when the reception began, we first saw the facility employee who was dressed like she just came from the ranch and had the most unfriendly look on her face, talking to one of the security guards out front. My wife asked me "what is wrong, did something happen?" Nothing had happened, this girl just couldn't force out a smile. Even when my bride said "hello" to her she received a snotty look in return. The bar caterers must have had somewhere better to be as well because they couldn't even to pretend to be having any fun. They were sure keeping busy and making good tips, but acted like they had somewhere better to be. As my new wife and I were having our first dance, a uniformed security guard strolled across the dance floor right in front of us as our videographer and photographer were recording our dance. All events, like ours, must end at 9pm at this facility. At 8:15, as our crowd was beginning to thin, the event staff (the unfriendly girl) came in and started breaking down chairs and tables. She was stacking these chairs so loudly that we could hear it from across the room and while the music was still playing. Needless to say, between the large list of their rules, the inability to accommodate their clients and the lack of professionalism, I would never recommend this location for a personal event.

    Barber Park Education and Event Center's reply:

    Our insurance requirements are in place to protect the event center as well as the renter. We who run the facility would like to make sure that the venue stays in pristine condition for all events. When choosing vendors I always recommend using a legitimate business. A legitamate business would have the insurance policies that the center requires (general liability, workman's comp and auto insurance following Idaho State Law).

    As for the event attendant I do appologize immensely for this unfortunately Barber Park has gone through staffing turnover and the attendant on duty that day was filling in from Expo Idaho. I can assure you that this attendant is no longer working at the Barber Park Education and Event Center.