Weddings

Bacchus Bistro a Vins Reviews

Bacchus Bistro a Vins

Bacchus Bistro a Vins

Brooklyn, NY
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 15 Reviews
View more information

15 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 15

20 User photos

Sort by:
  • Cara
    Cara C. Married on 08/28/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Rehearsal Dinner Spot

    Bacchus hosted our August 2021 rehearsal dinner, and we could not be happier with how things went. Meryl and Bruno know exactly what they’re doing, and the event went perfectly—the food was fantastic, the garden was beautiful, the waiters were very attentive (no empty wine glasses!), and they were incredibly accommodating with our various last-minute requests and questions. They also did a wonderful job setting up the space; the lights and draping in the back garden felt magical, and they set up the flowers, linens, and decorations beautifully.

    Our guests had a wonderful time, and we would recommend Bacchus to anyone. Thank you again, Meryl and Bruno!
  • ejmr
    Stella Married on 08/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Unique NYC gem and summer wedding

    We wanted an intimate, elegant and festive summer wedding and Bacchus provided that and more! It's so rare to find outdoor NYC venues that match your vision and Bacchus went above & beyond our expectations. Three key highlights include location, food and service.

    Location: Elegant, cozy and minimalist decor with a friendly and casual sophistication. It's a perfect mix of city and nature for out of town guests (and locals). Also, the venue is easily accessible with street parking and public transportation nearby.

    Food: We received glowing reviews from our guests about the food, drink and dessert menu! Thanks to Bacchus for working with us to customize a brunch menu that was allergy-friendly and tasty.

    Service: Meryl and the entire Bacchus team provided excellent support and made the day run so smoothly. Big shout out to Meryl, who makes the Bacchus magic happen. She is highly professional, very organized and extremely talented in planning special events. Meryl was very responsive to emails and provided timely updates/feedback/ideas throughout our discussions. She was such a joy to work with and is the reason why we decided to work with Bacchus.

    Highly recommend Bacchus for your wedding or special event.
  • Christie
    Christie Married on 06/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Hidden Brooklyn oasis!

    I lived around the corner from Bacchus for five years and it was always my favorite restaurant, one of the first spots I took my (now) husband to. We were struggling to find a venue that felt "us," until one night we walked past Bacchus and saw a wedding was taking place in the beautiful back garden. My then-fiancé and I had the same thought at the same time, so we did our research and set up time with Meryl. We immediately knew we'd be in good hands. The entire Bacchus team is wonderful -- friendly, accommodating and responsive. They have you do your tasting BEFORE you sign the contract - because they are one of the few venues that take pride in their food. Tom and I had eaten so many lackluster wedding meals, so this was important to us and they delivered. Countless guests told us it was the best wedding meal they've ever had. The location was beautiful -- allowing us to have our dream "backyard wedding in Brooklyn". It glows with fairy lights and the gorgeous tree that's the focal point of the garden. We were able to comfortably fit all 120 of our guests in the 2 adjacent gardens for both the seated ceremony and dinner. Then we migrated into the restaurant for our reception/dance party. Bacchus let us stay dancing until 1am! It really was the perfect night, made so special because of the Bacchus staff. If you want proof of the staff's excellence, ask to borrow my wedding videos -- subtly in the background, you'll see Meryl and Alvaro swooping in to ensure our day was perfect: fluffing the train on my dress as I walked by, adjusting a tree branch to not interfere with our best man's head, keeping the wine glasses full. Thank you to the team there for everything!
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth Married on 05/18/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Simply perfect venue for our wedding

    We loved Bacchus! From start to finish, Meryl and the team made sure we were well taken care of. We had the opportunity to try many of the menu items, and chose wine to accompany them. They are extremely responsive via email, and helped us plan out the whole day. We had around 75 people attend, but the venue can hold up to 120 (ish). Multiple guests said it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding (or ever had in their lives! in some cases). Just fabulous! I highly recommend them.
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca C. Married on 05/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible Hidden Gem

    We had our wedding recently at Bacchus and I cannot recommend them highly enough. Meryl, Bruno, and the entire team exemplified professionalism and hospitality. The backyard is so beautiful and looked like a string light dream land for our reception. Getting married under that big tree was heaven. The whole wedding was intimate, laid back, romantic, and exactly what we wanted. Meryl and Bacchus handled everything--from decorating to coordination with vendors, etc. I didn't need to do a thing the day of except show up. Above all else (and most importantly) the food was insanely good. I want everyone to have the wonderful experience we did and get married there.
  • M
    Madison Married on 09/22/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We LOVE Bacchus! If we could give them more stars we would! We found Bacchus a little over a year ago when we were looking for a wedding venue. We looked at a lot of places but when we walked in I knew this was the one. We got married there September 2018.

    After deciding on Bacchus for our wedding we went there a lot over the next year—dinner, drinks, meeting our wedding vendors. The staff was always so lovely, warm, and accommodating. The food always so yummy.

    Meryl is the best! She, Alvaro, and team are really on top of their game. You get early on that they are there to make your wedding day the wedding day you imagined. They are professional, flexible, and warm. We really felt they cared about us and what they were doing.

    The space is beautiful. The tree in the garden with twinkle lights—stunning! The food—let’s just say Yum!
    Our guests raved about the space, the service, and the food. The trifecta!

    Meryl, thank you for helping to make our day perfect---because it was! We are so full of gratitude!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Magical and perfect in every way!

    We had an intimate backyard wedding here in August, and it was absolutely magical. When I was first looking at venues, I thought this place was too good to be true- a Brooklyn restaurant that has no food/drink minimum, no time limit on the event, and no venue fee?!? The entire experience, from our tasting and crafting of the menu, to planning the day of details, and finally to the big day went so smoothly and was even more than we could have imagined. Meryl, Alvaro, and the rest of the staff were so friendly and helpful, they took care of everything, including set up of all the beautiful decorations (that come included with the venue), the tent when it rained (the tent is also included), the music (we created a Spotify playlist and Meryl handled everything else). With their help, we were able to focus on what was important to us that day- a meaningful ceremony, great food and drink, and celebrating with our 70 guests in a gorgeous venue!!!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 09/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Having our wedding at Bacchus Bistro was a perfect, magical experience. It was perfect for us because of who we uniquely are and wanted. We wanted an intimate, comfortable, and heartfelt wedding with a touch of nature (the garden and that magical tree), great food & wine (try the hanger steak, gnocchi and pumpkin soup!), and warm, courteous service. Bacchus had all of this. The wedding coordinator Meryl and head chef Alvaro were gracious and very knowledgeable hosts. We knew and trusted we were in the hands of professionals. We can go on and on about this venue. it is a special place, and a local treasure.
  • J
    Justin Married on 06/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We got married at Bacchus and all thanks to Meryl it was a phenomenal experience from start to finish!

    The restaurant is charming and beautiful, the food is amazing, and the outdoor patio fit our 110 guests with plenty of room to spare.

    The planning process was exceptionally easy. We were trying to plan our wedding from across the country, and we were able to do so because it was very easy to be in touch with Meryl by email.

    All of our guests raved about the food and enjoyed the open bar. The service was phenomenal –– I don't know how they were able to feed 110 people at the same time without requiring pre-orders, but they made it look effortless.

    If you're looking for a place to eat or a place to get married you should definitely visit Bacchus. Meryl made our wedding amazing and we are so grateful!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 05/26/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had the "welcome dinner" for our wedding at Bacchus in late May and were extremely happy with it. We had about 65 people in the outdoor garden.

    Compared to other restaurants in the area, it's extremely reasonable price-wise. There were no other venues that had a lovely garden that could seat such a large group of people.

    They do a lot of events and run them like clockwork. Unfortunately, the night of our event it torrentially rained. When we arrived, the outdoor garden was completely covered and still looked beautiful, despite the horrible weather. The dinner was seamless in terms of everyone ordering, the food arriving on-time and accurately, wine service, everything.

    They give you a pretty vast choice in terms of what you can put on the menu, so I would recommend eating here a few times to try the different options out. We chose the branzino, gnocchi and half-chicken and everyone was raving about the food. The food was way better than the food at our actual wedding, which wasn't bad.

    If we didn't want to have a band and 100+ people at our wedding, I honestly would have considered having our actual wedding at Bacchus. When we were trying out the food, we were there one night when one was going on and it looked lovely!
  • S
    Sophie Married on 05/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wife and I got married at Bacchus last week (May 2017) and everything could not have gone better. From start to finish, Meryl and the entire staff were extremely professional, courteous, and kind, and they all absolutely went above and beyond to make sure that we had our dream wedding ceremony and reception. The restaurant is an absolutely gorgeous venue, and we lucked out with perfect weather so we were really able to enjoy the outdoor space to the fullest extent. We chose not to have an outside coordinator since Meryl was very accommodating to any decorations and specific events we asked for, and gave her detailed instructions for our music, flower arrangements, table setups, ceremony, and overall timeline. The setup looked gorgeous when we walked in and was exactly as we had asked. We were also able to do things such as bring in an outside wedding cake at no extra charge, making it easy to customize the day exactly as we wanted. We got nothing but rave reviews from our guests all day and they have continued to roll in since the event, and I know we will always remember this amazing day in large part because of how fantastic the entire staff was. The food service was amazingly quick considering that we had over 70 guests, and they were friendly, accommodating, and beyond wonderful (as they are during regular dinner service as well!). They could charge double for their services and it would still be an amazing value! I cannot recommend them highly enough, and they will do everything they can to help you have a wedding exactly the way you imagine.
  • Erica
    Erica Married on 05/20/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I got married at Bacchus in May 2017. Prior to planning our wedding, we had been to Bacchus for dinner and brunch, always having a wonderful experience. After beginning our wedding planning, Bacchus was an easy choice for our wedding venue. We loved that Bacchus was able to accommodate a smaller wedding (we had around 60 guests), we were also excited about the ability to have our ceremony and dinner reception in the back garden.

    Throughout the year before our wedding, we were in constant contact with Meryl, an incredible person and resource, who really helped bring all of the details of our wedding together. We had a wonderful food tasting followed by an equally wonderful wine tasting a couple months before our wedding. Meryl stayed in constant contact with us throughout these months, ensuring that everything was coming together smoothly. As our wedding date approached and we had our last meeting at Bacchus we knew without a doubt that we were in incredibly great hands.

    Our wedding day was beautiful and came together perfectly. This was largely due to Meryl and the incredible team at Bacchus. We received constant compliments throughout the evening on pretty much everything Bacchus had to offer including the passed hors d'oeuvre, entrees, wine and dessert. My husband created dinner and after dinner playlists and we were able to easily connect to the sound system at Bacchus, and the music during dinner sounded great. The garden is beautiful, so we did not really add much as far as decor, just simple centerpieces that we dropped off the night before and Meryl's team set up for us. At around 10 pm, our party transitioned inside to the wine bar where we were able to continue having a great time. The Bacchus team even brought in the remaining cupcakes on the cupcake tower for our guests to enjoy.

  • V
    Victoria Married on 04/22/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The entire team at Bacchus was FANTASTIC. Meryl (manager) kept in constant contact with fiancé and I from the beginning until the end. Delicious food, wonderful staff- very flexible team to help us with our special day. The restaurant itself is a bit small, so we decided to invite our guests to join us in the two beautiful gardens in the back.. April showers bring May flowers... It was an April Monsoon Wedding and it was wonderful! The staff sealed off the back garden roof and installed heat lamps. The back was filled with candles and wonderful drapery. The wedding was simple and superb. The staff was extraordinarily accommodating and professional. The food and wine were great- our friends continue to comment how lovely the wedding was! Lucky us! Thank you Meryl and everyone at Bacchus!
  • C
    Caroline Married on 10/01/2015
    Rating 2.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    I too had a wedding here 1+ years ago and it was chaotic. Meryl makes lots of promises and makes you think she is flexible and you can do whatever, but most of that is her buttering you up so you wont bring in an outside coordinator. She begged us not to, saying she would totally handle everything and we had nothing to worry about. That she would be with us through the whole evening and help with everything.. HA.

    The week of the wedding Meryl was completely unreachable. We tried getting confirmation from her on when we could come set up and finally we got a hold of the owner and were told "anytime". So when we arrived to set up an hour before guests were going to be arriving, the place was a total nightmare. Actual puddles of water were out in the garden ceremony and reception area. Chairs and tables were strewn about, leaves everywhere. The staff thought the wedding began at 6:30 instead of the 5 oclock that we had put in our contract with the restaurant!! Thankfully the staff were incredible and helped us get everything in order before the guests arrived. (Meryl meanwhile was nowhere to be found). During planning, I asked if she could make sure the bulbs for the string lights were all working and that the white drapery they had was washed because there was dirt in them. She said "Absolutely!" and sure enough, never did either. Dinner was served very late. And I had to physically chase Meryl down in order to get coffee and tea served (another thing she told me she would do). She also told me she could handle the music for the ceremony, which she totally messed up.

    All in all though the food was delicious and it was a great wedding. The guests didn't notice anything and everyone seemed to have a good time.

    Conclusion, Bacchus had great food and is an inexpensive venue choice. If you're renting just the garden space, you should plan to do everything yourself even if they assure you they'll help. I guess you get what you pay for.
  • S
    Sandra Married on 05/30/2015
    Rating 1.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    Had a small wedding here, and it was very chaotic. The beginning was so unorganized by their half. They told me last minute that there was another wedding being hosted earlier, and informed us that we could come at a specific time to set up and allow our guests to come in. About almost an hour later, we are allocated the place. We ended up starting later than usual and set up was not done appropriately (being rushed by restaurant manager/staff). Communication, responsiveness and professionalism was not that great. But the place is very affordable and the food & wine did taste good. Almost had a break down before the ceremony due to the chaos earlier, but everything eventually worked out towards the end. I was too stressed out and upset to let it ruin the rest of my day. At least, my wedding is over & I don' t think I would recommend any of my close ones to come have a wedding here even though it is affordable & the food/wine are good. It was too stressful, disorganized, unprofessional. If I can change my wedding, I would probably have gone to another place instead and paid a bit more for some organization. Anyways, I had to vent.