AvantGarden Reviews

126 | Houston, TX
See photos, pricing and details

126 Reviews for AvantGarden

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

126

56 User photos

AvantGarden 1
AvantGarden 2
AvantGarden 3
AvantGarden 4
AvantGarden 5
+ 52
Order by:
  • McKenzie

    Mckenzie Watson · Getting married on 11/11/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique, Enchanting, Exactly What We Wanted

    My husband Michael and I have been hanging at Avant Garden for years: we used to have tango classes upstairs, and we're there most Monday nights for live jazz or to meet friends for drinks. We'd seen Mariana showing the place to prospective couples time and time again, so when we got engaged, we knew right away we wanted to have our wedding there.

    Avant Garden as wedding venue did not disappoint -- in fact, it blew us away! Mariana works so well with couples and makes the process so easy. As someone who plans large events for work I know how stressful and complicated it can be contrasting different quotes and vendors and trying to pin down every single detail, even details you've never thought of before.

    Having our wedding at Avant Garden made planning so straightforward, with Mariana asking us all the right questions to help us think through exactly what we wanted for our day. She is a true industry professional and yet engages with the personalism of a friend.

    The space is totally unique and beautiful. It shows up great in pictures and feels like an enchanted garden, with courtyard hangings, all kinds of plants and greenery, and a darling spiral staircase. Mariana works with you so that you can customize as much as you would like (she can provide a dj; we chose to bring our own; that worked just as well) and she can take care of the rest.

    We highly recommend Avant Garden as a wedding venue, event space, and classic all-around neighborhood bar. Thank you to Mariana and the team!

    Sent on 12/16/2019

    AvantGarden's reply:

    McKenzie and Michael,
    I was very excited when you choose us for your wedding. It was a lot of fun to assist you with your special day. Your wedding was beautiful, your family and guests were great.
    Best wishes from the AvantGarden team.
    I hope you come back soon for Jazz and pizza :)
  • Jasmine

    Jasmine P · Getting married on 09/12/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An Easy Pick for a Venue and Services!

    We had our wedding reception at Avant Garden on 12/21/2019 and it was everything we hoped for and more. You cannot beat the value! From the beginning Mariana assured us not to worry and she was absolutely right. When we were initially interested, she was very prompt in her responses and even dealt with all the questions from my mother. She is very flexible with your needs. We opted for the All Inclusive Package with some modifications. We had a couple meetings before the big day to finalize some details and it was fantastic. Mariana was always there coordinating and keeping us on schedule. She even did a great job accommodating all my guests and we had at least 180 people. Please do the taco truck--these are literally some of the best tacos in town. And at the last minute we decided to do the pizza--highly recommend, it was a great late night treat for guests! I received so many compliments about how great the venue was, how tasty the food was and how it was the most fun ever. That's what Mariana cared about. Trust in Mariana and the team at Avant Garden and you won't be disappointed---you will be the chillest bride leading up to the big day!

    Sent on 01/07/2020
  • S

    Sonya I Pattel · Married on 12/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    bohemian candlelit and very easy for long distance planning

    We wanted a wedding in winterland
    apparently that was too much to ask for in Houston, however our wedding was everything we dreamed of.
    Avant Garden is centrally located, making it easier for out guests to uber, since we chose to go with the highest open bar available :)
    when we arrived to the venue, we were pleasently surprised to see all the decorations and curtains set up for us. It was amazing how beautiful and magical everything looked.
    Mariana helped us coordinate every step of the wedding. Since we currently live out of the country, we could have not been able to do it without her help.
    She and her staff made everything go very smoothly, transitioning from the ceremony, to the dinner to the cake and desserts and the dancing afterwords.
    Another reason we chose this venue was the flexibility and willingness to accommodate our vision for our wedding wich included live music and live dance performances.
    Breaking away from our family's traditions, we went with the onsite taco truck for our catering. The food was fresh, delicious and plentiful not to mention the professionality of the food servers.
    They were able to accommodate the all the vegetarian, vegan and gluten free requests we made.
    Finally the flowers... my bouquet and the centerpieces were absolutely stunning. Better than expected.
    We are forever greatful. Thank you Avant Garden for making our wedding so wonderful!

    Sent on 12/30/2019

    AvantGarden's reply:

    Sonya and Amhad,
    Thank you for the prompt (and nice) review!
    It was a pleasure to assist you and your family with your wedding. Never before I saw guests grandparents included, dance so much!
    You have a beautiful family.
    Best wishes and happy new year's to all.
    Mariana and the AvantGarden team
  • Mari

    Mari Sol Ferreira · Married on 11/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    vintage dream!

    My husband and I wanted a unique place. We had been to AvantGarden for a poetry reading and instantly knew this was our wedding venue.
    We requested information and read many reviews.
    The reviews for this venue are really good, however our wedding was absolutely fantastic. More than what we dreamed of having, for a very reasonable price.
    Mariana and her daughters took care of every detail for us. From the ceremony to the catering, dj, flowers and a delicious mexican style cake. Everything was perfectly coordinated for us so we could enjoy our celebration.
    Our families and friends were impressed with the venue's charm.
    We decided to go with the taco truck for a fun and delicious dinner and the gourmet pizzas from their outdoors brick wood burning oven.
    This is a great place for a wedding, if you are looking for an all inclusive and unique venue.

    AvantGarden 6
    AvantGarden 7
    AvantGarden 8
    Sent on 12/12/2019

    AvantGarden's reply:

    Mari Sol,
    Thank you so much for the lovely review!
    It was wonderful to assist you with your wedding!
    Best wishes from all of us at AvantGarden
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique and Personalized Wedding Experience

    When my husband and I began our search for a venue we were discouraged by prices, what venues offered, and the lack of uniqueness in properties. All that changed when we found Avant Garden! We were instantly impressed with the uniqueness of the space, the value, the amount of in-house vendors (and the flexibility if you did not want to use those vendors), and the ease and confidence of the owner. Throughout the process the owner, Mariana, communicated with us the things we needed to complete and answered any questions we had along the way. Our wedding was 10/19/19 and everything turned out beautifully! Mariana made sure to help coordinate our night and checked on us continually to see if we needed anything. Her daughter even took it upon herself to go to the drugstore during our reception to get me something I needed! We have received so many compliments from our guests on the decor, the venue, and especially the food. We were initially hesitant to used the taco truck on-site but we are so glad we did! We've had multiple guests ask how they can get a hold of the tacos again because they were that good. We had a Lord of The Rings themed reception and one of the bartenders made us a themed signature drink and wrote on the chalkboard in Elvish for us
    (a total surprise and not a request)! Mariana's daughter is also in charge of the florals at Avant Garden and did an amazing job. She made me and my bridesmaids absolutely beautiful bouquets, I told her I wanted something unique with lots of texture and she nailed it! Mariana and her team really know what they are doing. If you are looking to have a wedding that feels personalized and special that people will talk about long after the party go with Avant Garden!

    AvantGarden 9
    AvantGarden 10
    AvantGarden 11
    AvantGarden 12
    AvantGarden 13
    AvantGarden 14
    Sent on 10/27/2019

    AvantGarden's reply:

    Nicole,
    An overdue thank you! for the lovely review.
    I enjoyed very much assisting you with your very unique wedding. I had lots of fun meeting with you and talking about your vision. I'm very glad you were happy with my services :)
    Happy holidays and best wishes from the AvantGarden team 💛
  • Casey

    Casey Phifer · Married on 09/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best night ever!

    We had a fantastic wedding at Avant Garden - it could not have gone any better. Mariana is a true professional and her relaxed demeanor ensured that we had a calm, stress free wedding from the planning to the final event.

    Package: We went with the top package and I would recommend it. Mariana and her team crafted a gorgeous version of the colorful wedding we wanted complete with a bespoke arch, bouquet, and centerpieces.

    Venue: This place is a hidden oasis in Houston. It's so different from any other venue and was the first and only place we toured. If you're someone who appreciates vintage charm you'll love this space. The house contains enough space for guests' needs without making anyone feel isolated or cramped. We created a little cigar bar in the upstairs patio the dads loved.

    I recommend going for a bar visit in addition to a tour. We went on Friday evening with friends. It was so calm, people were playing chess and relaxing with friends. An impromptu jazz band broke out and we felt like we were back in New Orleans.

    Food: The food was amazing. Guests loves the ability to order the tacos of their choice (including veggie options) from the food truck. They also had a long bar full of fresh toppings such as roasted jalapeños. We recommend going for the pizza package. They have a wood burning pizza oven on site and carried trays of artisan pizza around on the dance floor. Guests raved about the pizza.

    Music: Loved the DJ and the guests enjoyed him too. He played hits for the older folks coupled with more current music for us. We loved when he would come out and dance with me or my mom because he made the party.

    Overall, this was one of the best nights of my life and my husband and I are so grateful to have this memory. Mariana and her team are relaxed and professional, you could not ask for a better crew of artists to help you get hitched.

    Thank you Mariana and the Avant Garden Team!

    P.S. The photos are by Platinum Water Photography (Credit: https://www.platinumwaterphoto.com)

    AvantGarden 15
    AvantGarden 16
    AvantGarden 17
    AvantGarden 18
    AvantGarden 19
    AvantGarden 20
    AvantGarden 21
    AvantGarden 22
    AvantGarden 23
    AvantGarden 24
    AvantGarden 25
    AvantGarden 26
    AvantGarden 27
    AvantGarden 28
    Sent on 12/14/2019

    AvantGarden's reply:

    Casey you were such a unique and easy-going bride, it was a lot of fun to assist you. We loved your friends and you family, everyone was very nice. And they had a blast :)
    Best wishes from the AG team 💜
  • V

    Valentina Rojas · Married on 09/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beyond expectations!

    “We were married at AvantGarden on September 15, 2019. From start to finish Mariana and her daughter Minerva were amazing!! They made the planning process easy and removed a lot of stress and worry the day of our wedding. They are truly professionals who excel at organizing and keeping an anxious bride calm. The venue is magical, and it was a fairy tale event that was over way too soon!! We went with the taco truck for our dinner catering and it was the best catering choice we could have made. Everyone from the venue including the florist, the dj and the bartenders were awesome! We definitely recommend AvantGarden and Mariana's team for a magical wedding! Will upload photos soon!
    Valentina and Raphael.

    Sent on 10/27/2019

    AvantGarden's reply:

    Valentina and Raphael, it was our pleasure to assist you and your wonderful parents with your wedding.
    Thank you so much for trusting the AvantGarden team. Best wishes from all of us. :)
  • J

    Jovana · Married on 09/07/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely wonderful!

    From our first meeting to the end of our wedding night, Mariana was a such calming presence. Mariana is such an expert in what she does, and to be quite honest, I don't know if I would have been able to plan my wedding without Mariana's help. My husband and I both have  jobs that keep us pretty busy, and knowing that someone else could take care of pretty much everything surrounding our wedding was a true life saver. She made planning our wedding such a breeze - I actually felt guilty a few times when people asked me if I was stressed out by wedding planning because I really had no reason to be stressed. I knew that Mariana was taking care of everything. For example, for the flower centerpieces for the tables for the reception, I just sent her some inspiration photos and said, if you could do something similar to this, that would be great. The result was fantastic and beautiful and honestly, better than anything I could have suggested.

    Our wedding ended up being even better than we could have ever hoped (and we had pretty high hopes/expectations!) and it was due to Mariana and her wonderful staff. Don't be fooled by the fact that the venue is a bar during the week, Mariana and her staff were so professional and so on top of it that this could have been a wedding in the fanciest and most expensive venue in town. The bartenders were very generous, the staff were so kind, and the food was amazing! We used both the pizza oven (for the cocktail hour) and the taco truck (for dinner) and we received so many compliments! A lot of people mentioned to us that it was the best food they ever had at a wedding and others were excited to find out the taco truck was permanently there so they could come back and eat there again. I'm so happy I picked Avant Garden for our wedding venue - it was truly perfect!

    Sent on 10/07/2019

    AvantGarden's reply:

    Jovana thank you so much for the review.
    It was my pleasure to assist you with your wedding!
    Such an easy going couple and such great families and friends, we had a lot of fun helping you coordinate the details
    Best wishes and much love!
    Mariana and the AG team 💖
  • B

    Brian Allen · Married on 07/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Confidence Inspiring and every little detail was accounted for

    The team at AvantGarden is a very well run and detail oriented team. They have hundreds of pictures to show you exactly what the event can look like if you so choose. They also allow you to make changes based on pictures you have. This is something we did and they made it look just about exactly the same as the picture. On top of the venue being extremely well decorated the food and drinks were just as well done. The taco truck got rave reviews all night as did the pizza that came out later in the evening. Overall, it was a great experience and AvantGarden took care of every detail leading up to the day and on the day.

    Sent on 01/09/2020
  • Katherine

    Katherine Anne Mcelvaney · Married on 05/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Eclectic venue with lots to offer

    Mariana and the whole AvantGarden team did a fantastic job hosting my wedding on 10/05/19. The venue itself is well-maintained and so charming and eclectic, with many beautiful spots for taking wedding pictures too. The value is really good because you get a lot along with the location. Bars onsite, sound systems, tables, linens, set-up and tear-down, great friendly staff, and of course Mariana herself, who acts as a day-of coordinator making sure everything runs according to schedule. This is invaluable because with her running the show you can relax and enjoy the special moments with your significant other, and friends and family. Mariana is very flexible and professional and meets with you several times to go over every detail to make sure your day is perfect. She's completely a pro! Her team can also provide flowers and decor, which I decided on very last minute and she was more than agreeable and flexible with, and the flowers and table decorations turned out better than I had ever anticipated. I highly recommend AvantGarden and couldn't have imagined a more perfect and magical place to host my wedding!

    Sent on 10/24/2019
  • M

    Mike Garcia · Married on 04/20/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent venue and incredibly helpful organizer!

    The moment we toured AvantGarden for our wedding, we knew it’d be the perfect venue. Mariana helped us through every aspect of the planning process and kept us on schedule with important decision making milestones. The wedding went smoothy and was a blast! It’s a great layout, and months later we still get comments from our family and friends about how much fun they had.

    Mariana typically recommends using the on-site taco truck (Taqueria El Palomo) for the wedding, and while we were skeptical at first, it was absolutely the right decision. The food there is incredible and your guests won’t be disappointed. They can accommodate dietary restrictions (vegetarian, gluten-free, etc.) as well.

    Mariana, we can’t thank you enough for helping us on our wedding day!

    Sent on 10/31/2019
  • H

    Helen Mcpherson · Married on 03/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is magical!

    I can't give this place and Mariana enough praise! If you're looking for something on a smaller scale, that is artsy with a bit of historical charm, this is the place for you. I was a pretty low maintenance bride to begin with so I think that worked in my favor, I knew it would be gorgeous no matter what because the venue is just so freaking beautiful! Also, working with Mariana was a breeze. She showed us pictures of previous weddings she had done with different kinds of centerpieces, colors, and bouquets. I could tell that she had a good eye for things and that anything she put together would turn out better than what I could imagine. It was very easy for me to put my trust in her and the overall process.
    When it comes to the food, you need to go with the taco truck. You'll get compliments on the food for weeks to come.
    Mariana helped us coordinate everything the day of the wedding and kept us on track the entire evening from start to finish. We could not have done it without her and my wedding could not have been any more perfect! We can't to visit again for some tacos and sangria!

    AvantGarden 29
    AvantGarden 30
    AvantGarden 31
    Sent on 04/09/2019
  • Jaclyn

    Jaclyn Moreira · Married on 03/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This venue was everything I could have wanted. Great packages, great price, great staff!!

    I could not say more about our experience. Avant- Garden has an amazing ambiance and great staff but Mariana is the key! She helps bring your vision to life and makes it happen! She made the process of planning my wedding completely painless. This was a one stop shop for ceremony, reception, food, drinks, flowers, dj- you name it. Their packages make the wedding planning process stress free. I couldn’t recommend this place more

    Sent on 06/25/2019
  • Katie

    Katie · Married on 02/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Avant was Amazing!

    Mariana and her team made our day perfect! She is so organized and took all the stress off of us. I never felt like a detail would be missed throughout the entire planning process. She is extremely flexible. All of our guest had a great time and really complemented her staff. They were attentive and so friendly. The food was amazing and I would highly recommend the taco truck that is onsite. There isn’t a thing that I would have changed about my wedding and Avant made it possible!

    Sent on 03/05/2019
  • Fliss

    Felicity Adams · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful, stress-free amazing wedding

    We had our wedding ceremony and reception at AvantGarden at the beginning of December (2018). From the planning to execution, the food and the venue, the atmosphere was great and everyone had a fantastic time. It was better than we could have ever imagined!
    Mariana’s knowledge and experience as an event planner and ‘day of’ coordinator was invaluable to us. She took so much stress out of the wedding planning and organization and put together something that far exceeded our expectations. On the wedding day she kept everything running on schedule and even made sure that myself and the groom stopped to have something to eat. We didn’t have to do anything apart from enjoy our day and spend time with our guests.
    The flowers and decorations really were both creative and stunning, my bouquet and the centerpieces were really amazing. We had the on-site taco truck cater and they were fantastic; the set up is really nice and the quality is outstanding – no one was left hungry and we received a lot of compliments.
    The DJ was great and kept everyone entertained and kept the order of events moving along, the bartenders and service staff were friendly, attentive and professional!
    We have been told by so many of our guests that they really had the best time and just how much they loved the venue, the food and the atmosphere - we only have Mariana and the AvantGarden team to thank for that as they really worked hard to make it amazing.
    Thank you, AvantGarden, for making our day so memorable and special, for all of the right reasons!

    Sent on 01/16/2019
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 11/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Wedding Venue for Ceremony and Reception

    We got married this past January at Avant Garden and everything was perfect! Mariana really is a pro with making everything run smooth throughout the entire event. Everything from the ceremony to the dinner to the dancing and firework send off. Can’t wait to see all the pictures once they’re back from the photographer (: Would recommend Avant Garden to anyone looking for a beautiful venue with outstanding staff

    Sent on 03/02/2019
  • T

    Travis Clark · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AvantGarden is amazing!

    AvantGarden is such a unique and beautiful place to get married. Mariana was so accommodating and handled so many of the little details, the decorations, the flowers, the DJ, everything went off without a hitch. The on-site taco truck and pizza oven were fantastic!

    Thank you, Avant Garden, for the perfect wedding!

    Sent on 11/16/2018
  • TEGE

    Tege · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A gem in Houston

    Avant Garden was the perfect venue for our wedding, The casual glamour and perfect location within Houston makes Avant Garden a rare gem. Mariana and her team are flexible for any requests and are always positive and helpful, responding to emails and meeting several times to iron out details. Our guests will not stop talking about how magical our night was. Highly recommend!

    AvantGarden 32
    AvantGarden 33
    AvantGarden 34
    AvantGarden 35
    Sent on 10/31/2018

    AvantGarden's reply:

    Trudy thank you so much for the review! We enjoyed being part of your wedding. You're both wonderful. Best wishes!
  • J

    Javier Balli · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    10/20/2018 Wedding

    My wife and I had our wedding here on 10/20/2018. We decided to do it at Avant Garden because we loved the venue's quaint and intimate feel, the cost was in our budget, and Mariana (owner) was very informative when we inquired.

    Since neither of us had ever planned an event like this, Mariana made sure we had all our ducks in a row. We had communicated via emails, text messages, and meetings about the details of the venue. We simply talked to Mariana about what we wanted and she made it happen! She really paid attention to the style we were looking for and executed it perfectly. The only thing we had to arrange was the food (she gave suggestions), valet (we used her recommended provider), and the photographer. Mariana was also very flexible with our requests. She even allowed us to have our small dog present all night.

    The day before the wedding we had a rehearsal and everything was pretty straight forward. On the day of we basically just arrived and Mariana and her staff were outstanding! Mariana handled all of the details flawlessly. The night could not have gone better, I would highly recommend Avant Garden.

    Sent on 10/24/2018
  • A

    Adela · Married on 10/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We're glad we choose this venue!

    What an amazing venue! AvantGarden is beautiful and the service second to none. We knew we wanted AvantGarden for our special day, best decision ever. So many magical spots for romantic photos, we loved the vintage look of the venue. The food from the taco truck and their service was fabulous and all our guests were impressed by the humble yet absolutely delicious food. Real texmex. Would certainly recommend it for a wedding!

    Sent on 10/16/2018

    AvantGarden's reply:

    Adela thank you for the beautiful review! It was our pleasure to assist you!
    Best wishes from the AvantGarden Team!
  • Tiffany

    Tiffany Norman · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical, beautiful, unique, fun

    I am beyond thankful to have chosen AvantGarden as our wedding venue. It's a magical place with a lot of charm. The owner, Mariana, is wonderful to work with. She served as our wedding coordinator throughout the planning process, which was really priceless. She and her team truly made our wedding day magical and beautiful. They made all of the floral arrangements and my bouquet, and they were more beautiful than I could have ever imagined. They also decorated the wedding cake, and it turned out so perfect. The venue itself is beautiful on its own, so there isn't much decorating to do. Perfect for the bride who doesn't want to DIY!! We received SO MANY compliments on the wedding and the venue. All of our guests had a ton of fun, and they all really appreciated the unique atmosphere. Also, I highly recommend using the on-site taco truck for the catering. The food is delicious and all of our guests raved about the tacos!

    AvantGarden 36
    AvantGarden 37
    AvantGarden 38
    AvantGarden 39
    AvantGarden 40
    Sent on 10/24/2018
  • T

    Theodore Othrat · Married on 09/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    perfect for our wedding

    My husband and I were invited to a wedding at this place a year before we decided to get married. We were enchanted by the unique ambiance and the character AvantGarden has to offer. And even though we wanted to choose a different venue at first because we share so many friends with the couple who's wedding we attended, we just went with our instinct and booked it here. That was the right decision! We ended up with close to 200 guests. At first we were nervous about the large attendance, but it all went smoothly thanks to Mariana and her staff. Our only regret: not hiring the taco truck. Our friends did and their food was much better than the expensive catering we chose. Everything was beautiful. We strongly recommend AvantGarden!

    Sent on 10/31/2018

    AvantGarden's reply:

    Theo, thank you so much for the nice review! It was a pleasure to assist you both with your wedding! Best wishes from the AvantGarden team!
  • N

    Noney · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had our wedding at this location and I wanted to review this venue while all the details are still fresh in my mind. Mariana, the venue owner is fair and honest. She works hard for your event making sure it flows as perfectly as possible. My wife and I had very little financial help, paying for our own wedding. Mariana allows payments over the entire span of the booking which made our lives so much easier. I found the most important part of this process was to be working with someone who communicated well and who truly loved their work and was not all about dollar bills. The DJ played all songs from our list and people danced their butts off. The flower arrangements were breathtaking! We hired Mariana to do all of our decorating. Our guests kept raving about the coolness of the details! The AvantGarden staff were amazing, courteous and constantly attentive, specially Mariana’s daughters! This venue sells itself. It’s a neat old historic mansion in the heart of Houston with a unique bohemian flair. The parking lot is small but as per Mariana’s recommendation we hired the valet services, and everything went smoothly. If you want an easy and beautiful wedding call AvantGarden! We’re happy we had ours here! Marcel and Noney

    Sent on 09/06/2018

    AvantGarden's reply:

    Noney and Marcel, I had a great time assisting you with your wedding. You are a funny and fun couple. I hope you come back to visit! Congratulations and much happiness to you both!
  • Serggg

    Serggg · Married on 08/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Test test test test test test test test

    TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST TEST

    Sent on 03/20/2019
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 06/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding at AvantGarden was absolutely incredible. This venue is unique, fun, and memorable, and Mariana is just fantastic and was extremely flexible in working with us. Our 65 guests seemed to really enjoy themselves and the all loved the food (I definitely recommend the taco truck; delicious and a great price).

    AvantGarden is such a cool place - once you step into the garden canopy in the back of the house, you will quickly forget you are on busy Westheimer. Aside from one fire truck, I did not notice any road noise at all. There are so many different areas for guests to explore and enjoy (upper balcony, front patio, upstairs dance floor, downstairs, etc.) and the whole place was decorated beautifully.

    My husband and I began wedding planning 2.5 months before the date, so we chose to go with the most inclusive package. We trusted Mariana's artistic and professional judgement - and I am glad we did because she delivered a wedding even more beautiful than we could have imagined. She also recommended a number of vendors (food truck, photographer, hair&makeup) who we used for the wedding and were extremely happy with their services as well.

    We got married at the end of June and even though I was worried about the heat and humidity, we had lots of fans running during ceremony and the outdoor dinner, but I never once felt uncomfortable (and I didn't hear any complaints from my guests, either.) Just make sure if you have someone videoing your ceremony, they are prepared for the loud fans and can filter the noise out when editing.

    We had a couple hiccups with the DJ who was backfilling for the regularly scheduled DJ, but Mariana was on top of the situation and kept the event running smoothly all night. Other than that, everything went perfectly.

    If you are looking for a venue that is both offbeat and beautiful, I highly recommend checking out AvantGarden. We couldn't be happier with our experience.

    Sent on 07/13/2018