Skip to main content
Weddings

Atlanta History Center Reviews

Atlanta History Center

Atlanta History Center

Atlanta, GA
4.8 out of 5 rating, 23 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.8 out of 5 rating
4.8 out of 5 rating
23 Reviews
95% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

23
  • Sedrick
    Sedrick Sent on 12/29/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Fall wedding

    The Atlanta history center was a perfect venue for my husband and I. We searched many places and immediately fell in love with the Swan house. The staff were very attentive. Steven, the event director, was knowledgeable, kind, and extremely responsive with emails. We would without a doubt choose the Atlanta History Center again for our wedding.

    Atlanta History Center's reply:

    Hi Sedrick,
    We really enjoyed working with you two! Your celestial theme reception in the ballroom was a treat to see something so fun and unique and you two were so easy to work with. Bold for catering and decor really did a nice job, especially with some last-minute adjustments that were needed.
  • Sabrina
    Sabrina F. Sent on 10/10/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Anna is a complete doll to work with!

    Anna and the team at the AHC are phenomenal and so professional! Anna was a dream to work with—quick to respond to any questions, flexible with plans and brainstorming possibilities, and the sweetest personality! Our wedding venue wowed our guests unlike anything else. We cannot thank Anna and the AHC team enough!
  • J
    Jenna Sent on 11/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Experience at the History Center!

    Having our wedding here was the best decision. There are so many beautiful outdoor spaces for the ceremony and cocktail hour, and the ballroom is a beautiful blank canvas for any style. We worked with Sam who was amazing throughout the process and invaluable to ensuring our wedding ran smoothly. She was also particularly helpful with COVID-related questions. Highly recommend!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • R
    Rl Sent on 09/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Venue

    We had our wedding at the Atlanta History Center in August, and we could not have had a better experience. We worked with Steven who from the beginning was fantastic to work with. He was professional, knowledgeable, quick to respond, and able to accommodate any concerns or changes we requested. The venue was absolutely stunning and the staff was a pleasure to work with. We could not have asked for a better place to have our wedding, especially given the difficulties navigating wedding planning and safety during the pandemic.

    Atlanta History Center's reply:

    Rohini,
    Thank you for choosing the Atlanta History Center as your venue and thank you so much for the kind words. We enjoyed working with you and your planner Sofia Ocampo. As a private nonprofit, weddings like yours help support our mission of preserving and sharing history. Best of luck to you and Chad!

    -The Private Events Team at Atlanta History Center
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth W. Sent on 06/12/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best Venue in Atlanta

    Getting married at the Swan House was a dream come true! There is not a more iconic, classic venue in Atlanta. The outdoor ceremony space is breathtaking and the indoor reception ballroom is incredible. It is hard to find a venue that is this stunning and can accommodate more than 200 people. We still have people come up to use saying how beautiful our venue was, some didn't even attend the wedding. We worked with Steven and he was great! He was very understanding and accommodating despite 2 COVID reschedules. He's been in the wedding industry and his expertise was really appreciated. I'm thrilled we were able to have the wedding of our dreams here!
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 05/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Garden Wedding!

    One cannot go wrong with having a wedding on the Swan House gardens of the Atlanta History Center (AHC). I took to heart having our wedding at a place that promotes the historic preservation of Atlanta. We had our ceremony and cocktail hour at the Swan House and the reception at the Grand Overlook Ballroom. My husband and I sought to work with Robin (Director of Sales) as she was highly recommended by our caterer. Robin was incredibly responsive, accommodating and kind to us and our vendors. Since AHC holds the liquor license, alcohol must be provided through them. We opted for a custom premium bar and it was a welcoming surprise that they offer a taste testing of their featured wines. We had our caterer provide mixers for our signature drinks and it is a testament to their top-notch bartenders that our guests loved our signature drinks as well as any drink that was concocted with their many in-house mixers. At first I was hesitant with having our wedding at the Atlanta History Center since it required me to do the heavy lifting of seeking out all of the vendors rather than being a packaged event that many places offer, but it allowed us to carefully select our premier wedding team that we consider are the best in the city, and quite honestly should rank among the best in the country. It was a dream come true having our wedding at the Atlanta History Center and we love that we can always visit the Swan House and reminisce about our wedding day.
  • Sarah Catherine
    Sarah C. Sent on 01/18/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Working with Robin and the Atlanta History Center events team was a complete delight from our initial visit to final walk through! Taking photos on the gorgeous grounds is a must and these shots are now some of our most favorite. During cocktail hour in the atrium guests enjoyed visiting the permanent and rotating exhibits while we ate a private dinner before our entrance. The Grand Overlook ballroom was the perfect space for dinner stations and dancing with a live band. You will not regret having your wedding reception at this classic venue!

    Atlanta History Center's reply:

    Sarah Catherine,
    Thank you for the review! We loved hosting your Wedding at the Atlanta History Center! Your pictures are absolutely gorgeous!
    Happy Married Life!

    -The Private Events Team at Atlanta History Center
  • User2579384 Sent on 04/17/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our ceremony in the Swan House Gardens was stunning!! And our cocktail hour and reception in the museum and the Grand Overlook Ballroom was beautiful. As an Atlanta native, I always wanted to get married on the steps of the iconic Swan House and the AHC team made that dream a reality! They were friendly, eager to please and easy to work with. We would highly recommend this venue!
  • B
    Brittney Sent on 09/08/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We used this venue for our reception with our ceremony held at a church downtown. We booked the Grand Overlook Ballroom and Museum Terraces for cocktail hour. On the day of our wedding cocktail hour was moved inside the museum and guests could not stop raving over how cool the space was and I'm so grateful the rain plan for our event was just as amazing as the original plan. Steven Dickson was wonderfully helpful throughout the year and the History Center day of staff was amazing as well. We also used the Swan House outside for pictures which are gorgeous just from the cell phone shots we received. Loved everything about our venue!
  • K
    Kelsey Sent on 04/21/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Apart from the elegance and magic associated with the venue, all of the staff made sure that our wedding day was beyond perfect. They were extremely attentive from the very beginning, making us feel so confident about our day. If you are looking for extremely professional people to work with, as well as a stunning venue, the Atlanta History Center is your place.
  • P
    Patty Sent on 03/01/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a beautiful venue. The facilities are wonderful, and the staff is great. I would definitely recommend this venue .
  • A
    Amy Sent on 04/05/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding at the History Center and could not be any happier with the choice we made. You won't find a classier or more beautiful venue...my guests were just in awe of the setting. Just as important, the staff made our wedding planning experience SO much less stressful! They are "all pro"- which makes a huge difference- especially when you're planning a wedding in a quick timeframe as we were (10 weeks!). Serena in the special events office took care of every detail and was such a pleasure to work with! We ended up having to move our ceremony indoors due to rain, so thankfully the Overlook ballroom was a beautiful "fallback plan" (as opposed to other sites we looked at where an indoor ceremony would've been in a closet). For the cocktail hour, our guests were able to pop into the museum's exhibit halls- which they loved. And then the ballroom was a spectacular setting, elegantly lit and decorated, for the reception. We were thrilled with it all!
  • K
    Kyndal Sent on 10/19/2010
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I was so happy with my wedding at the History Center. We had the ceremony in the new outdoor terraces, and the reception in the Grand Overlook. Serena was great to work with, and all of our guests loved the venue. It was very easy to do the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception all in one beautiful, convenient location.
  • L
    Elisha Sent on 12/08/2009
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding here on Sunday in the Overlook Ballroom. The views where just amazing and the service was great! We could have not had a more perfect venue.
  • S
    Suseen Sent on 05/07/2012
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Atlanta History Center was a wonderful decision for our wedding. Having a wedding ceremony in front of the Swan House and reception in the Grand Ballroom is stunning. Even pictures on peoples phones were amazing. The grand ballroom is very conducive to a great fun party since dinner and dancing is all in same room. Robin and the entire team were easy to work with and made it very simple and stress free.
  • K
    Kim Sent on 05/04/2008
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Atlanta History Center is a wonderful venue for any type of wedding ceremony and/or reception that you are planning. The grounds are absolutely beautiful for taking your photographs. The only caveat to my experience was that there was quite a few turn over in employees handling my wedding, so by the time all was said and done, I had dealt with three different people, and I was not always informed of the change. Other than that, I LOVED having my reception there.
  • Abigail
    Abigail Sent on 12/11/2019
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    The most beautiful wedding venue in Atlanta. No contest!

    We had the wedding of our dreams at the Atlanta History Center in October. When we tried to nail down our best decision of the wedding weekend, we kept coming back to venue choice. The AHC offers such a stunning variety of spaces, from the Swan House & Gardens to the Museum Terraces to the Grand Overlook Ballroom. It was so important to us that we have a seamless transition from our ceremony to the cocktail hour and reception, in three different & beautiful locations. We felt so at ease working with Robin and the entire AHC events team - they organized our timeline, floor plans, bar packages and more with total ease. We are still over the moon about our wedding and we credit so much of that to the Atlanta History Center!
  • User1783770 Sent on 08/27/2014
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    My daughter truly had the perfect wedding at the Atlanta History Center. We needed a venue with an outdoor wedding area and a ballroom large enough for 250 people. The AHC was one of the few places that had both. Steven Dickenson was very professional and easy to work with. He worked well with our other vendors.
    Luckily the weather held and the ceremony was on the lawn behind the Swan House. It was beautiful. The Overlook ballroom is a wonderful space; spacious enough for a large dance floor and the acoustics were great. The bartenders were also good.
  • C
    Crystal Sent on 09/29/2010
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Atlanta History Center is absolutely stunning. I wanted a venue that didn't need a lot of decoration, but had a charm of its own that would show through in photographs. (i also wanted hardwood floors to avoid ugly hotel ballroom carptet). This venue is perfect! My photographs look something out of a magazine. The venue is pricey, and they don't allow you to bring your own alcohol in (the alcohol is also pricey) but if you can splurge, choosing this venue is not a decision you'll regret.
  • C
    Crystal Sent on 09/29/2010
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Atlanta History Center is absolutely stunning. I wanted a venue that didn't need a lot of decoration, but had a charm of its own that would show through in photographs. (i also wanted hardwood floors to avoid ugly hotel ballroom carptet). This venue is perfect! My photographs look something out of a magazine. The venue is pricey, and they don't allow you to bring your own alcohol in (the alcohol is also pricey) but if you can splurge, choosing this venue is not a decision you'll regret.
  • M
    Melissa Sent on 05/10/2010
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    From the moment we say this venue, we knew it was going to be where we would be married. We had the wedding on the Swan House Lawn and the reception in the Grand Overlook ballroom. Everything was great and Robin was very helpful. Our only complaint was the service of the bartenders. Otherwise, everything was perfect!
  • User1467322 Sent on 12/09/2013
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The Atlanta History Center was a beautiful venue for our November wedding reception. We used the Swan House for first look and bridal party photos prior to the wedding and held the reception in the Grand Overlook. The ballroom is beautiful and our guests really enjoyed viewing the museum during the cocktail hour as well. We received many compliments on how elegant and classic everything was. Although the price is a little steep for an Atlanta venue, we worked with an excellent and caring team from start to finish. I would highly recommend this venue to other brides.
  • User2110670 Sent on 04/27/2015
    2.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue is beautiful. We had the ceremony on the lawn in front of the fountain and ceremony in tents on the other side of the house. We did not use the indoor event space. I felt it looked boring and they are very restrictive on what you can do in there. In general they are very restrictive on most things (and we didn't ask for anything out of the ordinary), not very flexible and were one of the most disappointing vendor relationships out of all of our vendors. The lawn where the ceremony was was not kept up. The grass was brown and had several bare spots that were muddy from rain two days prior. They do not provide you with a solution to this so we had to come up with our own. Overall I would not recommend working with them. But if you fall in love with the place like we did (best place for photos) then just know that you are going to shell out a lot of money for very poor service. I was extremely disappointed with the people there.

    Atlanta History Center's reply:

    First, thank you for choosing the Atlanta History Center for your special day. We are very sorry our venue didn't meet your expectations. While there is always the chance that unforeseen circumstances arise during the planning of a wedding, our client’s satisfaction and happiness are our first and foremost priority. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond standard levels of service to offer reasonable solutions and concessions to make sure the wedding exceeds every level of expectation our client has. Every effort is made to maintain a high quality garden experience. However, we cannot guarantee the appearance of grass and plants, because of the many circumstances, like weather, that are beyond our control.

    Because we are foremost a museum, we must protect our buildings, grounds, and artifacts to allow for the enjoyment and education of future generations; and while we know there are many details to keep up with, we try to be transparent and inform all our clients of the guidelines we have as a historic site with rare and sensitive gardens.

    Thank you for taking time to express your concerns. We host over fifty weddings a year, and we always welcome and take into consideration all comments to better serve our future brides.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message