ashley avila photography Reviews

30 | Grand Rapids, MI
See photos, pricing and details

30 Reviews for ashley avila photography

Recommended by 97%

30
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7
30 ashley avila photography Reviews
Sort by:
  • C

    CJ · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I looked at wedding photographers for weeks and finally narrowed it down to a handful to meet with based on their portfolios. From the moment we met Ashley we could tell she was someone that truly loves what she does. She was excited about the idea of our camp themed wedding and was already coming up with ideas for shots minutes after sitting down with her, we knew without a doubt she was the photographer for us! We opted to have Ashley take our engagement photos as well and that was a great idea! It let us all work together and get to know each other a little more before the big day. Through the planning process Ashley was always available to help us with any questions we had or provide suggestions. When the day came, Ashley was nothing short of amazing. Her and her assistant ran around like crazy all day capturing everything from the biggest moments to the tiny details. At one point Ashley was literally up to her knees in mud and muck because she wanted a specific shot!

    Ashley is an excellent photographer and a wonderful person that is willing to go above and beyond to make your wedding memories amazing!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really don’t even know where to begin. Ashley was an absolute dream to work with. My husband and I were instantly at ease when meeting with Ashley. Our engagement photos were stunning and she was able to really capture some beautiful moments. Fast forward to our wedding and it far exceeded our expectations. Our friends and family continue to rave about her demeanor and ability to capture candid moments throughout the night. Our wedding photos are absolutely amazing (No surprise) and with our wedding package she was right there with us until the end. Words truly can’t express how grateful we are to have met her. We are excited for a long future with Ashley capturing all of the precious moments in our life. Thank you Ashley!

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/15/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Ashley Avila for both my engagement pictures and wedding photos. She was always so nice and easy going, she made me and my now husband feel very comfortable and like we could just have fun. She was also super willing to try anything I wanted to--including getting into the water in northern Michigan on our wedding day! The value of her services and the fact that she is there with you all day far surpasses the amount you'll pay. After looking at multiple photographers to hire during my engagement, I found Ashley to be one of the most reasonably priced all the while providing some of the longest hours of on-the-day-wedding pictures available. And she was super awesome and nice! My photos turned out amazing, I can really tell she put in a lot of time to edit them and make sure I love them. In addition, I was having lunch with the lady who helped plan and decorate my wedding on the day of, who stylizes a lot of weddings herself, and I was showing her all my pictures and she told me that she had never seen so many from a photographer. Just goes to show, Ashley truly put in all her energy and passion into getting every single shot I could possibly want to capture every moment of my special day. Thank you, Ashley! I definitely recommend her to anyone getting married--for both engagement shots and wedding pictures. :)

  • B

    Beth · Married on 05/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley is personable and professional. She captured parts of our wedding that we didn't think to have her take pictures of. She was always ready to take a great picture. She works very hard! We love our pictures!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 03/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley brings a relaxed personality with her as she captures your day. She shot our engagement pictures and wedding pictures and truly put us at ease. She captured all of our special moments. She was always prompt in replying via phone and email. Ashley was very flexible throughout the planning process; even when I needed to change my package last minute. She was timely with getting our photos to us after our wedding. She offers packages that are very affordable with high quality photos in return.

  • User6451852 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was amazing! She made me her number one priority! She went above and beyond to make our day special! We paid for 12 hours, she was 8 months pregnant and stayed for 13 hours, still trying to capture our day! If that's not dedication I don't know what is! She impressed us till the very last second! Ashley is so passionate about her work and it shows every step of the way! She is positive, professional, and fun! It was raining all day on our wedding and she just ran with it! She did what ever she could to make up for the rain. She thought of new clever ideas all day making sure the rain didn't put a damper on our day! The pictures turned out great and we couldn't have asked for a better photographer! We recommend Ashley any chance we get!

  • User3561266 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley is amazing!!! She made our wedding day so relaxing with all the good direction she gave with every picture. She's very organized and captured every picture I requested her to take. She had such a good, upbeat, positive energy throughout the entire day! Our wedding pictures were breath taking and I'm obsessed with every single one them! I highly recommend her to every bride! I would definitely hire her again for any photography services.

  • B

    Brooke · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley photographed our wedding in July 2014. We had an outdoor venue and it poured rain. She did an awesome job capturing our wedding despite the rain. She reassured me that the pictures would be awesome, even though it was raining. Our pictures turned out fantastic. Ashley is both personable and professional. I would recommend her a million times over.

  • User4292620 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley did such a great job on my wedding photos!!!!
    Very professional and very happy to have her as my photographer. The first time I saw my photo came out I just falling in love with it!!!
    She put a lot of hearts and feeling in her job.... Every pictures have the meaning into it!!!!
    I love them all!!!
    Thank you Ashley !!!

  • K

    Karen · Married on 01/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love Ashley! She is the absolute best photographer! Our engagement and wedding photos are beautiful. She knows how to make you relax and enjoy your moment, which is truly what makes her the best. I promise you will not be disappointed :) You can bet Ashley will be photographing our upcoming life moments!

  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley is an incredibly talented photographer who has an ability to connect extremely well with her clients, exceed expectations, and consistently delivers high quality results in a timely fashion. Ashley is invested in getting to know her clients and understands who they are and what they want! I would highly recommend her!

  • User3510760 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley is the BEST! She not only provided us with beautiful photos, but more importantly she helped my entire family feel comfortable and at ease on my wedding day. She had amazing creative vision but also really, really listened to what was most important to us. She was beyond flexible with her scheduling and honestly felt like another member of our wedding party. We were so lucky she was available!

  • User3508182 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was absolutely wonderful. We had such a great time with her at our wedding. She knew of a lot of really great places for pictures between the ceremony and reception. She was such a pleasure to work with and I would definitely recommend her to others.

  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 06/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Im just going to start off by saying, she laid in the middle of the street to get one of my most wanted Pinterest photos! Talk about dedication to her passion and your desires! Words cannot express this amazingly talented and energetic photographer! Ashley took the time to look at all of my trendy photo wants in addition to remembering all of the traditional family and wedding party shots everyone wanted. The quality of service and photos you will receive by far exceeds the amount of money you will spend. We had several people comment on how wonderful and friendly she was at our wedding. Ashley met me at the hotel the morning of the wedding and stayed until the very end of the reception. She is an amazing photographer and a wonderful person who you'd want to be a part of your big day. I was in a wedding before ours where she was the photographer and I knew the moment I got engaged who my photographer had to be, and now you should too!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley is AMAZING!!!!!! She took soooo many awesome pics my husband & I can't decide which ones to frame! I was so thrilled with her work. Super friendly and lots of energy! Pictures are my favorite keepsake from all special occasions so I am very very happy we had Ashley do pictures for us on our special day! I couldn't be more pleased!

  • K

    Kate · Married on 08/11/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was very thorough yet unobtrusive at our wedding and rehearsal dinner. She is very personable and was fun to work with.

  • E

    Ellen · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was wonderful! In addition to taking beautiful pictures, she was so easy going and friendly the day of our wedding, and really a joy to be around. She was up for anything, and took the lead with arranging our large wedding party (7 bridesmaids and 7 groomsmen) as well as a large extended family into various shots/poses. I couldn't be happier with the way our pictures turned out! She is hardworking and professional, and I can't imagine a better photographer for our wedding day. I would absolutely recommend her!

  • R

    Robert · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Let me first start by saying no review of Ashley Avila can do justice to the job she did  but I will try. From the moment my wife and I met her it was like working with a close friend. Ashley was as excited by our style, vision and ideas as we were. After getting a feel of who we are and what we liked, she had amazing creative suggestions for us to try. On our wedding day Ashely was every where, any time a moment worth capturing happened, she was right there.   I am the last one of four close friends who got married within the last two years. During the wedding each couple made a comment of how wonderful our photographer was, and they wished they had known her before they got married.  Her work on her  website speaks for its self, and her fun laid back style will add to your day. We hired a photographer and ended up with a friend!

    If I can give one piece of advice, put Ashley on your list of photographers to meet with. You will be happy you did.

  • J

    jessica · Married on 05/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley is absolutely amazing! I already have 3 friends who will be using her just from meeting her at the wedding. She has an amazing personality, which is important as she is capturing all your memories on the most special day of your life! It felt like I had known her for years..she was so creative in her locations, shots, and ideas.. and she would take any picture i requested. Time was never an issue- it was more important for her to get the best shots for her clients. She has a passion for photography and it shows-she goes the extra mile when others charge for every extra detail... For the price and quality nobody can compare! I will use Ashley for family photos, other special events, as well as give her the highest recommendations to anyone with photography needs! Meet with her one time and I promise you wont look anywhere else! The photographer was my most important vendor to me, considering it is all i will have to showcase that most special day of my life! THANK you Ashley for being a part of MY special day!!! You are amazing!!!

    Jessica

  • Olivia

    Olivia · Married on 08/28/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly, highly recommend Ashley Avila Photography. I planned our Michigan wedding from Alabama and I was able to meet with Ashley only once before the wedding day. Any questions I had in the planning process- I would call or email her, and she always responded quickly. Most other photographers have a set hourly limit...with Ashley, this is not the case, all of her wedding packages have unlimited hours. Ashley and her assistant came to my hotel the morning of our wedding (around 9 AM) and were with us until probably at least 10:30 PM that night! After the ceremony, we took photos at various locations downtown- I had none of these locations planned out beforehand, I just knew I wanted to be downtown. We just followed Ashley and stopped at a few places she had took photo's before, and a few unique spots we noticed on the way! It was sooo much fun and all of our photo's turned out beautifully!

    At the reception Ashley and her assistant were very social with our guests and took many more photos. I think in total- we ended up with about 2000-2500 photos...all of which were provided to us on a few CD's to make as many copies as we wish. Ashley also put together a really nice slideshow of the top photo's and included the music of our choosing- she mailed us 3 copies, one for us, and two more for both sets of parents. We received all of our photo's/slideshows within about 2 months of the wedding.

    One thing I would like to say is that the money we spent on our photographer is by far- the best money we spent. The value for what we received was way more that what we expected when we began looking for a photographer. We could have easily spent twice as much and probably only got half the time that we got with Ashley. Not only that, but the quality of Ashley's photos definitely rivals the other higher priced photographers in the Grand Rapids area. She's really good at what she does! You can also tell Ashley loves what she does- she was very energetic, professional, and such fun to be around all day! If she wasn't taking our photo's- she's the kind of person you would want at your wedding to party with for sure! Call her up and see if she's available, you'll be glad you did!!

  • T

    Stephanie · Married on 08/29/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley is absolutely wonderful to work with!! She is very open to your ideas and is very creative to bring new ideas to the table as well. She is very fun and energetic, adding to your special day. We did an engagement session and wedding pictures with her and they are perfect!

  • A

    Allison · Married on 09/17/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was great to work with and made us feel very comfortable on our wedding day. She went above and beyond to make sure we got our "must have" shots which even meant walking right into a lake to get the perfect canoe picture! We highly recommend Ashley as a wedding photographer, her photos perfectly captured the magical day. We still can't get over how vibrant all the colors look in our photos.

  • B

    Breanna · Married on 08/20/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for a wedding photographer who knows how to organize groups, compose beautiful photos, keep things on schedule, and who is extremely fun and caring, Ashley is the one! She is talented and professional, and we were so impressed with how comfortable she was with helping get people where they needed to be for family pictures after the ceremony, and with the bridal party. She didn't miss anything! We were so happy with all the photos we received, the way she worked with us and answered all our questions, and the care she put into the final package. It's so hard to decide which photos to print and frame because they are all seriously amazing!!

  • S

    Sydney · Married on 09/19/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley was GREAT - she was very casual and laid back and made me feel so comfortable all day. She worked with me on package and price and ended up fitting a second shooter into our budget. The pictures took a little longer than I expected to get back, but they turned out so great they were worth the wait.

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 05/30/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ashley and her team are absolutely fabulous! I knew she would be perfect from the moment we first started talking. She made us all feel very comfortable and we loved working with her. It ended up raining a tad on our wedding day, but Ashley knew exactly what to do to still capture each moment. Our photos are spectacular and we couldn't be happier with how they turned out. I would absolutely recommend Ashley to anyone!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review