Weddings

As You Wish Catering Reviews

As You Wish Catering

As You Wish Catering

Tahoe City, CA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 98% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 13
Sort by:
  • C
    Caren Married on 08/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    As You Wish Catering

    I can’t say enough about Michael and his team! My son’s wedding in Tahoe was amazing! The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. Everything from the bartenders to the wait staff was point on!
    Michael is so easy to work with!
    We couldn’t be more happy!
  • C
    Cindy G. Married on 06/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Outstanding Service and Food!

    Michael and team provided outstanding service, exceptional food, and incredible flexibility in working with us for a small family wedding!
  • Jessica
    Jessica G. Married on 02/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Yummy Food, Everyone Enjoyed

    Food was great!! We booked them through Rainbow Gardens as a package deal. They had a long list of food items to choose from and we were very happy with the food all around!
  • Mary
    Mary Married on 07/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Catering for our Welcome Dinner!

    After having trouble finding a restaurant that would be able to accommodate our rehearsal dinner during peak season, we instead decided to look towards catering options. We rented a picnic area at the park, extended our guest list to include all our wedding guests (it was a destination wedding after all!) and found As You Wish from their wonderful reviews. The key thing that set them apart from all the other vendors we considered is that they post their pricing information on their website. We appreciated the transparency before even having to reach out to them and were thrilled to find that they were available to cater our event.

    We started out with only a very rough guess-timate of the number of attendees as we were waiting on more RSVPs. As You Wish always responded promptly to our e-mails and was very flexible in the weeks leading up to the date as we adjusted the menu and amount of the order. Seeing as we would be busy with the rehearsal before the welcome dinner, we opted to have them deliver directly to the park instead of us picking it up as originally planned. Despite the obscure location, they arrived with all the food still piping hot and helped with the set-up of our "buffet table".

    The guests raved about As You Wish's BBQ! (Our family members who were originally hesitant about having catered BBQ were pleasantly surprised.) Everything was delicious and cooked to perfection. We added a few more items for variety (pilaf as an additional vegetarian option and kid-friendly baked macaroni and cheese) and barely had any left-overs remaining by the end of the evening. We'd highly recommend As You Wish for your catering needs in Tahoe. Their food and service were truly exceptional and made our welcome dinner a huge success!
  • W
    Wendy Married on 07/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The food was cooked onsite and it was delicious. We did the tri-tip, ribs, and shrimp as the main entrees. They were very flexible. Our guests said it was the best food that they had ever had at a wedding.
  • M
    Mareli Married on 06/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike catered and supplied rentals for our Lake Tahoe wedding. He was fantastic. From the tasting to the wedding, everything was fresh and delicious. He was so easy to work with, making any changes we requested and he always got back to us very quickly. We even supplied a marinade recipe we wanted him to use for the chicken and he did a fabulous job putting his own spin to make it great. We would highly recommend it for your event too, ask for the "spatchcocked" chicken marinade :) The tri-tip was cooked perfectly. We asked for grilled vegetables, and they were also done to perfection. His staff were personable and professional. He went out of his way to make our day perfect, and his food was the highlight of the wedding. Thank you Mike!!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 08/11/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Michael was super responsive and a pleasure to work with. The entire wedding process can be so stressful and he definitely makes it as easy for the customer as possible. The menu and selections were very customizable and there were a ton of options to choose from. We did not do a tasting which worried us at first but in the end, the food was INCREDIBLE! Upon visiting each table during dinner, each one commented on how amazing the food was and that it was the best wedding food they had ever had. Once we had a chance to try it, we felt the same way! Overall, could not be happier with Michael, the staff and the experience. You will not be disappointed!

    Wedding Date: 8/11/2017
  • M
    Morgane Married on 08/05/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    As You Wish Catering catered for our wedding in a house that we had rented Incline Village. It was a pleasure to work with Mike to prepare the wedding. Mike was very professional and always on top of things. He helped us a lot with the rentals and was particularly accommodating. Most importantly, the food was amazing! We had some foodie guests from France and everybody was impressed by the quality of the food. On the day of the wedding, the elevator broke, and the entire catering team had to change their plans and work harder to make our wedding a success. I highly recommend As You Wish Catering!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 07/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Michael and his team were INCREDIBLE. They made my wedding planning and wedding day a breeze and were so easy to work with. The appetizers and food were delicious, they handled all our dinner related rentals, and they were super flexible with the contract up until the big day. I would recommend them to anyone getting married or throwing an event in Tahoe!!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 06/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Mike and his team are excellent at what they do! We hired As You Wish to cater our wedding at the Gatekeeper's Museum in Tahoe City on 6/28/2014. Everything went perfect!

    Mike's staff was attentive, kind and easy to work with. The bartenders were also fantastic, they made great drinks and went to each table during dinner to see if anyone needed a drink from the bar. They truly went above and beyond. They even made margaritas using our own personal recipe.

    From the first meeting Mike was on time, prepared and always quick to respond to any questions we had. This was especially important as we were planning a destination wedding.

    The food on the day of our wedding was delicious! So many people raved about the food and our appetizers, especially the grilled prawns tossed in sweet chile-cilantro sauce!

    I would HIGHLY recommend As You Wish, their prices are competitive, the food is top-notch and they are wonderful to work with!
  • Liane
    Liane Married on 07/16/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Unbelieveable

    The food was unbelievably great and their team worked so well so assure that all went well with the food service. We will absolutely hire Mike with As You Wish again! Liane McCombs Wedding and Event Planning
  • User2353300 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The dinner and appetizers were absolutely amazing! The service was fantastic, and Michael, the owner was a pleasure to work with. He was super responsive and accommodating. So many people complimented the food after the wedding. Definitely top meals I have had at any wedding. My one and only complaint is regarding the tasting. I have spoken to many brides and not one was charged a tasting fee and was able to try many things on the menu. With As You Wish Catering we were charged a pretty substantial tasting fee. My belief is when you are spending close to 20 gs on catering, that fee can be built into the price or waived. Additionally we had to pick our menu before the tasting and were charged extra to try an additional entrees. My understanding was the tastings are to narrow down choices, not to only try what you select for the menu. It would have been nice to try a few extra things to pick from.
  • R
    Ryan K. Married on 05/31/2021
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Decent food, decent service, everything was fine

    Mike was very responsive throughout our wedding dinner planning process.

    He referred to us by the wrong name a few times via email, but I imagine he's juggling a number of events.

    We asked a server where we could find Mike to say hello on the night of our wedding, but learned that he was working a different event.

    When we sat down to eat, there wasn't any water on the table so a member of our bridal party had to go ask the servers to bring water to the tables (our total party was 20 with 2 servers).

    The food was pretty good - steak was cooked properly, vegetables were good, mashed potatoes were incredible.

    The appetizers were fantastic.

    All in all, it was pretty good but the attention to detail seemed to be lacking (addressed by the wrong name, weren't told Mike wasn't going to be there, no water on the tables until we asked, one server wearing a baseball cap at our formal wedding).

    We had two other caterers throughout the week and I would hire those other two vendors again before I chose As You Wish / Mike.