ArtsGroup Photography & Cinema Reviews

35 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for ArtsGroup Photography & Cinema

Recommended by 95%

35

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • Shyrah

    Shyrah · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Johnny and his team of expert photographers and videographers accompanied us on our entire (one-year) journey. At the beginning of our journey, Artsgroup provided STUNNING videography services for our Ghanaian traditional engagement ceremony, which had over 200 guests in attendance. During the middle of our journey, we experienced a REMARKABLE engagement photoshoot session with Johnny. At the end of our journey we had the opportunity to fully witness the well-oiled operating machine that is Artsgroup, when they brought their team together to provide PHENOMENAL photography and videography services for our wedding, which had well over 450 guests in attendance!

    When we were looking for photography and videography services for our one-year journey, there were key things that were very important to us that we weren't willing to part with: (1) Both photography and videography services must come from a single vendor; (2) Entire services must be cost effective; and (3) Entire team must be professionals and must be able to handle a 10hr event with over 450+ guests.

    By God's grace, when we did our initial search on Weddingwire along with other vendor websites and search engines, Artsgroup was the only company that met all of our criteria. The best part is that they are a non-profit organization that helps neighboring children, youth, and adults grow their art abilities. Therefore, there are both philanthropic benefits, as well as tax advantages for going with Artsgroup.

    There are a lot of self-portrayed photographers/videographers in the industry that spun up a business overnight after receiving a camera as a gift. Be very careful of these types of individuals in the industry; we met lots of them.

    Photography and Videography is definitely an art-form, and Artsgroup are true artists, and made us feel comfortable and confident throughout our entire journey. Honestly, there is no need to look elsewhere. We highly recommend Artsgroup!!

    Sent on 09/25/2015
  • J

    Joseph · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for the best photography company in the DC area, The Arts Group is exactly what you want. Johnny and all of his staff were above and beyond our expectations. They were on time, always professional, and Johnny is so much more than a photographer; Johnny is a great artist, and your event is his canvas. He has a sense of style and creativity that allows for such spontaneous photos that completely capture the mood of what is going on. The whole purpose of having a photographer at a wedding is to capture memories forever, and from Johnny's excellent work, my wife and I can remember the incredible feelings we had during this amazing day, as well as the huge amounts of fun had by all of our guests. We look at our wedding photos and it takes us back to that great day. I would recommend Johnny and his professional staff for any event. Thank you Johnny, from Angela and Joe!

    Sent on 10/08/2015
  • User6165002 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved our engagement photos and our wedding photos.

    Sent on 01/07/2016
  • Eric & Erica

    Erica · Married on 03/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We found Johnny at the Washington Bridal Showcase a little over a year ago. Johnny and his team where very friendly and welcoming. So welcoming that they took test pictures of everyone, to later send you an email with your retouched photos enclosed. Now what really connected us with Johnny, was his connection to the community. My husband and I are really into giving back, and once we learned of his community service through the arts, we were sold.

    Our initial "get to know each other" consultation was very pleasant, friendly, and informative of what can be done, provided, etc. We were never left with any uncertainty or questions. We officially began our relationship with Johnny through the art of photography when we did our engagement photo session. My husband and I were able to just be ourselves, laugh, joke, and embrace each other. Johnny's ability to capture us in our element with very minimal direction is what made the experience very enjoyable. Though the location of our choosing may have been a little tight in space and warm (Sorry Johnny, LOL).

    Our engagement session was in May 2014, our day was March 2015. With all of this down time in between Johnny kept in contact just to see how the planning was going. Any questions that we may have had in between time, he responded within a timely manner. When our day came, he greeted me at the door of the church camera ready!! He and his assistant were very professional, even accommodated our request to sneak off and take a few pics down on the water at the National Harbor. The best part of both experiences was the immediate gratification of seeing a few pictures. Who doesn't like a sneak peak?!!

    Thank you Johnny for you work and talent.
    Erica & Eric

    Sent on 04/09/2015
  • A

    Anna · Married on 03/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Johnny was our photographer and we were so pleased with him. Communication was great with immediate responses every time we had a question. He always made himself available to us. The day of our wedding, he was great and took charge when it was time for formal group photos. He captured so many special moments for us. We definitely recommend!!!

    Sent on 03/25/2015
  • C

    Clevette · Married on 09/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I could not have asked for a better photography company or a better photographer, Jay. He shot our engagement session as well as my wedding. My engagement pictures were beautiful, and the location that he selected for the shot was amazing. I am constantly getting praise for the pictures. At the last minute, my wedding was moved up a year (my husband and I won a wedding contest) and the wedding switched coasts (East to West Coast), but you better believe that Artsgroup was not only flexible with scheduling, but made it to my wedding!!! I am so very pleased with Artsgroup and please believe me when I say, you will be too! I am looking forward to Artsgroup being at my anniversary party next year! Thanks Artsgroup!

    Sent on 09/22/2014
  • C

    camillia · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome quality of people with energetic and diverse personalities. Well organized and on task. I would recommend them to anyone!!! Awesome visionary ... Mr. Jay West

    Sent on 07/21/2014
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 04/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was such a pleasure to work with Johnny and the ArtsGroup Team. My husband and I knew after our first meeting with Johnny and his wife, we didn't want to work with anyone else but Johnny and his team. He was very responsive, answered all of my questions, not to mention his work is AMAZING!!! He and his staff were a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend the ArtsGroup!

    Sent on 01/12/2015
  • M

    Kizsonya · Married on 01/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Team very professional and communication is great. Photos look great and I have already recommended them to my friends.

    Sent on 02/03/2014
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 11/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Johnny and his team are truly the epitome of artists-professional artists that have mastered their trade and strive to perfect the evolving concept of 'capturing the moment'. Johnny worked with my husband and I to create a package that fit the needs of our day as well as accommodated our personal needs and requests. Im a DC native and Johnny knew about areas we had never imagined to be picturesque! Small yet fitting spaces for our engagement photo session, fun poses and themed shots, and personality recognition all components to a wonderful experience with the Arts Group during our time. Delivery of photos was perfect and when he says you can use about 95% of his shots, you really can use 99%! The team is timely, respectable, responsive, and well worth the money for the lifetime of memories they deliver. People always ask, if I could do it all over again, would I change anything, and my answer remains the same especially for our selection in photography and videography.

    Sent on 02/11/2014
  • Bukcrew0

    Bukola · Married on 10/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Staff and they know what they are doing.

    Sent on 11/06/2013
  • F

    Felecia · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had a wonderful time working with Johnny and his team. He made us feel so comfortable, and their sense of humor was contagious. He was very professional and responded to all our questions in a timely manner. His poses weren't typical of a regular photographer, and that's something we loved. The shots he captured for us were something unique. He really got the wedding party involved and didn't make the picture process seem long and drawn out. Johnny and Team, we love you. Thank you for all you did to make our day special!!!

    Sincerely,

    Bralen and Felecia

    Sent on 10/15/2013
  • D

    Darwana · Married on 08/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely Wonderful... Johnny, Millicent and Xavier were extremely professional and most of all fun. I hired them when they were located in Washington, DC and they traveled to Jacksonville, Florida to capture my wedding. My wedding has been captured in ways that I thought was impossible. Johnny creates a timeline for brides to follow which is very easy and non stressful. My engagement session was so much fun. They handled my wedding as coordinators as well as photographers and videographers. They were true to all of that was promised in my contract and then some in that they go above and beyond to insure that you have a great time at your wedding. They never seem to stop working. I am simply in awe of ArtsGroup and I would recommend them to all brides anywhere without reservation.

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • User3448815 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Johnny took our engagement photos, and his work is absolutely superb. I contacted about one week before our shoot, and he was extremely accommodating with our short window. I had all of our digital images within a few days of the shoot. ArtsGroup was recommended to me by my fiance's friend, as Johnny had photographed his wedding a couple years ago. We wouldn't say we are necessarily photogenic people, but Johnny made us comfortable and everything fell into place. Overall, I think the price is in line with other photographers in the area, and the value and quality for the price is outstanding. I highly recommend ArtsGroup to anyone looking for a photographer in the DC area and beyond. We may hire ArtsGroup to photograph our wedding!

    Sent on 08/07/2013
  • T

    Terri · Married on 07/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really couldn't have picked a better videographer! The service was responsive, efficient, and impeccable! Thanks Johnny!

    Sent on 10/28/2013
  • I

    Ikea · Married on 07/13/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything that you look for in a wedding photographer and MORE! Johnny was always there to answer any questions I have and made sure to capture all of the shoots I wanted for my wedding. I LOVE all of my pictures and wedding album. Him and his staff were very professional and were able to get the prefect shoot without interrupting the ceremony. They made you feel comfortable at all times. I would highly recommend his services to anyone.

    Sent on 02/05/2014
  • User2155833 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jay and his team were PHENOMENAL!!!!!! From engagement photos to wedding day they were attentative to all our questions.

    Sent on 07/07/2013
  • D

    Darrell and Karlita · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    ArtsGroup Photography and Cinema is an amazing company. The entire experience was very pleasant. They met all of our requests in a professional manner. The one thing we were most impressed with was the attentiveness they provided during both the engagement photo session and the wedding. Although they had multiple assignments on our wedding day, it didn't feel like it. They made us feel as if we were their only assignment for that day. It was great.

    Sent on 08/01/2013
  • Renata

    Renata · Married on 06/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We enjoyed having ArtGroup capture the moments of our special day. I will always recommend ArtsGroup in the future.

    Sent on 08/01/2013
  • L

    Lorretta · Married on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I selected ArtsGroup Photography because of their non-profit status and the mission to teach photography to our youth. However the same enthusiam I was met with the first time I met them at the Baltimore Wedding Show was carried on throughout all of my interactions with them from beginning to end. Mr. West is a consummate professional, detailed, extremely responsive to all of my requests, timely, skilled, and an absolute pleasure to work with. I would not hesitate to use him again and recommend him highly for photography and videography services.

    Sent on 08/08/2013
  • D

    Diana · Married on 04/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very easy to work with - beautiful pictures & made our big day fun & stress free!

    Sent on 08/11/2013
  • User2470719 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! AWESOME!

    The sneak peek photos I received the night of our wedding had me in tears! We are truly amazed at the details that were captured. Johnny West and his team truly did an AWESOME job. We are still receiving comments regarding the number of photographers, how they got on the floor, mingled with the guest, and created scenarios to get the shots/reactions for GREAT pictures. WOW! AWESOME!

    We fell in love with Artsgroup Photography during our engagement photo session and we fell deeper in love with the entire team the day of our blessed event!

    Love you guys!
    Erica & Demetrius

    Sent on 04/01/2013
  • Michael

    Michael · Married on 01/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best of the best. Johnny and his crew posses the highest level of integrity and professionalism. From the beginning of our process, he managed the photography project seamlessly. With perfect customer service and communication, Mr west was always responsive to our needs. His creative eye and determination to get it done correctly, our pictures are works of art. I told him that he is the hardest working man in the business and it shows in the final product. His wife is also a gem!
    Thanks again,
    Lisa and Michael.

    Sent on 01/21/2013
  • Shamika

    Shamika · Married on 11/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great and Memorable Experience!

    Talking about flexibility, ArtsGroup was more than accomodating for our big day as they had to travel all the way to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic. Our wedding guests are still talking about the professionalism shown by Johnny and Millicent! We not only received services on our Wedding day, but ArtsGroup captured memories from the time they arrived on that Thursday night until our big day!!! That's three days of service!!! They captured moments on our destination wedding that we will never forget!


    Thanks so much!

    Etienne and Shamika

    Sent on 04/08/2013
  • Barbara

    Barbara · Married on 10/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ArtsGroup Photograhy & Cinema are the best in the DMV. I used their services for every event leading up to my big day. Very professional, responsive and flexible. The quality of service and product are amazing. I will continue to use them as my number one go to photography service.

    Sent on 02/09/2013