Weddings

Artist House Studio Reviews

Artist House Studio View more information

23 Reviews

Rated
4.4
out of 5.0
Recommended by 88% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.3 out of 5

Awards

  • 23
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
Sort by:
  • B
    Brian Married on 09/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The photographer Jim was excellent, made it a fun day!
  • J
    Jenn S. Married on 10/11/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    For our wedding, we had Jim as our photographer. He was pleasant & very easy to work with! He was laid back & funny & let us chose & have opinions on what type of pictures we wanted to take on our wedding day! I would definitely recommended him.
  • User1810644 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I came across Artist House studio from a Flyer from Wawa. We decided to go and check it out as we were facing challenges with high price photographers. As we were going through the pictures we saw our self in their album from our friends wedding the year prior. I recall the pictures were nice and wanted to give them a shot and the price was in our budget. I told Jim I wanted him to be our photographer and wanted him to take control and place folks where they needed to be. Jim came on time, he was very responsive to all of our emails and I really had no complaints. We received our pictures this weekend and they are great. we are very happy with them. Now we have to spend several hours to figure out which ones we want for our album. I recommend Artist House, and I recommend to have Jim take your pictures.
    Thanks Gary M.
  • K
    Karen Married on 05/03/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were very happy with the service you provided.We loved our photographer Paul !! Thank you for the best photos .Love our portrait and photo album along with the CD set to music.Thank you,Mr.&Mrs. Russano
  • E
    Eileen Married on 11/09/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a blast! Our photographer, Jim, from the Artist House Studio in Bellmawr was perfect. At our request, he took all the family and bride & groom pictures (including a few with their dog) prior to the ceremony. This way we were all able to enjoy the rest of the night. Yes, there were a few posed pictures after but the majority were taken while we all were just having fun. The bridal party absolutely loved him as well as this mom of the bride. Jim, thank you so much for making the day relaxed and easy for us.
  • K
    Karen Married on 10/05/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I recently picked up my wedding photos from The Artist House Photography Studio, the photo album was beautiful. I recommend this company for all photo needs. My initial appointment with Grace was met with professionalism and I will return to The Artist house for all my photo needs.
  • M
    Mallory Married on 04/13/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The staff was very helpful throughout my engagement up until the day of our wedding! Our photographer was professional and easy to work with! Thank you for creating memories of our wedding that I can look back on for years to come!
  • K
    Kelli Married on 11/17/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everyone was amazing and helped make my wedding the best day of my life!!
  • T
    Tia Married on 10/27/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I highly recommend, our pictures were great. You guys are the best.
    Mr. and Mrs. Burgos
  • E
    Erica Married on 09/29/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They are very helpful and friendly! I loved working with them!! My pictures are amazing . They did everything I asked.
  • D
    Dawn Married on 09/28/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The engagement pics were awesome so I can't wait to get back the wedding photos. I know they will be even better. Grace has been a pleasure working with you organizing everything and Jim - I can't say enough - absolutely wonderful to work with at the wedding!!! Great personalilty and worked well with everyone. Wedding party and guests all said how good you were as well. Suggested some wonderful poses and covered everything we wanted! I priced many different photographers and by far The Studios was a great packages and prices were better than competition.
  • User1112928 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jim made our day special and the wedding album and portraits came out great. We have had Chrsitmas cards and maternity pictures as well at artist house and they all came out wonderful. Thank you to Artist house and Jim for giving us such great pictures to cherish for a lifetime.
  • R
    Robin Married on 05/12/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jim was great to work with and I am thankful he was there to handle the photography of our day. He helped take away some of the stress in regards to the photos.

    Thanks Jim!
  • R
    Rachel Married on 11/11/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After our engagement sitting, we requested a specific photographer for our wedding because he was so funny and calm. He brought that same easygoing nature to our wedding and it was really great. He took the time to get the photos that we wanted and really listed to our needs. Thanks Jim!
  • K
    Kris Married on 10/01/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Karen was wonderful and very helpful. She took control when it was needed. I cant wait to see the pictures!!!
  • Britni
    Britni Married on 08/06/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved the experience I had with Artist House Studios! Can't wait to get our proofs! Our photographer, Jim, was professional but still fun which worked perfectly for our wedding!! I would suggest them to future brides!
  • M
    Monica Married on 11/02/2007
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great value!!!
  • R
    Rachquel Married on 08/08/2015
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    We came across the company at the Lucien's bridal show. From our engagement picture shoot to our wedding day, we found working with this company to be a blessing. Just received our proofs and love the shots that were captured. Very quality photos. Looking forward to layout our album. Great value for the quality work. Only wish is that we had did an outline of must have shots with the photographer in advance as realized missed a few. But, then he capture several unexpected shots so it balances out.
  • N
    Natalie Married on 05/03/2014
    Rating 4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Everything went so smooth that I didn't even have to wonder or worry if the photos would come out okay. Such professional and sweet people. As a bride you don't need to be thinking if this will be okay, artist house studios does so much for you!
  • H
    Heather Married on 12/10/2011
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    All of the pre wedding stuff with the photgraphy place went very well...They were very nice and extremely professional, but the actual day of the wedding the actual photographer that was there was a little something to be desired...he made my day kind of stressfull...he was not very good at being assertive and telling everyone where to stand for photos and was alwasy leaving up to me to do it...it was very annoying for me because it stressed me out :o( but i mad it through...the place i would reccommend just not the certain photographer i had goten.
  • H
    Heather Married on 10/01/2011
    Rating 1.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    DON"T BE FOOLED by the pics posted on their website; whoever took the pictures that are posted for this company are not what I saw in their proofs. I definitely would have requested this person.

    After talking with the photographers from Artist House Studio, I felt pleased in picking them to do our pictures up until the day of the wedding. Our photographer arrived early which was nice. He was friendly but with a very stiff kind of personality. His photography style was the same, old fashioned & extremely posed. I was told they go off of a list of shots to take, pretty much rehearsed with no room for change. I had asked for posed and fun shots with personality. All i got was doll posses galore. We felt like barbie dolls, put your hand here & such. The pictures came out ok, but compared to the photographers of today's generation, you should feel more life in them. You should be able to tell a story, & with what we got, I definitely can't do that.

    I believe this company is better for posed shots like school pictures, which is something they also advertise for & more of the same. Everything about their store felt old, I felt like I stepped into a time warp, from the decor to their albums. Their standard album consisted of an 1-8x10 shot on each page & nothing else.

    Another thing I have to comment on was the photographer's time management. Because of how long he took to take pictures, we only took pictures inside the church & the 2 of us outside the reception hall & 2 fun pictures I made him take inside the hall. We had talked about where to take pictures; inside & outside the church (bridal party included) & at the reception inside & out. He had assured me we would have enough time. With the amount of potential all of these spots had for great pictures, he did not take advantage of any of them. Seeing as how long it took him to take pictures, we missed most of our cocktail hour (which he knew we wanted to use to thank our guests). We were able to get to 1 table as a couple, the rest of the night we went around separately greeting guests.

    Hubby had a few words with the photographer & in turn, the photographer blamed it on our bridal party for being a distraction. They had come out to check on us & to make sure we had food. Because they had made us laugh, this i guess was a distraction. Putting the blame else where rather than taking responsibility for your actions was low.
    The package we had purchased was definitely over priced for what we received, an unlimited amount of photos (w/ the rights) for $x,xxx & 3 photos all unedited. Reading this, I would ask why did we even decide to go with them for that package. My answer, due to an unfortunate upset like many of us brides have during the planning process, we had 3 months to find a new photographer & everyone I had contacted was already booked.

    All in all, I would not recommend this company to anyone.
  • C
    Colleen Married on 05/02/2004
    Rating 1.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    This place was recommended to me from another vendor and I had a relative who had used them and was satisfied. I had done all my research online and read all the books I could on choosing a good photographer. The photography was so important to me that I wanted to be sure I got the right person. Digital was still relatively new and being an avid photographer myself I felt better going with a company that shot film. (I do think since my wedding they have moved into digital but I am not sure.) We went into their studio and from looking at their sample albums and the photos on their walls, I felt comfortable with their photographer's abilities. When we say down with someone from the office who was also one of their photographers but not the one we had on our wedding day. I think his name was Steve. He answered all my questions well, including the one when I asked how many photos they took. He assurred me that the photographer would take as many as needed and that there was no limit. After thinking about it, we booked their largest package that came in at just under $2,000.

    Fast forward to about two weeks before the wedding. I had originally asked them about providing a list of photos I wanted to be sure to get because we had some family combinations that were really important since this was the first time they were all together. I called the studio check in on things and ask if they wanted me list ahead of time. I was then told that "they had their own list but you can still give us one and we will do what we can". This made me a little nervous but the woman I spoke with led me to believe it would be fine and I had other things to worry about. I faxed it to them so they would have it ahead of time and could review it if needed. I never heard anything so I assumed it would be ok. I will say there were about 40 shots of family combinations I was requesting but since it was unlimited photos and when I mentioned it no one said it would be a problem. They said if i could have someone to help organize the people though, that would be helpful since it was just one photographer. I said no problem.

    On the wedding day, due to outside issues, I was running late to arrive at the location and had originally been scheduled to do our girl group pics first. I called ahead with plenty of time and suggested to do the men first and by then I would be there. I was assured it was not a problem and that is she missed any of my "getting ready" shots we could just re-create it. I made sure to have one of our ushers work to help her by gathering people from my list for the requested photos. I had written out on the list the names of each individual and who they were to make it as easy as possible to get the needed people. I had also told all the people/family I wanted to be in these photos to arrive early specifically for the photos. And they were all there.

    My first actual encounter with the photographer was when she came into the bridal room and didn't even say hello, just told me that my friend who was helping was "useless" and I later found out she had decided halfway through the list she didn't want to do it and just gave up on it. Her reason for saying he was useless was never given and according to others who were there, it appeared more to them that she just didnt want to be bothered. She then did not take any photos of me getting ready, live or re-created. I had only 4 bridesmaids and when we went outside, she only took one photo with each bridesmaid and only took them 3/4 shots. Except for the maid of honor who she took two shots, one 3/4 and one full. When I got to see the pics this became a problem because some eyes were closed (but they would "open someone's eyes for a aprox $30 fee per photo!) and I did not understand why she decided it was ok to take one photo that didn't even show the whole dress in that photo.

    When it came to my ceremony photos, it only gets worse. Forgetting everything else already, which I didn't realize until after the wedding when I got the photos, she didn't take any photos of the bridesmaids walking in except for the maid of honor. She did not take a photo of my father lifting the blusher on my veil when we got to the alter. For our ceremony we had arranged it so that the bride and groom were more facing the crowd instead of them just seeing out back. We were outside and the officiant was my brother in law. We had told the photographer she had full range during our ceremony and the photos were so important that she could come up on the "alter" area if she needed to to get the shot. I didn't care if she was in other people's pictures, I wanted her to get the shot. Halfway through the short 25 minute ceremony, I look up since we are facing the audience and she is standing in the back with the camera in front of her stomach just watching. I remembered this because it really bothered me but I figured maybe she had just stopped for a second when I happened to look up. I realized when we got the photos that she had not just stopped, she hardly took any photos. She took 23 photos from when the parents walked in (3 sets) to when we walked out. That included one photo of our maid of honor (no other bridesmaids), the ring bearer and one of the flower girls, one of our reader, our kiss and 2 of us leaving (from front and back). I could not believe it. I had more photos of my ceremony from my grandparents.

    The posed photos were nothing special. She didn't do half the photos I had seen in any of their books that I had thought were part of their "own list" they told me about. And it really surprised me because they do weddings at this location all the time so I thought what I saw in the studio was standard. I did learn during our bride and groom only photo time that our wedding was our photographer's 3rd that weekend and I think she was wiped from it. I also think its possible she just lost track of what she did at what wedding.

    Let's move on to the reception where again we were met with missing photos. The photographer did not take a photo of the mother of the bride and her husband entering the reception. They were first to walk in after the DJ announced the grandparents who were already seating so she had an extra few seconds if she hadn't been ready! And again, she did not take ANY of the bridesmaids. This really bothered me and I do not get why they would not take their photo. When I questioned this later the only answer I got was "most people don't buy it so we don't bother". How does that go along with their answer they take unlimited photos. I had wanted those photos in my album. I only had four but I couldn't really put photos of just one person in my book and I couldn't even put photos of the parents in my book because my mother and her husband were missing!

    All in all I was truly disappointed and upset by the service and photos I got from this photographer for my wedding. When I called to inquire about the missing photos after looking through the proofs and mentioned how I was surprised to only receive a little over 200 pictures total I was told that I was lucky I got as many as did because most people didn't get more than 150. I couldn't believe they said that especially after they told me they took unlimited. If I had known what they really meant was "we take about 200 pictures" I would have chosen someone else. And they did NOTHING to try and make up for it. didn't offer anything, not even in good faith. They basically told me they stood behind their photographer and I should be happy with what I got. While the photos I received were not all bad photos, it was the missing photos and lack thereof that really bugged me. It also really bothered me that the ones I did get, none looked like the ones they displayed, poses or feel of the photos. I was truly disappointed and would not recommend them to anyone, if anything I would warn people about them. I did in fact let the vendor who recommended to me know how upset I was with them.
  • C
    Chakira Married on 10/19/2013
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    I was recently married on Oct 19th and had a HORRIBLE experience with Artist House Studioes Bellmawr location. I mostly worked with Jim signing the contract, engagement pictures, and post wedding but had Mike as our photographer. The biggest reason my experience was so bad was because the photographer completely disregarded the groom & his parents. The photographer ONLY captured less than 600 pictures and there is not one picture of just the groom and his dad. The second reason our experience was so bad was the responsiveness from Artist House. We met with Jim to pay the balance and pick up the proofs on Mon Dec 23rd; our photos online just became available for guest to view last night Jan 6th. A third reason and I still livid about my experience is I purchased one of the largest packages they had and the photographer was supposed to come to my house for bridal shots then go to the groom and get the pre shots for him…well needless to say the photographer refused too even though that’s what I paid him to do. Artist house only gave us a $100 off for ALL the issues we had. Brides trust me when I say stay away as this is one of the most important days of your life and the most important people won’t even be captures 