American Entertainment Reviews

19 | Avon, OH
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for American Entertainment

Recommended by 95%

19

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • H

    Heather · Married on 04/27/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Out of this world entertainment!!

    We had Fred and he did an absolutely amazing job!! Even weeks after the wedding people still have come up to me and said how much fun they had on the dance floor. Music was a MAJOR thing we researched because it was extremely important for our wedding. As soon as we told Fred that, he took EXCELLENT care of us and our guest too!! Organized! Fun! Knew how to control the room and what music to play! Seriously best DJ!! We can't thank Fred and American Entertainment enough! We got everything we wanted and more! Plus at a great price!

    Sent on 06/02/2019
  • A

    Anne · Married on 11/24/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dance floor was full all night

    Scott supplied the equipment for the ceremony and made sure everything was good to go before we started. The reception was a blast. The dance floor was packed all night. American Entertainment has a very thorough questionnaire to fill out which made everything go off without a hiccup. Timing was good. Very flexible, accommodating and affordable.

    Sent on 12/09/2018
  • User6932938 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Scott for our June wedding. He was very professional and dressed appropriately for the night. Our reception was in a museum and he had no problem setting up his equipment in the garden so we could be introduced there and then moving it all to the reception area. He made sure to tour the reception site with us to make sure we had everything where we wanted him to set it up. He even was able to get a machine to make stars on the ceiling of the rotunda, which saved us a ton of money from using another vendor for lighting. Scott has an extensive library of songs to chose from. There is an online page where you enter your must plays and do not play songs which was easy to complete. He checked in during the night to make sure everything was going well and that the music was what we wanted.

    Sent on 07/07/2016
  • Mallory M.

    Mallory · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Scott for our wedding on 5/24/15 and would highly recommend him. He was great to work with leading up to the wedding, providing us with a variety of tools to customize our wedding and share information about the type of music we liked. He took all our our requests and considerations into account and was so easy to work with. The best part, is that he delivered the day of the wedding! Not only was the dance floor packed all night, but Scott was great at communicating with us during the day, giving us a heads up on songs he knew were special.

    Sent on 07/08/2015
  • C

    cheryl · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Scott from American Entertainment and he was awesome! He made sure our reception ran smoothly and was very flexible when we were still socializing or when our guests had song requests. He made sure all our questions were answered and our reception was going to be everything we wanted (music wise) during our initial meeting. I would highly recommend American Entertainment for any of your DJ needs!!!

    Sent on 11/09/2014
  • L

    Clint · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scott was very flexible and accommodated very well with our ever changing happenings of the day. Most of the planned timeline was out the window and we were just winging it but everything went on beautifully. Although he has an extensive library of songs, there were a few that weren't listed and he managed to play every song we selected, even the unlisted ones. (We submitted our choices just days before the wedding.)

    Sent on 09/21/2014
  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were lucky enough to work with Scott Hanna from American Entertainment for our wedding. Scott blew not only my husband and I away, but also our family and friends. In the weeks leading up to our wedding Scott worked hard to help us plan the perfect playlist for the evening. Scott did an amazing job MCing the event and even took the time to make sure that he was pronouncing the names of our wedding party correctly and that he had every little bit of information correct. Scott kept an eye on the dance floor all night and if he saw that a song wasn't keeping everyone dancing, he faded into a different song. Scott was professional, fun, and the perfect DJ for our wedding. I will HIGHLY recommend Scott and American Entertain to all of our family members and friends who have events coming up in the future.

    Sent on 07/08/2014
  • T

    Tammy · Married on 09/18/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fred Tyus was our DJ. He and American Entertainment were great. The planning tools on the website made it very easy.

    But Freddie was awesome. He kept things moving. My bridal party...especially my husband's friend's were a little wild, so it was hard to get things done. Freddie kept a great attitude about it, and made it seem perfect to the guests.

    Highly, highly recommend!!!

    Sent on 09/20/2010
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 09/11/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I thought they did an excellent job. I worked with Tommy Rogers and Scott Hanna. It was simply awesome. The evening couldn't have been better. Everyone said they had a great time and complimented us on the DJ.

    Sent on 09/16/2010
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/31/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scott Hanna provided entertainment/DJ service for my wedding this past July. He was fantastic from beginning to end. We met in person once; I used his online planning forms to help with music selections for our first dance and father/daughter, mother/son, and the rest I left to him (which I felt very comfortable with). He kept the dance floor full all night (we still had about 35-40 (out of 100) people still at the reception at midnight for the last dance! He did a great job of keeping the evening moving along (toasts, cake cutting, dances,...we did an anniversary dance instead of bouquet/garter toss,...everything went smoothly. He was very professional, and did a wonderful job reading the crowd and playing music that kept them dancing all night (which was exactly what I wanted).

    Scott was always available by phone, and quickly responded to emails whenever I had a question, about anything.

    I highly recommend Scott Hanna with American Entertainment for weddings.

    I know choosing a DJ who is ultimately responsible for the tone of the evening is a little nerve racking, but Scott has so many years of experience handled the evening beautifully. I've had lots of compliments from the wedding, and many of them were with regards to "the DJ".

    Sent on 09/17/2010
  • K

    Katie · Married on 10/04/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This DJ was great! So nice to work with through the entire process. He provided easy online planning and come the day of the wedding he led the show! I heard the songs I wanted to hear and he kept the reception moving nicely!

    Sent on 11/09/2008
  • D

    Diana · Married on 08/14/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scott Hanna was my dj. He was so easy to work with. We just put in a few songs we wanted to hear. The rest he did on his own. It was such a good time.

    The music was great. But he was such a good MC as well. He always let us know when things were coming up. We needed to make some changes and he was very flexible about that.

    I've been to some weddings where the DJ just wasn't very good. I am so glad I went with Scott and American Entertainment

    Sent on 09/17/2010
  • B

    Brian · Married on 06/28/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I just want to say everything turned out wonderful and the wedding was a great success and a big part of that was our dj for the evening. The mix of music selection and what we requested a big hit. He guided us and the party thru with ease to calm our nerves. I certainly would recommend Scott to anyone in need of professional entertainment for the night.

    Thank You

    Mayra & Brian Madanski

    Sent on 07/04/2014
  • K

    Katie · Married on 11/07/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used them for my wedding and my DJ was fabulous!! I would highly recommend them

    Sent on 11/09/2009
  • M

    Marissa · Married on 05/28/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scott Hanna at American Entertainment did a really good job at our wedding reception. His website has really helpful worksheets for you to fill out all the details of your day and he follows your instructions exactly. I emailed him several times with questions and changes and he was very quick with his responses.

    He kept the music flowing and everyone was out on the dance floor the entire time. When my mom and sister wanted to do a very short notice slide show he worked very hard to get it all set up with only a few minutes notice.

    He has a great announcer voice and double checks how to pronounce wedding party names right before he introduces them which I thought was great. The price was right in our budget and I thought he did a great job!

    Sent on 06/14/2011
  • Lyndi

    Lyndi · Married on 02/26/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Scott Hanna was wonderful to work with. My husband was extremely involved in this aspect of our wedding and wanted to make all the decisions on the music. However, he waited until the last minute to do so and put Scott under pressure to perform...and he did. Scott had no problem with my husband choosing a lot of the music, but set the expectation upfront and made agreements about how everything would be handled.

    At all of our meetings, Scott was professional, reassuring and very informative about what we could expect. At the wedding he executed all of his promises. Our music was amazing, he ran the show without being cheesy or over-the-top and the sound was awesome. We got so many compliments about how great the reception and DJ were. He got our guests out onto the dance floor and kept them there.

    We did have some trouble with email responsiveness, but only because of some technical difficulty and Scott responded right away to phone calls or voicemails. He was terrific to work with.

    I would offer one suggestion, which would be to announce repeatedly some of the "special events/dances" that take place. Some of our guests (including parents) didn't realize when the cake cutting and special dances were happening, simply because they were talking and entertaining other guests. Repeated announcements a little louder may have helped with this. Other than that, the music, the dj and the whole "running of the show" was fantastic.

    Sent on 03/15/2011
  • J

    Jesse · Married on 05/03/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    They did a great job DJing our wedding reception. He was very professional and had everyone up dancing. The prices are very reasonable and the planning is done online so it is so easy to do.

    Sent on 06/06/2008
  • M

    Michele · Married on 06/30/2018

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    I booked this vendor under the impression I’d have Scott as my DJ. He told me he was available and I had seen great reviews about Scott so I booked. (After a bunch of run around of having to call and get no answer and call again) Everything was to be done online, which I found to be a little irritating (the link he sent didn’t work...and he had time try the same broken link over and over again) until I figured out how to access the online planner on their website. I had specific request for music for my ceremony which they accommodated wonderfully. Three days....THREE DAYS, before my wedding Scott messages me and lets me know he is unable to attend my wedding due to “unforeseen circumstances” which was incredibly disappointing but he assured me he was sending the best to assist me (DJ Tommyrocker.) so I hoped for the best and had faith he was really sending me someone he trusted. Boy was I wrong. The guy was arrogant and cocky, he showed up right as I was supposed to be getting in my dress and taking pictures to discuss timeline and verify info (things that should have been done long before my big day). I figure someone who is a professional and been in business for a while would know the questions to ask (ahead of time) the person hiring them? I had never hired a DJ and didn’t know the first thing about what needs to be done at what time. He went around telling my friends and family that “he was the best DJ in Ohio” *eyeroll* he made inappropriate comments to my bridesmaid who is African American saying he knew how to pronounce her name because “he’s black and he’s from the hood” instert horrific accent and hand gestures. I was mortified. At my reception I decided to stand up and thank all of those that had helped in my planning process. RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE OF MY SPEECH HE CUT ME OFF. He actually started trying to talk over me and start up the music to which I had to yell “IM NOT DONE!” He totally embarrassed me. I would never hire them again. EVER.

    Sent on 07/11/2018

    American Entertainment's reply:

    Hello Michele,
    I am very sorry you are disappointed. I'm not sure what has changed since your message to me, but your message to me was, "I just wanted you to know that I wasn't happy with a couple of moves. All in all, it didn't ruin my wedding". That statement does not seem reflected in this review.
    We pride ourselves on having one of us as a back up in the rare instance that someone is unavailable..
    Tom mentioned the "interruption" of your speech was because you had inadvertently turned the switch off on the mic and no one could hear you. He tried to get your attention, and he determined that you were so far away from him, your speech might be over by the time he got to you to turn your mic back on, so he got on his mic to let you know your mic wasn't on.
    We had tried to get ahold of you to go over the time line for several days before to no avail. He wanted to clarify a few things to make sure he understood what you wanted..
    Tom mentioned your officiant said he has seen a lot of weddings DJs and thought Tom was doing a wonderful job and people were having a wonderful time and dancing.
    Tom mentioned that your bridal party was laughing that he pronounced her name right because no one ever does. He was joking along with them. He did say the bridesmaid and her boyfriend joked around with him the rest of the evening and had a good time and didn't seem offended at all.
    Again, I'm deeply sorry, but it does sound like your guests had a good time

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review