22 Reviews for Ambient Sky - Couture Wedding Films + Photography

4.7
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Storytelling (1)
Ceremony (1)
Pre-Ceremony (1)
Reception (1)
Add'l Hours (1)
Highlight Video (1)
Multi. Cameras (1)
Save The Date (1)
DVD (1)
USB Flash Drive (1)
Sort by:

5.0

When it came to my wedding the number one thing I wanted from that day were good pictures. A video was just an added bonus. Ambient Sky makes it so easy for both. It is a husband and wife team that are down to earth and incredibly easy to work with. Amanda shot our engagement photos which turned out amazing. During the wedding their whole team made the process of having our pictures taken seamless and fun. A wedding is just one day so having good quality pictures plus good people taking them is extremely important.

Profile Picture Amanda, 9/3/16, 7 Reviews
Category: Videography
Services Used: Add'l Hours, Highlight Video, Multi. Cameras, Save The Date, Ceremony, Pre-Ceremony, Reception, DVD, USB Flash Drive, Storytelling
5.0

We have only seen teasers of our photos, but can't WAIT to see the rest, and the video when they are done!! Amanda and Scott are super professional, love what they do, and will retake a shot until it looks how they want it to -- which we appreciate!!! They were a joy to work with, and we would highly recommend this team!

Profile Picture Ilana, 7/16/15, 10 Reviews
Category: Photography, Videography
5.0

We hired Ambient Sky for our wedding photography and videography. We are blown away by their work!! We purchased the least expensive packages to stay on our budget and we're so happy with what came with. We received hundreds of photos from our day, a short video, and a video of our ceremony and key moments from our reception (flower toss, first dance, etc.) If you're hesitant about purchasing the video - DO IT! The short video is absolutely my favorite memento from the day!!

Aside from the amazing quality of their work, Amanda and Scott are a pleasure to work with. From our first conversations they were able to put any anxieties to ease about how the flow of the day would work, when photos would be taken, etc. They are extremely professional and fun, and most of all, perfectionists! They even stayed an hour later than we had paid to take additional photos as the sun set.

We can't rave about them enough - you will be so happy with the results!!

Profile Picture Ilana, 7/16/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography, Videography
4.8

Amanda made our wedding photography fun and simple from the first time we met to the big day. She was gracious and accommodating, especially with our combination of 3 families and opinions from both my wife and I as well as input from my mother. She was very helpful in guiding us towards a schedule for the day of that would allow us to get all the photos we wanted without compromising our desire to have fun!

Our sneak peek was posted just over one week after our wedding and we look forward to seeing all the rest of the photos in a few months.

Profile Picture Jessica, 6/6/15, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography
4.8

The work that Ambient Sky provides is truly art. We loved every photo that we received and the photo montage was well worth the investment! Amanda was extremely attentive to our needs and made sure we were not away from our guests for too long taking photos. She was easy to work with and never felt like she was interrupting events, even though she captured them all. I would recommend them hands down to anyone looking for a wedding photographer!

Profile Picture B, 3/6/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Amanda has a fun personality. She makes you feel comfortable so you can be yourself in the photos.

Profile Picture Sally, 1/30/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Ambient Sky were not just a pleasure to work with, but the quality of their work is simply amazing. They did a Love Story video, wedding trailer and wedding video for our daughter's wedding. The Love Story was shown at the Kridel Grand Ballroom during dinner. People are still talking about it! What a treasure it is to have these videos to look back on for years to come. Amanda and Scott are very talented and professional and we highly recommend them to anyone wishing to capture their event on video!

Profile Picture Eleni, 12/13/14, 6 Reviews
Category: Videography
5.0

Amanda, Scott and their team did a fantastic job at our wedding Saturday! They are professional and creative, dedicated and tireless and worked very hard to capture every angle, every moment of our special day! I know we were in the best possible hands, and it made perfect sense to hire them for both photography and videography so both are cohesive. I am so excited to see the finished products and would absolutely recommend Ambient Sky Studios to future brides (and grooms)! Thank you Amanda & Scott for making me even more excited to get married!

Profile Picture Kelsey, 8/16/14, 6 Reviews
Category: Photography, Videography
5.0

Amanda fully exceeded my expectations as my wedding photographer!! She was able to capture all the amazing details of my wedding day. She is incredibly experienced and was able to help calm my nerves with her delightful laugh and sense of humor, making it such a fun experience. I felt confident that I would be pleased with my pictures and no doubt I was! We had 2 photographers and considering we had a smaller backyard wedding, I had initially thought they might end up in each other's photos, but my husband and I hardly noticed them the whole night! What really drew my husband and I to Amanda's work was her artistic eye and ability to capture our day using various filters and lenses. She truly is talented and I would highly recommend her to anyone! You will not regret it and she is worth every penny!

Profile Picture Christine, 8/9/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Ambient Sky is truly amazing. They are not only wonderful to work with, but incredibly talented. Their quality, and creativity is truly above all else. I am so thankful that we hired them to work with us for our wedding. We did a Love Story shoot which we showed at the reception and it was gorgeous! My husband and I were soooo excited about how it turned out and it was magical to get to share that with our guests. Scott and Amanda are so professional and fun to work with. They truly make you feel at ease, so you end up having so much doing something you might have thought you'd be nervous for. I'm soooo excited to see how our wedding video turns out!

Profile Picture Elena, 7/19/14, 6 Reviews
Category: Videography
5.0

I cannot say enough GREAT things about this team! I literally stalked their website and watched all their videos at least twice before I ended up booking with them! They do such great work and are so easy to work with. We've already received a teaser from our wedding video and it's amazing! Everyone that we showed loved it and felt like they were there with us. To any bride who is wavering about a video DON'T it is so worth the money to get not only a videographer but to get the best and these guys are THE BEST!

Profile Picture Cici, 10/4/13, 9 Reviews
Category: Videography
5.0

We found Ambient Sky and initially met Amanda at their booth during a wedding show in Vancouver. She really stuck out to us because she was friendly, and excited to hear about our engagement story. We booked Ambient Sky for our wedding photographer and engagement photo shoot. Amanda was fun, and comfortable to shoot with. Our engagement shoot was fun, and easy - I thought it would be awkward, but my (now) husband and I really enjoyed it! Amanda was on time and prepared. Amanda and Scott both came to photograph the wedding day. They were there before we got there and fully prepared for the unpredictable weather that day. They worked great together! and as a husband and wife team there were a few entertaining moments for us! :) We had a chance recently to view our sneak peek photos and we love all of them! They never dictated the wedding day, instead they rode the wave and captured the moments, as well as the list of photographs we wanted them to take. Our favorite photo time was working with Amanda and Scott to capture the sparkler heart photos at night. They were so much fun, and our photos look great!

Profile Picture User3609205, 2+ years ago, 7 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Ambient Sky did the photography for our wedding. The photos came out so beautiful!! Amanda and Scott were so easy to work with, very professional, friendly, organized, and creative. I would recommend them to anyone I know, we are so excited to share our photos with family and friends! Thank you Ambient Sky!

Profile Picture User3586817, 2+ years ago, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

They make gorgeous wedding videos. They even suprised us at our reception and made a short video of us getting ready throughout the day to share with our guests. Perfect way to remember your perfect day ❤

Profile Picture Mallory, 9/7/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Videography
5.0

I had the pleasure of having Amanda and Scott shoot both photography and videography for my wedding. As the groom, most of the detail planning is typically not up to me, but I insisted on being apart of the photographer / videographer selection process.
This review will not be the typical “the pictures were amazing” review. Here is why:

Look at this list of awards:
•Best Wedding Videographer, Oregon Bride 2013
•Wedding Wire Brides Choice Winner 2012
•Style Me Pretty's, Premier Destination Wedding Vendor
•Best Wedding Videographer, Oregon Bride Finalist 2011
•The Pacific Northwest's only WEVA Creative Excellence Award winner 2008 - 2010
•Telly Award Winner
•DV Awards, Multiple Winner

If that’s not enough accolades, here is an amazing photo of my wife and I.

http://ambientsky.com/wedding-photography/portland-wedding-photography-aerie-at-eagle-landing-wedding-sneak-peak/

Here is the big difference that sets Ambient Sky apart and why I chose them over other studios.

Attitude.

Both Scott and Amanda are delightful to work with because of their serious dedication to their craft. These two can literally create prime time TV and Magazine quality work. To them, your wedding isn’t just another event, it is another chance for them to showcase their creativity, to push the envelope and, I’m sure, to challenge themselves.

Working with Ambient Sky was a positive experience because they truly cared about our concerns. It’s that simple in this day and age when customers have many options, customer service and the final product reign supreme.

So now add together amazing attitudes, excellent customer service, award winning photography / videography and you’ll see why I recommend Ambient Sky Studio.

My last words, before I get off my soapbox: Your wedding day is an investment and among the many things, it is certainly an investment in memories. How will you make the most of your memories?

Think about it.

~ Joe

Profile Picture Joe, 8/25/13, 1 Review
Category: Photography, Videography
5.0

We hired Amanda with Ambient Sky for our wedding photography. Amanda was always responsive and very professional. On the day of our wedding her and her second photographer showed up on time and ready to go. We have received our photos and are very happy with the finished product and everything they captured. Thanks Amanda for your wonderful work!
Lindsay & Brian

Profile Picture Lindsay, 8/10/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We hired Scott and Amanda to provide videography and produce a Same Day Edit video for our wedding day, and WOW!! My husband and I could not have been more satisfied. They are extremely talented and created the most amazing Same Day Edit video that brought us to tears when we watched it for the first time. The video circulated to our family and friends, then to their friends and then to even more friends. Everyone cannot believe how great the video was. Some people thought it was a professional commercial for a wedding - what a huge compliment! My husband and I watch the video almost daily and can't get enough. Scott and Amanda were a dream to work with, and the SDE video was one of our favorite parts of the entire wedding. It's worth everyone penny! Photos are great but videography captures a totally different element of the day that you can never get back. Thank you!!!!

Profile Picture Kathy, 9/24/11, 8 Reviews
Category: Videography
0.0

My wife and I used Ambient Sky for photography and video services for our wedding. We highly recommend NOT using the service of Ambient Sky to anyone in the Portland area or surrounding regions for multiple reasons;

Overall Service Experience: It took 2 years 1 month 6 days to receive our completed wedding video. The quality of the finished product was not worth the investment of time nor money.

Lack of Professionalism: When contacting Amanda and Scott via email it took multiple days to get a response. When finally receiving a response in to "why our video was not completed," they would state a list of excuses. Every response was more extravagant then the next and they would inherently continue to lead us on that it would be done very shortly. We sent multiple emails in the 2 year period. As a service based business Ambient Sky has an obligation to their customers to fulfill there finished product in the allotted amount of time designated in there contract. The contract that of which was written by Ambient Sky's legal services. It clearly states in the contract in which we signed that they would finish the video in 12 months or if additional time was needed. It does not state anywhere in the contract that it would take 2+ years to finish the wedding video which would put them in the breach of that contract. The reason why I have to explain the legalities of this situation is very sad. My wife and I only received our wedding video after we left a negative google review for Ambient Sky. Once the feedback was left which was posted 2 years after our wedding date. We contacted Amanda and Scott again via email stating, "it has been 2 years where is our wedding video?" The response was very similar to previous responses the video will be completed shortly. 1 Month Later the video was completed and we received a message from Amanda asking us to change our google review since they have completed the video. Another 6 days past then we finally received the video.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Eric, 8/13/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography, Videography
5.0

My wife Jenny and I chose Amanda and Scott at Ambient Sky to do our photography and videography for our destination wedding in Maui. Being that the majority of our friends and family would not be making the trip, the videography was of particular importance so we could share with everyone back home. I could not possibly express how grateful we are to them both for everything they did for us on this trip, but I will try.

The folks at Ambient Sky were very professional and worked their tails off while in Maui. You could tell they didn't view it as a "vacation" but as a work trip and conducted themselves above and beyond any expectations I could have had. They spent a day prior to our arrival scouting locations and by the time we were going to do some shooting they had everything planned out, we just had to show up. Given all the other planning that is required during a wedding, this was a welcome change. They communicated with us as necessary to ensure everything went smoothly and even spoke with the officiant on our behalf when we got to the beach to make sure we got everything we needed from him for our ceremony and on the video.

The bottom line is this, Amanda and Scott were very easy to work with and had a calming effect on my wife and me while we were working together. The last thing you need from your photo/video group is attitude and stress and you will receive neither from Ambient Sky. If I had to make the decision to go with them or not again it would be the easiest decision of my life. Without a doubt the best decision we made for our wedding vendors and we had a great wedding. Mahalo Ambient Sky for all that you guys did for us!

Profile Picture Matt, 5/28/11, 1 Review
Category: Photography, Videography
5.0

Where to begin???
We first discovered Ambient Sky when they filmed the wedding where my now husband I met. That was the first time I had seen a "same day edit," where at the reception they show footage of the bride and groom prior to the ceremony, not to mention clips of the wedding. Everyone, including myself were blown away that they could take such amazing shots, and get them edited and set to music to show early on in the reception to guests.
That being said, they were one of my first choices when interviewing videographers. Scott and Amanda were wonderful from the start. Helped me choose an amazing package, but I didn't feel up-sold. Were responsive to my emails and calls, even though they are quite busy! They were very flexible when choosing a date and time to film our "love story" engagement video, as we kept running into weather constraints. Ultimately we purchased a package that included a "love story," "same day edit" and a regular video of our wedding day. These two are magic! Our Love story was amazing. Well shot, edited and set to our favorite music. Plus they let us bring our dogs to be included in the video. On the day of our wedding they were professional, prompt and not obtrusive. I never felt like I had a camera in my face. They shoot their HD video off what appears to be a regular camera, so my guests and bridal party didn't even know they were being filmed! Our same day edit was an absolute hit. They showed both the love story and same day at our reception, and my guests kept commenting at how they felt like they were at a professional movie screening! We all laughed and cried. No one could believe that they were able to pull it off. The selling point for me was that they wove in the original footage of my husband and I dancing together from the wedding at which we met, which they also filmed. My husband wasn't too keen on adding videography to our budget, however, watching the films at the wedding, he just kept saying, "you were right, best money we've spent!" Not one second of regret, they were worth every penny. I can't wait to see our full length video. Such an amazing keep sake to show friends and family for years to come. You'd be lucky to book Ambient Sky!

Profile Picture Amber, 4/30/11, 7 Reviews
Category: Videography
This review is currently being verified.
4.7

Ambient Sky did a remarkable job at my wedding! They were on time, and all over the place trying to capture as much as possible. My husband and I got so many compliments on our same day edit that was shown at the reception as well. Scott and his wife are amazing and I would recommend them to anyone wanting an unforgettable wedding video.

Profile Picture Andrea, 7/10/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Videography
5.0

he did a great job on video and everything was great will use him for other evens and recommend him to other friends

Profile Picture joe, 4/22/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Videography