Weddings

Alex Levin Music Reviews

Alex Levin Music View more information

37 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 37
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
Sort by:
  • D
    Damien W. Married on 01/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful and professional

    Alex and his band were incredibly accommodating and nice as can be for my parents' 50th wedding anniversary party. The music was beautiful and a wonderful complement to the evening. The event was outside of Philly and they traveled down, were on time, played a couple of fantastic sets and really helped make the event special for everyone. I highly recommend this band for your special event!
  • D
    Denise W. Married on 02/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Magical Evening enhanced by music perfection

    Alex and his musicians were a pleasure to work with and the music was exactly what I was hoping it would be making our daughters wedding the magical evening she had wished. Alex and all the musician were a pleasure to work with, they were professional and quick to respond. Alex was personable making you feel as if you were working with a friend who wanted your affair to be exactly what you wanted. It was one of the best choices for Chesney and Casey's wedding.
  • Nile
    Nile C. Married on 10/26/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A professional and talented group

    For the first time in a long time, I’m actually speechless. This was so beyond our expectations and simply incredible. Couldn’t have asked for a better performance or a more enjoyable group to have at our wedding. We really loved every minute and we’re so very glad you joined us for our wedding!

    Thank you so much!
  • Alison
    Alison Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dreamy music for our wedding!

    The Smoke Rings were absolutely incredible for our wedding. Alex was extremely communicative via email and helped coordinate doing jazz versions of two country songs for our first dance and a parent dance. It was so incredibly special during our dinner and early part of our reception to have their beautiful music, and our guests complimented us the entire night. We could not recommend them more highly for any event, and thank you for making our wedding so special!
  • Camille
    Camille S. Married on 09/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Made our night truly special

    The Smoke Rings were a fantastic addition to our wedding celebration. Our guests are still raving about their incredible performance. It was the highlight of our reception and we could not be more pleased about having them with us. The Smoke Rings made the night truly special. Leading up to the party Alex was very easy to communicate with, and during the event Alex was professional, kind, and attentive. We would work with Alex over and over again.
  • T
    T. Hartford Married on 09/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Outstanding, Professional Group

    Alex and his group were outstanding - they were attentive to what kind of music/atmosphere we wanted, were very responsive, and were very helpful with all of the questions we had. They're at the top of my list for any future event (wedding or otherwise) that I'd want live music for.
  • J
    John D. Married on 04/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Father of the Bride

    Very professional and talented musicians. Lots of compliments from wedding guests about the band. Great value. You will not be disappointed!
  • S
    Suzanne Married on 10/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alex & his group made our daughter’s wedding a warm, joyful evening.. the music was soft jazz & vocals while we dined & picked up to a fun jazz dance party after the meal.. everyone raved about the music ‼️
  • J
    John Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alex’s performance was excellent our guests Thoroughly enjoyed his mix of music
  • M
    Mary Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Incredible group musicians, etherial sound, and so very professional/accommodating. One of the most magical components of our wedding, and I would hire them again, in a heartbeat. Thank you, Alex Levin and Love, Charley!!
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Evergreen Jazz Band was the perfect choice for our wedding band. They played standards at our fall outdoor reception and we--and our 300 guests!--couldn't have enjoyed it more. They are a delight to work with--very professional and lovely people--and a delight on the stage (so talented!!). We highly recommend them for any event--and especially weddings!
  • B
    Ben Married on 06/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Street of Dreams to perform at our wedding rehearsal dinner for about 100 guests. They really hit it out of the park! They are an extraordinary quartet, and all of our guests were complementing us on the music. We highly recommend Street of Dreams, and already plan to hire them for our next event. Thanks for the incredible tunes, guys!
  • S
    S Married on 04/15/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alex and his band performed at our wedding reception and were excellent. They accommodated all of our requests, including moving locations between our cocktail hour and dinner, and were incredibly responsive throughout our planning process. They were friendly, professional and talented and played the perfect music for our event.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 04/01/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a wonderful experience with Alex Levin Music. After she initially contacted him, Alex was great about giving my mother feedback about which of his groups would be the best fit for my wedding. We ended up picking Love, Charley and Alex worked with us to decide on the band arrangement to give us the full sound that we wanted, adding a clarinetist/saxophonist to the usual band line-up. Throughout the entire process, Alex was extremely flexible, patient, and accommodating, participating in multiple planning phone calls and sending a band representative to see the venue in advance of the event to make sure someone would be familiar with the space. We really wanted to have a jazz band play our reception as opposed to having a DJ or a band doing contemporary covers, but we were a little bit anxious about how our guests would respond. The band was fantastic though, and had people up on the dance floor for much of the night. We really couldn't have been happier with their performance. Alex also played piano during our cocktail hour, which was also great. We got so many positive comments from our friends and family about the music, and would definitely recommend working with Alex.
  • S
    Sean Married on 11/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Great Jazz trio which can expand to a quarter. Very attentive to the atmosphere of the room and guests! Great players and great charts! Real pros!!
  • K
    Kate Married on 11/12/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our Brooklyn wedding wouldn't have been the same without Alex Levin and his Love Charley Band! We wanted to have a live jazz element of our night followed by a great DJ (we didn't go for a wedding band as we didn't want our song selection to be limited) and we were so lucky to stumble upon Love Charley! From the beginning, Alex (the Band leader) was so easy to work with and incredibly professional. Our inquiry was promptly responded to and Alex jumped right on the phone to discuss our wedding, the vibe, etc. Alex immediately made us feel that he truly cared about our specific wedding and he was genuinely excited about what we were planning and being a part of it all.

    We decided on four sets of music and the quartet with piano (Alex plays the piano and based on the very positive experience working together we absolutely wanted him there so we rented a piano)! The first set was during the ceremony when Martina (unbelievable singer) sang and played the ukulele for the walks down the aisle. Her voice is seriously amazing live and she was also just a lovely person. The second set was instrumental during the cocktail hour and it was just perfect. The third and fourth sets were with the whole band plus Martina singing during our family style dinner so it felt like a live show/performance. The music was of course beautiful and the vibe they created for the first half of the wedding was perfect - fun, lively, early 1900's jazz club.

    As you can see I can't say enough great things about Alex and our specific experience with Love Charley. They would be great for corporate events, parties, a full wedding band if you're looking for jazz/swing only otherwise I love what we came up with working with Love Charley for the first half and then a DJ for the second half. Also pricewise going with what we did total cost (LC plus DJ) was about one-third the cost of a traditional NYC 8+ piece wedding band and we think much more memorable and unique!
  • User2414769 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired the Smoke Rings to play at our wedding welcome party in Manchester, VT. We wanted the party to have an elegant, old-time vibe and the Smoke Rings provided the perfect music to compliment our theme. Alex was a pleasure to work with during our entire planning process. He was incredibly kind, responsive, and thoughtful in working with our budget and arranging all the details. The quartet took care of all their travel plans on their own, which was a huge help. The evening of our party, the quartet amazed all of our guests with their incredible talent and musicianship. Before long, the small area of space in front of the musicians turned into a packed dance floor! We only wish our party could have lasted a lot longer because no one wanted to stop dancing to their tunes! If you are looking for incredible musical talent for your event, you shouldn’t hesitate to book The Smoke Rings. Our guests cannot stop talking about their unique sound—it’s like they take you on an amazing voyage back through time to hear some of the music out of the Great American Songbook. Those of our guests who happen to also be professional musicians couldn’t have been more impressed! We cannot say enough wonderful things about The Smoke Rings—they are incredible and will add so much to your event!
  • Z
    Zachary Married on 06/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Don't think of The Smoke Rings as a wedding vendor. Think of them as artists who happen to perform at weddings. They are unique, charming, creative, and have an innovative sound, and we are so lucky that they lent their talents to our wedding on June 20th, 2015 in New Hampshire.

    We happened to stumble upon The Smoke Rings performing at a jazz club in New York City a few years ago and fell in love with their sound. They left such an impression on us that years later, when planning our wedding reception, we knew that they were the only band for us.

    Communicating with The Smoke Rings was a breeze, With Alex often returning our emails in a matter of minutes. They are professional and accommodating, and genuinely care about making your event special.

    Our guests were BLOWN away by The Smoke Rings at our reception. We got so many compliments, with newlywed friends expressing their jealously. (What more could we want? :) Sarah's voice completely transports you, and after each song guests were clapping and whistling as if they were at a concert. It's hard to find a band with a sound that engages both younger and older guests, but the mixture of Sarah's youthful, artistic presence and songs that are recognized by older generations made the music accessible to all guests.

    Many people told us our wedding was the best they had ever been to, and we know that The Smoke Rings are a big part of that.
  • N
    Nicholas Married on 06/20/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Don't think of The Smoke Rings as a wedding vendor. Think of them as artists who happen to perform at weddings. They are unique, charming, creative, and have an innovative sound, and we are so lucky that they lent their talents to our wedding on June 20th, 2015 in New Hampshire.

    We happened to stumble upon The Smoke Rings performing at a jazz club in New York City a few years ago and fell in love with their sound. They left such an impression on us that years later, when planning our wedding reception, we knew that they were the only band for us.

    Communicating with The Smoke Rings was a breeze, With Alex often returning our emails in a matter of minutes. They are professional and accommodating, and genuinely care about making your event special.

    Our guests were BLOWN away by The Smoke Rings at our reception. We got so many compliments, with newlywed friends expressing their jealously. (What more could we want? :) Sarah's voice completely transports you, and after each song guests were clapping and whistling as if they were at a concert. It's hard to find a band with a sound that engages both younger and older guests, but the mixture of Sarah's youthful, artistic presence and songs that are recognized by older generations made the music accessible to all guests.

    Many people told us our wedding was the best they had ever been to, and we know that The Smoke Rings are a big part of that.

  • User2191568 Event on: 06/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Love Charley Band was a huge hit at my recent corporate event. They were professional, courteous and lovely to work with. The band itself played great music and the singer's voice was unique and beautiful. We would definitely work with them again and recommend them for both corporate and social occasions.
  • J
    Jack Event on: 12/20/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alex has now played piano at two parties that we have hosted. He is a great player, very professional, and an all around stand up guy. We will definitely be using him for all of our future events.
  • S
    Sharon Event on: 12/16/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The Smoke Rings were excellent! Sarah King is a fabulous chanteuse.
    The band was brilliant. On-time, professional, sharply dressed, and of course EXCELLENT musicians.
    It was perfect.

    My event was a corporate gig, but they would bring a sparkly elegance to any event, especially a wedding.

    I can't recommend Alex Levin and the groups he manages/books enough!
  • S
    Shannon Event on: 12/14/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amazing performance! We were thrilled to have the Smoke Rings at our event.
  • B
    Brendan Event on: 12/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    These guys are the best. Professional , amazing in every way. I did a boom boom room black tie party and they honestly were the hit of the event -- which made it to page six, etc. Bravo!
  • M
    Marc M. Married on 11/22/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alex Levin Trio review
    The Alex Levin trio played at our wedding ceremony and reception at City Hall restaurant 11-22-14 and they were amazing! Even a week after the event, we were still receiving compliments on how great the band was.
    I am a rock musician with a love for Jazz, so you can imagine I was very picky. When I heard the Alex Levin Trio from a few youtube videos, I knew right away this was the band we need.
    The trio far exceeded our expectations, the musicianship was top notch and so fluid. I even had the guys learn a Heavy Metal song to be played in a Jazz style, and they nailed it!
    For the ceremony we requested that the Bassist write a piece of music that my wife will walk down the aisle to, and it was breathtaking, a bowed piece of haunting chamber music, flawless. He would later tell us that was the first time he ever played anyone down the aisle. I highly recommend it!
    We highly recommend the Alex Levin Trio to anyone who needs a top notch Jazz band for any occasion, and on top of that, they are such a nice bunch of guys!