Alex Levin Music Reviews

33 | Brooklyn, NY
See photos, pricing and details

33 Reviews for Alex Levin Music

Recommended by 100%

33
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • D

    Denise Willard · Getting married on 02/09/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical Evening enhanced by music perfection

    Alex and his musicians were a pleasure to work with and the music was exactly what I was hoping it would be making our daughters wedding the magical evening she had wished. Alex and all the musician were a pleasure to work with, they were professional and quick to respond. Alex was personable making you feel as if you were working with a friend who wanted your affair to be exactly what you wanted. It was one of the best choices for Chesney and Casey's wedding.

    Sent on 10/12/2019
  • Alison

    Alison · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dreamy music for our wedding!

    The Smoke Rings were absolutely incredible for our wedding. Alex was extremely communicative via email and helped coordinate doing jazz versions of two country songs for our first dance and a parent dance. It was so incredibly special during our dinner and early part of our reception to have their beautiful music, and our guests complimented us the entire night. We could not recommend them more highly for any event, and thank you for making our wedding so special!

    Sent on 10/08/2019
  • J

    John Doherty · Married on 04/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Father of the Bride

    Very professional and talented musicians. Lots of compliments from wedding guests about the band. Great value. You will not be disappointed!

    Sent on 04/12/2019
  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 10/07/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex & his group made our daughter’s wedding a warm, joyful evening.. the music was soft jazz & vocals while we dined & picked up to a fun jazz dance party after the meal.. everyone raved about the music ‼️

    Sent on 10/07/2018
  • J

    John · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex’s performance was excellent our guests Thoroughly enjoyed his mix of music

    Sent on 10/07/2018
  • M

    Mary · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible group musicians, etherial sound, and so very professional/accommodating. One of the most magical components of our wedding, and I would hire them again, in a heartbeat. Thank you, Alex Levin and Love, Charley!!

    Sent on 10/14/2018
  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Evergreen Jazz Band was the perfect choice for our wedding band. They played standards at our fall outdoor reception and we--and our 300 guests!--couldn't have enjoyed it more. They are a delight to work with--very professional and lovely people--and a delight on the stage (so talented!!). We highly recommend them for any event--and especially weddings!

    Sent on 01/26/2018
  • B

    Ben · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Street of Dreams to perform at our wedding rehearsal dinner for about 100 guests. They really hit it out of the park! They are an extraordinary quartet, and all of our guests were complementing us on the music. We highly recommend Street of Dreams, and already plan to hire them for our next event. Thanks for the incredible tunes, guys!

    Sent on 06/13/2017
  • S

    S · Married on 04/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex and his band performed at our wedding reception and were excellent. They accommodated all of our requests, including moving locations between our cocktail hour and dinner, and were incredibly responsive throughout our planning process. They were friendly, professional and talented and played the perfect music for our event.

    Sent on 05/25/2017
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience with Alex Levin Music. After she initially contacted him, Alex was great about giving my mother feedback about which of his groups would be the best fit for my wedding. We ended up picking Love, Charley and Alex worked with us to decide on the band arrangement to give us the full sound that we wanted, adding a clarinetist/saxophonist to the usual band line-up. Throughout the entire process, Alex was extremely flexible, patient, and accommodating, participating in multiple planning phone calls and sending a band representative to see the venue in advance of the event to make sure someone would be familiar with the space. We really wanted to have a jazz band play our reception as opposed to having a DJ or a band doing contemporary covers, but we were a little bit anxious about how our guests would respond. The band was fantastic though, and had people up on the dance floor for much of the night. We really couldn't have been happier with their performance. Alex also played piano during our cocktail hour, which was also great. We got so many positive comments from our friends and family about the music, and would definitely recommend working with Alex.

    Sent on 04/19/2017
  • S

    Sean · Married on 11/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Jazz trio which can expand to a quarter. Very attentive to the atmosphere of the room and guests! Great players and great charts! Real pros!!

    Sent on 01/06/2017
  • K

    Kate · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Brooklyn wedding wouldn't have been the same without Alex Levin and his Love Charley Band! We wanted to have a live jazz element of our night followed by a great DJ (we didn't go for a wedding band as we didn't want our song selection to be limited) and we were so lucky to stumble upon Love Charley! From the beginning, Alex (the Band leader) was so easy to work with and incredibly professional. Our inquiry was promptly responded to and Alex jumped right on the phone to discuss our wedding, the vibe, etc. Alex immediately made us feel that he truly cared about our specific wedding and he was genuinely excited about what we were planning and being a part of it all.

    We decided on four sets of music and the quartet with piano (Alex plays the piano and based on the very positive experience working together we absolutely wanted him there so we rented a piano)! The first set was during the ceremony when Martina (unbelievable singer) sang and played the ukulele for the walks down the aisle. Her voice is seriously amazing live and she was also just a lovely person. The second set was instrumental during the cocktail hour and it was just perfect. The third and fourth sets were with the whole band plus Martina singing during our family style dinner so it felt like a live show/performance. The music was of course beautiful and the vibe they created for the first half of the wedding was perfect - fun, lively, early 1900's jazz club.

    As you can see I can't say enough great things about Alex and our specific experience with Love Charley. They would be great for corporate events, parties, a full wedding band if you're looking for jazz/swing only otherwise I love what we came up with working with Love Charley for the first half and then a DJ for the second half. Also pricewise going with what we did total cost (LC plus DJ) was about one-third the cost of a traditional NYC 8+ piece wedding band and we think much more memorable and unique!

    Sent on 01/08/2017
  • User5594702 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired the Smoke Rings to play at our wedding welcome party in Manchester, VT. We wanted the party to have an elegant, old-time vibe and the Smoke Rings provided the perfect music to compliment our theme. Alex was a pleasure to work with during our entire planning process. He was incredibly kind, responsive, and thoughtful in working with our budget and arranging all the details. The quartet took care of all their travel plans on their own, which was a huge help. The evening of our party, the quartet amazed all of our guests with their incredible talent and musicianship. Before long, the small area of space in front of the musicians turned into a packed dance floor! We only wish our party could have lasted a lot longer because no one wanted to stop dancing to their tunes! If you are looking for incredible musical talent for your event, you shouldn’t hesitate to book The Smoke Rings. Our guests cannot stop talking about their unique sound—it’s like they take you on an amazing voyage back through time to hear some of the music out of the Great American Songbook. Those of our guests who happen to also be professional musicians couldn’t have been more impressed! We cannot say enough wonderful things about The Smoke Rings—they are incredible and will add so much to your event!

    Sent on 11/07/2015
  • N

    Nicholas · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don't think of The Smoke Rings as a wedding vendor. Think of them as artists who happen to perform at weddings. They are unique, charming, creative, and have an innovative sound, and we are so lucky that they lent their talents to our wedding on June 20th, 2015 in New Hampshire.

    We happened to stumble upon The Smoke Rings performing at a jazz club in New York City a few years ago and fell in love with their sound. They left such an impression on us that years later, when planning our wedding reception, we knew that they were the only band for us.

    Communicating with The Smoke Rings was a breeze, With Alex often returning our emails in a matter of minutes. They are professional and accommodating, and genuinely care about making your event special.

    Our guests were BLOWN away by The Smoke Rings at our reception. We got so many compliments, with newlywed friends expressing their jealously. (What more could we want? :) Sarah's voice completely transports you, and after each song guests were clapping and whistling as if they were at a concert. It's hard to find a band with a sound that engages both younger and older guests, but the mixture of Sarah's youthful, artistic presence and songs that are recognized by older generations made the music accessible to all guests.

    Many people told us our wedding was the best they had ever been to, and we know that The Smoke Rings are a big part of that.

    Sent on 06/24/2015
  • Z

    Zachary · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don't think of The Smoke Rings as a wedding vendor. Think of them as artists who happen to perform at weddings. They are unique, charming, creative, and have an innovative sound, and we are so lucky that they lent their talents to our wedding on June 20th, 2015 in New Hampshire.

    We happened to stumble upon The Smoke Rings performing at a jazz club in New York City a few years ago and fell in love with their sound. They left such an impression on us that years later, when planning our wedding reception, we knew that they were the only band for us.

    Communicating with The Smoke Rings was a breeze, With Alex often returning our emails in a matter of minutes. They are professional and accommodating, and genuinely care about making your event special.

    Our guests were BLOWN away by The Smoke Rings at our reception. We got so many compliments, with newlywed friends expressing their jealously. (What more could we want? :) Sarah's voice completely transports you, and after each song guests were clapping and whistling as if they were at a concert. It's hard to find a band with a sound that engages both younger and older guests, but the mixture of Sarah's youthful, artistic presence and songs that are recognized by older generations made the music accessible to all guests.

    Many people told us our wedding was the best they had ever been to, and we know that The Smoke Rings are a big part of that.

    Sent on 06/24/2015
  • User5197625 · event on 06/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Love Charley Band was a huge hit at my recent corporate event. They were professional, courteous and lovely to work with. The band itself played great music and the singer's voice was unique and beautiful. We would definitely work with them again and recommend them for both corporate and social occasions.

    Sent on 06/22/2015
  • J

    Jack · event on 12/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex has now played piano at two parties that we have hosted. He is a great player, very professional, and an all around stand up guy. We will definitely be using him for all of our future events.

    Sent on 12/21/2014
  • S

    Sharon · event on 12/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Smoke Rings were excellent! Sarah King is a fabulous chanteuse.
    The band was brilliant. On-time, professional, sharply dressed, and of course EXCELLENT musicians.
    It was perfect.

    My event was a corporate gig, but they would bring a sparkly elegance to any event, especially a wedding.

    I can't recommend Alex Levin and the groups he manages/books enough!

    Sent on 12/18/2014
  • S

    Shannon · event on 12/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing performance! We were thrilled to have the Smoke Rings at our event.

    Sent on 12/18/2014
  • B

    Brendan · event on 12/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys are the best. Professional , amazing in every way. I did a boom boom room black tie party and they honestly were the hit of the event -- which made it to page six, etc. Bravo!

    Sent on 12/18/2014
  • M

    Marc & Michelle · Married on 11/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex Levin Trio review
    The Alex Levin trio played at our wedding ceremony and reception at City Hall restaurant 11-22-14 and they were amazing! Even a week after the event, we were still receiving compliments on how great the band was.
    I am a rock musician with a love for Jazz, so you can imagine I was very picky. When I heard the Alex Levin Trio from a few youtube videos, I knew right away this was the band we need.
    The trio far exceeded our expectations, the musicianship was top notch and so fluid. I even had the guys learn a Heavy Metal song to be played in a Jazz style, and they nailed it!
    For the ceremony we requested that the Bassist write a piece of music that my wife will walk down the aisle to, and it was breathtaking, a bowed piece of haunting chamber music, flawless. He would later tell us that was the first time he ever played anyone down the aisle. I highly recommend it!
    We highly recommend the Alex Levin Trio to anyone who needs a top notch Jazz band for any occasion, and on top of that, they are such a nice bunch of guys!

    Sent on 12/11/2014
  • R

    Russ · event on 10/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Alex Levin Trio is a special group!

    Alex and his group just performed the second special event for I hired them for. The first was a 50th birthday party in Tribeca, where they delighted and impressed everyone. The second was an elegant fundraiser at the Museum of the City of New York where they got rave reviews once again. They are consummate professionals. Not only is the music a delight to the ears... but their courtesy, flexibility, professionalism, and reliability are all top notch.

    I look forward to the next time I have the opportunity to hire them.

    Thank you Alex! You helped make our evening special once again!

    Sincerely,
    Russ Schulman, PhD

    Sent on 10/23/2014
  • J

    Jessica · event on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I couldn't have asked for a better group of talented musicians to play at my parent's 40th wedding anniversary. From the start, Alex Levin was informative and quick to respond to my questions. The band was flexible with the schedule I provided for them, and continued to be flexible with the changes that I made throughout our planning process.
    Most importantly, the quality of music was exceptional - my guests continued to compliment the band throughout the night. The band played my parent's wedding song after they renewed their vows, and (I am quoting my dad) "it was a dance they will never forget - the version of Unchained Melody that was played was truly magical".
    The quality, price and value of this band was exceptional. I would highly recommend this band for any event. It was a pleasure working with them.

    Sent on 10/06/2014
  • L

    Loretta · event on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an incredible party we had in great measure do to the wonderful band, Love, Charley. Martina has a soulful voice that transports you back to the age of jazz. Everyone at the party kept coming up to me and telling me how wonderful the band was. Alex was so accommodating and professional in setting everything up. I can't say enough about what a wonderful experience it was and I would book them again in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 09/08/2014
  • L

    Linda · event on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Alex Levin is a consummate professional. He is an excellent jazz musician but is also incredibly accommodating and responsive to the client's needs. We love working with him and have had him play for us twice within the past few months.

    Sent on 09/10/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review