Aldo Leopold Nature Center Reviews

14 | Madison, WI
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for Aldo Leopold Nature Center

Recommended by 94%

14
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.6

13 User photos

Aldo Leopold Nature Center 1
Aldo Leopold Nature Center 2
Aldo Leopold Nature Center 3
Aldo Leopold Nature Center 4
Aldo Leopold Nature Center 5
Aldo Leopold Nature Center 6
Aldo Leopold Nature Center 7
+ 7
Sort by:
  • Lauren

    Lauren Schmelzer · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Aldo Leopold Nature Center

    We were so lucky to have found the perfect venue to get married. Our night was even more amazing than we imagined and the venue worked seemlessly. Duncan helped us throughout the process. He was great and so easy to work with. We highly recommend this beautiful place to everyone who loves nature as much as we do.

    Sent on 11/04/2018
  • L

    Leila · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Erdmann-Larson Wedding

    We were married at the ALNC on Friday, October 5th, 2018 and had 120 friends and family help celebrate with us. The site was beautiful, I can't say enough on how beautiful and relaxing ALNC is. The landscape had just begun to change color the week of our wedding, which we had not planned on, so our wedding day had turned out so lovely as we married outside. We held our reception inside the ALNC and it was cozy, warm & inviting. Our friends and family have raved about how lovely the venue was and how the activities kept the kids busy all night long. Duncan was so helpful planning our day, he was quick to respond to my emails and met with us 2 times prior to our wedding day. He and his staff were hands on and helped with everything on our wedding day. We highly recommend the Aldo Leopold Nature Center!

    Sent on 11/25/2018
  • J

    Jessa · Married on 08/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so incredibly happy with the service provided by the staff at ALNC. They were attentive, organized, diligent, and most importantly, friendly!!!

    Sent on 09/12/2018
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't imagine a better place to have gotten married. Duncan and everyone at ALNC made the day go so smoothly and we are so grateful for how flexible and accommodating they were throughout the whole process in the months leading to the wedding (meeting us and touring us around the property several times, answering all our questions promptly, being incredibly organized, etc). Our friends and family (both kids and adults) loved exploring the prairie and also exploring the exhibits, slideshow, and other fun activities inside. We got lucky with the weather, but we would have been very happy with the beautiful inside spaces for the ceremony too. Can’t recommend highly enough!

    Sent on 08/20/2018
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 8
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 9
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We seriously loved our wedding at Aldo Leopold Nature Center in July 2018. It was without a doubt the best day of our lives--and so much of that had to do with the venue, and amazing service provided by Duncan and the team at Aldo. Duncan was very responsive and from the beginning understood our vision of being outdoors as much as possible with three food trunks and a live band--casual, relaxed, and surrounded by beautiful nature. They were flexible with bringing in vendors--providing all of the details up front of agreements needed, and helped get everything looking perfect the day-of. Duncan worked with us on multiple back-up options in the case of inclement weather (part of why we chose this venue was having multiple options/spaces!), but thankfully we only had a sprinkle! Pictures turned out awesome as there are a lot of cool spots to take photos--in the wildflowers, on the trails, on the bridge, by the Aldo shack! Several guests commented on how beautiful the grounds were. Can't say enough great things! Wish we could do it every weekend!

    Photo Credit: Katherine Leaf Photography (katherineleaf.com) https://www.facebook.com/KatherineLeafPhotography

    Sent on 08/07/2018
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 10
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 11
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 12
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 13
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 14
  • C

    Carolyn · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We cannot possibly say enough good things about the ALNC as a wedding venue, and the entire team that helped make our day such a success! From the moment we met Duncan, we could tell that he was professional and experienced and we continued to be grateful throughout the entire process by how accommodating, responsive and full of ideas he was. From suggesting layouts for the ceremony and reception to answering all the millions of emails we sent during our ten months of planning, Duncan always treated our requests thoughtfully and really went above and beyond to make sure we were able to bring our vision to life. Duncan also was a great collaborator with our day-of wedding planner, and she constantly commented on how easy he was to work with. The ALNC makes planning a wedding really easy (its a beautiful space indoors and outdoors, and they helpfully provide a number of the main items needed on-site, including tables and wireless speakers and mics) as well as having selected excellent preferred catering partners, who are also incredibly experienced in setting up at the venue. We will forever be grateful for the role Duncan and the entire ALNC team played to make our wedding so perfect. We felt comfortable the entire time withe plan A (outdoor ceremony and cocktail hour, and indoor reception) and plan B (all indoors) and know that either way, the celebration would have been a success (though we are so pleased we were able to stick to plan A)! We can't recommend the venue enough!

    Sent on 06/10/2018
  • L

    laurie · Married on 05/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad we had our wedding at ALNC! Duncan was great to work with. He responded to all our emails promptly and with great information, met with us multiple times, and was overall very easy to work with. The ALNC staff did everything on the day-of exactly as we had discussed in advance, and made everything go smoothly. We had our ceremony outside, and our reception and dinner indoors. We had a few last-minute changes because of the weather (unseasonably hot) and Duncan was great with making suggestions and then implementing everything we agreed on. It's a beautiful location and supports a good cause, so we highly recommend ALNC.

    Sent on 08/12/2018
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 15
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 16
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/12/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently had my wedding at the Aldo Leopold Nature Center. It was very wonderful, in spite of the weather being a little chillier than anticipated! Duncan was a great help in coordinating the setup of the room we rented, as well as maintaining the soundtracks that we played. He was very accommodating - we visited the center to go over additional details at least three separate times before the wedding. One of the best parts I think is that revenue from rentals goes towards their children's environmental education programs!

    Sent on 05/13/2018
  • C

    Casey · Married on 04/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We would be lying if we said we weren't perfectionists, and wedding planning brought that out more than anything. That being said, our wedding reception at ALNC was absolutely perfect. As nature lovers, the ALNC was definitely the right venue for us. It provided an intimate, delightfully rustic setting within which our guests were very comfortable. Everyone enjoyed watching the sun go down from the large deck overlooking the grounds, which was literally steps from the dining room and dance floor. As it was a colder April evening, we even got to have a fire going in the lobby fireplace. We truly felt right at home and will have nothing but fond memories of our wedding day. We worked with Duncan who guided us through the entire process, and he was a pleasure to work with. He went above and beyond to make sure our special day went without a hitch. All of our expectations were met or exceeded with ALNC. We highly recommend it!

    Sent on 05/15/2018
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/09/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The event coordinator was so professional and easy to work with. The event space is beautiful and fit our vision and budget perfectly.

    Sent on 08/26/2018
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 17
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 18
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 19
    Aldo Leopold Nature Center 20
  • D

    David L · Married on 10/27/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Place for an Outdoor Wedding

    This is a great place for a wedding of roughly 100-130 people. It's a little small for more than 150, but for less than that it is a great place. The property that the Center is located on is so beautiful, especially in the fall. There are a wide variety of places for posed pictures outside. The restored prairie land as a background for the outdoor wedding made it quite picturesque. The inside of the facility is beautiful, and very minimal decorating is needed. The space is great for guests to mingle both outside and inside during the reception time. The staff is very nice and accommodating and easy to work with. So many of our guests kept commenting to us about how great of a place it was to have the wedding. We would recommend the Aldo Leopold Nature Center as the place to hold your wedding to any one who desires an outdoor theme to their wedding.

    Sent on 11/14/2018
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/06/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved everything about the Aldo Leopold Nature Center (ALNC)! Since my husband and I both love nature, we were looking for a venue that allowed us to celebrate outdoors while still enjoying the conveniences of an indoor wedding (bathrooms, air conditioning for the older guests, rain site, etc). The ALNC fit these qualifications perfectly! With gorgeous indoor and outdoor spaces, our guests were able to enjoy a stroll through the prairie, explore the museum exhibits, or dance on the patio - whatever made them happiest. We became Mr & Mrs in the Grand Lawn surrounded by nature, enjoyed a tasty meal in the spacious 'Classroom,' and danced and drank cocktails on the expansive patio. It was truly the perfect wedding venue - I couldn't have asked for anything better. If you're looking for something unique and enjoy the great outdoors, this place is for you! They were easy to work with, offered lots of unique options (green screen videos, science exhibits, etc), and were very affordable. I loved it!

    Sent on 08/02/2013
  • E

    Emily · Married on 05/30/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Good price for the services. Response time to emails could be better but they do get the answers to all questions.

    Sent on 10/25/2014
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 05/27/2017

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Overall I would not recommend using Aldo Leopold Nature Center for your wedding. First, the response time was terrible (2-4 weeks to even get a blank contract to sign or to answer voicemails). The wedding coordinator we worked with has moved to another position, and since we've had an interim coordinator who is responsive. That said, there are many items about which they cannot give you a final answer about until 2 weeks before your wedding, such as if you can purchase access to the venue before 2:00pm (which is the guaranteed entry time to begin setup) or when a rehearsal the day before can begin, unless you want it to start at 5:00pm. In other words, ideally the rehearsal would've started at 4 or 4:30 but unless we agreed to 5pm, we couldn't get a final answer on 4 or 4:30 until 2 weeks before that date. That doesn't work for us when we have guests flying in from all over the country.

    The ground look nice at first glance but there are many problems. There is a 6-foot tall brush pile in the prettiest area that they do not move or burn. This is an eye sore. The other two locations that are possible for weddings have sheds (not referring to the children's shack) or visible parking lots. They grounds are covered in goose poop (totally normal for parks in this area) but they will not do any of that clean-up for you.

    Overall, they are a nature center first and do not cater much to weddings or to functional outdoor spaces. I would not book them again and would caution couples to be very thorough about understanding the time and space restrictions.

    Sent on 03/23/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review