Skip to main content
Weddings

Agnes Scott College Reviews

Agnes Scott College View more information

Reviews

4.7 out of 5 rating
56 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating
94% Recommended by couples

Awards

56
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

35 User photos

  • Natilya
    Natilya D. Sent on 06/27/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Vendor

    From the start of touring Agnes Scott, we had a great experience. The venue is gorgeous. We used the Letitia Pate Hall for our ceremony & reception and it was breathtaking. No one believed the space is actually the students dining hall. The best of all was the staff, especially Rita James. She was a humongous help during the entire process. We had a large wedding with a lot of moving pieces but it was handled with ease. Our wedding was a huge success and I give so much thanks to Rita and the Agnes Scott staff. Also let me not forget, the food was amazing. We had the catfish and cajun chicken, absolutely delicious. I'll be returning just for the food.
  • J
    Jaylyn Sent on 07/24/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Enchanted Forever: A Magical Wedding at Agnes Scott College

    Oh, where do I even begin to describe the enchanting experience that was my wedding at Agnes Scott College? It was nothing short of a fairy tale brought to life, and I owe it all to the extraordinary efforts of Rita James, the manager of special events. From the moment we started planning, Rita's expertise and genuine passion for her work shone through, and she took our dreams and turned them into an unforgettable reality.

    The food was an absolute delight, leaving our guests raving about the delectable dishes for weeks after the event. Rita and her team ensured that every culinary detail was flawlessly executed, leaving our taste buds dancing with joy. The communication throughout the entire planning process was seamless, and Rita's warm and attentive approach made us feel like we were her top priority, even though I know she handles countless events.

    I must commend Rita for her exceptional patience and professionalism, as I bombarded her with countless questions, anxieties, and last-minute changes. But she handled everything with grace and ensured that no detail was left unattended. She truly made the entire journey leading up to our big day stress-free and enjoyable.

    But the magic didn't stop with Rita; it permeated every corner of Agnes Scott College's stunning campus. The beauty of the surroundings added an ethereal touch to the atmosphere, creating an ambiance that made our hearts skip a beat. The team at Agnes Scott College orchestrated a seamless transformation of the venue, leaving us and our guests in awe as we walked into the exquisitely adorned room.

    The wedding was so phenomenal that many of our guests are already requesting a "part two" in the form of a vow renewal celebration! And you know what? I can't blame them! Agnes Scott College and its exceptional staff have become like family to us, and we are already contemplating returning to relive those magical moments once again.

    In conclusion, Agnes Scott College is more than just a venue; it's a haven of enchantment where dreams come to life. If you're looking for a place that exudes elegance, boasts a dedicated and talented team, and offers an experience that you and your guests will cherish forever, look no further. My wedding at Agnes Scott College was beyond extraordinary, and I eagerly anticipate the day we can return for our vow renewal celebration. Thank you, Rita James, and the entire team, for making our special day an affair to remember for a lifetime!

    Agnes Scott College's reply:

    It was an absolute pleasure hosting your incredibly beautiful and unforgettable wedding! You and DJ are an amazing couple and we wish you a lifetime of happiness!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Pamela
    Pamela Sent on 07/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Venue tour

    Mrs Rita was beyond great! She was so helpful and answered every question we had. I would definitely recommend this venue. It is gorgeous, only reason we decided not to go with it was because it was a little far from where we live.
  • Courtney (Ware) Lett
    Courtney L. Sent on 10/29/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Perfect Day and a Proud Scottie

    Working with Rita James, the special events coordinator at Agnes Scott College, was a pleasure. She kept the experience of planning our wedding reception at my alma mater stress free, convenient, and fun. She is kind, professional, responsive, good natured, and made sure I felt special and well taken care of as an alumna. My mother loved her, and my husband was very impressed. Because of the coronavirus pandemic, we had to postpone the wedding and reschedule. That decision was painstaking and anxiety producing, but ASC worked with me and was very flexible and understanding. We didn’t lose any money and didn’t have to start the planning process over. A year later, we picked up where we left off, and Rita made it happen. She worked well with my wedding planner. I highly recommend that the bride and bridal party stay on campus at the Alumnae House the night before the wedding; for me, doing so made the wedding day relaxing and go so smoothly. Evans Dining Hall is a beautiful venue, the catered food was delicious, the staff and security very professional, and our professional photos stunning! I couldn’t have imagined a more perfect day, and a huge reason for that perfection is because of Agnes Scott College. Thank you!
  • Mairead
    Mairead Sent on 11/30/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely Fantastic Experience- Could Not Recommend More!

    Rita, Chef Mario, and the entire staff at Agnes Scott College are incredible. The food was unbelievably good, there are so many options to choose from with all sorts of price points, the venue is stunning (both the chapel and the reception hall), and the entire staff is wonderful. This was a heavily delayed covid wedding and Rita was so flexible, generous, and responsive even as I pushed the date THREE times over 20 months. Rita answered all of my questions so quickly and thoroughly and made me feel informed the entire time (I am over-the-top with my planning, so that was so amazing for me).

    We wound up with a November 13th date and the entire campus was stunning, the foliage was absolutely breathtaking, and the photos are incredible. My guests all gushed over the food, venue, and campus (and Decatur in general!). It was so convenient to get to Agnes Scott from downtown Decatur square where all my guests stayed, and they loved all the restaurants and bars to check out and how they didn't need to rent a car to get around.

    In short, have your wedding here -- I promise you will not regret it! And thank you one more time to Rita, truly a delight to work with.
  • Kendra
    Kendra N. Sent on 02/13/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Night for the History Books

    Working with Agnes Scott was the best decision I’ve ever made. They made the planning process, the behind-the-scenes process, and the wedding the best day of our lives. It is definitely a night to remember and for the history books. We got married in October and as of this day, we are still getting calls of how great our wedding was. And that’s all thanks to the wonderful staff at Agnes Scott. It is definitely a hidden gem in Decatur, and you won’t go wrong using this location for your wedding. The food is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Any option that you choose will satisfy your guest's appetite. The attention to detail with the food is out of this world. They took their time to make sure that the menu was what we wanted. When we had our tasting, I wanted a box to go (lol). The venue screams elegance and class and that's what we wanted.The staff on our wedding day was like a family. They made sure that we did not have to look for anything, want anything. or stress about anything. From the young lady who drove the golf cart to the wait staff to the bartenders, it literally was our dream wedding. And for the icing on the cake, Mrs. Rita James, she is a gem. She knows her craft and knows how to handle any situation that may arise so the bride and groom can enjoy their day. They pay attention to the little things that make the biggest impact on the bride and groom. We had guests to come from far and wide and everyone (and I do mean everyone) raved about the venue. I look at our wedding pictures all the time and think of how special our day was. We cannot thank the staff and Mrs. Rita for making our wedding one for the history books.
  • B
    Brittney Sent on 03/28/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The staff was nothing short of amazing on the wedding day. Everyone was extremely helpful and working to fulfill our and our guests needs by anticipating them ahead of time. Mrs. Rita was a pleasure to work with throughout the process. The food was amazing. We opted for an option that isn’t really even an option, but Mrs. Rita and the catering manager made an exception for us. She constantly met our needs and worked with us on many occasions to make the day that much more special. To see how great the venue looked, check out our pics using #RogersLuckyDay on Instagram. It’ll give you a visual of how this cafeteria hall can be flipped into the wedding venue of your dreams. We’d do and pay for it all over again. Our guests keep raving about the food and how beautiful the campus and venue looked. They can’t stop taking about it and we can’t stop thinking about how perfect the day was.
  • C
    Candice Sent on 01/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Rita James and the entire team at Agnes Scott College are simply wonderful! The care and attention to detail they provide for my clients makes for a smooth and stress free wedding celebration!
  • A
    Amy Sent on 12/07/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Agnes Scott is a wonderful wedding venue! My daughter’s ceremony in the Julia Smith Thompson chapel was beautiful. The Frank Lloyd Wright inspired wood, glass, and brick structure was charming, both cozy and elegant (two descriptions that typically don’t go together). The cocktail hour in the Alumnae Garden was refreshing and beautiful. There was plenty of room on the terrace for guests who chose to sit and for the jazz trio. When the guests moved into Letitia Pate Evans Hall with its Gothic architecture and magnificent windows, our up-lights, candles, and high and low floral arrangements transformed the hall into a gorgeous area for a buffet and seated dinner and a spacious dance floor. The catering service at Agnes Scott was excellent, and catering director Pete Miller was most helpful. Our only difficulty was deciding which items to choose from a wide array of sampling choices. All of our guests admired the beautiful setting, the delicious food, and excellent service throughout the event. At Agnes Scott, when you rent Evans, you don’t rent only the event hall; you have access to both upper and lower levels. This provided areas for the bridal party to get ready and to store valuables, an area for child-care, and a fall back area for the cocktail hour if rain had come. I was truly able to relax, knowing that all bases were covered. Rita James of the event staff was very easy to work with throughout the process. One thing that impressed me from the beginning and that was very different from other venues we researched: Agnes Scott was completely transparent in how much every detail would cost. There were no surprises. Everything except for the bride’s cake, music, photography, and floral and décor was included, and all prices were most reasonable for excellent quality. We were impressed and delighted to have discovered Agnes Scott as a wedding venue.
  • Y
    Yiwen Sent on 10/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Agnes Scott College is absolutely beautiful! We had our wedding ceremony at the chapel, cocktail hour and reception at the dinning hall. The food was DELICIOUS!!! All our guest were so impressed! All the staff at the colleges are very helpful throughout the whole wedding planning process. Great venue with great value! We are so glad we choose to get married at Agnes Scott!!
  • T
    Taylor Sent on 07/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    First my husband and I would like to begin to say how Agnes Scott College was such a treasure. Starting with Mrs. Rita James, she is the Wedding Specialist at this venue and may I must say she will always be apart of our family. She made sure from the beginning to the day after the wedding that we were satisfied and received nothing but the best. Sure you probably would say well this is part of her job but trust when I say she exceeded her job description and it was 100 percent genuine. Pete, the director of food services, made sure our entire family left raving about the food. The food was seriously on a next level. I have been to several weddings over my years, even one at the Sears Tower and their food was nothing compared to Agnes Scott College. Lastly, the venue is a photographer dream. My photographer Darryl Ogletree stated, "this was the best venue he has been to his entire time as a photographer", so this speaks volumes.

    So if you are in search for a venue to have your dream wedding, your search is over!

    Love, The Martin's
  • L
    Laura Sent on 07/06/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Agnes Scott is a beautiful wedding venue. The grounds and buildings provide a beautiful, photogenic backdrop for any time of year and Evans Hall is simply magical! The best part about events at Agnes Scott is the customer service. Rita and the event staff at Agnes Scott are professional, knowledgeable and pleasant to work with. Rita offers great advice and useful suggestions to clients when planning their wedding/event and is extremely helpful when it comes making logistical plans using the many sites on the campus (e.g. for weddings: getting ready rooms for brides, grooms and their attendants, ceremony, cocktail hour site and reception hall). She is always friendly and really seems to care about each and every event she works on. The service team and bartenders are top notch! The food at Agnes Scott is amazing! Presentation is beautiful! I would definitely recommend Agnes Scott to brides and grooms or anyone needing to plan a large event.
  • R
    Raven Sent on 06/20/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I always enjoy working with Rita and the staff at Agnes Scott. The venue is hands down one of my favorites to refer my clients to. Not only is the venue beautiful to get married in, but the customer service from Rita and the staff is unmatched. They are very pleasant, and helpful and gracious during the entire planning process, and on the wedding day. The food from the catering team is VERY delicious too! I am currently planning another wedding here now and I highly recommend this venue. Lastly, the free parking for your guests and your ability to provide your own alcohol are major perks that can't be found at most venues.
  • R
    Rick Sent on 06/26/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great venue for our daughters wedding. Everything at Agnes Scott was great. The chapel was perfect, and the reception and dinner in the dinning hall could not have been better. The staff at Agnes Scott did everything they could to make everything just right. The buildings at Agnes Scott are magnificent as well as the facilities and the staff !!
  • L
    Lauren Sent on 06/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This wedding venue was amazing. I was so happy with my wedding and the days leading up to my wedding. The staff was amazing. So professional and they took care of everything that I needed. The food was amazing as well!!! I mean our guests even raved about the food for months after the wedding. Thank you again.
  • User2499337 Sent on 01/08/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Scott and the entire staff at Agnes Scott were tremendous! Evans Hall, the site of our dinner/dancing reception, is one of the best kept secrets in all of Atlanta. The grounds and facility is gorgeous, the staff extremely professional, the food delicious....the entire evening went so well and all guests commented on what a wonderful wedding reception! I cannot more highly recommend Agnes Scott for your next event, whether it be a wedding or any other event!! Check them out!!!
  • K
    Karen Sent on 11/18/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    ASC Staff were very flexible and accommodating. They provided consistent communication throughout and lots of helpful advice. From menu selection and execution, to table set up and vendor accommodation, to helping stage the valet service, the event was made that much more successful due to the hard work of the entire staff. They are just wonderful to work with in every way. The venue itself is simply spectacular. The availability of the alumnae house right next to the venue was a big plus. It provided a place to stage the hair and make up and all the bridesmaids and family were able to relax prior to pictures. Speaking of pictures - the architecture, verdant outdoor spaces and small intimate courtyards made the site selection a photographic wonderland. Lastly, the food was terrific. The staff took my ideas and made them happen and everyone raved about the flavors and originality of the menu. The value of using this venue is unparalleled in Atlanta.
  • E
    Emily Sent on 11/20/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Scott was AMAZING! He went out of his way to help set up the date & time for our wedding from the outset. He was prompt with all of his responses. No question was too trivial. He even contacted me after the fact when our officiant left his bible at the site. I would highly recommend working with him. He'll take very good care of you.

    Also, the $1900 is the alumnae rate. I'm not sure what the rate is for non-Agnes Scott graduates.
  • User2431983 Sent on 11/18/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    exceeded expectations all around....
  • K
    Kate Sent on 11/22/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Scott was an absolute pleasure to work with. He made the whole process easy and fun for me, and helped immensely with tough decisions like the menu, seating arrangement, etc. I was totally impressed and enjoyed working with him on my mom's 70th!
  • A
    Audrey Sent on 10/27/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I really enjoyed the ease of working with this vendor and the fact that all aspects of my wedding could be accommodated at this venue including hosting the rehearsal dinner in the tea room at the Alumnae House and hosting accommodations at the Alumnae House for my immediate family and wedding party, as well as the reception and wedding ceremony. Also this venue has a beautiful landscape for hosting a wedding
  • W
    Wendell Sent on 12/05/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Scott was easy to work with and made everything absolutely fabulous for our wedding day. All our guests were completely impressed.
  • User2328366 Sent on 09/22/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Scott was amazing...venue amazing. My Agnes Scott sisters are amazing. Thank you!
  • C
    Corey Sent on 09/30/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Beautiful venue - both indoors and out. Scott was incredibly helpful through the entire process - from planning the event, to the event itself and even after. Food was very good. Lots of flexibility in planning the event and great value overall. Guests were very complimentary of the venue and atmosphere.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message