Weddings

Actual Food Nashville Reviews

Actual Food Nashville

Actual Food Nashville

Nashville, TN
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 19 Reviews
View more information

19 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 19
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
Sort by:
  • S
    Sam S. Married on 09/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    SO Delicious!

    Actual Food was the perfect caterer for my wedding! I wanted something different than the usual chicken dishes, and they delivered! We had mediterranean meatballs, poached salmon, a mac and cheese bar, and late night grilled cheeses! They also did our bartending and created our signature drinks. We had so many comments on how delicious the food and drinks were. They were so flexible with our wedding reschedule (due to covid) and were absolutely professional and fun to work with. Highly recommend!
  • O
    Olivia S. Married on 05/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best catering company in Middle TN!

    We just had Actual Food as our caterer this past weekend and through a postponement due to covid, specific requirements I had, and a love for supporting local, this caterer went above and beyond our expectations! We cannot thank them enough. The food was excellent and the experience of planning and taste testing our wedding menu was just as superb! The Mac and Cheese Bar was a hit!
  • Lizzy
    Lizzy V. Married on 08/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Actual Food is really good.

    Actual Food made our wedding day greater than we could ever imagine. Through a pandemic, Luke worked with us through all the details of making our wedding safe and fun for everyone. The food was INCREDIBLE, we received so many compliments from all the guests. And the day was made by the incredible servers and bartenders employed by Actual Food. We are so grateful to Actual Food and Luke and wouldn’t have chosen anyone else.
  • Colleen
    Colleen N. Married on 07/31/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Deliciousness

    WOW, Actual Food Nashville, WOW! AFN came highly recommended and certainly did NOT disappoint. I expected the food to be good however it was amazing. What I did not anticipate was the superb professionalism and flexibility in this difficult time of a global pandemic. With Luke and his team, a great load was lifted off of myself (MOB), as they saw to it that each and every need was not only met but exceeded throughout the planning process as well as to surpass our high expectation on the evening of what ended up being a dream wedding event.
  • Emmy
    Emmy M. Married on 04/18/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Actual Foods is the Best!!

    We hired Actual Foods for our wedding and we cannot say enough good things! They were so awesome to work with - so professional, friendly and patient even with two delays due to COVID - and the food was absolutely delicious. Our guests were raving about the food all night. If you're considering hiring Actual Foods, do it!
  • Kathleen
    Kathleen E. Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderfully unique and delicious food!

    We wanted to have food unique to us and our wedding. Actual Food has you fill out a survey and they design the menu around your taste and style. Everything from corresponding with Luke, to the tasting, to the wedding day, Actual Food did an amazing job! We are still getting compliments on the food a month later!
  • J
    Jackie S. Married on 12/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Catering for Wedding

    Actual Food was soo great to work with and the food was excellent. They were always quick to respond the emails, the pricing was very reasonable for the strong quality and they truly delivered the day of the event. The team worked to overcome a few obstacles last minute and provided wonderful service to our guests. We had many compliments on the food and they made adjustments to the offerings based on our vision. Could not have asked for a better caterer / bar service. We were very happy with our selection and love what they stand for as a company.
  • J
    J Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Hands down the best, most unique wedding menu ever. The food was delicious and Dan and Luke were super helpful in organizing a menu based around a Mediterranean theme. We unfortunately didn’t get any hor d’ouvres because we were taking pictures but I heard they were great. The dinner was buffet style and the food was promptly served and fabulous! The servers were courteous and discrete. Luke also helped setup the plate, silverware, glass rentals so that was awesome not to have to find a separate vendor.

    Actual Food is really awesome quality all around. I think we may do date nights at the Inglewood Lounge just to try all of Dan’s creations!
  • User2985581 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wonderful food and great people to help us out
  • V
    Valerie Married on 09/18/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dan is the absolute BEST. I’ve been to several events that he has catered so when my fiancé proposed, catering was one thing I didn’t have to research. The food is extremely fresh, creative, and specifically curated for each event. He always has a unique twist to everything he makes, and there is nothing he can’t do. I LOVED his tacos and I begged him to recreate the hot chicken and waffle hors d'oeuvres he catered for a friends wedding. 

    Dan has gone above and beyond for the entire planning process. We have had multiple conversations about the menu verse guest list and he has helped me alter accordingly. Not only does he oversee all catering, bartending, and waitstaff, but he also offers his services to be in charge of rentals and set up. He is a DREAM to work with!
  • Meghan
    Meghan Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dan and his team were wonderful. Very kind, easy going, professional and timely. They were well prepared and catered to all of my needs (I am gluten free)! I will use them again in for events in the future and recommend Dan to my friends for sure.
  • M
    Matt Married on 01/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dan and the entire Actual Food team were very professional. He was flexible with changing the menu item as well as how much we needed. He had great suggestions and ideas. The food was mostly prepped on site and was excellent. I would highly recommend them to anybody looking for catering.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 10/24/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dan Forberg, founder and chef of Actual Food Catering Co., made my husband and I's culinary dreams come true on our wedding day. Working with a budget, as most couples need to planning a wedding, we found ourselves prioritizing. We came to the conclusion that our guests' dining experience was very important to us, as we our foodies ourselves. Dan met with me numerous times, was very patient, passionate, and accommodating in personalizing the menu to EXACTLY what I wanted on my special day. Since we only had 40 guests in attendance, it allowed us to have a 5 course meal, all of which included: brulée sweet potato and beet, pork belly mini kabobs, butternut ravioli, chicory arugula and fresh fig salad, crispy duck or chicken breast (tempeh as a vegetarian and vegan option), apple tart and date ice cream. It is an understatement to say that every dish was cooked and seasoned to perfection. Duck is difficult to cook, as it can easily be overcooked and end up chewy, but it melted in your mouth! Actual food's service was at the peak of professionalism, prompt, and attentive. I could go on and on, but we really couldn't have asked for anything more. This catering company was one of the highlights of our wedding! Thank you Dan and staff!
  • A
    Annelise Married on 09/26/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dan and his team were AMAZING. Not only was the food spectacular and had all the guests raving, but the quality of service and flexibility from all the staff to accommodate everyone with incredible service In the rain, was more than appreciated. I can't say enough good things about actual food Nashville catering and the quantity of food, service making our wedding day enjoyable and stress free!
  • User2459469 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dan and his crew were amazing! We loved the food... our guests loved the food... From presentation to taste, we were very satisfied! Dan made certain that process of deciding on our menu and working within our budget was a stress-free experience.
  • J
    Jenn Married on 06/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dan at Actual Food Nashville was a true pleasure to work with for our wedding and rehearsal dinner catering. He was not only personable and flexible, but the creativity he brought to the menu made our big weekend complete. The mini chicken and waffles with the macaroni and cheese bar were a hit with everyone...not just the southern guests!
  • User2622381 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Working with Actual Food was one of the best parts of wedding planning. Dan really got us and what we were going for, and went back and forth with us at least 10 times honing the menu, making it exactly the way we wanted it to be! After the wedding, one of the things we heard the most was how much everyone liked the food! That was important to us, and I'm so glad we went with Actual Food.
  • C
    Caley Married on 10/20/2018
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    book them now

    PROS:
    -- staff was super flexible and responsive
    -- food was delicious (people RAVED about the mac 'n cheese and the chicken/waffle bites)
    -- food was unique compared to typical wedding fare
    -- affordable

    CON:
    -- food was cold (to be fair, we had an outdoor buffet in 60F weather)
  • E
    Elise Married on 12/12/2015
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dan and the Actual Food team were incredible! Beautiful presentation, delicious food, stayed within our limited budget... Everything was perfect and our friends and family have been raving about it ever since.