Skip to main content
Weddings

Absolute Entertainment Live Music & DJs Reviews

Absolute Entertainment Live Music & DJs

Absolute Entertainment Live Music & DJs

Santa Fe, NM
4.8 out of 5 rating, 18 Reviews
View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 18
  • Elizabeth
    Elizabeth H. Married on 10/03/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Party Experts!

    I used this company for my sweet 16 and again for my wedding. Best decision! They were always so happy and easy-going, such a pleasure to work with. They made sure to go over everything with us a few times, even the day of to make sure it was all perfect! They were fun and interacted with the guests and we couldn't have been happier with Neil & Vincenzo!!!
  • McKenzie
    Mckenzie M. Married on 08/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    25 Years in Business

    Vicky and Chris were a pleasure to work with.
  • A
    Allie I. Married on 09/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Very flexible and understanding!

    We had to change our wedding plans due to COVID-19 and did not end up using Absolute Entertainment. However, Vicky was absolutely great to work with during our original wedding planning. Vicky was very friendly and professional! Absolute Entertainment was also very flexible and understanding with us about having to change wedding plans and gave us our money back no problem. I wish we could've been able to use Absolute Entertainment and highly recommend them!

    Absolute Entertainment Live Music & DJs's reply:

    Thank you Allie! It has been a tough time for all of us and I appreciate your thoughtfulness in taking time to write a review. Chris & I wish you both the very best! Happy Holidays Vicky
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Hannah
    Hannah L. Married on 08/08/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply the best!

    Hands down, Absolute Entertainment is simply the best. They helped make our wedding day absolutely perfect! We were originally slated to be married in September 2020 but postponed a full year to 9/19/21 due to COVID. We were so grateful they accommodated our date change with no trouble or extra charges. Vicky was easy to contact and quick to respond to emails throughout the planning process. We were blown away by how much effort Vicky and Chris put into planning everything, down to the smallest details. Vicky even helped us plan the ceremony procession and timeline of the reception, in coordination with the venue. In all, we had the string quartet play during the ceremony, Mariachi Azteca played during cocktail hour, and Vicky and Chris MC’d and DJ’d the reception.

    The string quartet was beautiful and made the long-awaited walk down the aisle extra special. Their extensive repertoire of songs, ranging from classics to contemporary pieces, gave us the ability to tailor the ceremony to be exactly what we wanted.

    Mariachi Azteca was incredible. We got married at La Fonda on the Plaza in Santa Fe and partook in a fun tradition: the Mariachis hid behind the guests during the ceremony and began to play immediately after we were pronounced husband and wife, surprising and delighting our guests. Then they led everyone on a march around the Santa Fe Plaza, including a stop in the middle of the plaza to dance. This was one of the best parts of our wedding, and such a fun and unique experience for our guests. They also provided live entertainment for the cocktail hour.

    Vicky and Chris did an amazing job as MC and DJ. Their online portal and questionnaire streamlined the planning process. We were able to check-off genres and specific songs from a list of the top 200, and it was easy to request favorites that were not on the list. They did a great job progressing the music throughout the night, tailoring genres to the guests’ vibes, and kept us energized on the dance floor all night long. We have never had so much fun dancing!

    Thank you so much Absolute Entertainment for making our wedding unforgettable!
    (review cross-posted on multiple platforms)
  • R
    Rosalyn Married on 09/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    String Quartet was truly MAGICAL!!

    We hired Cielo Strings string quartet for our ceremony in Santa Fe and they were outstanding! Vicky Speer was the contact and handled all the arrangements of the day. She is very professional, patient, had great suggestions, and overall terrific to work with. Our niece sang a piece with the string quartet and Vicky was able to help us match it up to the key our niece sang--example of her amazing, detailed service. The live strings were truly everything--so elegant and memorable of our day. Thank you, Vicky & Cielo Strings!
  • P
    Paige Married on 06/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Vicky and Absolute Entertainment helped us arrange for a mariachi band following our wedding. They were such a hit (and surprise) with our guests. The band was delightful and so much fun -- and they sounded fantastic. I'm so glad we did this -- and Absolute Entertainment made it easy.
  • A
    Alexis Married on 05/19/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Vicky Speer was a pleasure to work with and provided the best DJ experience we could have possibly imagined for our big day! It was a SUPER FUN dance party and she was great working with us to get the flow of the party just right! Would totally recommend her for any friend's wedding. :-D

    Absolute Entertainment Live Music & DJs's reply:

    Thank you so much Alexis ! It was a great party and I'd be remiss not to mention my other half Chris who did an amazing job with me! Wishing you and Ted the very very best!! Vicky & Chris
  • N
    Nancy Married on 07/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolute Entertainment is the BEST! If you want a great, fun band with lots of high energy to get your guests dancing this is the band for you. I have used this band for all 3 of my daughters' weddings in Santa Fe and every time our guests comment on what a great time they had. They are fun, and very professional. If you want a reception with everyone on their feet dancing and having a great time this is the band for you. In addition, they can provide music for the rehearsal dinner, and the ceremony as well as all of your audio needs. Only wish I had another daughter to get married so I could party with them again.
  • E
    E Married on 06/25/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Vicky and Chris at Absolute Entertainment made our wedding reception perfect! They are consummate professionals and fantastic people who took the time needed to understand and create our vision for the evening. They were patient with our questions and knew the questions to ask us that we hadn't thought of ourselves.

    Absolute Entertainment made what seemed like a daunting event easy, seamless and fun! Vicky and Chris handled the entire reception, MCing the dinner, toasts, and dancing. Their years of experience in the music industry, equipment and commitment to creating the evening we wanted gave us complete confidence to relax, let go, and enjoy our magical night. The Speers have worked with all the other vendors in Santa Fe, and were able to coordinate and cooperate together.

    I hope that everyone getting married in the area will be lucky enough to have Absolute Entertainment on their team to make the evening perfect. They really are the best!

    Elizabeth and Chris
  • User2213742 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Vicky and Chris did the music for our wedding/reception and we could not have asked for anyone better! Not only are they great at what they do, they were so nice and awesome to work with! Vicky made sure that the music for the wedding and reception was everything that I wanted. She communicated very clearly and never took it upon herself to make any decisions without making sure it was what I wanted! Great people/couple to work with! :)

    Absolute Entertainment Live Music & DJs's reply:

    Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
  • A
    Amber Married on 09/20/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Through Absolute Entertainment, we booked a string quartet for the ceremony, guitarist for cocktail hour and a DJ for the rest of the evening. Being an out of town bride, Vicky made the planning easy over the phone. EVERY song we requested during the planning stages was played at the wedding!
  • A
    Arden Married on 06/29/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolute Entertainment went above and beyond my expectations. They helped to coordinate multiple services for our wedding day. They helped find us a wonderful string quartet called Primavera String Quartet who did a beautiful job for our ceremony. Absolute also found us a mariachi band who met our guests outside the church after the ceremony and entertained them while we took some pictures inside the church. Then the mariachis led all of us on a La Marcha from the church, around the plaza, and ending at our reception venue the La Fonda. The La Marcha was a big hit and all my guests kept coming up to me that night saying how unique and cool it was and how much fun it was that they got to be a part of it. At the reception, Absolut privided DJ services and they were great. They helped me come up with a reasonable must play/don't play ever/don't play unless requested list. They had access to all the songs we wanted and they even helped us edit songs for the father/daughter and mother/son dances to be appropriat lengths. All the groups we worked with through Absolute were fantastic and highly professional. Just as importantly, they were all on time and there were no awkward transitions because Absolute works with the groups to coordinate times. I highly recommend using Absolute Entertainment because they will definitely make your day/night unforgettable.
  • User1640810 2+ years ago
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I have to say that I am so happy and grateful we chose Absolute. Vicky and Chris were wonderful! Vicky made it a point to get the guests involved in the reception all night. They guided us in choosing great music. When electricity went out city wide,Vicky and Chris started to think of alternative ways to get music for the reception. Thanks to the both of them for a wonderful evening!
  • M
    Meggin Married on 10/16/2010
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    The husband and wife team is great. I met with them before the wedding and I was so touched with the care that they took to help me pick out songs that went with my music interests for different portions of the reception based on my musical interests. They also helped pick our the father/daughter dance, which was very, very special.

    Though I'll admit I still figured that the DJ that showed up at the wedding would just play whatever suited his fancy. I didn't quite believe he would play each and every song that I picked out from cocktail reception, dinner to dancing. I even sent my list to a friend saying "but we'll see what they actually play". I was wrong! From Built to Spill to Old 97's to David Bowie he played it ALL. The songs that remind us of each other, special times, special places or we just LOVE- he played them all.

    The DJ (who b/c it was kind of a crazy day, I feel bad but don't remember his name) was so attentive to me. He explained everything to me and made sure I knew what was going on and when. My guests had a blast. My new 89 year old grandmother in law didn't leave the dance floor all night. My groom, who doesn't dance, DANCED! My neices and nephews have never had so much fun. My 4 year old niece came up to me at 10:00 pm and told me emphatically that "this is the best party I've ever been to in my entire life". I couldn't agree more with her.

    I highly recommend Absolute Entertainment!
  • User1767179 2+ years ago
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Vicky and her husband were wonderful! We had family members playing instruments and singing for our ceremony, and Vicky coordinated this with ease and made everything run smoothly. We were really impressed with her professionalism. As for the reception, Vicky and her husband did a great job as DJ, and had everyone up and dancing before dinner was over. The music selection was spot on. We are really happy with their services. Would definitely recommend to others :)
  • T
    Janet Married on 07/19/2009
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I were very happy with our decision to hire a DJ for our afternoon wedding, considering that it was an afternoon wedding where getting people to dance would be a little difficult. The DJ's did a great job. The owner Vicky was fun to work with and she definitely knows how to run a wedding. She has a great list of musicians to work with. We were happy with her help in making our day perfect.
  • L
    Leia Married on 05/29/2011
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I used Absolute as my wedding ceremony & reception DJs.
    This is kind of a mixed review for me - more positive than negative though. On the con side, it was a bit hard getting in touch with Chris at the company was a bit hard via email - sometimes my emails went unanswered, which was annoying. The big negative was that the timeline for the reception got really messed up - things got really out of order, and the father/daughter dance got skipped altogether until my videographer was about to leave and I realized we hadn't done it, and reminded the DJs.
    On the positive side, the music was great. I didn't have an extensive must play, or don't play list for the wedding and the stuff they chose was great. I got a lot of compliments on the music (which I really had nothing to do with lol!) The DJ's dressed and acted professionally, and the lights and sound were set up well. Chris & Vicky were VERY knowledgeable in the planning session. They even edited down my processional so that my entry would fall at the right time in the music. They really thought of everything. All in all things went pretty well and I'm happy I used them.
  • Jordyn
    Jordyn Married on 09/12/2015
    2.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    I chose Absolute because my venue coordinator suggested them. Chris and Vicky ran ceremony sound, DJed the reception and contracted a guitarist for our ceremony and mariachis for cocktail hour.

    I had some frustrating moments with Vicky during planning. She has a strong personality and gives a hard sales pitch for her band, even though we wanted a DJ. She kept trying to talk me into having a blessing at the reception even though we did not want one. I had trouble in the early planning stages getting updated versions of the wedding day agenda, and had to stay on top of things to ensure that changes were recorded. I was pleased she made the effort to come to our rehearsal to meet my wedding coordinator, but she started trying to lead the rehearsal, which caused a lot of confusion and made us look disorganized. She missed our last meeting due to a calendar mix-up.

    The wedding day turned out okay. We stayed on track with our agenda and they stuck to our must- and do-not-play lists, although they did play a song I asked to remove. As far as I know they were on time with set up. Our guests seemed to have a good time at the reception.

    A number of problems soured my feelings about their service. A vendor who I trust completely felt Chris and Vicky were rude and unprofessional, and heard similar feedback from other vendors at the event. Another vendor felt that the ceremony sound quality was not up to their standards, and I heard from guests that they had trouble hearing the ceremony. We planned to present my bouquet to my grandma at the reception, and I gave Vicky details of what to say. When it came time, she just handed me the mic. I had to think quickly... and kind of flubbed it. Then she made my elderly grandmother speak! She was very rattled and has been upset about it since the wedding. A moment meant to honor her instead caused her a lot of embarrassment.

    For these reasons I have a lingering negative impression of our service from Absolute Entertainment.

    Absolute Entertainment Live Music & DJs's reply:

    This is the first less than 5 or 4 star review we have received from a bride since starting to do weddings 19 years ago. We booked their ceremony musician, planned the music and order of procession with the bride, booked the Mariachi's who processed them around the plaza and played for their cocktails, co-planned & provided a Timeline of events & music, DJ'd and MC'd their reception. The ceremony & music was beautiful - the Mariachi's right on cue and a fun march ending at the terrace with a great wedding reception with a lot of celebration- great toasts and special dances and dancing throughout the evening, as evidenced in their beautiful wedding video by Luminance. After meeting with us 7/7/2014 the event was contracted & the planning process began & went on for over a year - we were completely attentive, this included an in-person meeting and online planning site for her wedding and phone calls, and many emails (120) back & forth with updated changes, details and revisions which we made. Final timeline was approved. She is correct that I had an incorrect date & missed a meeting to meet her day-of, but I said I would make arrangements to come to the rehearsal, which I did. (All the planning had been done at that point.) We were unable to reach the client to go over her review with regards to her comment about being rude to other vendors, which did not occur. The Ceremony Officiant, who was present when we spoke to the coordinator day-of at the wedding and at the rehearsal, said we were not rude at all, merely trying to help at the rehearsal. As the bride herself says: "Our guests seemed to have a good time at the reception." It is sad that the bride was soured on all our service and a wonderful wedding day based on unsubstantiated information and drama from another person.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message