Above and Beyond Catering Reviews

18 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Above and Beyond Catering

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

Awards

18

22 User photos

Order by:
  • T

    Tala H. · Getting married on 06/01/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unbelievable Catering

    Jill and her entire team are really the definition of the “A-team.” We could not be happier with absolutely everything they created for us. Jill was absolutely phenomenal to work with. Nothing was an issue, she was open to new ideas/suggestions and collaborated every step of the way. She even reached out independently a week before the wedding to tell us that a certain vegetable was in season and the chef highly recommended it, and asked if we wanted to add that to our menu. The food was just incredible and the presentation was impeccable. She worked with us to make our night unique to us. From putting popcorn in little Chinese food takeout boxes for guests to bring home to having baskets of chicken finger appetizers on every table, no stone was left unturned.

    Our guests are still raving about the food months later. We would get married again just to use Above & Beyond Catering. Thank you so much to Jill and the whole team for making our wedding truly an unforgettable experience – we can’t wait to use your catering service again soon!!

    Sent on 03/19/2020
  • J

    John · Married on 06/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we first met with Allyson Bradley from Above and Beyond, I told her we wanted a celebration where people could have a great time, and where we wouldn't have to worry about any details on that day. Under her direction, Above and Beyond exceeded our wildest expectations. They provided complete services, including furniture and equipment rentals, uniformly excellent staff, flowers, exquisite food, and a wedding cake which multiple guests told us was the best they ever tasted. The best compliment we received was from a guest who told us, "Now that's what a wedding should be!" and that was due in large part to Above and Beyond. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 09/13/2018
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark Haley and the staff at Above and Beyond were an absolute pleasure to work with from the very start. They catered our wedding with a cocktail hour hors d'houvres, dinner and wedding cake. Food was amazing - staff was so very professional and very kind (especially attentive to me and my new husband)!

    Sent on 10/20/2016
  • User6010762 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Do you want your wedding to have food that people will rave about? Do you want it to have the little touches and details that make you, your groom and your guests feel amazing? Do you want to work with someone who will make sure your day goes as you wanted it to? Okay, then stop looking. You found your caterer right here.

    Mark Haley and his staff are phenomenal. Above and Beyond catered our multicultural wedding at the Cambridge Multicultural Arts Center. Mark and team had the challenge of serving not only our favorite foods but good, authentic Indian food as part of our spread...and do so after guests had Indian food the day before. People, this is REALLY HARD to do right. We definitely did our fair share of trying out Indian food at other caterers but no one really got it except Mark. Our guests were blown away - we received so many complements on how great the food was which was exactly what we wanted!

    I must say, truth be told we (me?) were not easy to deal with at times because we were super stressed trying to plan two wedding days at the same time. Through numerous emails, phone chats and adjustments, Mark was always enthusiastic and professional. He made great suggestions and really went above and beyond to make our day special. We enjoyed every moment and would not have changed a thing. The quality is definitely worth the price and value!

    Thank you so, so much Mark and Above and Beyond for making our day beyond amazing!

    Sent on 12/01/2015
  • R

    Rupal · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW. The name says it all! Mark and his team were incredible and we can't be happier with the services they provided for us for our Welcome Dinner event before our wedding. Not only did they provide absolutely delicious food, they also provided excellent service, extreme professionalism, in-depth knowledge of our venue (the Cyclorama) and other add-on services that were beyond the scope of our original contract.

    In the wedding industry where it's easy to get away with providing mediocre service, Above and Beyond did everything in their power to make sure our event went smoothly and every detail was dealt with beautifully. Moreover, they accommodated our request for really unique and innovative vegetarian cuisine wonderfully. The guests loved the food! They were my favorite vendor to work with - you won't be disappointed if you hire Above and Beyond!

    Sent on 09/25/2014
  • User3788112 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very happy with food and service

    Sent on 01/06/2014
  • R

    Robbie · Married on 09/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm a professional event planner who has had the pleasure of working with Mark and his staff for 7+ years. When I got engaged I absolutely knew I was going to ask him to cater my wedding. My bride and I actually decided that one of the priority factors when choosing a venue was that it had to allow outside caterers. Although I'm an event manager by day, I wanted to be able to fully enjoy being a groom at my own wedding. We decided against hiring a wedding planner for the day of the event so we relied heavily on Mark, his staff and a few good friends to take care of all the details. From set-up, timing the wedding party procession, coordinating announcements with the DJ, and packing everything up - we didn't have to worry about a thing. An incredible gift for me, who was in charge of planning "logistics", and my bride,who was in charge of "design".

    Mark was extremely patient with us as we selected a wedding menu that was very non-traditional. We eliminated the plated dinner and chose to have 3 stations instead. Make your own: pasta, taco and sliders. This invited our guests to interact with each other and extended the fun they were having at the cocktail hour. I heard rave reviews for the food - and each station was beautifully decorated and really fit our rustic chic theme. We tried to control many of the details that day, but left the specifics of catering decor to Mark. He really listened to all of our ideas and executed them in a really beautiful way. Everything in the room looked like it was in a magazine.

    One of my favorites was the cupcake table. We chose 3 kinds of cupcakes in lieu of a wedding cake. We asked him to incorporate a really interesting fold out sewing box, chunks of wood and our Scrabble themed cupcake toppers. The result was stunning - and delicious!

    He assigned one server to take care of us and we actually got to eat some of the food - despite everyone warning us that would never happen.

    Highly recommend Mark for any kind of event!

    Sent on 11/10/2013
  • User2097066 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing service and super easy to work with when planning.
    The food was OUTSTANDING and service was even better.
    These guys will help with anything and everything you need done. It was amazing to have such great service and responsiveness from a wedding vendor.
    They left not only my husband and I, but all our guests blown away.
    I completely understand how these guys keep getting awards for being the best. THEY ARE!

    Sent on 09/20/2013
  • D

    David · Married on 12/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The name says it all above and beyond will definitely choose them again for all my catering needs

    Sent on 12/23/2012
  • K

    Rebecca · Married on 11/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Above and Beyond catered my daughter's wedding this past New Year's Eve and the accolades are still coming in from ALL of our guests. The food, the food, the food and how GREAT it was is brought up with each person who came to the wedding. Mark, Brian and Chef Michael did everything possible to be sure they knew what we wanted and the execution was flawless!!!! As caterers, this group CANNOT BE BEAT! but their help does not stop with the food alone.....additionally, Mark came up with a unique and fantastic idea for transforming the ceremony room at our venue which helped immensely with the flow of the guests during our cocktail hour. We are so happy that we went with Above and Beyond Caterers....professionalism, invaluable input on all levels, and undeniably DELICIOUS food at its best!

    Sent on 03/23/2012
  • L

    Lara · Married on 04/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I spent a great amount of time interviewing several caterers for our April wedding. Mark was by far the most patient, accommodating and responsive of the caterers I spoke with, and it was for these qualities that we decided to go with him (that and the tasting we went to was absolutely spectacular). We must have changed the menu at least 4 times before we even signed the contact, and probably a few times after that. We changed our rentals (open bar vs. wine/beer only, then back again). We sent emails back and forth, played phone tag. I'm sure we drove him crazy, but Mark was nothing but enthusiastic, professional and a pleasure to speak with each time.

    The afternoon before our wedding, we realized we had to move our ceremony indoors and had to find a way to cover a railing. We immediately called Mark, he asked us to send pics of what we needed covered, and he calmly took care of it. The same focused serenity was evident in the way he managed his staff the day of our wedding. His staff was efficient and genuinely pleasant, and everyone had a great camaraderie. Our food was delicious - we had a Mexican buffet, and everything was amazing and perfectly seasoned. Nothing was too rich or too salty, both of which tend to be common with wedding food. We were assigned our own staff member that took care of our food/drinks all evening. She was an absolute DREAM. All in all, a wonderful experience from beginning to end.

    Sent on 06/30/2011
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great food and great service! My guests talked about the food for MONTHS after the wedding! We really appreciated working with folks who not only can do a great job, but are also considerate of our needs, and desire to be environmentally friendly. The creativity and flexibility with our mostly vegetarian menu was outstanding. It was a pleasure working with Above and Beyond and thank you for helping us create our unique wedding experience!

    Sent on 01/26/2011
  • T

    Tara · Married on 09/20/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark Haley, owner of Above and Beyond Caterers did an outstanding job for my wedding reception. He handled my reception personally. He talked to us regarding the type of reception we were looking for. Mark had many great ideas. We wanted a mingling party, with plenty of food and I've been told by many of my guests that it was the best wedding they ever went to.....considering my husband and I are both in our 50's our guests have been to a lot of weddings. The first thing they said was the food was great, there was plenty of food and the service was outstanding!
    Thank you Mark and Above and Beyond Caterers for making our wedding reception perfect.
    Sincerely,
    Tara Brennan

    Sent on 10/14/2008
  • X

    Xavier · Married on 07/22/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want a stress-free, professionally managed wedding reception with excellent food and service, Above and Beyond Catering is the way to go. I know it's hard to decide which company to go with, especially with all the options out there. But you will not regret putting your celebration in the hands of Mark and his team. From the very first moment, when we called out of the blue, Mark was immediately responsive and highly professional. His friendly demeanor and quick, experienced thinking is just the surface of the service you will get from his people. They tailored every aspect of the reception to our desires. That level of flexibility combined with friendliness and professionalism made for an event that I could sit back and enjoy. An event with food WAY beyond what wedding food is normally like in quality. Thanks again to Mark and his people for all they did!

    Sent on 08/01/2017
  • 6

    Sara · Married on 10/23/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Above and Beyond Catering put together an amazing menu for our wedding. After our tasting we didn't even bother exploring other options. The service was great and our guests are still raving about the food - especially the Thanksgiving In A Bite appetizer. The cost for our beer/wine/champagne bar package was incredibly reasonable. Also, they were very flexible in allowing us to bring in desserts from another vendor. My only complaint is with their communication. I was a low-maintenance bride with catering experience, so my questions were few and far in between. Yet, I would go days and one case, two weeks, before getting a response to my few basic questions/requests, even with the wedding one month away. Overall, I think the food and staff service are worth the communication frustrations and would definitely hire them for a future event.

    Sent on 10/30/2010
  • H

    Henry · Married on 09/13/2002

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    High value catering, delicious food and a great staff.

    Sent on 09/14/2009
  • Charlene

    Charlene · Married on 08/24/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Passed Hors d'oeuvres Wedding

    We were faced with the challenge of how to feed our wedding guests at a venue that had no available seating for our guests to sit and enjoy a full meal. Having a wedding on a tall ship is a challenge to begin with, having half your guests not being accustomed to boats and the ocean, adds another layer. Above and Beyond made all these challenges a non issue, and worked with us to construct a balanced menu of hors d'oeuvres that would be filling enough for our guests during our four hour wedding sail. Two servers made sure that our guests were fed, and there were no cross contamination for the few with shellfish allergies and vegan attendees. It was a bit painful to spend what we did for just hors d'oeuvres, but we wanted a caterer that was familiar with our venue, and ABC was. Our food was tasty, and included a variety of dishes for anyone's pallet.

    Sent on 09/25/2019
  • B

    Julia · Married on 01/20/2010

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    i must say these people were very friendly and hospitable when it came to the catering part of my wedding. i am very grateful for everything that these people did to help me plan my wedding. i was confussed as to what i should serve at my wedding but these pople helped me through and gave me many options that i really liked and before going anywhere else i decided to stay here and go with them. I reccomend to anyone.

    Sent on 01/22/2010