Skip to main content
Weddings

Engroff Catering Reviews

Engroff Catering

Engroff Catering

Topeka, KS
4.3 out of 5 rating, 18 Reviews
View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
4.3
out of 5.0
Recommended by 86% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.2 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.3 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.1 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.3 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 18

1 User photo

  • Julie
    Julie F. Married on 10/10/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    My guests raved about the food!

    Engroff was so easy to work with and the food was OUTSTANDING! The spinach artichoke dip was divine. Portions were generous, and food was sent home with guests, much to their delight!

    Engroff Catering's reply:

    Thank you, so much for the good review! You were awesome to work with! Congratulations again on your wedding!

    Thank you,
    Bridget McKinsey-Adams
    Wedding & special Event Manager
    785-478-9290
    bridget@engroffcatering.com
  • T
    Taylor Married on 09/29/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best caterers in Topeka!

    Abouds catered our wedding at the end of September. The food and the service was fantastic! They were so wonderful and amazing to work with. They were so organized and handled any changes we had with ease. They helped make our day so special, and EVERYONE(!) told us how wonderful the food was!!
  • L
    Laura Married on 07/25/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Aboud's Catering made the most delicious food for our wedding reception. We wanted to avoid the typical buffet style so we did food stations. It was a huge hit with our guests and we received a ton of compliments on how great the sliders, fruit arrangements, etc. I can't recommend them enough!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • V
    Kristina Married on 04/25/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Delicious food and a great staff!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 04/18/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Aboud's is absolutely fantastic. They catered a family friend's wedding a couple years ago and my whole family loved their food but assumed that was probably reflected in the price. When it came time for my own wedding I figured they would be out of my price range but was pleasantly surprised with how affordable they were. We had two meats (I highly recommend the pecan crusted chicken), a specialty salad, bread, with two sides and we provided our own plates, flatware, drinks etc. Aboud's was actually cheaper than it would be to have a chain like Noodles and Co. or Dickey's BBQ cater (not that those were potentials for us, just for comparison) for a much nicer, tastier meal. Add to that super friendly, helpful service and professionalism, the choice was obvious. Aboud's won us over with no contest. They are very flexible and will do as much or as little as you want. If you don't choose them for their delicious food, choose them for their excellent customer service and satisfaction. Very highly recommended!
  • J
    Jill Married on 01/17/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The food for our wedding reception was fantastic! We had a Mexican theme with carnitas, espinaca, rice, and beans. Everything tasted amazing. They were extremely flexible working with us to customize our menu and even used a recipe that we provided for one item! Prices were very reasonable. Loved working with them and would definitely recommend them!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 10/08/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The food was great! The service was very professional. They really helped us alot in the planning process. I am very happy with the final event. They were always quick to respond to any e-mails or phone calls with questions or concerns we had.
  • Abbey
    Abbey Married on 06/04/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We loved Abouds service! The lady that worked with us was very kind and could answer any questions we had, even those outside of catering. She provided us with a list of other services that they have worked with in the past and have heard good things. So they not only provide you with amazingly good food, but also try and help with any other questions you may have. Overall great service!!!
  • Amanda
    Amanda Married on 06/07/2009
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great Food Great service, loved everything about them. They made a customized menu just for us and did everything we wanted, not a set thing they do for everybody, everything WE wanted.
  • K
    Kristen Married on 09/26/2015
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We hired Aboud's for catering our wedding reception. From the beginning Jane and everyone else was a pleasure to work with and was respectful of our budget per person that we were working with.

    We ended up selecting an array of heavy horderves for our guests (140) and received many compliments on the food – even from some picky eaters!

    The staff was polite, prompt and worked well with our venue for the evening. I would highly recommend Aboud's for any catering needs.
  • User2374257 2+ years ago
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Abouds is an excellent caterer! The food was great, they were very helpful in planning the food for our reception giving us suggestions we would not have thought of to make it a better experience for our guest. They were professional and on time and always pleasant to work with. The only suggestion I would have is if you are planning to use them make sure you find out what kind of cushion they allow for the amount of food based on the number of guests as we almost ran out of food! We had a buffet style so maybe we had big eaters but either way the last thing you want to do is run out of food for your guests....
  • Renee
    Renee Married on 04/06/2019
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Tasted amazing, very friendly staff, and easy to work with.

    Abouds was wonderful to work with. We worked with Bridget the most, she helped us come up with a menu perfect for us and even scheduled us a taste test which we loved. The food was amazing even the day of and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Engroff Catering's reply:

    Thank you, Renee, you were as well wonderful to work with. We really appreciate the good review! Bridget
  • S
    Serena Married on 01/02/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Although we decided not to go with Abouds, we almost went with them. They were very friendly and accommodating. The tasting was superb. We decided to go with a slightly cheaper option, but had we budgeted out a bit more for catering we would have chosen abouds!
  • Taylor
    Taylor Married on 11/09/2019
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great catering!

    I had Engroff's for food and bar services and was very happy with them! We had a build your own pasta bar and it was delicious. The service and bartender were great!

    Engroff Catering's reply:

    Thank you, Taylor, you were a pleasure to work with!

    Bridget McKinsey
    Wedding & Special Event Manager
    785-478-9290
    bridget@engroffcatering.com
  • User1833198 2+ years ago
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Aboud's catered our wedding and the food was amazing! We received so many compliments on it. They also provided our bartenders who also did a great job. The price was a little steep, but it was worth it we think. Also, at then end of the night we had leftover food and after people had taken what they wanted, they took the leftovers to the rescue mission. That put their service over the top for us. Highly recommended
  • Meagan
    Meagan A. Married on 04/11/2020
    1.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Backed out 4 days before

    Engroff agreed to donate food for our charity fundraising event for victims of stalking. After a month of the free advertising they received from us, they waited until 4 days before the event to back out because they did not feel the $420 we raised was good enough to waste their time.

    We are a nonprofit and the food donated would be a write-off for them regardless of how much money we raised. There was never an agreement dependent upon us raising a certain amount of money. Our ticket prices were never discussed with them when they agreed to the donation.

    However, they saw on Facebook that we had posted tickets for a price of $65 originally, but then lowered the prices in hopes of selling more tickets. Their reason for cancelling the donation was because they felt we wouldn't be getting enough money in donations, and would only agree to keep their end of the deal if we could sell all tickets at the original $65 price.

    We ended up having to cancel the event after we had just sold out of tickets 4 days before the event. We now will have to give back all the money that was raised for these poor victims, and then some. Not to mention the losses we will now incur.

    They are extremely unprofessional and heartless people. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME.
  • E
    Elizabeth O. Married on 08/03/2022
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Unprofessional lack of ownership and responsibility

    100% would not go with this company. The food was okay but I paid for a pasta bar which included salad and bread, drinks and servers for 60 people. 1 we had about 40 people who came and ate and it barely feed everyone. 2 got the bare minimum amount of soda cans. 3 we did not get salad or bread!
    When we called them the next day they blamed it on me for not confirming what I wanted. We had a call 2 weeks before to go over everything, so why not ask then? And even if I didnt confirm just bring something vs nothing! Overall very disappointed I spent the money I did for such little food. Could have saved alot if I went through anyone else
  • A
    Angela M. Married on 11/16/2019
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Backed Out 4 days before the event

    Canceled 4 Days Before Event! Unprofessional! I just found out the Charity Event I bought 3 tickets to this Saturday had to be cancelled due to Engroff Catering reneging on their agreement with the Fight 4 Light Foundation. Apparently they didn't think the price of the tickets were high enough for it to be worth it to them even though they had agreed to donate everything in trade for their name being advertised for a month plus tax write offs. How sad and unprofessional! Especially since it's less than 4 days before the event. I'm disappointed and I know this is costing the Charity organization money. I hope they can recover their costs somehow!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message