A Wedding to Remember by Rev. Dr. Roché Vermaak, Ph.D. Reviews

57 | Santa Monica, CA
See photos, pricing and details

57 Reviews for A Wedding to Remember by Rev. Dr. Roché Vermaak, Ph.D.

Recommended by 100%

57
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • C

    Christopher · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roche is engaging, energetic, tremendously flexible and gave excellent guidance for our ceremony. We wanted something non-denominational and non-traditional, and Roche delivered! He really helped us make the ceremony personal and unique, and we received a ton of complements on both the ceremony and Roche in particular. We could not have been happier with Roche as our officiant.

    Sent on 04/12/2017
  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 12/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dr. Roche Vermaak was a pastor/minister in the church I grew up going to in West Los Angeles, so I knew he would do an exceptional job officiating my wedding. He did not disappoint, and in fact crushed expectations - the guests could not stop talking about how great he was. If you're looking for an extremely intelligent, articulate speaker who is very comfortable marrying people of different faiths/backgrounds, and who has a funny, fairly spontaneous delivery, then Roche is the right choice. He knew me fairly well already, but arranged a meeting and online survey to get to know us (and my husband in particular) better, and really spoke to our uniqueness as a couple. He also encouraged us to include unique/special elements in our ceremony. He had great instincts for creating an inspired, spiritually alive but inclusive event that touched a lot of people. Thanks, Roche!

    Sent on 03/27/2017
  • D

    Dan · Married on 12/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely recommend hiring Roche.

    Sent on 04/10/2017
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 11/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roche was a pleasure to work with and we are so happy and honored that he officiated our wedding. Roche is kind, gentle, funny, caring, and surpassed our expectations on our wedding day. He gave us guidance where we needed and made our ceremony such an inclusive and happy experience. He included the children during the ceremony and they loved it. We highly recommend Roche! Thank you so much.

    Sent on 03/27/2017
  • J

    Jenn · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dr. Roche Vermaak officiated our wedding in October, 2016. I literally had guests tell me that it was the best ceremony they have ever been to. Dr. Roche is not only one of the most knowledgeable pastors I know, he is also funny and kind and will bring a meaningful and authentic touch to your ceremony. I highly recommend him for officiating your wedding!

    Sent on 04/03/2017
  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 10/29/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Don't hesitate. Just book Pastor Roche. He was one of the highlights of our wedding. All our guests loved his officiating.

    Sent on 03/27/2017
  • User7057670 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding ceremony was beautiful perform.

    Sent on 08/07/2016
  • D

    Daniel · Married on 12/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dr. Roche Vermaak was every couple wishes to have as Reverent at your Wedding, so personal, loving, passionate and caring. Our guests didn't talk about the food, service and music after the weeding they all were taken by our Ceremony which Dr. Roche Vermaak officiated. Thank you so much Roche.

    Sent on 05/25/2016
  • User6561482 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roche was amazing, everything you would want to make your day special! He was attentive, flexible, well spoken and sincere. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 04/05/2016
  • A

    Analee · Married on 06/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A Wedding to Remember made our wedding a wedding to remember. Countless people told me afterwards that our officiant was kind, funny and professional. I appreciate the extra attention to detail and warm heart that he put into our day. I recommend him without any reservation to any bride and groom looking for an officiant to help on their special day!

    Sent on 04/12/2016
  • K

    Kyle · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roche Vermaak has been my pastor for over 10 years so when it came time to select an officiant, it came as no surprise that he was the man for the job. Roche did a wonderful job as our wedding officiant. He worked around our schedule and was flexible when meeting with us to go over our ceremony. He provided us the time and space to go over our strengths and weaknesses and what we can expect to face in our marriage. He also provided options for premarital counseling to us which we took up and this furthered our marriage preparation that he started. On the day of the ceremony, Roche was the calm in the storm. His preparation and experience allowed us to focus on what was important, each other. On more than one occasion I saw Roche interacting with our guests and speaking with our other vendors. He helped to uphold our schedule while displaying professionalism and leadership. He also made a point of being with me and provided words of encouragement prior to the beginning of the ceremony. The ceremony itself was executed beautifully. Roche did more than recite what we had outlined on the page. Roche spoke from his heart, ministering to not only the two of us, but to our guests as well.

    Sent on 04/05/2016
  • K

    Kaely · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pastor Roche brought personality, fun, and liveliness to our big day! He was a joy to work with in prepping for the ceremony, doing marriage counseling, and helping us build our marriage foundation around Christ. He is a great friend and all around human being- I would definitely recommend him to anyone getting married!

    Sent on 05/11/2015
  • J

    Joshua · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roché was incredible! He helped make our wedding so special, and performed a beautiful customized ceremony. He was warm, friendly, smart and relaxed, and helped calm our nerves and have fun on our big day. He also was generally interested in our relationship and future as a couple. He made it clear he was helping to launch us into the next phase of our lives and he wanted to ensure our success.

    Additionally, he's an incredible public speaker. This is a key quality in an officiant, as they are the Master of Ceremonies (M.C.) and their delivery and public speaking prowess is crucial. We reviewed a number of officiants by watching Youtube videos, and were struck by how few could seamlessly read their scripts without sounding stilted and dry. Roché's delivery sounded like it came from the heart and felt personalized for us (and I think it was!)

    Lastly, his ceremony touched not only us, but dozens of our guests! We had so many people raving about Roché's liturgy, and how it impacted them deeply. A number of guests even said it made them want to renew their vows after 30+ years of marriage! It was truly a remarkable evening.

    Thank you Roché for everything. We couldn't be happier, and feel like we experienced our dream wedding.

    Sent on 11/15/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot express how wonderful Roché was throughout the wedding process! To this day, I have family and friends telling me how touched they were by Roché's liturgy at our wedding. In fact, one family friend is now renewing their wedding vows because of his message!

    When we first met Roché, my husband and I were impressed by how kind, thoughtful, and caring he was. He counseled us and took the time to get to know us as a couple. He worked closely with us to write our vows and in the end, delivered a liturgy that was so special and reflected who we are as a couple. Since I am Christian and my husband is agnostic, we also appreciated that he tailored his message to reflect our religious beliefs.

    Even though wedding planning can be stressful, planning the ceremony was pleasant and easy thanks to Roché. The actual ceremony couldn't have been more perfect and we are so grateful Roché officiated our wedding. A wedding ceremony is a sacred event and we're thankful we entrusted Roché with that honor. Roché will always be a part of our lives and we look forward to him dedicating our children and renewing our vows someday! Thank you Roché for giving us a day we will always remember!

    Sent on 07/21/2015
  • Jennifer

    Jennifer · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot express how wonderful Roché was throughout the wedding process! To this day, I have family and friends telling me how touched they were by Roché's liturgy at our wedding. In fact, one family friend is now renewing their wedding vows because of his message!

    When we first met Roché, my husband and I were impressed by how kind, thoughtful, and caring he was. He counseled us and took the time to get to know us as a couple. He worked closely with us to write our vows and in the end, delivered a liturgy that was so special and reflected who we are as a couple. Since I am Christian and my husband is agnostic, we also appreciated that he tailored his message to reflect our religious beliefs.

    Even though wedding planning can be stressful, planning the ceremony was pleasant and easy thanks to Roché. The actual ceremony couldn't have been more perfect and we are so grateful Roché officiated our wedding. A wedding ceremony is a sacred event and we're thankful we entrusted Roché with that honor. Roché will always be a part of our lives and we look forward to him dedicating our children and renewing our vows someday! Thank you Roché for giving us a day we will always remember!

    Sent on 07/21/2015
  • M

    Matthew and Carien · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Roché was phenomenal. He made us feel like we were important. He understood the personal touch that we wanted at our wedding and conveyed this perfectly. Our ceremony was exactly the special, intimate and meaningful occasion that we wanted. He is a warm, kind man. And he handled our guests with grace and poise--even the more unruly ones. Highly recommend him to any couple tying the knot.

    Sent on 11/17/2014
  • J

    Jared · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wow! I don't know what to say about having Roche for an officiant, but hire him! He is absolutely the best officiant I've ever seen and was a pleasure to work with. We fortunately found Roche late into our search for pastors. So, we were well aware of what we didn't want, as well as what we did. Roche radiates warmth, kindness, and personality. He is flexible and worked with us to develop the ceremony that we had always wanted. Not only did he work with the thematic elements that we wanted, but he also sent us many of his notes so that we could have a hand in crafting the ceremony. Though, I'd certainly trust him to do it all himself and bring the same incredible personality. Roche also incorporated elements of Jewish tradition into our principally Christian service. Roche brought so much joy to the wedding that we could not have expected. He was casual and fun in a way that activated the attendees and personalized the wedding for all. Its also worth noting that he has a charming and warm South African accent. The ultimate testimonial for the wedding came from the many guests (at least 20) who raved about his job as the officiant. I could not imagine a better choice.

    Sent on 11/17/2014
  • User3732959 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev Roché was absolutely amazing as the Officiant for our wedding!

    While we were planning the big day, he was a calming influence who reminded us to focus on each other - not what color the napkins should be. He brought us back to the basics of what it meant to become a couple and what it would mean to live as husband and wife.

    At the ceremony, he was just like a member of the family. He arrived early to greet the guests and make sure everything was squared away. Once the ceremony began, he was a beautiful addition to the moment. He brought us and our guests into the beauty of the ceremony and helped to start the celebration right. In all, I can't imagine my wedding with someone else.

    I'm usually hesitant of reviews that list 5 stars for every category, but I can tell you that they are well deserved. Roché is a fantastic celebrant that you will love..

    Sent on 06/13/2014
  • C

    Christina · Married on 11/16/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Dr. Roché Vermaak was amazing!!! My husband and I were leaving in AZ. But my home is southern CA, so we wanted to get married here. Rev. Dr. Roché Vermaak worked with us to make sure we were able to have the wedding of our dreams and after meeting with us was able to create a beautiful wedding ceremony that was perfect for us. Not to mention Rev. Dr. Roché Vermaak has a great South African accent. We were extremely happy with his services.

    Sent on 04/27/2016
  • C

    Christine · Married on 10/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am Christian and my husband was raised Muslim. Roche was able to help us design the perfect wedding ceremony that incorporated a religious and spiritual overtone without making my husband's family feel uncomfortable or left out. He also performed the ceremony perfectly. I was a ball of emotions that day and Roche was able to lighten the mood when it looked like I was going to start crying, which meant a lot to me. I couldn't of asked for a better ceremony or officiant! I highly recommend using Roche. You will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 06/04/2014
  • C

    caroline · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rev. Roché officiated my wedding a little over a year ago, and did an AMAZING job. My husband and I opted to complete pre-marital counseling with him prior to our wedding, and from our first meeting we felt at ease and knew we were in good hands. Roché did such an incredible job of helping us create a ceremony that really reflected what we wanted to focus on as a couple, and he made it so personal to us. Even a year later we still have people (from all faiths and backgrounds) who tell us that the ceremony was the best they have ever seen. Roché is such a special person, and we are so grateful that he was a part of our day.

    Sent on 10/28/2014
  • User4155175 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roche is the best and made our wedding ceremony beautiful and unique to us. We had many people at our wedding commenting on how great our wedding ceremony was, and how cool Roche was.

    Sent on 06/06/2014
  • D

    dawn · Married on 03/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having Roche conduct our wedding was one of the highlights of our wedding ceremony. He generously provided examples of material from which we could write our vows and shape the ceremony. He communicated with us throughout the process. He arrived on time and delivered touching, beautiful remarks beyond what we had already scripted. It was a pleasure to work with him!

    Sent on 10/28/2014
  • User4511393 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Roche's best quality is his authenticity, which comes through in his message at our ceremony. We received compliments from guests on the intimacy of the ceremony and how individualized it was to us. As far as his professionalism goes, he was responsive and timely via email, phone and in-person meetings. We had an unconventional wedding and he was flexible in accommodating our requests. If we had to do it all over again, we would definitely change some aspects of the event, but definitely not Roche!

    Sent on 10/29/2014
  • C

    Cara · Married on 01/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pastor Roche made our wedding so personal and memorable! We really appreciated his premarital session, where he offered insight and advice. He also took the time to learn about us, so he could create a custom ceremony, which incorporated elements of our Protestant and Catholic traditions. He also offered ideas for unique touches, like wrapping our hands with his shaw/vestment. Pastor Roche made our Christian values and vows the centerpiece of our special day, which touched our hearts and our guests.

    Sent on 06/09/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review