Skip to main content
Weddings

A Slice of Heaven Hand Crafted Custom Cakes Reviews

A Slice of Heaven Hand Crafted Custom Cakes

A Slice of Heaven Hand Crafted Custom Cakes

Sarasota, FL
4.9 out of 5 rating, 131 Reviews
View more information

131 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 131
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

20 User photos

  • Jessica
    Jessica D. Married on 03/20/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious & Beautiful!

    If you’re looking for a place with variety of flavours, something beautiful, AND also delicious - you need to get your cake/desserts here! We had a destination wedding and never formally met anyone from this establishment yet the communication was never compromised. The cake, cupcakes, and cannolis were all gorgeous and absolutely yummy. Not one crumb was left at the end of the night.
  • Doreen
    Doreen R. Married on 02/05/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful and Tasty

    The cake was exactly as requested and the flavors were outstanding!
  • Erin
    Erin T. Married on 05/28/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Delicious!

    Thomas was great! He kept in touch and the cake cup cakes were delicious! I expected to have extras because everyone at weddings always to, but NOPE. I only had about 7 MINI cup cakes left. Everyone loved them! Thank you so much!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • Samantha
    Samantha E. Married on 12/03/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Love the creativity

    We worked with Sarasota Cakes for our wedding last November. We were looking for something other than a traditional wedding cake. Thomas had really great ideas and we landed on a small cutting cake and dessert cups. The display was gorgeous and exactly what we envisioned. Not to mention, our guests LOVED the dessert cups. The flavor combinations were out of this world. Five stars!!
  • Kia
    Kia S. Married on 06/20/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best cake

    Everything was good and beautiful
  • Carly
    Carly C. Married on 05/31/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    May 30, 2021 Wedding

    We were just recently married on May 30 after a postponment due to covid. We started working with A Slice of Heaven Custom Cakes in September of 2019 and we were blown away by how beautiful our 2 cakes were. We ordered a Groom's cake for our rehearsal dinner and our wedding cake from them. The cakes were not only creative, but they were absolutely delicious. We would highly recommend!
  • Emily
    Emily Married on 11/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Stunning Cake

    Our cake was beautiful and so delicious! The owners were so kind and helpful working with us. I highly recommend!
  • Gloria
    Gloria S. Married on 10/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A very happy bride

    I wanted something different than a traditional wedding cake, so I had them make me a cupcake wedding cake. It was beautiful and the cupcakes had different fillings, our guest just loved them! They took their time in seeing what I wanted and were always available to answer any questions I had. I couldn’t be more happier with the outcome. Great experience!!
  • Katie
    Katie P. Married on 10/11/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    It was great!

    The cake was not only gorgeous but it was delicious as well!
  • Tyler
    Tyler B. Married on 03/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great experience

    They sat down with my fiance and i and went over every detail of our cake. The tasting was awesome as well. There were so many options to choose from and they were there to help choose the best matches with cake, filling and colors. Best experience.
  • Nicole
    Nicole Married on 02/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Exceeded our expectations

    My first encounter with Slice of Heaven was at a friends wedding where I fell in love with their cake even though I’ve never been a huge cake fan. From that point on my fiancé and I had only heard positive things about their cakes. I wanted to see for myself so I met with the owner Thomas who took us in even though they had been closed to discuss flavors and options. He was always very understanding and easy to communicate with. He offered great suggestions and my husband and I couldn’t have been more pleased with how beautiful our cakes turned out. Anyone that knows me would assure you of how picky I am but Thomas is so detailed and intricate everything turned out beautiful and even more importantly it tasted fantastic. Thank you Thomas for all of your efforts and talent you truly are great at what you do!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 11/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We ordered one of their "Brides on a Budget" cakes for our wedding in March. Absolutely beautiful and sooo delicious! Our wedding was at the beach, so we chose the cake with shells on it--- white cake with raspberry filling & vanilla icing. SO good.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 08/18/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    A Slice of Heaven did an amazing job with my wedding cake. I had a difficult time at first trying to find someone who could do a cake with red frosting without using fondant. They did the entire cake in red buttercream frosting, only using fondant on the stripes and polka dots. This was a life saver considering that most people hate the taste of fondant. The cake not only looked awesome but tasted delicious! We were extremely happy with their services. They were quick to respond to all of my emails too which was great because I was planning my wedding in Sarasota all the way from Denver so email and phone were my only real options. I would highly recommend their services for your next event.
  • A
    Ashley Married on 11/19/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Absolutely go with this vendor! The cake was delicious and exactly what I was looking for! Everyone commented how delicious it was and how beautiful the wedding cake looked. We chose the "Brides on a Budget" option and it was perfect price for $$$$$ taste! 100% would recommend!
  • N
    Nicole Married on 11/19/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thomas did such an amazing job on our wedding cake! It was more than we ever expected and it was so delicious! We got so many compliments on it! We definitely recommend Slice of Heaven!
  • User2490016 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My wedding is just around the corner and I had waited a little long to book my cake but Tom was great to work with! I found him through an Internet search. He was wonderfully courteous on the phone and we set up an appointment to try some of their flavors and everything was great. He felt confident that he could give me the exact cake that I wanted and I am so excited to see how it turns out!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 10/24/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husband and I used A Slice of Heaven for our wedding cake and we could not have been happier. It was absolutely gorgeous and precisely what we asked for. Not only were they able to give us the intricate cushion look that we requested on one of the layers, but it actually tasted as good as it looked which doesn't happen often! And the prices were more than reasonable. We would highly recommend A Slice of Heaven!
  • J
    James Married on 10/10/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Although we had three different layers and three different flavors, the key lime and raspberry was to die for
  • A
    Amanda Married on 07/03/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This was for a destination wedding and we were nervous about not being able to have a tasting. The cake turned out to be absolutely amazing and we couldn't have been more thrilled with the service and the cake! We are sad to say that the top tier didn't make it back to Ohio. I guess we will just have to have them make us a small cake for our one year anniversary when we go back to Florida! Thank you for everything!
  • N
    Nikki Married on 06/26/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    This cake I picked out online as I was traveling from Illinois to Florida for my wedding. I based my decision off the reviews. Reviews were amazing and honestly it was the most amazing cake and most beautifully decorated cake I have ever tasted and seen! It will not dissapoint! Highly recommend this company. It was delicious!!
  • L
    Lindsey Married on 06/22/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had A Slice of Heaven design our wedding cake. We live in Jacksonville but our wedding was in the Tampa area. We didn't have the time and flexibility to drive back and forth between Jacksonville and the Tampa area, let alone down to Sarasota. We relied on reviews and pictures from the internet to pick our cake. I sent Thomas my cake idea and let him design the cake. I was essentially "blind" to the whole process of picking and designing the cake, but it was perfect. My cake was really one of the biggest surprises of our wedding day. It was exactly what I had discussed with the bakery. The details were perfect and it tasted amazing! We ordered the french vanilla and strawberry and pina colada flavors. It was really one of the best tasting cakes I've ever had. The guests loved it too.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 06/13/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My catering company, Sarasota Catering, recommended A Slice of Heaven to us. I worked with Thomas and Michelle on both my surprise groom's cake and tiered cupcake tower. They went above and beyond to make my vision a reality. They were quick to respond to all my questions and emails during the wedding planning process. Michelle was so patient through all my indecisiveness and had great suggestions and guidance. The groom's cake and cupcake tower both turned out incredible and I received tons of compliments on them (wish I could share pictures). Whatever ideas you have, they will do whatever it takes to deliver. I'm so happy I went with A Slice of Heaven for my wedding!
  • L
    Leslie Married on 04/03/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My cake was absolutely perfect. In fact, I've never tasted wedding cake this delicious...ever. Received SO many compliments on it... The manager, Tom was super helpful in looking at the big picture during my initial tasting/meeting. He asked about decor, dinner menu, etc. I supplied him with a picture of a cake I wanted too - a 3-tired buttercream-iced cake with simple texture and lemons, rosemary, and lavender adorning each tier. He dissected the cake, wanting to make sure every detail would be exactly how I wanted it.

    The cake was everything I wanted...simple and southern. The vanilla buttercream icing is insane...so many back notes of rum and aromatics. The cake itself was CRAZY moist and the lemon curd and lemon cream fillings just took it over the top. I will say it again...this was the BEST wedding cake I've ever had.

    I highly recommend this vendor for quality, value, and professionalism.
  • K
    Krystle Married on 03/29/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    A Slice of Heaven was nothing sort of amazing to work with. My wife and I ordered cupcakes for our wedding meet and greet as well as my grooms cake from there. The grooms cake was custom and they were so flexible and communicative throughout the process. They even designed our cupcakes in the shape of a bride and groom, which was a special touch for our wedding day. Will definitely order from them again.
  • D
    Donna Married on 12/13/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ordered a cake for my daughters wedding from "A Slice of Heaven" and the name truly fit the description of their cake ... it was delicious! They delivered on time, communicated promptly, and were absolutely delightful to work with. We ordered the budget seashell cake and the cake looked beautiful! They did not compromise quality for budget. We were really happy with them and their service.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message