808 DJs Reviews

25 | Honolulu, HI
See photos, pricing and details

25 Reviews for 808 DJs

Recommended by 79% of couples

4.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.9
  • Professionalism 3.8
  • Flexibility 4.0
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 3.9

Awards

25
Order by:
  • User3626794 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    808DJ's did an excellent job at my wedding. My venue was a little difficult since it had different levels and areas but 808DJ's were able to provide music/sound to each level. I gave them all 5's because the day of my wedding we planned it to be an open outdoor ceremony but when the rain came pouring down all plans changed and we had to shove all guest into a stuffy little pavilion, 808DJ's were able to adjust to the situation and made sure it was everything I wanted it to be. I also had a lot of people trying to be in control of my day, and everytime they would try to change something Bud stood his ground and responded "let me check with the bride". I had the unlimited package which included DJ, EMCEE, up lighting, our names projected onto the dance floor, photo booth, and props. The DJ had everybody dancing, from toddlers to grandma's, and the photobooth was a hit with all ages. They even provided a hook up for our friend to play music with his guitar at the cocktail hour. I would definitely recommend 808DJ's to anybody throwing a party.

    Sent on 10/23/2013
  • User3431079 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was my brothers graduation party :)

    Sent on 07/30/2013
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 06/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very pleased with our DJ's help throughout the afternoon!
    It went well and we had one glitch on our part with the slide show and he helped us resolve it.

    Sent on 07/22/2013
  • J

    John · Married on 06/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    808 Djs did a great job for our wedding. There were flexalbe in the scogs which were played and were very happy to accomatate the different tastes in music.

    Sent on 06/13/2013
  • User3216167 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The services of 808 DJs was everything we expected and more. They arrived early to set up, were curtious and enthusiastic. They really added additional life to the party and got everyone up and dancing

    Sent on 04/23/2013
  • G

    Geoff · Married on 02/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great service and price! Bud is awesome, total pro. Very flexible and accommodating! Made my daughters day a special one for sure!

    Sent on 02/27/2013
  • A

    Abigail · Married on 01/12/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired a DJ and an MC from 808 DJ's, and they were fantastic. We met with our MC Kuldip a week before the wedding and he was really really nice. Turns out he is a fantastic MC too! On the night of the wedding we had Bud, Kuldip, and a kid who was training to be an MC. When we got the dance floor going, Kuldip and the other guy (can't remember his name!) looked like they were having as much fun as our guests all night! We had so many compliments from our guests!

    Only bummer was they didn't play many of the songs we wanted during dancing (we wanted to play "earth angel" and "johnny b good" from back to the future), and they did play a few songs from our "do not play" list, which wasn't cool. But I'd like to say it was because they had a full dance floor all night and they just got caught up in how great it was going and didn't want to slow anything down. On a better note, they did play all the songs we wanted played during dinner.

    Overall, Bud promised a great evening, and that is what we got! All our guests had so much fun dancing!

    Sent on 03/15/2013
  • T

    Tracey · Married on 01/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having 808 DJ's dj our wedding. They were responsive to returning emails and they were professional to work with. We absolutely loved our dj's for the night. They were friendly, fun and involved with the audience; teaching us dances and spending time teaching the kids dance moves. All of our wedding guests gave great reviews of our dj's and we had more fun at this wedding dance then any dance we've ever been to. We would highly recommend 808 DJ's for any event.

    Sent on 01/20/2013
  • J

    Joe & Christine · Married on 09/30/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    808 DJs did a great job at my wedding. We notified them of a last minute special performance that we planned, and our DJ (Bud) had no issues with that. He played all of our requested songs and mixed other songs smoothly. Would definitely recommend them for their value and service!

    Sent on 10/09/2012
  • User2585761 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm so happy to have hired 808DJs for my wedding! The DJ was professional and played all the music we and our guests wanted. They did a great job with the lightning, the monogram, and recording and playing our voice over. They also provided us with a photo booth and a photographer who did a beautiful job. I would recommend them to anyone because they provided me with exceptional services from the moment I call them and because they provided the most reasonable prices from all the DJ companies I contacted.

    Sent on 08/07/2012
  • User2040012 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    808 DJ's provided a very nice and professional DJ and MC for our wedding in Hauula, HI. We traveled to Hawaii from California, and had to meet with 808 DJ's last minute. They worked with our schedule, and put it all together fast and smooth. They were also very flexible, our wedding ended up starting a little over an hour later due to bad car accident. They made the reception fun and entertaining. Good music, nice, and professional. Thank you 808 DJ's!!!

    Sent on 09/05/2012
  • C

    C · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired 808 DJ's for my daughters graduation party and I'm glad that I did. Bud provided exceptional customer service. He met with us prior to the party to make sure that everything was to our standards and at the same time we sat down to discuss the music that we wanted played at the party. Even during the party he found the time to make sure that everything was perfect (whether it was the music, photobooth, lighting, etc). We were the first ones to rent the photobooth and it was a total hit at the party. No matter what type of party you're planning, you won't be disappointed if you hire 808 DJ's. I can't wait to plan my next party just so I can hire them again.

    Sent on 09/18/2012
  • Taryn

    Taryn · Married on 05/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm not usually one to give perfect ratings across the board but 808 DJs sincerely excelled in every one of these categories.

    For those of you have begun your search for vendors on Oahu you may have learned that the responsiveness on the island isn't quite what it is here on teh mainland, but not with these guys. They were extrememly responsive each time I contacted them.

    You may also be expereinceing some of the sticker shock of hosting a wedding in HI but their pricing far exceeds any of their competitors. Given how good their pricing was I had resigned myself to the fact that I was most likely going to get a midgrade vendor but that was okay with me given our bidget considerations. This could not have been further from the truth. These guys are a class act and I was thoroughly impressed.

    I think most impressive of all was their fullfulmient of my last minute requests. I had received a form from them to fill in all my song requests and special dances, etc. With all the madnes going on I didn't send the list to my DJ, Scott, until 10am the morning of! I told him I completely understood if it was too late and to my absolute surprise that evening my songs began to play. Now that's impressive.

    In addition, they accommodated last minute schedule changes and additions, not to mention they continued to play past the cut-off time.

    The lighting was gorgeous, so professionally done, and so affordable!!!

    I have nothing negative to say and would recommend these guys to all my friends and family. In fact I would practically insist they use them! :o)

    Sent on 05/15/2012
  • E

    Kathryn · Married on 03/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    808 DJs provides great value and exceptional service. Bud is incredibly professional and was really enjoyable to work with. He allowed us to select our own music, which we really appreciated because it made our reception much more personalized. We definitely recommend 808 DJs to anyone planning an event.

    Sent on 03/21/2012
  • T

    Tanya · Married on 02/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bud came through with the music we wanted; listened carefully and met our needs thoroughly. He was professional in every way and helped with suggestions while incorporating our special requests. The sound, lighting and the pictures he screened for us were perfect. We would recommend him and the company wholeheartedly to anyone interested in having a GREAT DJ at their wedding.

    Sent on 03/15/2012
  • R

    Ruth · Married on 02/16/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We'd use 808djs again. The prices were good and they were really flexible in trying to meet our budget. Our MC, Kuldip was amazing! We recevied so many great comments about him from our guests, some of whom will proabably request him and 808 for their parties soon. He was able to get people out on the dance floor and was just overall fun and entertaining, but not in an over the top way. I'd highly recommend him for wedding MC'ing. If I had one issue it was just that they put our monogram on the wall instead of our panel behind us but maybe it was windy and they felt it wouldn't work. Other than that, Bud and his team at 808 were easy to work with and well worth the value!

    Sent on 03/03/2013
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 09/21/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My wedding was on Saturday, Sept. 21st and Bud was our DJ. He did an AWESOME job and our MC Kuldip was AMAZING. EVERYONE in the room was having a great time. The music was great and the MC got involved by dancing with all guests on the dance floor. All the guests had a great time with the photo booth as well, saying they were great souvenirs from our special day. I got the all inclusive package and I am happy that I did because everything turned out great and we all had a good time. Bud and Kuldip are the ideal duo from this company to do anyone's party/wedding. THANK YOU 808 DJS! :)

    Sent on 10/04/2013
  • C

    Chris · Married on 09/28/2012

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    My husband and I had a very specific idea regarding the look and feel of our wedding reception. We also paid for our own wedding and had a tight budget for music/entertainment. 808 DJs provided a great value for the price we paid. Our DJ Ray was very flexible. We were going to provide a USB drive with specific music we wanted, however the USB drive was forgotten. Ray worked with us to find alternatives. Thank goodness for iTunes store and Youtube. We also had a projected monogram which looked beautiful.

    My only two critiques are…
    There seems to be some communication break down in the 808 DJs office as there were times that responses were slow and information I sent seemed to have either gotten lost or not relayed.
    My second critique is I wish the monogram had been projected the entire ceremony not just during the dancing.

    All in all my husband and I were very happy with Ray and 808 DJs. They helped make our night memorable.

    Sent on 10/16/2012
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/20/2013

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The initial selection of 808 DJs went well. However, I was a little disappointed in the song selection. My husband and I had selected some of our favorite songs to play and use as a guide for the DJ. We were fine with the DJ picking music that everyone could dance to but some of the songs, while extremely popular, were difficult to dance to. Also, we had put a few songs on the "Do Not Play" list and the DJ ended up playing one of the songs. :( My only other criticism would be not to play the group dance songs (Cupid Shuffle, ChaCha Slide, and the Electric Slide) back to back. These are fun dancing songs and practically anyone can do it but our guests, myself included, got worn out from dancing these 3 songs back to back.

    Unfortunately, at no fault of the DJ, our guests didn't do a lot of dancing. It was a rather small reception of 41 people and everyone seemed more interested in mingling and talking. Perhaps a MC (a service 808 DJs does offer) could have helped with this. I would be willing to give 808 DJs a second chance.

    Sent on 05/11/2013
  • L

    Liz · Married on 03/09/2013

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Sad to say, you get what you pay for. We booked 808 as the prices were quite decent but when all is said and done, I wish we'd spent more and had a better DJ. Our DJ was quite young (that's fine) but wasn't very professional. He spent most of the time on his phone and didn't have the list we'd sent with all of the songs we required for different parts of the day. My bridesmaids had to run down and tell him what song I was walking down the aisle to. In the package that I bought, there was supposed to be a microphone included but on the day we were told it was broken. So the speeches were done without a mic. Good thing it was a smaller wedding, but if it wasn't, it would have been a big issue. He did have the list of songs we wanted played for the dancing, but some of the harder to find songs (shouldn't really be all that hard) weren't played. We paid $750-800 all up and I wish we'd gone with someone else.

    Sent on 06/03/2013
  • User3331506 · 2+ years ago

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    This vendor charged us for an extra hour up because of a schedule change we requested (setting up during the ceremony did not seem like a good idea). On the wedding day the crew arrived late and agreed to rebate us for the time we paid for but did not get. Since then, company has refused to return part or all of the extra charge. In trying to get a rebate, the company argued that the service was good (meaning they played the songs asked for and knew how to DJ) and therefore we should pay the extra charge. Be careful with these folks when it comes to the fees.

    Sent on 06/17/2013
  • User2593293 · 2+ years ago

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    They got 1 star because as part of our package deal we got a photobooth and lighting: and those parts were great.
    Everything else was not. First off, they are awful about returning emails. When they do, they are wrong about everything! I kept getting emails about stuff that I had confirmed via email with Bud months ago. I met with Bud a week before the wedding (by the way you have to contact them - they will not initiate contact) & after talking to him sent an updated email about everything we had talked about.
    Well, they never updated their files. They had the wrong order for our wedding, didn't have our exit song, & cut off my father-daughter dance at 2 minutes when I had asked them to fade it out at 3. WORST OF ALL,my friend had used them for her wedding 2 months before, & THEY MENTIONED MY FRIEND and HER HUSBAND'S NAMES MORE THAN MINE AND MY HUSBAND!!!Also, they kept talking about my friend's wedding as if everyone at my wedding had been there (only me and my friend had).
    It was rude, insulting, totally inappropriate, and made me cry! In addition, my biggest thing for our DJ was that I did not want a dance party wedding (like my friend had). But I made the mistake of telling him that if he wanted to he could play songs that were not on our list. I didn't think that he would take that to mean don't play anything on our list. I had 4 people go up and ask him to play my music that night, he played one song. I WENT UP AND ASKED HIM TO PLAY MY MUSIC, he played 2 more songs all night. It really made me sad and hurt that they didn't pay attention to what I wanted at all, and that they kept mentioning my friend and her husband.
    AS a warning: after I wrote this review I received an email at my personal email stating that I didn't tell the truth in this review, and was "very difficult to work with." I do not think that is professional.

    Sent on 05/10/2013
  • J

    Joyce · Married on 09/14/2013

    0.2
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    I hired this company for my wedding. When I met with Bud, I told him I was on a budget. He recommended the all inclusive package. I was very apprehensive about the price, but he kept assuring me that it was the best deal and that I needed it. So I got the all inclusive package. We discussed what I wanted, that he would provide services for both the outdoor ceremony and indoor reception. On the day of the wedding, they forgot to bring the generator (even though they knew it was an outdoor ceremony). I was supposed to walk down the aisle at 6:00 pm in the gentle evening light. The guy who sets up, kept assuring that it would be super quick, that the generator was on it's way, etc. We waited for almost an hour before I realized that the generator was never coming. I ended up walking down the aisle at a little after 7 in the dark with no music, no microphone for the preacher, nothing. Because it was now dark, we had to forgo our formal wedding pictures and proceed with the rest of the wedding. I had paid them, but when I realized our wedding ceremony had practically been ruined, I asked for any sort of refund. They said absolutely not! Because it was not their fault that they forgot vital equipment. I asked for a copy of the contract, but was completely ignored. Bud Dwelly is the rudest, most unprofessional person ever. He never sent any sort of paperwork to me, threatened me if I cancelled payment on the check, bashed the military saying "I have had problems with military people before." (Im not even military). He told me he had all the paperwork, and therefore there was nothing I can do. No bride who plans to have a sunset wedding on the beach set with beautiful music, wants to marry in the pitch dark with no music, or photographs. And I paid a lot of money for services I did not receive. Then I was met with hostility and rudeness afterwards when I merely asked for any sort of refund and a copy of the paperwork.

    Sent on 09/25/2013
  • User3568679 · 2+ years ago

    0.2
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    Worst company ever. Unprofessional, rude, and very argumentative with us. It was my sisters wedding, and they failed miserably at what they did. When my sister asked to for some sort of compensation, they basically told her to go screw herself. They didn't even take a minute to reason with her.

    Sent on 09/29/2013
  • User4317691 · 2+ years ago

    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    I used 808 for my wedding and I have absolutely NOTHING positive to say. We used him during our ceremony and reception. They didn't have the requested songs, which was nothing out of the ordinary top wedding songs. They didn't even have the typical bridal chorus, our photographer downloaded the song on his phone and is what played, which I didn't know about until the following day. He also refused to make any MC announcements, which all we were asking for was for him to welcome us at the start of the reception to our small wedding party of 20. He was completely RUDE and UNPROFESSIONAL. I called him after the wedding, to which he agreed to refund me half my money, but after returning from our honeymoon I never received it. I followed up with him and he said he changed his mind. Do NOT use him EVER.

    Sent on 08/12/2014