Weddings

701 Whaley Reviews

701 Whaley View more information

25 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 25

9 User photos

Sort by:
  • Beth
    Beth Married on 04/27/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Venue

    701 Whaley is the most perfect wedding venue. I love the history it contains, and the beauty of the exposed walls. Tom and Victoria were more than accommodating, and super flexible, even with last minute changes. It was the foundation to a beautiful wedding, and made all my dreams come true. I highly recommend!

    701 Whaley's reply:

    Beth, thank you so much for your kind words! It was our honor to be able to host you guys. What a magical day! Congratulations!!
  • A
    Aaron Married on 09/21/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great value and atmosphere

    If you are going for a vintage looking wedding where your reception and ceremony can be held in the same location this is your spot to be. Within the address they have about 4-5 different venue spaces that you can choose from for your special day also including a private bridal suite. Great cost efficient option especially if you have your wedding at an off peak time such as a Friday like we did or some point during the week. The price for peak times on Saturdays is still very much cheaper than other venues in the area.

    701 Whaley's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words, Aaron! We loved having you and Brandis. Your wedding was spectacular! Congratulations again.
  • T
    Tina Married on 12/29/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved this venue! The manager, Tom Chinn, was so helpful and accommodating. We rented the Granby Room for our rehearsal dinner the night before the wedding, and also for the ceremony and cocktail hour. We used the Grand Hall for our reception and it was so beautiful! We had about 130 guests, with plenty of room for seating for all, a DJ with a large dance floor area, bar in the back, photo booth, food stations all around and a place of honor for the cake. We converted the Granby Room into a lounge during our reception for those who wanted to step away from the music for a bit and we had excellent feedback from that idea. We also rented the manager's office for the bridal party preparations and then used it during the wedding and reception for child care and nursing mothers. We had 2 babysitters there, and it worked out wonderfully! The bride and groom did their first look upstairs in the Olympia room (where the bride also shot some of her bridal portrait photos - just lovely!), and the outside areas provided a gorgeous backdrop for some of the post wedding photos. I highly recommend this venue!
  • User2135628 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Beautiful location! We have not made our final decision on our venue but this location is in our top two! Tom has been so patient and quick to respond to my many emails!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 12/07/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This is a beautiful space if you're looking for a "vintage" feel. It's an old repurposed building that is absolutely beautiful! I'm so happy that I was able to use this space for my vintage-glam themed wedding.
  • Haley
    Haley Married on 12/06/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I absolutely loved this venue for my wedding reception! It was large, therefore had plenty of space for everyone and everything!
  • M
    Sherry Married on 08/30/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom and the 701 staff are everything you want from a wedding and reception venue. They allowed us time to come in and work out our concept for a wedding/reception in the Grand Hall (though this had never been done before). Our calls were always promptly returned. BEST VENUE EVER!
  • L
    Leigh Married on 03/16/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This is an amazing venue! The character of the building is perfect for a beautiful reception. You will not find a cookie cutter venue here. It is wonderful!
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 02/02/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ton Chinn was very professional and friendly when he worked with us on my daughter's wedding reception. He answered all of our questions and helped us pick out some of our other vendors. It's a great place for events of all kinds. All of the chairs and tables were provided in the price. There is plenty of parking for this venue. Tom was available any time we needed him and was very reassuring during the whole process. I would recommend this venue to anyone.
  • Janee
    Janee Married on 12/14/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom was nice and very easy to work with. He was flexible with us with our date change and was just an easy going guy!! 701 Whaley is a beautiful venue and we had our wedding Ceremony upstairs and our reception downstairs. There was so much space for South Carolina Wedding Company to make magic happen and they did. 701 Whaley is definately one of the best if not the best wedding venue in Columbia, SC.!!! Thanks Tom!!! Janee and Brian.
  • H
    Hollis Married on 12/08/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    701 Whaley is a beautiful place to have a wedding reception. Tom Chinn is nice, friendly and quick to respond. The grand hall was the perfect place for our wedding reception and easily accommodated all 250 of our guests. The bridal suite at 701 Whaley is an excellent place for any bride that wants to get ready in a comfortable setting with excellent natural light. I would highly recommend 701 Whaley to any couple looking for a beautiful, spacious, and unique location to host their wedding reception.
  • J
    Julie Married on 06/23/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I LOVED having our reception at 701 Whaley! The venue offers a "blank slate" that allows you to make it everything that you want it to be, but it still provides a breathtaking rustic feel! The wide-open floor plan allowed us to create an area that suited our needs and provided lots of room for our guests to move around and dance! We highly recommend 701!!
  • H
    Heather Married on 05/12/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    701 Whaley is THE place to have your wedding reception! Tom is amazing to work with and made everything simple. We also used the upstairs Olympia Room for our rehearsal dinner and once again - fabulous! People didn't stop complimenting the space.. The main room at 701 is perfect for a larger reception. A lot of venues around Columbia don't hold more than 100-150 people seated, and this place can more than accomodate that which makes moving around more comfortable for guests. We HIGHLY recommend 701 Whaley and its staff. A wonderful location and a beautiful venue! Thanks!
  • K
    Katie Married on 04/14/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We reserved the downstairs ballroom for ceremony and reception, and it was perfect. We ended up able to use the room next door for ceremony, leaving the ballroom just for reception. I love the character of the building. We didn't even need to leave for photos! we just used columns, windows, walls, and outside. There is also a bridal room available to get ready in. Be careful though, there's no AC in there. We also used the wedding planner in the building (Melanie M. with By Invitation Only), so the bridal party "hid" in her office after we were dressed to stay extra cool (heat makes nervous sweating worse).
  • E
    Ernalene Married on 05/05/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We chose 701 Whaley for our reception venue to accommodate the large number of our expected guests. My husband and I love the huge space and character of the building! It was perfect & absoutely beautiful after it was all decorated for our event. Tom Chinn was very helpful all the way and made everything so easy!

    -Nate & Lene Rex
  • B
    Brittany Married on 05/08/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom was amazing to work with. He replied to e-mails quickly and promptly and was very flexible with me when I needed time to set up for the reception earlier than expected. The tables and chairs they have available for the events are beautiful (not typical and tacky). My husband and I were in awe of how gorgeous our reception looked and to be honest the room didn't need much! I recommend 701 Whaley to any couple looking for a venue in the Columbia, South Carolina area.
  • M
    Megan Married on 12/16/2017
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved having my wedding at 701 Whaley, both the ceremony and reception were held in the great hall. The interior is beautiful and the staff very professional.
  • E
    Emily Married on 11/15/2014
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had SUCH a beautiful day here. Tom was quick to respond each time I talked to him and even stayed to help us decorate the night before! Love!
  • L
    Lisa Married on 07/18/2014
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Loved the rustic space! Tom Chinn is excellent to work with and was very helpful throughout the entire process. The best place to get married in Columbia by far!
  • M
    Meaghan Married on 11/08/2014
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    It was a beautiful venue to begin with, but when you add the decorations and the lighting, it became truly stunning.
  • Jessica
    Jessica Married on 05/18/2013
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    I absolutely loved our venue. It's a blank slate that you can do anything with! It's a little on the pricey side, but it was just what we were looking for. I also rented the bridal room the day of. It's a great room, but it doesn't have central AC so may get pretty hot in the summer. I'd definitely still rent 701 if I was going to do it all again. Fills up fast!
  • L
    Lybrand Married on 03/05/2011
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Overall, I think 701 is a great venue. The value is great for the area, and the space lends itself to many different designs. The inclusion of the chivari chairs with the rental is also a value booster. The one complaint I have is that they promised that the bridal suite would be ready and it was still under construction so we couldn't use it. It wasn't a deal breaker, but it was listed in the contract and not fulfilled. They did provide another space for us to use, but it wasnt as nice. Overall I think its one of the best choices in the area, especially for large weddings.
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 11/10/2012
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Beautiful venue to have a wedding reception. Although one of the more pricier venues in Columbia, well worth the cost. It's a blank slate that you can make your own! In addition to this, you are allowed to bring in your own catering services which was very important to us. There are not a lot of venues left in Columbia in which you are able to do this so that is an advantage. Mr. Chin was reasonable and fair and worked with us on changes throughout the process. If I ever, get another opportunity to have an event in Columbia, I would use 701 Whaley again.
  • B
    Brandon Married on 11/11/2016
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    We had an amazing time for our reception on Nov. 11. It's a beautiful venue that can be decorated to look almost any way you can imagine. More then enough room for the 200+ guest we had, plus bartender and photo booth. The staff was always willing and available to help up throughout the process and would recommend them to anybody looking for a venue for any event.
  • D
    De Andra Married on 04/21/2012
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    701 Whaley is the best venue in the city of Columbia. I know many brides feel that they hold a lot of weddings (and they do) but there is a reason for that! It is a space that is a blank canvas with several beautiful and unique elements to it! It also allows you to bring your own caterer and alcohol which can save you a ton of money! The location is so beautiful I also shot my bridal portraits there. Our guests loved the Olympia room and the beautiful wooden floors upstairs. We transitioned into another room for cocktail hour and then into the grand ballroom for dinner and dancing. There is no other place I would have wanted to have my wedding. 701 Whaley the first and only choice! The did take a really long time to deposit my payment (almost 3 weeks) and at times email response can be slow. Make sure to emphasize that the location needs to be cleaned! On Saturday's because of the Local's Farmer's market people can use the same bathrooms that your guests use later on in the day. This is something we didn't realize until it was too late. Make sure to speak with Mr. Chinn about it.