Skip to main content
Weddings

10 Downing at Churchill's Reviews

10 Downing at Churchill's

10 Downing at Churchill's

Savannah, GA
5.0 out of 5 rating, 119 Reviews
View more information

119 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 119
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

78 User photos

  • Taylor
    Taylor S. Married on 05/10/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best there is.

    The venue manager Carter is phenomenal as is the entire team at 10 Downing! It is an incredible value for the price. Carter was always available and extremely responsive via phone or email. He handled everything with ease and made my wedding day exceptional, I couldn't have done it without him. I received comments from guests after the wedding stating, "best steak I've ever had!' and "the best bartenders ever!" You cannot go wrong booking this venue.
  • L
    Lauren V. Married on 04/23/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Reception Venue

    We booked 10 Downing and the rooftop for our wedding and The night couldn’t have been more perfect. Carter took over for Mark as the event manager and Carter was amazing to work with. He answered every email and put us as a wedding couple at ease and helped plan a perfect night. We ended up checking the venue out early since we are from out of town and got so the menu tasting - the food there is SO good! We had amazing bar service the night of the wedding and the wait staff was so kind. The room really transformed. We ended up having about 80 guests (the room fits 74 so if you need more room - book the rooftop terrace as well for seating outside). The dance floor and outside bar was so nice. I’d recommend Carter and his team to anyone. Definitely book if you have the room to accommodate !
  • illustration stars

    Did the reviews win you over?

    Send a message
  • Kris
    Kristin L. Married on 10/23/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great food and amazing bartenders!

    All of the guests commented on how good the food was and how wonderful the bartenders were. They went above and beyond to make everyone have a great time!!
  • H
    Heather Married on 09/05/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Mark (the General Manager of Churchill) is the absolute best. I used 10 Downing for the reception of my wedding and it was the perfect choice. Mark was warm and kind, helping me with every step of the reception from beginning to end. He was always prompt and courteous in his responses, and he always made me feel as though my wedding was his top priority. He even gracefully managed to deal with some of my more... difficult, relatives. Simply amazing.

    10 Downing itself is a beautiful choice for a smaller reception. I had 60 people there and the room seemed like the perfect fit. Mark works with you to help customize the room to your style, and I really felt like 10 Downing reflected me and my husbands tastes and individual wedding after decoration. The room has so much light in it, and we also had exclusive access to the roof. It was flawless.

    The servers at Churchills/10 Downing were great. They treated my guests wonderfully, and they were extremely professional.

    I would recommend Mark and 10 Downing to anyone!!!
  • A
    Andrea S. Married on 04/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Outstanding Venue

    The venue was very classy and elegant, you have your own restrooms, bar, and kitchen + chef, and the manager Mark is incredible. It was perfect for our wedding, though I know they host more than just weddings.

    IF it is your wedding, ask about Elegant Savannah Weddings for your wedding planner. You can thank me later!

    The food at this venue is amazing as well. I can’t recommend this place enough.
  • Katherine
    Katherine W. Married on 03/26/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Churchill’s

    Mark was so helpful during the entire process! He definitely helped plan our entire day, and found a couple of deals catering wise to help with our budget!
  • K
    Krystal Z. Married on 02/22/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect Venue!

    10 Downing was the absolute perfect venue for our intimate wedding!! Mark was a gem to work with and no request was too big and he made sure no detail went overlooked! When I walked into the reception space on our wedding day, I had tears! My vision was perfectly executed and our guests are still talking about the food, service and wedding as one of the best they’ve been to in a long time. You will not regret trusting Mark and the 10 Downing team with your special day!
  • Kathryn
    Kathryn M. Married on 10/10/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wedding Planner

    We used Mark for our daughter's wedding 10/16/21 at the Savannah Yacht Club. His name should be reMarkable Royston! From start to finish, every detail, this gentleman knows his work and he executes flawlessly. I'd say we are high maintenance in terms of details, schedules, etc. and Mark never missed a beat. He actually allowed to me to sit back and enjoy the day feeling we were in more than capable hands. If you are considering, stop and hire him- it was the best decision we made for the entire wedding! Thank you Mark to you and Caryn for making the day even more joyful and enjoyable on every level! Sign us up for the next daughter!
  • A
    Antonella Married on 10/04/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best venue!

    Everyone was so amazing! Mark and the staff were so amazing and helpful every step of the way! They made the process so easy and then helped us have the best time day of! They really went above and beyond!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 07/28/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everyone and everything at 10 Downing was amazing!

    First and foremost, we are from out of state. We found 10 Downing pre-COVID and were ecstatic that it offered SO MUCH! The plan was to visit at the end of March to check the place out and test the food options, but because of COVID we were never able to make it down. That would have made us extremely nervous if not for Mark Royston and his amazing team! He handled everything and made what could have been a very stressful and worrisome day into a dream. The place looked AMAZING, the food was DELICIOUS (everyone is still talking about it), and the team was thoughtful and stayed on top of everything to make our day memorable. Thank you Mark and 10 Downing!
  • C
    Catie B. Married on 02/20/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue

    10 Downing was perfect for our small intimate wedding. It perfectly captures the charm of historic Savannah. The food is delicious, the service is phenomenol, and the manager, Mark, is a wonderful person who makes sure your day is absolutely perfect.
  • C
    Camille D. Married on 02/01/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect day

    Loved the vintage nostalgia look , fantastic perfect for what we had in mind for our wedding. Food was outstanding, staff was beyond great, cannot recommend enough!!!
    Camille &Ryan
  • Alex
    Alex S. Married on 12/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome wedding venue for smaller groups!

    Our wedding at 10 Downing was awesome for our 30-guest group! We were looking for a smaller space, and this completely fit the bill. Everyone had a great time, and the venue coordination was great. Definitely recommend!
  • W
    Whitley W. Married on 12/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Literally nothing is better for a wedding!

    I don’t even know where to begin in telling you how wonderful 10 Downing has been so far. The manager, Mark, is a breath of fresh air and makes the entire process unbelievably fun. As for the venue, if you didn’t want to fuss with decor, look no further, the venue is beyond stunning from the roof top to the wine cellar in the basement. Tons of detail everywhere you look, tons of natural light upstairs and beautifully decorated as is. The space is perfect for an intimate wedding with elegance to spare. From the beautifully crafted bars to the gorgeous artwork everywhere you look is stunning and captivating. And then there is the food/drinks. I have been to Churchill’s many times and will say the food has never disappointed. The wedding menu has an incredibly wide selection to appease any taste! The drinks are efficient, unique and TASTY! If you want a signature cocktail this is your place!!! I can’t imagine doing the wedding process any differently than we have. I’m absolutely thrilled with 10 Downing and Mark!
  • Carolann
    Carolann L. Married on 12/07/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Night to Remember!

    10 Downing is truly a hidden gem. The venue itself is gorgeous; for my 66-person affair, we took advantage of the rooftop bar, and we had a wonderful night of dancing under the stars. The space is lovely and needs very little additional decoration. The food was excellent; folks are still reaching out to tell me how wonderful their meal was! But, above all else, the true stars of the show were Mark and Meg. They helped my night to be more wonderful than I could image. Mark's assistance during the planning process made it more simple than I could have ever imagined. Meg, bless her, was a great comfort to me during my "bridal freakout" (hey, we're all allowed to have one, right?)! I cannot recommend Mark and Meg, and 10 Downing, enough!
  • Lauren
    Lauren Married on 11/16/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect for the intimate, romantic Savannah wedding of your dreams

    I toured two venues prior to 10 Downing and was scheduled to tour one after. 10 Downing was the only venue both of my parents were able to tour with me and, before the end of it, my mom and I both looked at each other and said, "Let's book it!".

    10 Downing has that classic Savannah charm and is a blank canvas for the romantic, intimate wedding of your dreams. I've seen so many pictures of weddings held here and no two are ever the same. The weathered wood floors, gorgeous tall windows overlooking Bay Street, cozy fireplace settings and beautiful antique bar areas all add to the elegance and uniqueness of the place.

    We had a total of 79 guests confirmed but ended up with only about 65 total in attendance on the night of our wedding. The space was perfect! I wouldn't recommend any more if you're looking for a seated dinner with sweetheart and cake tables, though. Having prepared for 79 guests, we took up every inch of the room but were all very comfortable. We also had the rooftop terrace reserved which could provide additional seating but we didn't want to separate our guests. We loved being able to eat, drink and be merry with all of our loved ones gathered together. The terrace was the perfect setting for our cocktail hour and reception, however. Having the extra bar allowed drinks to keep flowing without our guests missing too much time on the dance floor!

    The staff was excellent, attending to our every need with anticipation and pleasure. Everything went off without a hitch (that we knew of). I'd be remiss though to end without mentioning that the events manager, Mark Royston, was the second most important determining factor in my mom and I falling in love with this space. His genuine love for all things weddings is apparent from first contact. His enthusiasm is infectious, his responses to all communications were prompt and he goes above and beyond to ensure your wedding is exactly what YOU want it to be. You can't go wrong with a wedding at 10 Downing but you'd truly be missing out to not also take advantage of booking Mark and his equally amazing wife, Meg, to be your day of coordinators (at a generous discount!). My husband and I were married on November 16, 2019, the day of the epic down pour, and have nothing but wonderful memories of our day thanks to the hard work Meg and Mark put in behind the scenes. Mark facilitated securing tents for the terrace the morning of and communicated with all of the vendors (and immediate family!) regarding back up plans as well as rearranging timelines. Meg was my right hand woman, in addition to my sisters, and helped keep me together during the night. They're an absolute dream team. I'd recommend 10 Downing and Elegant Savannah Weddings to any and every one!
  • Erin
    Erin Married on 10/26/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect, intimate wedding

    Choosing 10 Downing for our venue was the first and best decision we made. Our wedding was a small destination wedding with 40 of our closest family and friends. We loved the southern charm 10 Downing offered and the intimate setting where our entire group could fit without feeling too small or over crowded. The food was amazing but the service the day of and the amazing coordination by Mark was the icing on the cake. I would recommend 10 Downing over and over again.
  • Katie
    Katie Married on 08/31/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Gorgeous venue

    If you're having a smaller wedding this is the place!! Mark and the crew at Churchill's were so helpful leading up to the wedding and during the wedding. The food is delicious and great location. The chef worked with us on dietary restrictions too. I highly recommend 10 Downing at Churchill's
  • Tanya
    Tanya B. Married on 07/20/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    We loved this place!

    I can’t say enough good things about the staff and the venue. Planning an out of town wedding has challenges but Mark was knowledgeable and accommodating and helped us work through all of the details that we wouldn’t have even know to ask about. Every step of the way the staff was warm and professional and just a pleasure to work with. The venue itself was elegant without being stuffy and very few decorations were needed, again, perfect when you’re from out of town. The food was wonderful and they graciously provided meals for those with special diet needs. All the way around it was a great experience, nothing negative to note!
  • Tia
    Tia Married on 04/28/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Marvelous and Magical

    My husband and I had our Wedding at 10 Downing this past weekend and it was simply amazing. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable! We will return here for years to come to celebrate our anniversary. Thank you 10 Downing for a wonderful experience.
  • LAURA
    Laura Married on 03/23/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Simply the Best

    I am the bride's mother...you know, the "one who cannot be pleased." Yet, I am incredibly pleased after having had Mark Royston and his team at 10 Downing St. host my daughter's wedding reception. We are from out-of-town and needed to rely on the tastes and communication abilities of the vendors we used, and without exception, Mark was ahead of everything. While being professional and diplomatic when that was necessary, he maintained his sense of humor the whole time. We worried about rain with a March wedding; he thought ahead and had warming lamps for us on the patio and he was right. He was spot on when it came to how many tables would fit comfortably, had suggestions about the care of guests' children, worked with us planning out some unusual bar arrangements, responded promptly, kindly, and truthfully to our requests for information, costs and opinions. This man is a jewel. Frankly, there were no requests on our part which he was unable to deliver on one way or another.
    The site itself is a special one, perfect for a small-medium sized group (we had about 70) located in the middle of the historic district, and with an agreement which exists between 10 Downing and the city-owned parking garage 1/2 block away, parking issues simply vanish. If the reception needs to go on after the newlyweds have left, the city of Savannah is right outside the door, waiting. We used their hors d-oeuvres menu and bars (yes, there are two upstairs, one in the lounge adjacent to the dining room, and the other is outside on the patio) for the cocktail hour while photos at the chapel were taken. When the couple arrived, we served an incredibly delicious dinner (Mark sets up a double buffet line so there is no significant wait.) from their buffet menu choices, and had wedding cake for dessert. We were able to adjust pricing between the menus to accommodate our selections. Closer to the wedding, it was apparent that a few guests would require special diets, and the kitchen handled those needs with quiet grace and aplomb. No one felt as though he had to eat from a "less expensive" menu, and everything was presented with elegance and pride.
    I would love to post photos, but at this time, have not gotten them back from our photographer. When they do come in, I'll post for you. Without photos, though, you can easily check out the marvelous planning app on the Churchill's 10 Downing St. site. It's a link especially set up for folks planning a party and wanting to see space represented in 3-D, and take a 360 degree "tour." Take it from me that the space at 10 Downing plus a talented florist can create all a bride would want.
    I was the last "guest" present the night of our daughter's wedding. My husband had brought the car around to the back of the restaurant so that we could load gifts and so on, and I spent some time settling the bill and chatting with Mark. The bill was less than I'd planned on it being, which is remarkable in these times! And for the first time in a long, long, long time I felt like tipping liberally, not because I've got money to lose, but because I felt that 10 Downing and every one of its employees, waiters, bartenders, chefs, and their assistants, as well as the manager, Mark, had tried their best to put on a memorable party and had succeeded, as they say around here, in spades!
    A sincere thank you to all at 10 Downing for a truly, truly lovely event.
  • M
    Melissa Married on 01/12/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Worth every penny

    Look no further for the perfect smaller venue, because this was perfect. The space is beautiful and the staff is extremely accommodating. I worked with the manager, Mark, over the course of 9 months, and he helped me pull together a better wedding than I could have imagined. Words cannot express how thankful I am for the staff at 10 Downing. Mark never tired of my questions and gave me guidance when needed based on his experience. He worked with my planner to ensure everything went smoothly and every detail was in place. He even made me laugh on the day of the wedding as I was nervously waiting to walk down the aisle. I was a nervous wreck, but I was in very good hands. The staff for the wedding was amazing. They were all kind, courteous, and accommodating. One staff member in particular checked on me throughout the evening to ensure I was eating enough as I was still very nervous and excited. As a whole, I had a wonderful experience working with Mark and his staff. They made the evening of my dreams :)
  • Natasha
    Natasha Married on 01/05/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    no wedding without Mark and 10 Downing

    As seems to be the trend, we cannot say enough good things about the venue and about Mark.

    We had a somewhat complicated engagement including planning initially from Florida and then moving across the country about six months before the wedding so I could begin PhD training. We also wanted a relatively small wedding that would be fun and memorable without going into debt.

    10 Downing was definitely an amazing value. It was so much less expensive than everywhere else we had looked in Savannah and, as long-time patrons of Churchill’s, we knew the food would be great (one of our main priorities!). Unlike with many other venues and caterers, as a vegetarian bride I felt like more than an afterthought when it came to food. Most other places didn’t have any examples of vegetarian entrees and had very limited suggestions when it came to custom menus. Mark, a fellow vegetarian, helped me to craft the perfect menu that included both veggie and non-veggie options for our guests. I loved the flexibility of the food options and we had an out of this world tasting before we moved that was well worth the cost.

    Mark was extremely helpful all along the way. He would promptly respond to all of my detailed questions via email and really helped us sort out all of the details of the big day. I never grew up dreaming of my perfect wedding and didn’t know where to start when it came to most things. I do not think it would be too much to say that I wouldn’t have even had a wedding if we hadn’t met Mark and found this venue.

    The venue is beautiful and classy and there is so much flexibility in almost everything that it was possible to plan a perfect wedding that truly reflected my husband and my personalities. It was such a fun wedding and our friends and family can’t stop talking about it. Definitely worth the headache of planning.

    Also, you should get the whipped feta and grilled ciabatta as part of your menu. It is unreal.
  • L
    Liz Married on 12/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Excellent venue

    We had a small wedding of 25 people and the venue was quite intimate. Food was excellent and the service always attentive. Best place for an indoor wedding ceremony and reception. Cocktails were in Winston’s Wine Cellar and we could even go outside on the rooftop patio.
illustration stars

Did the reviews win you over?

Send a message