Washington Talent Agency
Capturing, Creating and Entertaining Weddings for more than 40 years.
    391 Reviews
14760 Rothgeb Drive
Rockville, MD 20850  | map
Agency or Band: Agency
Band size: Large (6+ musicians), Medium (4-6 musicians), Small...
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Blues...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (391)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Onyx through Washington Talent Agency. I cannot understate how amazing they were. They played everything we wanted, and they looked like they were having as much fun as we were. Weeks later, people are still talking about how amazing they were. I can't recommend them enough.
Wedding: 08/16/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had no idea what to expect from the staff. However from the first meeting, it was as if we had a bond and chuck, Jack and Lance embraced this wedding with open arms!! We were truly blessed with the crew from Washington Talent. Everything they did made us feel relaxed, and that made the planning and event flawless!! Our guests and the staff of Washington Talent have said this was the best wedding I have EVER been to! The party , celebration and love, in that room was palpable. We were blessed to have you help in the BAGW that was 32yrs. In the making!
You did not miss a thing. With love, The Groominator and Princess Bride
Wedding: 08/02/2014
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired the band Black Tie through Washington Talent and they were AMAZING! Our guests are still talking about how the band was one the best parts of our wedding! We are huge music lovers and not only did they learn any song we wanted them to learn for our first dance and for our ceremony, but they played some fun modern dance music as well and we never sat down. It was the best party! They have a great vibe and really make your wedding personal and special! Strickland was great to work with and the icing on the cake was when I needed help with my hair and bustle the band even helped with that right before we were introduced!! They went above and beyond and we could not have been happier! Thank you so, so much for making our wedding PERFECT and exactly what we wanted!! :)
Holly and Dan
Wedding: 08/01/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The band, Onyx, was absolutely superb. They interacted with the crowd beautifully and their music was outstanding. The dance floor was packed the entire reception and everyone raved about how much fun the band was. Would highly recommend Onyx.
Wedding: 07/26/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There is absolutely no question that once you get through a wedding you realize how much money you have spent for one day of your life. But the truth is that this day will be one of the most memoriable days of your life, so you need to decide which things will make that day extra special. Without a doubt, the best decision we made was to use ONYX for our Band because they made our Wedding absolutely memorable.

From the moment we walked into our reception to the moment that we left, they provided an energy and an excitment that made the entire evening absolutely perfect. During the dinner (we had stations, which meant our guests were up and about), they played just the right amount of music in the background to keep the atmosphere lively, and once we finished our speeches and first dances, they brought it all up to a whole new level. My wife and I are not even dancers, and we did not leave the dance floor the entire evening. As one of my best friends said, "I danced more that night than I have my entire life!" In addition to them being fun, they are also extremely talented and will play any songs you want.

My wife and I cannot recommend this band enough!!!!

Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Marc was amazing!!! From our initial meeting with him, to planning the reception, and executing our plan... He was perfect! He was always responsive to emails and phone calls with questions and alleviating my stresses. I would highly recommend him if you want a smooth an easy planning process and a packed dance floor for your wedding! It was a nonstop party from the start until the end!
Wedding: 07/18/2014
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, Photography, Lighting & Decor, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Spectrum was AMAZING. They did a great job MCing and choosing the right songs to perform. The got everyones names right, and really listened to all of our recommendations. They looked great, sounded great, and were very organized. All the members of the band are very talented. Our MC was just amazing. He got everyone on the dance floor and having a great time. I received endless comments at the end of the night about how wonderful the band was. THANK YOU SPECTRUM!!! I would definitely hire them again!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristin 6 Reviews
Onyx was RIDICULOUS!!! Seriously, they are the best wedding band we've ever seen. We knew it from the showcase we attended and there was no question we wanted them for our party. My husband and I agreed that the entertainment was one of the most important things for our wedding, and so we went all out to get these guys - and we're thrilled we did!!

David Cohen was super easy to work with - he was really responsive to all of our questions and needs, and he made fabulous suggestions. For example, he suggested a 20-30 minute dance party BEFORE dinner...that was one of the highlights our guests kept talking about. It set the stage for the night and we couldn't wait to get back out there! Everyone ate quickly so we could get the party started, and I think that party would have gone until 4 in the morning if it could. We had a packed dance floor for hours, and our guests are still raving about the band. Ginny was hilarious and such a firecracker, we really appreciated her energy and dynamic with the boys in the band. The MCs were awesome, and everyone just turned it up. There was a whole lot of sweaty, and it was perfection.

We also used a couple of members for our ceremony music - we had a few odd choices for songs and did not go the traditional route, but they learned the music and provided fabulous music for the momentous occasion.

We would absolutely give Onyx the highest recommendation. If you want a party, pick these guys. We had the party of the year for sure and we want to do it all over again! We hope we can attend another event where they star, because we'd love to see them again. We love you guys!!! Thanks for making it the best wedding ever!
Wedding: 07/05/2014
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a fabulous experience with WTA in July 2014. We started working with them a year prior after seeing them at a bridal show in Baltimore. They recommended the DJ/singer Carroll Higgins to us and he was amazing. Carroll also does lighting and brings his son with him for the reception. We had a blast with them. They made the Newton White Atrium look AMAZING with blue and yellow uplighting that was perfectly placed and matched our colors. We had a string quartet for cocktail hour and dinner but he did the announcements perfectly and kicked off the party in style. Carroll has an amazing voice that sounds like Sinatra and a charismatic personality. He and his son consulted us for our favorite songs and "do not play" list beforehand and had a perfect mix of classics and new music for dancing. We had no technical difficulties, mispronounced names or any other faux pas. My mom worked with him to surprise my husband and I by breaking out in a swing number with my brother in the middle of her dance with my husband. It was a total shock, amazingly executed and delighted us and our guests. We so appreciate Carroll for making our reception the party to remember!!
Wedding: 07/05/2014
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, DJ, Photography, Lighting & Decor, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We had a wonderful experience with Black Tie. I spoke with Strickland about a week before the wedding to smooth over the last minute details. He also met with my sister about a month before the wedding so they could rehearse a song that she was going to sing at the wedding. Strickland and the band were very accommodating. For the Father/ Daughter dance, I asked for a slower version of Brown Eyed Girl, along with a lyric change to make it more appropriate for the situation. Their version was absolutely amazing... I wish I had a recording of it. After that, the band played the rest of the night. They were amazing! Their energy level was so high and they played such fun music. Everyone was especially impressed by their dance moves! I would very highly recommend Black Tie!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Onyx was beyond our expectations. Very talented and very engaging. All of our guests couldn't stop talking about how wonderful the band was. We had spoke to the band a few weeks prior letting them know what type of audience they were about to have and they delivered. I would use them again for a big event!!!!!!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Onyx was amazing. They exceeded our expectations. They were interactive and fun, and the music and vocals were amazing. There was dancing pre-dinner, during courses, and a big dance party post dinner. We couldn't have hoped for more. Highly recommend them.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We booked Onyx through Washington Talent Agency for our wedding band and Da Vinci Strings through Washington Talent Agency for our ceremony musicians. From the beginning, Washington Talent Agency has been incredibly responsive and helpful in answering all of our questions and was very quick to respond to e-mails. We attended a "showcase" to check out Onyx before going through the booking process and we were immediately sold! The band had so much energy and they sound AWESOME. David, the band leader, was great about answering e-mails and offered advice as to scheduling, etc. but was totally open to whatever we wanted to do. In addition, the band learned three songs for us (including our first dance song), which weren't on the band's playlist, and they came out perfect. The night of the wedding, the band sounded absolutely amazing!!! They completely made the night. They played music that appealed to every age group we had at the wedding and our family and friends were raving about how much fun they had on the dance floor. Onyx was also great about checking in with us (the bride and groom) to make sure that everything was going okay throughout the night. We would HIGHLY recommend Onyx to anyone!!! Such a fun band. Turning now to Da Vinci Strings, we really enjoyed working with Fred. He was so accommodating about learning new songs for us (we wanted all contemporary ceremony music) and we got so many compliments on how wonderful the string music sounded. It was absolutely perfect. We would also highly recommend Da Vinci Strings.
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We worked with Jeff Schofield as our videographer!! I can't express how much we love, love, love the video. He captured every special moment of the wedding!! A huge thanks to Jeff & Washington Talent!!!
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Onyx was amazing -- from reading the crowd superbly, to providing incredible energy to the celebration.
The band "worked" every minute of our evening. They were warm and friendly -- and truly at the center of the party.

I have only praise --- and superlatives. They were outstanding.
I highly recommend this band.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Washington Talent Agency helped make a stressful decision super fun. Finding a band for your wedding can be difficult- you don't want corny or ordinary and you want everyone to dance! We were searching and trying to schedule previews with so many different bands. Finally, a seasoned bridesmaid friend of mine suggested Washington Talent Agency. She had been to multiple weddings with different bands from this agency and they all were fantastic. We looked online and were immediately drawn to Spectrum. Washington Talent has showcases for each of their bands once a month where you are invited to go to the studio and the band of your choice plays a montage of their music and performs like they would at your wedding. IT WAS SO FUN! within 2 seconds we were sold. I'm not exaggerating. The band reached out to us a few weeks before the wedding to get a better understanding of what kind of sound we wanted on our day. They learned a few songs my husband really wanted to hear and they rocked them. We are still talking about them a few weeks later. They were so sweet and so much fun. Rave reviews from all kinds of guests. Our dance floor was overflowing all night. This band is awesome I cannot say it enough. BOOK THEM! Worth every penny. I can't wait for an excuse to throw a great party- I will definitely hire again.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, Photography, Videography
 301-762-1800
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0