Washington Talent Agency
Capturing, Creating and Entertaining Weddings for more than 40 years.
    384 Reviews
14760 Rothgeb Drive
Rockville, MD 20850  | map
Style: Cinematic, Documentary, Storytelling, Traditional
Packages: Ceremony, DVD of Raw Footage, Edited Video, High...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (384)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We had a wonderful experience with Black Tie. I spoke with Strickland about a week before the wedding to smooth over the last minute details. He also met with my sister about a month before the wedding so they could rehearse a song that she was going to sing at the wedding. Strickland and the band were very accommodating. For the Father/ Daughter dance, I asked for a slower version of Brown Eyed Girl, along with a lyric change to make it more appropriate for the situation. Their version was absolutely amazing... I wish I had a recording of it. After that, the band played the rest of the night. They were amazing! Their energy level was so high and they played such fun music. Everyone was especially impressed by their dance moves! I would very highly recommend Black Tie!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Spectrum was AMAZING. They did a great job MCing and choosing the right songs to perform. The got everyones names right, and really listened to all of our recommendations. They looked great, sounded great, and were very organized. All the members of the band are very talented. Our MC was just amazing. He got everyone on the dance floor and having a great time. I received endless comments at the end of the night about how wonderful the band was. THANK YOU SPECTRUM!!! I would definitely hire them again!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristin 6 Reviews
Onyx was RIDICULOUS!!! Seriously, they are the best wedding band we've ever seen. We knew it from the showcase we attended and there was no question we wanted them for our party. My husband and I agreed that the entertainment was one of the most important things for our wedding, and so we went all out to get these guys - and we're thrilled we did!!

David Cohen was super easy to work with - he was really responsive to all of our questions and needs, and he made fabulous suggestions. For example, he suggested a 20-30 minute dance party BEFORE dinner...that was one of the highlights our guests kept talking about. It set the stage for the night and we couldn't wait to get back out there! Everyone ate quickly so we could get the party started, and I think that party would have gone until 4 in the morning if it could. We had a packed dance floor for hours, and our guests are still raving about the band. Ginny was hilarious and such a firecracker, we really appreciated her energy and dynamic with the boys in the band. The MCs were awesome, and everyone just turned it up. There was a whole lot of sweaty, and it was perfection.

We also used a couple of members for our ceremony music - we had a few odd choices for songs and did not go the traditional route, but they learned the music and provided fabulous music for the momentous occasion.

We would absolutely give Onyx the highest recommendation. If you want a party, pick these guys. We had the party of the year for sure and we want to do it all over again! We hope we can attend another event where they star, because we'd love to see them again. We love you guys!!! Thanks for making it the best wedding ever!
Wedding: 07/05/2014
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used DJ Andy Green for our wedding, and our guests loved him! He was very easy to work with and had some great ideas for planning our wedding timeline. He played great music the entire day, and worked with our bridal party for a special toast that they surprised us with! We would definitely recommend him and Washington Talent Agency.
Wedding: 06/29/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Onyx was amazing. They exceeded our expectations. They were interactive and fun, and the music and vocals were amazing. There was dancing pre-dinner, during courses, and a big dance party post dinner. We couldn't have hoped for more. Highly recommend them.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Onyx was beyond our expectations. Very talented and very engaging. All of our guests couldn't stop talking about how wonderful the band was. We had spoke to the band a few weeks prior letting them know what type of audience they were about to have and they delivered. I would use them again for a big event!!!!!!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We booked Onyx through Washington Talent Agency for our wedding band and Da Vinci Strings through Washington Talent Agency for our ceremony musicians. From the beginning, Washington Talent Agency has been incredibly responsive and helpful in answering all of our questions and was very quick to respond to e-mails. We attended a "showcase" to check out Onyx before going through the booking process and we were immediately sold! The band had so much energy and they sound AWESOME. David, the band leader, was great about answering e-mails and offered advice as to scheduling, etc. but was totally open to whatever we wanted to do. In addition, the band learned three songs for us (including our first dance song), which weren't on the band's playlist, and they came out perfect. The night of the wedding, the band sounded absolutely amazing!!! They completely made the night. They played music that appealed to every age group we had at the wedding and our family and friends were raving about how much fun they had on the dance floor. Onyx was also great about checking in with us (the bride and groom) to make sure that everything was going okay throughout the night. We would HIGHLY recommend Onyx to anyone!!! Such a fun band. Turning now to Da Vinci Strings, we really enjoyed working with Fred. He was so accommodating about learning new songs for us (we wanted all contemporary ceremony music) and we got so many compliments on how wonderful the string music sounded. It was absolutely perfect. We would also highly recommend Da Vinci Strings.
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We enjoyed using Washington Talent Agency for our wedding DJ - everything went very well! We used DJ Dustin and he was very accommodating and provided a great personality for our wedding. Great job!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, Photography, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Onyx was amazing -- from reading the crowd superbly, to providing incredible energy to the celebration.
The band "worked" every minute of our evening. They were warm and friendly -- and truly at the center of the party.

I have only praise --- and superlatives. They were outstanding.
I highly recommend this band.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Washington Talent Agency helped make a stressful decision super fun. Finding a band for your wedding can be difficult- you don't want corny or ordinary and you want everyone to dance! We were searching and trying to schedule previews with so many different bands. Finally, a seasoned bridesmaid friend of mine suggested Washington Talent Agency. She had been to multiple weddings with different bands from this agency and they all were fantastic. We looked online and were immediately drawn to Spectrum. Washington Talent has showcases for each of their bands once a month where you are invited to go to the studio and the band of your choice plays a montage of their music and performs like they would at your wedding. IT WAS SO FUN! within 2 seconds we were sold. I'm not exaggerating. The band reached out to us a few weeks before the wedding to get a better understanding of what kind of sound we wanted on our day. They learned a few songs my husband really wanted to hear and they rocked them. We are still talking about them a few weeks later. They were so sweet and so much fun. Rave reviews from all kinds of guests. Our dance floor was overflowing all night. This band is awesome I cannot say it enough. BOOK THEM! Worth every penny. I can't wait for an excuse to throw a great party- I will definitely hire again.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Band, Ceremony Music, Photography, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Spectrum was fantastic! They played the whole night, got the crowd up, dancing, and enthused, and just helped make this a memorable wedding!! Everyone had wonderful comments to make about this band. We loved them!! Would hire them again in a minute!! Fabuloous!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had Black Tie at our wedding after seeing them at a friend's wedding. Our guests CONTINUE to ask who our band was and were blown away by how amazing they were! The band was so flexible and responsive to our needs. They even did a special father-daughter dance to Thriller upon request :). HIGHLY recommended - best band I've ever experienced at a wedding. Completely professional, talented, and personable.
Wedding: 05/23/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We can’t thank Onyx enough for making our wedding reception the most perfect night! I first found out about Onyx when they performed at my cousin’s wedding 5 years ago. It was the best wedding reception and I knew I had to have them perform at my wedding.

David Cohen is the Onyx Band Manager (also plays in the band) and did a wonderful job creating the timeline of our reception. I had no idea where to even start but he took care of it all!

Onyx created an environment in which everyone felt comfortable dancing and let me reassure you, EVERYONE was on the dance floor! All of our guests told us how amazing they were and it was the best wedding reception they had ever been to. All the band members were wonderful to work with and are all so talented with the most incredible voices. Now that I think about it, I honestly do not even remember them taking a break the entire night.

My photographer was very impressed as well and wrote in his blog “fueled on by the the absolutely airtight party band Onyx this may just be the most fun we’ve had at a reception yet.”

Onyx is the best of the best and we highly recommend to all of our family and friends. It was the most amazing celebration and an incredible night thanks to Onyx.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were SO lucky to have Spectrum as the band for our wedding day!! Spectrum was recommended to us by another friend and boy, they were absolutely awesome. They really got the party started but before that, played very nice, appropriate dinner music while everyone ate during the reception. I had people tell me how wonderful they were during dinner and I told people that they hadn't seen anything yet! The Band rocked our wedding and all of our guests said they had the best time and this was the best wedding band that they had heard. At the end of our night, all of our guests were yelling 'One more song' to the band so that they would keep playing...my husband and I loved it! Washington Talent Agency was easy to work with and Ben, the person from the band that we communicated with, was wonderful to work with. Ben really listened to us on what type of vibe we were going for and what our must-hear songs were. We were very impressed with how professional they were! I would absolutely recommend Spectrum for any event, especially a wedding! They were awesome!
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were exceptionally pleased with both the DJ (Brian Violet) and the photographer . The DJ really enlivened the fun and made sure everyone was having a good time! The photographer caught some excellent candid shots that we all enjoyed.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony Music, DJ, Photography, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
SPECTRUM Band - This band was fantastic! The dance floor was full of our guests dancing all the time. My sister said she couldn't sit still with the great music and that is the way I felt. As mother of the bride and hostess I should have been intentionally going around visiting with people, but instead I was on the dance floor most of the night! My daughter the bride had asked Spectrum to learn a couple songs that were not on their play list and they happily did that as well. They had a great sound, great beat, great enthusiasm and they are nice too! I give the very highest recommendation to Spectrum for any one who wants a super band.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
 301-762-1800
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0