W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island

State Road 200, KM 3.2 - HC1 Box 9368
Vieques Island , PR 00765 | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Maximum capacity: 140
Catering: Offered in-house
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
(4.6 / 5.0)
Responsiveness:
(4.7 / 5.0)
Professionalism:
(4.6 / 5.0)
Value:
(4.5 / 5.0)
Flexibility:
(4.6 / 5.0)
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I wish I could give this place more stars! The W is not just a hotel - it is heaven on earth! The grounds are stunning - the staff and the service was bar none impeccable - the food was exceptional! Thanks to Iris and her amazing staff my husband and I got to have the wedding of our dreams (exceeded our dreams actually). A funny thing happened while we were there...tropical storm Bertha! The air link and ferries were shut down and many of our guests could not arrive! We were devastated to say the least! Well, Iris was a godsend - she handled communication with all of our vendors and was able to move our wedding to the following day! Most of our guests made it. It was magical! All the vendors they recommended were exceptional. We spent 7 days there and it wasn't enough! We can't wait to return. The food was great every day not just for our wedding. The beaches pristine and the pool too. The service was top notch - the people so nice! Ice water and towels are always available. Our guests loved their stay as well. I am so thrilled that we had our wedding at the W on Vieques!

  • Wedding: 08/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

It's been 8 months since we got married and I have to say that our wedding planner Iris was amazing! Top Notch! It was a lot of fun working with her and she made me feel comfortable at all times. Her soothing & happy personality made us feel very special. We really enjoyed having her as our wedding planner. Our wedding day was absolutely memorable and very romantic! Thank you for all that you did for us especially being thousands of miles apart.

  • Wedding: 08/15/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Yolanda
2 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I am so happy I chose the W vieques for my wedding. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything was perfect and stunning on my special day. The venue is absolutely gorgeous. Everything was amazing, from the spa to the food to the quality of service.

  • Wedding: 07/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Jenniffer
1 Review
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The W in Vieques is amazing! The staff was very accomodating and the hotel truly lived up to their "Whatever/Whenever" motto. We couldn't have been happier with the choice of our venue. Our reception was at Mixx on the beach and the food was fantastic! I would definitely recommend the W in Vieques to any couple looking to have a destination wedding!

  • Wedding: 12/18/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

My husband and I got married at The W Retreat & Spa in Vieques Island, Puerto Rico in December 2010. The hotel is absolutely amazing and the staff was very welcoming and accomodating at all times. Everyone went beyond the call of duty to ensure that our wedding went off without a hitch. The hotel itself is a must see in the Caribbean. It offers breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and is only a short plane ride or ferry ride away from the main land. It is by far one of the best designed hotels that I've ever stayed at and is a place I would highly recommend to anyone planning a destination wedding. All of our guests loved the hotel and many of them are planning to go back for vacation. The day before the wedding, we had a Welcome Brunch on Vieques Green for our guests and it was amazing. Having brunch overlooking the ocean and listening to the waves splash at shore was unbelievable! The ceremony itself was held at Paradise Edge which is arguably the most exquisite area of the entire hotel. The landscaping on this particular area of the hotel is out of this world. It's a cliff overlooking the ocean which offers views of the main land and on a clear day St. Thomas. The reception was held on the W Lawn which gives you ample space to set up numerous tables for guests and the Yoga Pavilion is a great set-up for a dance floor. As you know the wedding process can be a stressful one but the W really took the "Whatever/Whenever" slogan to the next level by making us feel like our wedding was in very good hands! Special thanks to Haydee Soto, Naddine Quarrie, and Tara Mullane for the phenomenal service provided to us during this special time in our lives which made our moment that much more special!

  • Wedding: 12/11/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other), Wedding Cake
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I wanted to give a huge compliment to the entire staff at the W Retreat and Spa – Vieques. My husband and I got married on September 1st at the W and that is right when Hurricane Earl was approaching. We wanted to have a destination wedding and my husband being from Puerto Rico, we did some research and found Vieques. Having been in the hotel industry and my husband currently in, we knew the service the W would provide for our guests. My husband contacted Haydee Soto in sales for the W Vieques and she scheduled us an appointment to tour the hotel while we were there last February. The hotel was not open yet, but the General Manager spent close to 3 hours with us touring the resort, showing us rooms, and possible locations we could have our wedding. We can recognize customer service and we were completely WOW’d by our first experience. Just days before our big day, Hurricane Earl was reaching a category 4 hurricane right over Puerto Rico. The staff was unbelievable and the level of service never changed and made all the guests feel safe! The day before our wedding, no planes were flying in or out of San Juan or Vieques Airport, which meant that over half of our guests would not be able to make it. My husband and the staff at the resort worked all morning to make sure everyone made it to the island safely. By the rehearsal dinner, every one of our guests was at the W and ready to help us celebrate our wedding. The day of the wedding the weather was perfect and we could not have asked for anything better! The GM and the staff were again showing what great customer service they provide when our flowers had not arrived on the island. With the hurricane, our florist had not been able to receive our flowers that day. The GM worked with the airline to ensure that the flowers would be on the next flight and a W employee met the plane at the airport and took them to the florist. Everything worked out beautifully and our wedding was amazing. To us customer service goes such a long way, and our guests had the time of their lives because of the service they received. One more point, enough cannot be said about Tara Mullane. She did everything to ensure that we had the wedding we had been planning and working for all year long. From the ceremony to the food served at the reception, you couldn’t have asked for anything more from the team at the resort. We love Puerto Rico, we love Vieques, and we love the W Retreat and Spa Vieques Island, and we will be back again to enjoy the people who make your “Whatever, Whenever” dreams a reality…

  • Wedding: 09/01/2010
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Transportation, Wedding Cake, Wedding Planning
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The reason I looked into the W Retreat was that it was a Starwood brand and through corporate bookings that my company had made for us many times, I was familiar with the modern luxury and professionalism that this hotel chain offered. Like all the other W Hotels I have stayed at, this hotel was very accommodating to all of our friends and families that made the trek. Their entire staff were WONDERFUL from day one in the planning stages to the very last minute we left the retreat. Mostly I feel everyone talks about the phenomenal ocean views, ultra modern clean hotel, and other things they have gotten to be known for. I just want to comment on how delicious the food that Alain Ducasse was behind. Our guests still talk about it as one of the main things that comes up when we relive the memories of our wedding.

  • Wedding: 06/20/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

My husband and I were very lucky to be this properties first wedding. I know what you must be thinking, the first bride and groom at a brand new property... Surprisingly, everything went very smoothly. While everyone was learning from our event and something’s were trial and error, we couldn't be happier with how everything turned out.
Haydee Soto (Sales Manager) was great, and certainly stepped up when we needed her assistance the most. Jonathan Heath (GM) took a lot of time out of his busy day to show us around the property and share his vision during our site visit. Robert, Oscar, and Tara made my wedding day perfect! While our DJ showed up at the property, in less than perfect condition, Oscar and his staff took care of it and I had no idea until after the ceremony of what had occurred. Chef Lynn and Chef Sebastian prepared fantastic menus for our rehearsal dinner and reception. My cake was just as I had envisioned and we even had custom drinks created by the head mixologist.
Andrea and Oria from Spa Chakra were fantastic! Oria's attention to detail and focus was admirable and I loved how my hair and makeup turned out on the day of our wedding.
Our family and friends were in total awww of the property, the friendliness of the staff and special attention that each and every person received from our group. 7 months later, and they are still talking about the wonderful time they had and cannot wait to go back.
The property certainly stands by their motto of Whatever, Whenever as any request we had it was taken care of. The property rolled out the red carpet for us and took care of working with our vendors and made sure everything went as smoothly as possible. We had a few people whose flights were cancelled and couldn’t make it until the day of the wedding, and Oscar and his team were at the airport to pick them up and quickly get them to the property so that they could be ready for the ceremony.
All of our events were held outdoors and we did have a slight rain storm pass through in between cocktails and the reception and the W staff was out there getting all of the tables and chairs out of the rain and quickly reset it all after the storm passed through. No one would have even known that the storm came through, and the tables, chairs, and centerpieces looked as though there had been no storm. Our fireworks even went off on queue.
You are probably thinking, that I have only stated the good in this review, but we all know that being the first bride and groom probably had its short comings along the way. However, if there were any, I assure you they were corrected very quickly and it’s not even worth mentioning.
I hope my review helps you to see what a fantastic property this is and the level of attention that your event could receive will be heartwarming. My husband and I couldn’t have picked a better place to start the rest of our lives together at.
Thank You W Retreat & Spa – Vieques Island!

  • Wedding: 06/05/2010
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Wedding Cake
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 3.5
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Perfect venue, amazingly scenic, peaceful and colorful. The place is stunning!! Super attentive and professional staff. If you want a dream wedding, look no further.

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Private User
2 Reviews
1.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 1.5
  • Responsiveness: 2.0
  • Professionalism: 1.0
  • Value: 1.5
  • Flexibility: 1.5

Unfortunately I have very little positive feedback about my whole experience getting married in the W... The service with the first persona that contact me was very good but it all changed the 3 times the W changed contacts person, the lack of organization was so obvious!!... The activity was ok but I know my coordinator and parents had a lot of problems with the service and the rooms in the hotel as well. In my wedding night the "suite" that we stayed the telephone nor the air conditioning was working so obviously we didn't have a great night... Eighty percent of my guests (including us) had problems when they were going to check out because the hotel were charging them tickets from other people. It has been 5 months since I have been married and are still having issues with charges made to my husbands credit card first of all without permission and charges that weren't ours. Obviously I haven't given any good comments about the hotel when asked except about the service given in the hotel (bar, restaurant, lounge, room service, spa). I would never recommend this venue for a wedding nor to stay, sorry...

W Retreat & Spa - Vieques Island responded with the following comments:

This wedding was the second wedding celebrated after our opening. The ceremony and reception went as scheduled with no glitches. The problems mentioned, were unfortunate operational issues which may occur at any newly operating hotel. It's our hotels standard practice to have 2 managers service a destination wedding one that negotiates and one that will service the events, and this is disclosed at the planning stage. It's now a year later since our opening and we have successfully celebrated many weddings apparant by the other testimonials posted. We do regret, not fully meeting or exceeding this bride's expectations and respect her opinion.

  • Wedding: 07/24/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
954-624-1768
Please let this vendor know you found them on WeddingWire
4.6
out of 5.0
10 Reviews