Timothy S. Hopkins Catering
Sophisticated Tases, Local Ingredients
8 Scott's Way
Essex, MA 01929  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors...
Bar services: Limited Bar
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (17)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
We hired Tim after trying samples from nine different caterers at a bridal show. His food is outstanding, and he completely customized a menu for us according to our vision. Tim was there to guide us through our tasting, and the food on the night of the wedding was just as incredible. He also has some amazing people working for him who answered all of my questions, multiple times a day. I can't recommend enough!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
These guys are seriously the best. We worked with Tim, Britt and the team for both our rehearsal dinner and our wedding. My husband and I are both really into food and wanted to do some more creative stuff at both events, and TSH was not only willing to work with us on it - they were EXCITED to do so! We had so much fun with their fried clam station, their late-night bacon bar at the wedding, and their beautiful BBQ spread at our rehearsal dinner. Everyone was commenting on how great the food was at both events and how beautiful everything looked. While I definitely would not say they are inexpensive, after tasting the food I am positive that they were worth every penny. Thanks for a FANTASTIC weekend, TSH!
Timothy S. Hopkins Catering responded with the following comments:
Thank you SO much for this wonderful review! It was truly a pleasure to cater for you and your family and friends!

Sincerely,
The TSH Catering Team
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
These guys are seriously the best. We worked with Tim, Britt and the team for both our rehearsal dinner and our wedding. My husband and I are both really into food and wanted to do some more creative stuff at both events, and TSH was not only willing to work with us on it - they were EXCITED to do so! We had so much fun with their fried clam station, their late-night bacon bar at the wedding, and their beautiful BBQ spread at our rehearsal dinner. Everyone was commenting on how great the food was at both events and how beautiful everything looked. While I definitely would not say they are inexpensive, after tasting the food I am positive that they were worth every penny. Thanks for a FANTASTIC weekend, TSH!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
These guys are seriously the best. We worked with Tim, Britt and the team for both our rehearsal dinner and our wedding. My husband and I are both really into food and wanted to do some more creative stuff at both events, and TSH was not only willing to work with us on it - they were EXCITED to do so! We had so much fun with their fried clam station, their late-night bacon bar at the wedding, and their beautiful BBQ spread at our rehearsal dinner. Everyone was commenting on how great the food was at both events and how beautiful everything looked. While I definitely would not say they are inexpensive, after tasting the food I am positive that they were worth every penny. Thanks for a FANTASTIC weekend, TSH!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Courtney 2 Reviews
Their food is outstanding!!! I can't tell you how many guests continue to talk about the food, even weeks after the wedding. I continue to hear comments like, "I never remember wedding food but your meal was one of the best ones I've had" or "the appetizers were amazing and there were sooo many of them" and " I wish I asked for a doggie bag, it was that good".
Timothy S. Hopkins Catering responded with the following comments:
Thanks so much for the great review, Courtney!
Wedding: 08/30/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Everyone raved about the food!! We went with stations and the selection was fantastic. We specifically worked with Sita and Leslie and they were very professional, friendly and a pleasure to work with. I would highly recommend Timothy Hopkins (and specifically Sita and Leslie) to anyone looking for delicious food and an overall great experience!,
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
We LOVED having Timothy Hopkins cater our wedding. There are only two local vendors in Ipswich, and we opted to go with Timothy because he offered tastings, and because most of our wedding guests were flying in, a tasting was a must.

He was open to any and all menu ideas and was easy to get along with. Because we changed/tweaked our menu, he had a second tasting for us to ensure we liked everything. His assistant - the planner - was a little scattered brained, but nonetheless, responsive enough that it didn't scare us off.

He did a fabulous job!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Deborah 8 Reviews
My daughter and her fiancee went to different caterers to sample their selections. Both being major "foodies" who watch the cooking shows and like to cook for each other, they had definite ideas about what they wanted. When they spent time with Tim Hopkins catering, they were in heaven. They found creative and different, (not the usual) appetizers, entrees and desserts. This man is loaded with off the chart ideas. As to be expected, our guests could not stop talking......about the range and scope of tasty treats, from little heart shaped beet appetizers to, mini hamburg and hot dog sliders and sweet potato fries right at the end, little ice cream cones and milk and cookies. And just when you thought it might end, something more came around. My daughter and her husband were thrilled with everything as all of our guests were. Most said they had never, ever seen anything like it. Thank you Tim and crew!
Timothy S. Hopkins Catering responded with the following comments:
Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review! We work really hard to make our weddings perfect and it's nice to know you noticed! Have a wonderful summer!

The TSH Catering Team
Wedding: 05/28/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired Timothy S. Hopkins Catering for 3 events over our wedding weekend (Groom's dinner, reception & Sunday brunch). Paul was amazing to work with and was so helpful to me as a bride who was planning a wedding in MA from Minnesota. Paul was always on top of the details and helped with logistics that we knew nothing about. People raved about the food all weekend from the simple bbq for the Groom's dinner to the fabulous appetizers at the reception to the classy brunch on Sunday. Our only complaint is that we didn't get to try enough of the apps since we immediately went into socializing. We (and our guests) were so impressed with the professionalism of the staff - anytime someone needed something, they immediately took care of it. Everything was elegant and classy but without being pretentious. We'd highly recommend TSH!
Wedding: 09/10/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
our daughters wedding was this past weekend 8/27/11.Despite hurricane Irene the wedding was even better than anticipated.The appetizers ,food and attention by staff was outstanding.People are still calling and commenting how great the food was.We did a wine pour in lieu of open bar and everyone really liked that.We cannot say enough about how impressed we were with this caterer.Advice to the bride and groom ...do your photos before the ceremony like our family did.This is such a great cocktail hour with fabulous appetizers that you do not want to miss it having pictures done.Thank you Timothy S. Hopkins Catering for being part of our special day!
Wedding: 08/27/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
he catered my daughter's wedding this summer and it was beyond fantastic! the appetizers are still being talked about and the presentation and quality of the food and service is that of a five star restaurant. Excellent staff, beautiful presentation, fresh food done to perfection. top-notch!
Wedding: 07/31/2011
Services Used: Catering
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Timothy S. Hopkins Catering was so easy to work with. Both Tim and Paul are so easy going and fun guys. The food they prepared for the wedding was amazing and just what we wanted. My only complaint would be that they were a bit slow to get the food out and served. Other than that, we loved them.
Wedding: 06/18/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Food was beyond delicious! I'm still receiving compliments. They beyond exceeded our expectations and went above and beyond their call of duty. Such great people to work with and a pleasure to have as a part of our day.
Wedding: 10/09/2010
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The food was amazing! The staff was very helpful.
Wedding: 10/09/2010
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Delicious food, great people, fantastic service!
They brought us a sampler plate of appetizers while we were doing our photos and that was great.
During dinner we left our table a number of times and, unfortunately, came back to find our plates gone but we did have leftovers for the next week so we still got to enjoy all the food.
Guests still rave about the food and we were really happy with our choice.
Wedding: 08/28/2010
Services Used: Catering
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Timothy Hopkins Catering was exactly what my husband and I wanted for our wedding day. The food was amazing and beautiful! I have a friend who is getting married and she has been trying out different caterers and told me that they were good but not great because they have been comparing everything to our wedding! What a compliment.
Wedding: 09/19/2009
Services Used: Catering
 978-768-9990
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0