The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore
    35 Reviews
1876 Mansion House Dr
Druid Hill Park
Baltimore, MD 21217  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 180
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (35)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We just had our wedding at the Maryland Zoo and it was amazing! It truly was exactly what we were hoping for when looking for a unique wedding in Baltimore. Jane and Jackie were extremely helpful and attentive throughout the planning process. They took us through all of the details, gave us complimentary tickets for an engagement shoot and coordinated all of the vendors the day of. There was nothing for us to worry about! The venue itself is beautiful. We got married at the Lakeside Pavilion and experienced perfect fall weather. We then had our reception in the Mansion House. It's a beautiful historic building with such character. The glass windows framing the porch allowed our guests to look out at the scenery in Druid Hill Park. It didn't even feel like a zoo, but a classy, sophisticated wedding with personality. At first, I was concerned that reception would take place on the porch which surrounds the offices on the first floor of the building making it not a perfect square, however there were no issues whatsoever! The flow worked out perfectly because we had different areas for each event, cocktail hour, dancing, dinner etc. They also just remodeled the bathrooms which look great. The best part of the night was the ability to have animal ambassadors at the cocktail hour! We had Winnie the Penguin, a Flemish Giant Rabbit and the Eastern Screech Owl. It was a great treat for our guests and made for fabulous pictures! Overall, it's also a great venue for wedding photography. We did all of our photos before the ceremony so we could spend as much time as possible at our reception with our guests. We had a private couples shoot with the penguin and owl. We were also carted throughout the older part of the zoo in their golf carts to take photos with some really historic exhibits that had been at the zoo since the 1800s. All in all it was an amazing experience, the best day of my life and I couldn't have picked a better venue.
Wedding: 09/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Maryland Zoo in Baltimore created an unforgettable experience for our wedding. So many of our guests said that our wedding was the BEST WEDDING EVER! The staff was professional and courteous, the lakeside pavilion beautiful and the Mansion House an amazing venue for our reception. The penguins were a big hit--one tried to nibble my toenail polish which was quite funny. We danced the night away and everyone had a blast. As a same-sex couple we wanted a venue that really understood us and they absolutely did--we highly recommend this venue!
Wedding: 06/20/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Unbelievable wedding!!!! we went with the elopement package because we wanted a small and intimate affair. The zoo was so quick to respond to all our emails, working with them was a breeze! The elopement package had everything we needed included in it. The day of, we got married at the lakeside pavilion, with 15 people at our side. The day was magical- and having a penguin to take pictures with made our wedding ultra unique. I would not have changed a thing.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Elopement package was ideal for intimate wedding. Outstanding service and coordination.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Mansion House was our first and only choice for our wedding venue. The venue is stunning. We were married at the Lakeside Pavilion and continued the celebration at Mansion House. Our guests were so excited about the location, and the animal ambassadors helped make our wedding even more unique. Jane and Sienna will make the process as simple as possible. They are professional, friendly and sweet. I swear they were just as excited for our wedding day as we were. They took care of everything that day, so we were able to focus on what really mattered, our vows. I cannot thank them enough.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Absolutely wonderful. They had an elopement package that took care of all our needs. No stress at all. Plus, we had a penguin after the ceremony. It was awesome!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sienna and Jane are awesome. Recommended for sure.
Wedding: 09/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Words can't begin to express our satisfaction and sheer joy having our ceremony at the Maryland Zoo. Jane and Sienna were the epitome of professionalism! Not only did they assure us with their confidence, but they made us feel like we were long time friends. My husband and I truly appreciate all their hard work and warm attitude. One important deciding factor for us is that the Maryland Zoo is very LGBT friendly. If you are planning a same-sex wedding, the Maryland Zoo well worth checking out.

I give my highest recommendation to hold your wedding there. The grounds are astonishingly beautiful! The Mansion house is roomy and very accommodating. The Lake House pavilion added the perfect backdrop to our ceremony. As an added bonus we had a special guest: Tails the penguin showed up to our cocktail hour and charmed our friends and family.

If you are unsure if you want your wedding at a zoo, just make one appointment to talk with Jane. She'll win you over in heartbeat.
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Jane and Sienna are excellent to work with. The animal ambassadors program has to be the most unique and incredible part of holding your wedding at the Zoo. I highly recommend a penguin! You just can't beat the photo opportunities. From the animals to the old tiger cages this is such an incredible venue to hold an event. If you are looking for somewhere a little different for your wedding I can highly recommend the MD Zoo!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What a wonderful venue! The option of having an animal ambassador was such a treat for our guests. Our ceremony was scheduled to be outside, however it rained. We had to move it indoors, but it was gorgeous!
Wedding: 05/11/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
We would absolutely recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for a beautiful space and a little twist that will keep your guests talking! It has all of the traditional elements that is desirable about a wedding venue, but the option of getting "animal ambassadors" to make an appearance at your wedding is amazing. Our guests loved interacting with the penguin and the raven and we received so many compliments on how fun the wedding was. Many people said that they felt like they were no longer in the city with how green and beautiful everything was. Jane, the organizer is outstanding and helps ensure that every detail is correct and in place before the big day so you can just relax and go with the flow. We really can't thank her enough for her invaluable help and keeping us on track!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding and reception at the Mansion House at the Zoo on 02.23.2013. Jane and her team were fantastic to work with--incredibly responsive and very knowledgeable and professional. We had a great event and all our guests raved about what a neat space it was and what fun they had. One of the perks of getting married at the Zoo is you can take pictures around the grounds--we have wedding pictures with the flamingos, in an old tiger cage, on the lions, etc.
Wedding: 02/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I were looking for something a little out of the ordinary for our reception. We looked at bunch of different venues in Baltimore and we chose the Mansion House porch. I liked that there was free parking (and plenty of it) and there are a number of spots very close to the venue that you can assign to special guests/guests with special needs. The venue itself is a little different, being U-shaped, but it totally works, and it adds a nice flow to the party. It's a beautiful setting. The bride/groom can be taken in a golf cart to different locations for unique photo ops. You can also rent up to three animals to join you at the cocktail hour and the bride/groom can have special photos with them, too. I think this is a must if you're having your wedding at the zoo! It costs extra, of course, but it was so cool to have a penguin and a Chinese alligator there! There is a specific list of animals you can choose--my husband wanted the rhino, and I wanted a giraffe, but, unfortunately, they weren't on the list... :) We dealt with Jane, their sales director, and she was so nice and so very helpful. We had a wonderful experience and we tell people all the time that they should hold their reception there, too.
Wedding: 11/04/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jane and her staff made the event so beautiful and memorable! The animal ambasadors added nicely to the evening.
Wedding: 11/19/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I recently had my wedding at the Mansion house and could not have been happier. The zoo staff was incredibly helpful from everything from accommodating site visits to coordinating parking on the day of. Jane was so lovely to work with. She was professional and approachable and ever so sweet. The mansion house's beauty speaks for itself and I cannot imagine having my wedding anywhere else. The night was perfect.
Wedding: 05/16/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had the perfect wedding, and Jane from the Zoo had a lot to do with that. We had an outside ceremony at the Lakeside Pavilion and then our reception at the Mansion House. I can't even count how many compliments we received on originality, quality and beauty. We had to change our date and caterer mid stream, and Jane helped me tremendously, she kept me sane throughout the whole planning stage as well as event. We did not hire a separate coordinator so I was worried about my vision coming to fruition...you will have no worries if you use Jane and the Zoo. Some of the top reasons we chose the Zoo were because the price was reasonable, tables and chairs comes with your rental (unheard of), and they have a well orchestrated rain plan. I'm very picky and I wanted a beautiful and elegant affair, but I was on a budget, so I was concerned that a wedding at the Zoo would be cheesy...I could not have been more wrong. Our wedding was beautiful and elegant and exactly what I had envisioned. Many thanks to the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore and especially to Jane.
Wedding: 04/23/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 443-354-1022
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0